The Religion Discussion

QG

Postby QG » October 13th, 2009, 10:54 pm

buzz wrote:its what i've been saying all along

but no religion keeps us divided, religion keeps us brainwashed, religion leverages logic, religion makes us judge others, religion is divided up by what name we call god and how we worship the same omni-potent being...

but i am glad for religion

why?

cuz it keeps many (not saying ALL ppl who chose to follow a religion can't think for themselves) principals and values simple for many simple minded folk

cuz i am of the strongest belief that humans are naturally greedy and disgusting folk and most won't do the right thing because they know it to be a violation of morals

i don't rob ppl because some tainted re-written book says God doesn't want me to or because its against the law

i don't because i look what i'd put that person through if i rob him, i look at what i would go through should someone rob me, i look at the fact that you only get what you give

e.g. i might scheme a man out of $10 dollars today and lose my wallet with $1000 tomorrow.. its the principal that counts

and no not even the consequences would deter me from my actions

remember the old saying "i do what is right because it is right and not for the fear of consequences" ?

so i dont need no book for no testaments... i have my own, i have seen/experienced the universe's powers with my own eyes so to speak

so when i do wrong, i don't beg god to forgive me... after all i knew what i was doing when i was doing it and i don't pass the buck for my actions saying "the devil" made me do it :roll:

what i do however is pray for the strength to change.. to be different so that i can stop doing the wrong thing step @ a time :arrow:

I agree with your second to last paragraph, many people like to say "The Devil made me do it"....we all have free will.
However.....The devil work through men to do his evil deed.
That's a very ticklish topic to explain.
Ammm, the devil will tempt you into doing wrong, but we have power to make the right choice not so? :lol:
Again, God says that MAN is wicked, and Satan will use that against men....SO I SAY, BOTH THE INDIVIDUAL AND SATAN HAS A PART TO PLAY IN THAT.
What you think??

QG

Postby QG » October 13th, 2009, 10:59 pm

MG Man wrote:my bad
your cuz can;t answer my question, he just insulted every other religion, and his god is a dumb kant for creating him

ROFL no scene dude, he joined today, he will be posting more of his views and hopefully can share some light on some difficult topics :lol:

I want all the scientists believers in here to brace allyuh self tomorrow 8-)
cause, it's gonna be a long day.

Postby MG Man » October 13th, 2009, 11:01 pm

I am not a scientist........not even science oriented....I just saying the idea of god makes no sense............and religion is just a man made form of social control....

QG

Postby QG » October 13th, 2009, 11:08 pm

MG Man wrote:I am not a scientist........not even science oriented....I just saying the idea of god makes no sense............and religion is just a man made form of social control....

I respect your views, I even agree with you about the religion part... I do what I must to keep my relationship with God intact, and to help others when needed.

Postby MG Man » October 13th, 2009, 11:10 pm

scene

illumin@ti

Postby illumin@ti » October 14th, 2009, 12:24 am

nismotrinidappa wrote:a person cannot prove to another that there is god ( scientifically)
a scientist cannot prove that there is no god ( scientifically)

god is not about science you see

everyone has their own belief :lol: :lol:

and all the talk nati want to give....he always on park street bawlin oh god girl yuh lookin bess

^^ and what so wrong with that? :lol: :lol: park street unno... uptown ladies fuh me to gape at dude :lol: :lol:

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » October 14th, 2009, 12:32 am

but no religion keeps us divided, religion keeps us brainwashed, religion leverages logic, religion makes us judge others, religion is divided up by what name we call god and how we worship the same omni-potent being...

why?

cuz it keeps many (not saying ALL ppl who chose to follow a religion can't think for themselves) principals and values simple for many simple minded folk

cuz i am of the strongest belief that humans are naturally greedy and disgusting folk and most won't do the right thing because they know it to be a violation of morals

i don't rob ppl because some tainted re-written book says God doesn't want me to or because its against the law

i don't because i look what i'd put that person through if i rob him, i look at what i would go through should someone rob me, i look at the fact that you only get what you give

e.g. i might scheme a man out of $10 dollars today and lose my wallet with $1000 tomorrow.. its the principal that counts

remember the old saying "i do what is right because it is right and not for the fear of consequences" ?

so i dont need no book for no testaments... i have my own, i have seen/experienced the universe's powers with my own eyes so to speak

universe aka god? can the universe have powers? or do you indirectly accept there is higher power?

so when i do wrong, i don't beg god to forgive me... after all i knew what i was doing when i was doing it and i don't pass the buck for my actions saying "the devil" made me do it :roll:

what i do however is pray for the strength to change.. to be different so that i can stop doing the wrong thing step @ a time :arrow:

u dont beg for forgiveness, but who you praying to for the strength to change? indirectly you stating there is god? or you praying to some other higher power?

on one hand you talking about tainted books and not asking gods forgiveness... but on the other hand you praying for strength and have witnessed the "universe's" power...

so do you believe or not? or are you in denial?

what is your position buzz? are you on the side of god? islam? buddhism? science? nobody?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 14th, 2009, 1:21 am

^ you can believe in God or a higher power, a force, a greater spirit and not subscribe to any religion.

