T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

nes123

Re: NEW VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby nes123 » October 25th, 2011, 2:33 pm

^^only to some of us 3rd worlders who accustomed to seeing everything JDM or SG and think the best looking cars locally are either a Hyundai,Honda or a KIA ..ya have to have a good eye to see the true beauty in all vehicles to be a real automobile enthusiast.....not discounting ya or nuttin but ya should spend a few month in say Italy or Germany...the "good" eye takes a while to grow on you

Postby Stephon. » October 25th, 2011, 2:36 pm

Beauty is subjective though :? Your theory sucks.

Postby Stephon. » October 25th, 2011, 2:36 pm

Btw the lady from Mazda called me today to tell me that tomorrow is a holiday, test drive postponed to Friday lmao

nes123

Postby nes123 » October 25th, 2011, 5:42 pm

@Stephon... my comment wasn't a theory... :| ....it's just logical...to elaborate more...some cars take a while to grow on you as their designs may come across as being odd upon first sight or different from the usual or expected aggressive or typical design...e.g.if you see the same euro daily and really look at it,eventually you will see the beauty...it takes a while to grow on you cuz their looks are sometimes radical or not expected...now compare this same euro you see daily to what is offered at the European scale across the board and you will eventually get a good eye....my comment wasn't an attempt to bring you or anyone down , so take it down homie.. :|

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » October 25th, 2011, 6:11 pm

I received a warning today about state of the local, regional and global economies.

Simply put, watch your spending, especially heavy investments which are subject to high rates of depreciation!

rawCpoppa

NEW VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby rawCpoppa » October 25th, 2011, 6:51 pm

In the land of Japanese cars Octavia owner is king? Lol

I agree with nes. Down here we accustomed to a certain type of styling and anything else takes a while to be liked at times. I personally am growing to dislike where Japanese car styling is going these days. I nearly got a heart attack after seeing the new impreza. Why does the Mazda 3 look like it smiling all the time???

Postby Stephon. » October 25th, 2011, 8:01 pm

LOL I've said that first though.

viewtopic.php?p=5581594#p5581594

Stephon. wrote:I like it, it's something new, Trinidadians are too one dimensional and generic. This is why we pay more and more for the same Japanese vehicles year after year. Anything that looks different from the current line up we have in Trinidad is automatically ugly :roll:

Postby Stephon. » October 25th, 2011, 8:03 pm

norstar2k wrote:I received a warning today about state of the local, regional and global economies.

Simply put, watch your spending, especially heavy investments which are subject to high rates of depreciation!

Hmm. I guess even buying a vehicle cash will be stupid then :(

Postby cinco » October 25th, 2011, 8:28 pm

nes123 wrote:^^only to some of us 3rd worlders who accustomed to seeing everything JDM or SG and think the best looking cars locally are either a Hyundai,Honda or a KIA ..ya have to have a good eye to see the true beauty in all vehicles to be a real automobile enthusiast.....not discounting ya or nuttin but ya should spend a few month in say Italy or Germany...the "good" eye takes a while to grow on you

em ok
allyuh men does make broad generalisation and dont know who yuh talkin to nah
:lol: carry on

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » October 26th, 2011, 1:35 am

cinco wrote:
nes123 wrote:^^only to some of us 3rd worlders who accustomed to seeing everything JDM or SG and think the best looking cars locally are either a Hyundai,Honda or a KIA ..ya have to have a good eye to see the true beauty in all vehicles to be a real automobile enthusiast.....not discounting ya or nuttin but ya should spend a few month in say Italy or Germany...the "good" eye takes a while to grow on you

em ok

i know right? think u tryin to be a little too logical there pappy :lol:

nes123

Postby nes123 » October 26th, 2011, 9:15 am

cinco wrote:

em ok

Dunno how well some of us did in CXC english,but if that was interpreted as a "broad generalization"...I done yes.. :lol: ....(lemme see if this will be interpreted as a "broad generalization" also)

scotty_buttons wrote:
cinco wrote:

em ok

i know right? think u tryin to be a little too logical there pappy :lol:

like totally right? :lol: .....try an be more "logical" in ya added remarks nah scotty :lol:

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » October 26th, 2011, 1:42 pm

acesinghit wrote:sales reps are funny yes....I remember I went N&M and told the sales rep I have an approval for only $140k and he was dragging his feet to show me anything, he even went on to say I could get a good used car in nealco at the back....

Toyota is the worse...within a few seconds of meeting a sales rep there, they want to know if you buying or not (after all they don't sell, they're order takers) and when he realize like I just looking, he leave me right there and went to a new couple walking through the door.

Lifestyle motors sales reps disgusting....as soon as u walk in and say you heading to the chevy section they quick to bombard you and say the sx4 better and blah blah blah....they have the nerve to say the sx4 better than the cruze :lol:

SS well they in a mess on a whole. You walk in their tiny unimpressive showrooms and its either the car in the back and it cleaning for a customer or the car sold, it not available or this is all we have in the showroom....

The greatest is when I went Honda a time, I was inside nearlly every vehicle in that showroom and no one attended to me and on my way out passing the parts counter, a gentleman asked me if I was getting through and I said nope but Best Auto is.

