Wayne Kublalsingh Hunger Strike...

Re: Wayne Kublalsingh Hunger Strike...

Postby rfari » December 3rd, 2012, 10:38 pm

Who is to say what a man places importance in? If kubs believes so strongly in it then that's his choice. Thats what makes us human

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 3rd, 2012, 10:40 pm

What exactly is "it" again?

Postby rfari » December 3rd, 2012, 10:44 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:What exactly is "it" again?

The environmental impact, cost benefits of projects among other things

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 3rd, 2012, 10:51 pm

You know after making those calls I'm still wondering what exactly would be this environmental impact?

I was given a talk about mangrove this and that but when I asked about mangroves replenishing themselves in a matter of years I was told dai sheit talk.

Postby nervewrecker » December 3rd, 2012, 11:03 pm

mangrove? what mangrove?

The whole thing blocked off when the mosquito creek was built. Its just trees inland now.

Postby rfari » December 3rd, 2012, 11:09 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:You know after making those calls I'm still wondering what exactly would be this environmental impact?

I was given a talk about mangrove this and that but when I asked about mangroves replenishing themselves in a matter of years I was told dai sheit talk.

Portions of the debe to mon desir route are classed as wetlands. The independent review would look at the hydraulic analysis and the culvert sizing to determine the probability of flooding and compare to best design practice.

Postby nervewrecker » December 3rd, 2012, 11:12 pm

rfari wrote:
kurpal_v2 wrote:You know after making those calls I'm still wondering what exactly would be this environmental impact?

Portions of the debe to mon desir route are classed as wetlands. The independent review would look at the hydraulic analysis and the culvert sizing to determine the probability of flooding and compare to best design practice.

you wanna come tell them people that? I get cuss last time I try to talk sense.....
Then again....telling them they live in lagoon was probably the wrong way of doing so. :oops:

Postby rfari » December 3rd, 2012, 11:22 pm

rfari wrote:

you wanna come tell them people that? I get cuss last time I try to talk sense.....
Then again....telling them they live in lagoon was probably the wrong way of doing so. :oops:

Lol. Many people think that wetlands and mangrove are exclusively the same which it isnt. It kinda sad that people fighting each other and its mainly because of misunderstanding and lack of information.

Postby gt4tified » December 4th, 2012, 12:07 am

He still fasting? He ded yet? He still hungry?

Postby Habit7 » December 4th, 2012, 12:34 am

First of all, we need some prominent earth scientist to rectify the misnomer that in South Oropouche there is a lagoon called the Oropouche Lagoon. Unless there was some major environmental engineering work done in the past, that area appears to be just a mangrove swamp, not a lagoon.

Secondly, the highway is not passing through the swamp, it is going through land that is in current use or formerly was for housing or farming. Since this the case we have to compensate people for taking their land. If we were passing through the wetland, then most of the compensation claims would be absent.

Postby rfari » December 4th, 2012, 12:54 am

Parts of the route are classified as wetlands according to the ima.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » December 4th, 2012, 1:22 am

WAY TO GO SAMAD.....ARREST HIM!!!!

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/___ ... 39671.html

...Samad attempts citizen's arrest
By Renuka Singh
Story Created: Dec 3, 2012 at 10:57 PM ECT
Story Updated: Dec 3, 2012 at 10:58 PM ECT
A short, heated tussle erupted at the usually quiet hunger strike camp site outside the Prime Minister's office in St Clair yesterday as human rights activist Ishmael Samad attempted to levy a "citizen's arrest" on Dr Wayne Kublalsingh.
Samad, wearing a black T-shirt, with the words "Call me Sledge", approached Kublalsingh as he spoke with his doctor, Ashantie Charles Le Blanc, and introduced himself, then announced that he was there to carry out a citizen's arrest as Kublalsingh was "committing suicide".
Samad grabbed Kublalsingh by the forearm and tried to pull him up off his supine position across three chairs. Within seconds, both Kublalsingh's sister, Judy Kublalsingh and several supporters mobbed Samad and dragged him away from Kublalsingh. Police officers parked nearby ran over and quickly rescued Samad from the irate supporters.
"But I am here to make a citizen's arrest. He is committing suicide," he said as the police led him away to the back of police vehicle.
Samad had initially walked past the group and went to the nearby police vehicle to have a word with them before approaching Kublalsingh's group. The police though seemed surprised by the fall out and moved quickly to defuse the heightened tensions created by his action.
In the midst of the scuffle, one lady was knocked over and fell into the road while others were shoved aside and people attempted to get Samad away from Kublalsingh. The quiet atmosphere at the site changed after Samad was removed by police. Where people were once quietly chatting with each other, they then seemed overcharged with anger describing what they should have done to Samad, instead of letting the police rescue him from them.
"Where people like them does come from?" one man asked.
The angry supporters followed the group calling out that Samad be charged and detained for assault.
Both Kublalsingh and the family though made it clear that they would not be pressing charges.
"I know he is a person who is keenly interested in the preservation of life," Kublalsingh said when questioned about the altercation.
"I think he was the person who, when nine of our citizens were hanged he was passionately concerned about them and I think he is passionately concerned about me and I have no problems with what he did," Kublalsingh said. See Page 9.