Postby buzz » October 14th, 2009, 5:49 am

^ saved me lot of typing there :lol:

devrat

Postby devrat » October 14th, 2009, 6:04 am

MG Man wrote:I am not a scientist........not even science oriented....I just saying the idea of god makes no sense............and religion is just a man made form of social control....

I agree and it is just another form of seperating the masses, it has been used to justify mass murder and domination.
I have seen people go to their respective places of worship two and three times a week and they walk out that door and step over someone begging for something to eat. If there is a god do you actually think he would want to be worshipped in this fashion.
And if we are created "in his image" and "we are all his children" how come some are so fortunate and others are not, on this train of thought we should all be equal.

I believe "hands that help are holier than hands that pray".

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » October 14th, 2009, 6:27 am

buzz wrote:^ saved me lot of typing there :lol:

nah buzz doh backpedal.. i still want to hear your answer and your point of view.. what do you actually believe

Postby buzz » October 14th, 2009, 7:35 am

nismotrinidappa wrote:

why?

universe aka god? can the universe have powers? or do you indirectly accept there is higher power?

u dont beg for forgiveness, but who you praying to for the strength to change? indirectly you stating there is god? or you praying to some other higher power?

on one hand you talking about tainted books and not asking gods forgiveness... but on the other hand you praying for strength and have witnessed the "universe's" power...

so do you believe or not? or are you in denial?

what is your position buzz? are you on the side of god? islam? buddhism? science? nobody?

maybe this would clear things up a bit

buzz wrote:
I am no atheist. It could very well be that God made the big bang and set evolution into motion. Who knows?

thank you

why can't god be the reason how and not the reason why

there is nothing indirect about my statements

i DO believe in a god/supreme being

that god is responsible for the universe's power

unterstood?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 14th, 2009, 1:33 pm

^ what do you believe?

QG

Postby QG » October 14th, 2009, 6:54 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ you can believe in God or a higher power, a force, a greater spirit and not subscribe to any religion.

Yes and No!!

Yes, you can believe in God or a higher power. No, and not subscribe to any religion.
Why I said no...if somone wants to believe in God, he would want to follow a certain belief of that God. If he chose the way of the Gita, then he is following the Hindu way, and etc etc. So in a sense, he will need to subscribe to a religion, but don't have to be apart of it fully....hope you understand what I am trying to say.

QG

Postby QG » October 14th, 2009, 6:59 pm

QG wrote:
QG wrote:
ronsin1 wrote:I have a question not sure if it has been asked already

IF GOD CREATED MAN who CREATED GOD :shock:

That was covered 2 times already...check between pgs 40-56 :? :? give or take!!

In the beginning was the word, and the word was with God, and the word was God.

Everything started with God...He is the ONLY creator from the BEGINNING.
So no one created the CREATOR :lol: ...get it? 8-)

So let's use simple logic here, for something to exist it must be created...so noone created the creator?...ok then :|

Aren't you a muslim?
So what you are saying, in other words, is that something has to create ALLAH??
Allah is God right? so if you disagree with my point that no one created God, you are simply saying that some one or something created Allah, not so?

I'm not muslim, i don't believe in religion and i don't believe in god.

Orrr, my bad!
Ask any spiritual pesron, whether they are Christians, Muslims, and Hindu...Nothing is before God. He is the sole creator and nothing created him, everything started with him.
I respect that you don't believe in religion, so do I...religion was created by man to separate us all with their beliefs...but I do hope in time, you learn to seek God.

Postby buzz » October 14th, 2009, 7:35 pm

QG wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ you can believe in God or a higher power, a force, a greater spirit and not subscribe to any religion.

Yes and No!!

Yes, you can believe in God or a higher power. No, and not subscribe to any religion.
Why I said no...if somone wants to believe in God, he would want to follow a certain belief of that God. If he chose the way of the Gita, then he is following the Hindu way, and etc etc. So in a sense, he will need to subscribe to a religion, but don't have to be apart of it fully....hope you understand what I am trying to say.

erm no

i choose to follow god how I want

i say whatever prayer i believe is right at whatever time

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » October 14th, 2009, 10:15 pm

buzz i understand your pov 0X

Postby 3stagevtec » October 15th, 2009, 12:59 am

QG wrote:but I do hope in time, you learn to seek God.

what would be the benefits if i do? would i be considered a bad person if i don't? i know lots of people who seek / pray to god daily, and their lives are far from perfect..

i do not believe in a god, but i do believe in certain religions. i hope that religions will be a good motivational tool to help people live a better and more respectful life. too bad it doesn't work in Trinidad..

if you ask me what i believe in, love and respect would be my answer..