No customer service or proper buying experience in this land. The cars already expensive plus we have attitude to get. STEUPS....flush dem

So far the worst customer service I've gotten was at Toyota Trinidad and Tobago Limited.. I will refrain from naming the rep...but.

The first question she asks me is what is my salary, so she can guage what I can afford? wtf? When I do fabricate a number she sings "oh yes, you can afford our highest model with leather seats, it's very nice..only $360,000 " or something like that. I kind of zoned out of her her faux west side accident.

I then asked for a quotation on my company name, to which I was then asked how long my company is functioning. She then went on to tell me it doesn't make sense getting a quote with the company name, as no one is going go give me the loan/lease under 2 years. Even after I insisted, she tried telling me "why dont you try a bank instead, they give nice low interest loans for people like yourself".
Since when does a rep tell me how to handle my finances ?
Four days now and I still waiting on the quote; not that it matters because she isn't getting any business from me .

Postby Stephon. » October 26th, 2011, 1:50 pm

Toyota treated us very well when we went, I'll tell you the name of the sales rep when if I find his card later, he seemed like he was begging me to buy the vehicle (in a good way) he was really convincing too.

I overheard one of the ladies from Toyota telling a couple that they should just get the Toyota Yaris basic model because they shouldn't force themselves to buy something they cant afford (The Corolla fully loaded, which they were looking at when she made the statement). In my mind I was thinking, damn that was a messed up statement :lol:

Postby Stephon. » October 26th, 2011, 1:52 pm

Stephon. wrote:Just came from N&M.

The first guy I spoke to was unenthusiastic, I didn't even want to check out the cars much after how bored he looked lol.

Anyways.

Not here for crappy customer service.

The rep name wasn't Marlon by chance? Went there in April and get the same kinna treatment from him. When I asked for a test drive to be arranged he couldn't care less. Told me he would call back with a test drive appt. which he never did. Changed rep and when he saw I came in for the test drive 4 days later he come up and ask if I eh buying from him anymore.

:lol: I didn't care enough to remember his name, he completely turned me off.

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » October 26th, 2011, 7:31 pm

Stephon. wrote:Toyota treated us very well when we went, I'll tell you the name of the sales rep when if I find his card later, he seemed like he was begging me to buy the vehicle (in a good way) he was really convincing too.

I overheard one of the ladies from Toyota telling a couple that they should just get the Toyota Yaris basic model because they shouldn't force themselves to buy something they cant afford (The Corolla fully loaded, which they were looking at when she made the statement). In my mind I was thinking, damn that was a messed up statement :lol:

Kind turned off of them at the moment. In the past 4 years we've bought 4 vehicles, and the last was a pain in the nut. Spent from Febuary to June of the year ' waiting' on stock; only to realize the rep was receiving the vehicles, allegedly taking a side thing and giving it to other customers who ordered after us.

Not cool.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » October 26th, 2011, 7:38 pm

crazychinee wrote:
Stephon. wrote:Toyota treated us very well when we went, I'll tell you the name of the sales rep when if I find his card later, he seemed like he was begging me to buy the vehicle (in a good way) he was really convincing too.

Kind turned off of them at the moment. In the past 4 years we've bought 4 vehicles, and the last was a pain in the nut. Spent from Febuary to June of the year ' waiting' on stock; only to realize the rep was receiving the vehicles, allegedly taking a side thing and giving it to other customers who ordered after us.

Not cool.

I too have recognized this in my search, and I refuse to play that game.

I also wonder if anyone has realized the same vehicles that have people on 'waiting lists' for receipt of new vehicles, coincidentally seem to be the same type of vehicles that have people on similar waiting lists for parts, hence extended downtime. I have recently become aware of several Tucsons and Sportages down for fuel pumps and tranny repairs. I'm also aware of two Santa Fes also down for fuel pumps.

Postby Stephon. » October 26th, 2011, 11:01 pm

Just an FYI, I was in Curepe today on a busy street, a man driving a Tucson (new model - white PCP) was driving through the street. Now I hope I explain this properly.

There were cars coming from the other direction which stopped the vehicle in it's tracks, he was forced to reverse, but I was behind him so I reversed too. Instead of reversing, he kept driving forward almost hitting the vehicle in front of him, his hazard lights then came on solid, ie not flashing. He emerged from the vehicle and came up to me and told me that his reverse isn't working, so I would have to find another route. When I was about to reverse out of the street, his reverse started back to work, he then was unable to put it in drive. After that he had to take off the vehicle and put it back on for it to get into the drive gear. I wonder if this is a common problem with these Tucson vehicles now.

When I got to my destination in Curepe, and told my cool story, someone said "What do you expect, it's Hyundai" :lol:

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » October 27th, 2011, 12:46 am

Stephon. wrote:Just an FYI, I was in Curepe today on a busy street, a man driving a Tucson (new model - white PCP) was driving through the street. Now I hope I explain this properly.