Postby rfari » December 4th, 2012, 1:48 am

I believe that this is the violence that jack and moonilal predicted

Postby rollingstock » December 4th, 2012, 2:49 am

Don't place too much into that occurrence, they are both good friends and both sides have already indicated that they are not pursuing any legal redress despite Samad receiving injuries.

Postby gt4tified » December 4th, 2012, 3:19 am

*$kїđž!™ wrote:WAY TO GO SAMAD.....ARREST HIM!!!!

By Renuka Singh
A short, heated tussle erupted at the usually quiet hunger strike camp site outside the Prime Minister's office in St Clair yesterday as human rights activist Ishmael Samad attempted to levy a "citizen's arrest" on Dr Wayne Kublalsingh.
Samad, wearing a black T-shirt, with the words "Call me Sledge", approached Kublalsingh as he spoke with his doctor, Ashantie Charles Le Blanc, and introduced himself, then announced that he was there to carry out a citizen's arrest as Kublalsingh was "committing suicide".
Samad grabbed Kublalsingh by the forearm and tried to pull him up off his supine position across three chairs. Within seconds, both Kublalsingh's sister, Judy Kublalsingh and several supporters mobbed Samad and dragged him away from Kublalsingh. Police officers parked nearby ran over and quickly rescued Samad from the irate supporters.
"But I am here to make a citizen's arrest. He is committing suicide," he said as the police led him away to the back of police vehicle.
Samad had initially walked past the group and went to the nearby police vehicle to have a word with them before approaching Kublalsingh's group. The police though seemed surprised by the fall out and moved quickly to defuse the heightened tensions created by his action.
In the midst of the scuffle, one lady was knocked over and fell into the road while others were shoved aside and people attempted to get Samad away from Kublalsingh. The quiet atmosphere at the site changed after Samad was removed by police. Where people were once quietly chatting with each other, they then seemed overcharged with anger describing what they should have done to Samad, instead of letting the police rescue him from them.
The angry supporters followed the group calling out that Samad be charged and detained for assault.
Both Kublalsingh and the family though made it clear that they would not be pressing charges.
"I know he is a person who is keenly interested in the preservation of life," Kublalsingh said when questioned about the altercation.
"I think he was the person who, when nine of our citizens were hanged he was passionately concerned about them and I think he is passionately concerned about me and I have no problems with what he did," Kublalsingh said. See Page 9.

Yuh know the saying “The blind leading the blind”?

Dat one look like the mad leading the insane.

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » December 4th, 2012, 6:28 am

More lucrative fruit for South will include a $5.4 billion investment by Mitsubishi of Japan in partnership with Neal and Massy for the establishment of a methanol to petrochemicals project.
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/_20 ... 39721.html

Interesting the government recognizing what really drives the economy i.e. investments in the energy sector and not a highway.

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » December 4th, 2012, 7:32 am

what a wonderful display of a Respectful family, BEat up a gentleman whilst he attempting to carry out a citizens arrest, and cusring of a minister trying ot make peace.... keep it up Kub family - your true colors are surfacing

WetR

Postby WetR » December 4th, 2012, 7:54 am

Reez100 wrote:
equipped2ripp wrote:... who was born in Claxton Bay and lives in Trincity, and has nothing to do with the area the highway is going to be built on.

Which part ah Trincity he living?

Reez how could you manage to flek up a quote to make it seem like i said that. clean up the quotes within quotes please as i did in the above.

WetR

Postby WetR » December 4th, 2012, 8:01 am

if jcc finds fault with certain parts of the report, what is the next move in this chess game? if they love the report, will the detractors be appeased? is it then an exercise in biding time?

an independent review will save us all from the "plight" of highway? why do we trust jcc to be independent above all other groups? they are just people too. perhaps even ordinary at best.