Postby Gladiator » October 15th, 2009, 7:32 am

i do not believe in a god, but i do believe in certain religions.

This is a first....

Postby Razkal » October 15th, 2009, 10:32 am

Gladiator wrote:

This is a first....

QG

Postby QG » October 15th, 2009, 7:15 pm

3stagevtec wrote:
QG wrote:but I do hope in time, you learn to seek God.

what would be the benefits if i do? would i be considered a bad person if i don't? i know lots of people who seek / pray to god daily, and their lives are far from perfect..

Those are questions you can answer on your own meng!! :lol:
One point I want to address in general...
Everyone has some sort of problems in life they face, it doesn't mean that God is not with them

Side note:
Praying to God and going to a holy place, is one thing...it doesn't mean anything if YOUR HEART IS IN THE WRONG place.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 15th, 2009, 8:42 pm

^ what if your heart is in the right place and you have different beliefs and practices when it comes to God?

QG you say you also think religion is manmade.
so why then do you so closely follow a religious text and its trappings?

QG

Postby QG » October 16th, 2009, 8:15 pm

Because that's what I believe in.
I believe in the holy scriptures...not manmade religion.
Catholics and other Christian religions uses the King James version.
I follow from the bible (Inspired by God) and not with religion.

To answer your first question, I believe that sincere spiritual persons will receive the Almighty God's blessings for their good deeds, whether if they are Christians or NOT.
God knows the hearts and works of individuals, and he will move accordingly.

Postby 3stagevtec » October 16th, 2009, 9:54 pm

Razkal wrote:
Gladiator wrote:

This is a first....

i wasn't clean when i said that, i believe in teachings of religions.. the good messages the are designed to send to people.. but that's as far as i will go..

slimshiney

Postby slimshiney » October 16th, 2009, 10:11 pm

duracell thread........... :drama:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 17th, 2009, 12:24 pm

QG wrote:Because that's what I believe in.
Catholics and other Christian religions uses the King James version.
I follow from the bible (Inspired by God) and not with religion.

Which version of the bible do you follow?
the Bible is a RELIGIOUS text - I don't see how you subscribe to the bible and not subscribe to the religion is teaches.

QG wrote:To answer your first question, I believe that sincere spiritual persons will receive the Almighty God's blessings for their good deeds, whether if they are Christians or NOT.

but you said earlier in this thread that they will not receive the kingdom of heaven without accepting Christ as God.

You also said that God will forgive someone who accepts Christ and asks for forgiveness - which means they could have been a thief, rapist and murderer their whole life but if they SINCERELY accept Christ and seek forgiveness in their last moments they can be saved and have the kingdom of heaven.

isn't that kinda contradictory to what you say here?

QG wrote:God knows the hearts and works of individuals, and he will move accordingly.

This is what you believe, because this is what the Bible teaches. There is no solid, empirical proof otherwise.

And God will move accordingly to whom?
Christians? Christianity is a religion and so if God moves in accordance with Christian beliefs then this would not be in accordance to Hinduism or Buddhism or Islam or Eck-ism.

Suppose that Caerus the Greek God of Opportunity is really the real God, the way God really is. It seems that way more times than often too. "Caerus holds a razor, or else scales balanced on a sharp edge—attributes illustrating the fleeting instant in which opportunity (good or bad fortune) appear and disappear". We have more empirical proof that is the way life is rather than proof that prayer or rituals or religious practices bring good fortune.

QG wrote:Because that's what I believe in.

The Holy scriptures of each religion may have similar themes that God is great - and I agree, God is great. But how can you believe what they say when they teach different practices or beliefs. Unless you pick and choose what you want to believe in each holy scripture. If that's the case then you are no different from myself, Humes, MG Man etc.

Postby Sky » October 17th, 2009, 12:36 pm

Forum troll - 1
Duane 3NE 2NR - 0

QG

Postby QG » October 17th, 2009, 2:46 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR, I use the King James version and attend a Pentecostal church, but I don't really stick with religion beliefs...when i go to church, the pastor helps me understand the bible more; in simplier terms that is. I don't agree with SOME things with my church, I go for knowledge within the scriptures :)

When I say receive God's blessings, it doesn't mean he will Automatically allow you into his Kingdom, it simply means that your hardwork and good deeds in life will be rewarded in a way God seems fit. They still have to pass through Judgement like everyone else :lol:
When a man commits murder etc and he truly changes his life and bad ways (repent), seeks the Lord Jesus and ask to be forgiven, he will get it. And be able to enter God's Kingdom (he too must pass through judgement) but will be allowed into Heaven...he may not get any rewards from God...but he should pass.