There were cars coming from the other direction which stopped the vehicle in it's tracks, he was forced to reverse, but I was behind him so I reversed too. Instead of reversing, he kept driving forward almost hitting the vehicle in front of him, his hazard lights then came on solid, ie not flashing. He emerged from the vehicle and came up to me and told me that his reverse isn't working, so I would have to find another route. When I was about to reverse out of the street, his reverse started back to work, he then was unable to put it in drive. After that he had to take off the vehicle and put it back on for it to get into the drive gear. I wonder if this is a common problem with these Tucson vehicles now.

When I got to my destination in Curepe, and told my cool story, someone said "What do you expect, it's Hyundai" :lol:

There you go! Another tranny problem! And, what seems to be an electrical issue too!

Where are these ppl? Clearly not on Tuner cuz that kind of vital info isnt coming in, at least not directly.

Duane, give free membership to all new car buyers so they can update us as to their experiences to help aid future buyers. Oh wait, you've done that already! :mrgreen:

nes123

Postby nes123 » October 27th, 2011, 7:30 am

norstark2k...ya see is a good thing ya didn't decide to buy that tuscon after all?smh

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » October 27th, 2011, 8:00 am

Japanese cars are a real turn off for me now.
just got a used euro Ford focus for my gf and t has more features than ny new nav. massey is a pain when it comes to service and their jacked up prices.
any reviews on treatment from best auto?

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » October 27th, 2011, 9:59 am

nes123 wrote:norstark2k...ya see is a good thing ya didn't decide to buy that tuscon after all?smh

Damn straight! :lol:

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » October 27th, 2011, 12:10 pm

So, after all is said and done, this thread can be summarized as follows:

1) The SGV is the be all and end all of SUVs - you want an suv, buy an SGV.
2) The Jetta TSI twin charged is the best car there is in our market, period.
3) Buy an octavia if yuh can't handle the excessive 170 hp from the TSI. The octavia still carries Jetta bragging rights.
4) Korean cars have nice exterior design.
5) Most sales reps have the intelligence of a brick wall.
6) A corolla is toots.

Correct?

Postby Habit7 » October 27th, 2011, 1:52 pm

But for all the merits of the SGV the design is dated. When I think of local longest running car design SGV and its cousin Jimny comes to mind

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » October 27th, 2011, 2:48 pm

DSM_05 wrote:So, after all is said and done, this thread can be summarized as follows:

3) Buy an octavia if yuh can't handle the excessive 170 hp from the TSI. The octavia still carries Jetta bragging rights.
6) A corolla is toots.

Correct?

I accept you premise, but the Jetta's service costs are extremely high for a car, whether Euro or not. No standard service on the SGV or RAV4 costs $6k-$7k.

rawCpoppa

Postby rawCpoppa » October 27th, 2011, 3:22 pm

norstar2k wrote:
DSM_05 wrote:So, after all is said and done, this thread can be summarized as follows:

6) A corolla is toots.

Correct?

I accept you premise, but the Jetta's service costs are extremely high for a car, whether Euro or not. No standard service on the SGV or RAV4 costs $6k-$7k.

The Jetta doesn't cost $6 to 7K for a standard service. If it was that high it must have included the replacing of parts.

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » October 28th, 2011, 6:30 am

rawCpoppa wrote:
norstar2k wrote:

6) A corolla is toots.

Correct?

The Jetta doesn't cost $6 to 7K for a standard service. If it was that high it must have included the replacing of parts.

Benz std. Service?
What about shocks(always bussing those things :oops: )

rawCpoppa

Postby rawCpoppa » October 28th, 2011, 6:36 am

crazychinee wrote:
rawCpoppa wrote:
norstar2k wrote:

6) A corolla is toots.

Correct?

Benz std. Service?
What about shocks(always bussing those things :oops: )

Ehhh???

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » October 28th, 2011, 7:28 am

Stephon. wrote:Just an FYI, I was in Curepe today on a busy street, a man driving a Tucson (new model - white PCP) was driving through the street. Now I hope I explain this properly.

Same thing I was waiting to hear..people rel bigging up hyundai and Kia..rel features blah blah but durability and reliability needed to be confirmed before I was converted.

Then again... they just don't make vehicles like they used to.
For instance the alternator in my 2006 rav4 (new model) just gave way last week! N it was bought from the firm less than 5yrs ago!
Needless to say, Toyota had ridiculous prices for the alternator. (9000 for alternator ALONE)

Ended up fixing it at an auto electrical place in aranguez for less than 2000 (great guy!)
The rectifier was bad apparently.

But what the heck cud cause the alternator to go bad so soon?!
That rel turn me off from toyota dred..
We had a PAJ ke70 corolla for about 30yrs, bought from the firm for 20 gran before selling it a couple years back and not once that thing gave any major trouble like this. Never changed a part in it! (except for filters and usual maintenance stuff)

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » October 28th, 2011, 7:46 am

norstar2k wrote:

6) A corolla is toots.

Correct?

<gasp> So you mean the Jetta TSI may not be all it's being cracked up to be?

Postby Habit7 » October 28th, 2011, 7:50 am

I wonder if it is because novices who can't operate switchable 4x4 vehicles and have been driving Hi gear 4x4 for like a month.