FugiTECH

Postby FugiTECH » December 4th, 2012, 8:11 am

Citizens Arrest , Link giving a Bit of Trouble though https://fbcdn-video-a.akamaihd.net/cfs- ... c6fa736c83

nestor

Postby nestor » December 4th, 2012, 8:26 am

By Renuka Singh

Go Mr. Samad!
Intentionally Caused Suicide When the defendant intends his conduct to cause another to commit
suicide, or when the suicide is substantially certain to follow from the
defendant's conduct, the defendant has intentionally created a risk of
suicide and should be held liable, even if the suicide was voluntary. In
this situation, the principles of Restatement of Torts section 27997 are
fully applicable, because suicide was the type of harm intended. This
conclusion is supported by the strong social policy against encouraging
suicide, evidenced by California Penal Code section 401 which provides,
"Every person who deliberately aids, or advises, or encourages
another to commit suicide, is guilty of a felony."

Postby Greypatch » December 4th, 2012, 8:49 am

anyone has a vid of this ?

JoeBama

Postby JoeBama » December 4th, 2012, 8:53 am

nestor wrote:

By Renuka Singh

Go Mr. Samad!
Intentionally Caused Suicide When the defendant intends his conduct to cause another to commit
suicide, or when the suicide is substantially certain to follow from the
defendant's conduct, the defendant has intentionally created a risk of
suicide and should be held liable, even if the suicide was voluntary. In
this situation, the principles of Restatement of Torts section 27997 are
fully applicable, because suicide was the type of harm intended. This
conclusion is supported by the strong social policy against encouraging
suicide, evidenced by California Penal Code section 401 which provides,
"Every person who deliberately aids, or advises, or encourages
another to commit suicide, is guilty of a felony."

Welcome to Trinidad & Tobago bruh!

Postby pioneer » December 4th, 2012, 9:04 am

Irony - la brea and environ residents have blocked roads protesting deplorable conditions

Inb4 infrastructure

Postby Habit7 » December 4th, 2012, 9:48 am

neilsingh100 wrote:
More lucrative fruit for South will include a $5.4 billion investment by Mitsubishi of Japan in partnership with Neal and Massy for the establishment of a methanol to petrochemicals project.
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/_20 ... 39721.html

Interesting the government recognizing what really drives the economy i.e. investments in the energy sector and not a highway.

First the claimed Saudi Arabians were going to invest now Japanese.http://www.guardian.co.tt/business-guar ... illions-tt

This gov't has failed to attract any foreign investment so I'll put all this talk in the wish bag along with the promised ship building industry and all the investment promises from the PM's trips to Brazil, India, Austrailia etc.

Postby toyolink » December 4th, 2012, 10:09 am

Mr Kublalsingh as I understand it ...has now stated he will continue his journey to the doors of death 'to have the gov't exercise good goverance and transparency' in their dealings.
This man just keep shifting the goal post everyday.
This thread now has the opportunity to go into all kinds of directions which is not inconsistent with the behaviour of the protestor.

Postby rfari » December 4th, 2012, 10:10 am

WetR wrote:if jcc finds fault with certain parts of the report, what is the next move in this chess game? if they love the report, will the detractors be appeased? is it then an exercise in biding time?

an independent review will save us all from the "plight" of highway? why do we trust jcc to be independent above all other groups? they are just people too. perhaps even ordinary at best.

If faults are found i guess recommendations would be made and steps to rectify it would be taken. If no problems kublalsingh should be satisfied and drop that issue.
Jcc has the necessary experts that would be able to get the job done. My opinion.

dcom23

Postby dcom23 » December 4th, 2012, 10:44 am

they going to review reports already done?

WetR

Postby WetR » December 4th, 2012, 10:49 am

rfari wrote:
WetR wrote:if jcc finds fault with certain parts of the report, what is the next move in this chess game? if they love the report, will the detractors be appeased? is it then an exercise in biding time?

If faults are found i guess recommendations would be made and steps to rectify it would be taken. If no problems kublalsingh should be satisfied and drop that issue.
Jcc has the necessary experts that would be able to get the job done. My opinion.

good answer.

is the jcc a non profit org? are they paid to conduct the review, and if so, by whom?

from their website: "The Joint Consultative Council (JCC) is a non-governmental, consultative organisation comprising six member professional organisations"

i see that they were heavily involved in the "exposure" of the Piarco Airport Terminal Building Project........

Postby rfari » December 4th, 2012, 11:02 am

Honestly im not too sure if jcc is non profit or if they going to receive consideration for work done. I guess thats something the media would look into after they receive a copy of the agreement