COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

BUG

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 8511 cases, 146 deaths, 566 active, 7799 recovered in T&T

Postby BUG » April 13th, 2021, 6:10 pm

redmanjp wrote:
DMan7 wrote:At the end of the day we will have to learn to live with the virus. Locking down and placing restrictions on people is just going to tie the economy down further and the cure can't be worse than the disease that is loss of jobs and lots of people being thrown on the breadline.

Prime Minister warn them already- if they doh want to hear they will hadda feel :roll:

The Prime Minister is no position to scold people. Instead of being an example and telling the country he would be having a quiet Easter with his family at home, his family goes to one of the most popular beaches in the country for glamour photoshoots with journalists. Then news comes out that the Prime Minister has the virus and 35 others are in quarantine.

https://newsday.co.tt/2021/04/13/35-qua ... 5cieLRcymg

Covid fatigue from the top down. Plenty people here warning about this exact scenario for weeks before Easter. Also plenty people here saying Easter will be fine and cases will stay low just like Christmas, choosing to ignore the differences in people adhering to covid protocols then and now sigh
Sharon Rowley.jpg

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 8511 cases, 146 deaths, 566 active, 7799 recovered in T&T

Postby MaxPower » April 13th, 2021, 6:19 pm

70 cases....

Well done Trinis, well done.

Allyuh really disgusting yes....no responsibility whatsoever EVERY single place u go

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » April 13th, 2021, 6:24 pm

Sigh, I really wanted the boarders open back yes.

Postby K74T » April 13th, 2021, 6:59 pm

I prefer the borders.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 13th, 2021, 7:09 pm

At the rate these cases are coming in it seems as if 500-1000 people are being infected daily.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » April 13th, 2021, 7:11 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:At the rate these cases are coming in it seems as if 500-1000 people are being infected daily.

Doubtful the country ain't have that much people.

Postby pugboy » April 13th, 2021, 7:16 pm

the global stats are 30-40% infected are asymptomatic and surely many infected persons with symptoms are riding it out at home to avoid being imprisoned and many would have symptoms which only last a few days so they ride it out and dont get tested.

so it is not a bad guess at a few hundred or so are the actual infected

DMan7 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:At the rate these cases are coming in it seems as if 500-1000 people are being infected daily.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 13th, 2021, 7:19 pm

pugboy wrote:the global stats are 30-40% infected are asymptomatic and surely many infected persons with symptoms are riding it out at home to avoid being imprisoned and many would have symptoms which only last a few days so they ride it out and dont get tested.

so it is not a bad guess at a few hundred or so are the actual infected

DMan7 wrote:

Antibody testing in the US shows the actual number of cases was 5X the number detected.

I would say in Trinidad the real number of cases is at least 5x the number that we are detecting.

Last edited by Dohplaydat on April 13th, 2021, 7:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » April 13th, 2021, 7:21 pm

Well unless it's reported we would never know, it's all just speculation.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 13th, 2021, 7:25 pm

DMan7 wrote:Well unless it's reported we would never know, it's all just speculation.

I mean u really think everyone who is sick goes in for testing? :shock:

Secondly, it should be well known by now that 80% of covid-19 cases are mild to asymptomatic.

It's not speculation, we are using inferences drawn from other countries that did firstly much more testing and then antibody testing.

The assumption of 5X is probably conservative btw.

Postby gastly369 » April 13th, 2021, 7:27 pm

Hearing of a "reaction" with someone who took vaccine.... Reasons same as why its been banned all over?

Take what I say with pinch of salt btw

Postby pugboy » April 13th, 2021, 7:33 pm

yeah on ian alleyne

gastly369 wrote:Hearing of a "reaction" with someone who took vaccine.... Reasons same as why its been banned all over?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 13th, 2021, 7:48 pm

gastly369 wrote:Hearing of a "reaction" with someone who took vaccine.... Reasons same as why its been banned all over?

Person at SFGH...said to be paralyzed from waist down

Postby paid_influencer » April 13th, 2021, 8:01 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:

sounds like Guillain-Barre syndrome. It happens in a small percentage of people who get a vaccine (including the regular flu vaccine).

In other countries, there's a program to financially compensate the small percentage of people that have adverse reactions to vaccines. Ask Rowley and Kamla why we don't have a similar program here.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 13th, 2021, 8:07 pm

paid_influencer wrote:

sounds like Guillain-Barre syndrome. It happens in a small percentage of people who get a vaccine (including the regular flu vaccine).

In other countries, there's a program to financially compensate the small percentage of people that have adverse reactions to vaccines. Ask Rowley and Kamla why we don't have a similar program here.

If it's Guillain-Barre, then it's likely temporary and the person should be fine within weeks to months. I had a friend who had Guillain-Barre after surgery and she was ok within 3-4 months, nothing like paralysis though, just weird tingling during certain 'activities'.

Postby zoom rader » April 13th, 2021, 8:08 pm

paid_influencer wrote:

Bro

UNC is not in power nor are they important at this stage.

The buck stops by your covid infected PM.

Postby redmanjp » April 13th, 2021, 8:08 pm

saw it on tv6 news. they said it's a blood clot according to what the doctors said

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » April 13th, 2021, 8:10 pm

Those are extremely rare cases, this shouldn't put anyone off taking the vaccine.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 13th, 2021, 8:14 pm

guy was 60 years old and suffered with heart issues, blaming the vaccine might be premature.