Note: You can enter God's kingdom with rewards for good deeds, whereas, you can still enter into the kingdom without any of God's rewards.

Religious people don't need Empirical proof lol.
God will not move accordingly to whom...he will move accordingly with when giving out his blessings and rewards to anyone he sees deem or worthy of it. God is of love, he is patient and is not of hate. A hindu person can receive the Almighty God's blessings, but again...their choices in life will determine their fate for Judgement Day. God gives ppl many chances until that Judgement Day reaches.

Greek Gods are myths...God is not a thing for humans to have empirical proof of...he is a supreme being that we need to have faith in :wink:
How can you be sure that man didn't just made up that Greek God to satisfy their beliefs???

I believe in the scriptures; not really in what the pastor says. Yes other religions themes may be similiar "God is great", but I don't follow all those scripts (Gita, Koran)...I stick with the Bible. I don't pick and choose form different scriptures to follow, instead I read a bit of the Koran on the Newsday papers to see how similiar their teachings are to the Bible...and it's not that far off. Again, I follow the Bible!

I may relate to what you, Humes, MG MAN etc believe in, but in terms of not relying too much on Religion as a main aspect. The main purpose is to build a close relationship with God, do not let Religion side track you all. :mrgreen:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 17th, 2009, 11:11 pm

QG wrote:
Note: You can enter God's kingdom with rewards for good deeds, whereas, you can still enter into the kingdom without any of God's rewards.

Ah so there will be people at differnet levels in heaven - some blinging with plenty of God's rewards and some poor of rewards.

Sounds like here on earth - not "heaven".

QG wrote:Greek Gods are myths...God is not a thing for humans to have empirical proof of...he is a supreme being that we need to have faith in :wink:
How can you be sure that man didn't just made up that Greek God to satisfy their beliefs???

A myth?!!!!
How can you say that about a God people believed in during that time?
They wholeheartedly believed their Gods were real and their religions lasted for thousands of years. Many people still believe in them and pray to them.
That is a harsh statement to say someone's God is a myth. Probably the harshest statement made in this thread so far!
Can you prove their God is a myth?

Don't you mean people just have different beliefs now?

QG wrote:Yes other religions themes may be similiar "God is great", but I don't follow all those scripts (Gita, Koran)...I stick with the Bible. I don't pick and choose form different scriptures to follow, instead I read a bit of the Koran on the Newsday papers to see how similiar their teachings are to the Bible...and it's not that far off. Again, I follow the Bible!

I may relate to what you, Humes, MG MAN etc believe in, but in terms of not relying too much on Religion as a main aspect. The main purpose is to build a close relationship with God

QG wrote:I believe in the holy scriptures...not manmade religion

but you strongly believe that the Bible and not the Gita (for example) is the way to achieve that. To follow the teachings of one religious text is subscribing to the religion of Christianity. IT IS A RELIGION you are following.

Catholic, Pentecostal, Anglican, Born Again, Jehovah Witness, Presbyterian etc are all various movements, churches and traditions within the RELIGION of Christianity that the BIBLE teaches.

I think its incorrect for you to say you don't follow religion. From what I see, you don't follow other movements, churches and traditions of Christianity because you take the absolute literal meaning of the words in the Bible, which is what makes you a Pentecostal.

So you DO follow the religion of Christianity - your TRADITION however is to take the literal meaning of the Bible and not any translated concept that may have been perceived from it's words.

If that is the case then you should not read the english translations or newer versions, as this has been transliterated and meanings have been perceived BY the transliterators from the original Hebrew etc from the Old and New Testaments into what you read.

QG wrote:I believe in the scriptures; not really in what the pastor says.

QG wrote:I use the King James version and attend a Pentecostal church, but I don't really stick with religion beliefs...when i go to church, the pastor helps me understand the bible more; in simplier terms that is.

not sure I follow you there

QG

Postby QG » October 19th, 2009, 12:43 am

Sorry If I have mislead you with "I believe in the scriptures, and not the pastors"

I was only replying to your question:-
"But how can you believe what they say when they teach different practices or beliefs".
The pastor do help me learn difficult things in the bible, but I do not believe in different practices or beliefs...hope you understand.

The bible states,, that there are hard working christians; whereas, there are also LAZY christians. Hard working christians will be richly rewarded in Heaven, whereas, lazy christians (People Who Did Not Do God's Work) will receive nothing...but will still enter his Kingdom. (God doesn't break promises).
It's not like a bling bling in heaven :lol: ...it's all about good deeds getting rewarded.

Yes, I am following the Christian way (believing that Jesus is God's begotten son), but not with Catholic, Jehova-witness etc etc ways!!!
At the same time, I'm not a religion FANATIC :lol:

I apologize if my "MYTH" statement offended anyone. That is someone's personal belief....but I don't believe in any Greek Gods in other words.