Postby Kenjo » April 13th, 2021, 8:21 pm

Postby zoom rader » April 13th, 2021, 8:22 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:guy was 60 years old and suffered with heart issues, blaming the vaccine might be premature.
You sounding like Habit7

Postby paid_influencer » April 13th, 2021, 8:24 pm

strange how both the viral vector vaccines (AZ and J&J) are getting investigated for blood clots.

Pfizer and Moderna (the direct mRNA vaccines) going through smooth sailing though, despite both being much more widely given.

Postby paid_influencer » April 13th, 2021, 8:27 pm

Kenjo wrote:https://fb.watch/4RW-wrQwVc/

so Wednesday he get the AZ vaccine and by Friday morning he couldn't move his legs.

seriously though, could be co-incidence.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 13th, 2021, 9:05 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:guy was 60 years old and suffered with heart issues, blaming the vaccine might be premature.
You sounding like Habit7

Nah Habit7, woulda say Kamla supporters trying to make the vaccine look bad

paid_influencer wrote:
Kenjo wrote:https://fb.watch/4RW-wrQwVc/

so Wednesday he get the AZ vaccine and by Friday morning he couldn't move his legs.

seriously though, could be co-incidence.

Yea could definitely be, I mean we have 50 heart-related deaths per week all usually aged persons. These same persons will be first in line for the vaccine, so obviously there will be many coincidental deaths that many would attribute to the vaccine falsely.

Postby Habit7 » April 13th, 2021, 9:24 pm

Just my little info on the vaccine drama lately (which I took last Tuesday).

RISK OF DEVELOPING THROMBOTIC EVENT (CLOT) AFTER TAKING COVAX:
1 in 250,000 (UK study) = 0.0004% (If you're not a mathematics fan, the more zeros you see after the decimal point(.), the lower the risk/percent.)

Compare that to the following:

Risk of developing clot when using birth control (OCP):
1 in 1000 per year = 0.1%

SMOKERS that developed blood clots from a meta-analysis:
35,151 of 3,966,184 = 0.88%

Incidence of deep vein thrombosis (clot) after general surgical procedure: 20 to 25%.

Incidence of deep vein thrombosis (clot) in pregnancy: 1 in 500 to 2000 (USA stats).

Likelihood of getting into a car accident during a 1,000-mile trip are 1 in 366.

Fun Covid Data from Holland and France (i.e places that had a much larger sample size than T&T) - 30-70% of covid positive patients that were admitted to ICU had clots in their legs/lungs.
Approx. 1 in 4 covid positive patients admitted to ICU will develop a lung clot (Pulmonary Embolism).

General factors that increase your risk of developing a clot (more than a vaccine):
1.) Obesity (31% of T&T population is OBESE and not just overweight!).
2.) Pregnancy.
3.) Smoking.
4.) Use of Oral Contraceptives.
5.) Cancers.
6.) Prolonged periods of being immobile.
7.) Trauma.
8.) Autoimmune medical conditions.
9.) Venous diseases.
10.) Advances in age.

The only thing that might be more rare than you developing a clot from a vaccine is you winning the lotto......

bUt dR, i WaNt To wAit BeFoRe I tAke ThE VaCciNe...... okay no problem. What you waiting for? to get COVID? or on the Princess Margret?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 13th, 2021, 9:28 pm

Habit7 wrote:

1 in 250,000 (UK study) = 0.0004% (If you're not a mathematics fan, the more zeros you see after the decimal point(.), the lower the risk/percent.)

Incidence of deep vein thrombosis (clot) after general surgical procedure: 20 to 25%.

Incidence of deep vein thrombosis (clot) in pregnancy: 1 in 500 to 2000 (USA stats).

Likelihood of getting into a car accident during a 1,000-mile trip are 1 in 366.

Fun Covid Data from Holland and France (i.e places that had a much larger sample size than T&T) - 30-70% of covid positive patients that were admitted to ICU had clots in their legs/lungs.
Approx. 1 in 4 covid positive patients admitted to ICU will develop a lung clot (Pulmonary Embolism).

General factors that increase your risk of developing a clot (more than a vaccine):
2.) Pregnancy.
3.) Smoking.
5.) Cancers.
7.) Trauma.
9.) Venous diseases.
10.) Advances in age.

The only thing that might be more rare than you developing a clot from a vaccine is you winning the lotto......

bUt dR, i WaNt To wAit BeFoRe I tAke ThE VaCciNe...... okay no problem. What you waiting for? to get COVID? or on the Princess Margret?

Good info, source though?

Habit7,

Still think things under control? Is the Honorable Minister of Health calling a lockdown tomorrow?

Postby zoom rader » April 13th, 2021, 9:29 pm

Habit7 wrote:

2.) Pregnancy.
3.) Smoking.
5.) Cancers.
7.) Trauma.
9.) Venous diseases.
10.) Advances in age.

You posting stories without a source , might as well post some fable from bailiser House

Postby Habit7 » April 13th, 2021, 9:39 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
Good info, source though?

Habit7,

Still think things under control? Is the Honorable Minister of Health calling a lockdown tomorrow?

Doctor friend of mine on FB

Nobody ever said things were under control. Stop trying to gaslight.

Postby paid_influencer » April 13th, 2021, 9:39 pm

all is well

all is well

-p0rnHabit7

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » April 13th, 2021, 10:02 pm

70 positive cases today.I think this is getting out of hand in Trinidad right now.
Last edited by widdyphuck on April 13th, 2021, 10:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.