Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

2NR Smurf

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby 2NR Smurf » June 24th, 2010, 5:16 pm

Anyone knows where i could get some Bristlenose plecos to buy?

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » June 24th, 2010, 6:56 pm

2NR Smurf wrote:Anyone knows where i could get some Bristlenose plecos to buy?

I THINK Chai's had.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » June 24th, 2010, 8:47 pm

yea, dey had a wile back but not now...

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » June 25th, 2010, 1:22 am

:( :(

what they have now? anything besides common pleco

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » June 25th, 2010, 1:38 am

yea, dey hav blue plecos $150, royal plecos $100 and butterfly plecos $50...they also hav small ghost knife fish $70...

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » June 27th, 2010, 7:49 pm

Anyone have a microworm culture I can get a starter culture from?

link

Postby link » June 29th, 2010, 6:04 am

hey.
my latest spawn of tilapia has turned out many 'yellow' fingerlings.....
I am in the process of separating to a new growout tank & wiladv if the colour is stable or just a juvenile morph.
I think this is a throwback to the original 'Panama' strain (imported by the late Bert Manhin) which was orange coloured as opposed to the 'red' we know.
rgds

cornfused

Postby cornfused » June 29th, 2010, 5:04 pm

Halfbreed07 wrote:i'd like to share a sad story, if i may.
I was the proud owner of 9 A class discus fish average size 6" (pics posted by me previously)
I dedicated so much time and effort to keeping for the last 2 years, nothing was spared on them.
for those who know these fish know they can be expensive and difficult to keep.
anyway, i recently changed my residence, so i had to relocate them to the new tank.
all was fine for the first two days, they even started to eat, however, sunday night i did a partial change to help reduce fish waste which can quickly build up in a new tank.
i did the change and everything seemed fine.
within 10 minuites dey began darting around the tank, 5 minuites later dey began to sink to the substrate.
the water it seemed was contaminated, or they got what the call ph shock.
i went out and bought bottled water, changed out as much as i could but nothing.
today only one looks like he may make it, in total its about 6k in stock lost.
those who know me, know i am passionate about my fish, i am still hurt by this.
so this is just a wake up call to test any new water u may have to introduce to your fish, this is a difficult thing to watch your fish die knowing you cannot help them.

Sorry but this can happen even to the best of us , ALWAYS have on hand some chlorine and CHLORAMINE remover I used to use one form Azoo but i have discovered a much more potent one from a pet store in St Augustine I'll post the name later , whenever i do a partial water change(30-75%) a few drops takes care of WASA's finest

cornfused

Re:

Postby cornfused » June 29th, 2010, 5:11 pm

cornfused wrote:Agent Roro , a big thank you for your help today and this is a note and we'll see how long they last , i just put them in and it was enough , not packed but nearly, a very nice set up you have there , crystal clear water and those plants had me dreaming :oops:

Just an update , the plants have begun dying very small and mainly bulbs, I got some from JM and trying to throttle back on the water filtration, as discussed RORO , i know that i don't have a true canister filter , but it seem to work for me in fact too good based on the rate of the water hyacinth deaths, but i have used a nozzle to decrease the flow and would be monitoring the plants

djblademan

Postby djblademan » June 29th, 2010, 7:28 pm

anymore discus lovers here?

link

Postby link » June 29th, 2010, 11:07 pm

guy in Debe sellin a blue paired with an orange (says imported ) for 1200...
couple nice full female kois too..200 for one...ok size

AGENT RORO

Re: Re:

Postby AGENT RORO » June 30th, 2010, 12:06 am

cornfused wrote:
cornfused wrote:Agent Roro , a big thank you for your help today and this is a note and we'll see how long they last , i just put them in and it was enough , not packed but nearly, a very nice set up you have there , crystal clear water and those plants had me dreaming :oops:

Just an update , the plants have begun dying very small and mainly bulbs, I got some from JM and trying to throttle back on the water filtration, as discussed RORO , i know that i don't have a true canister filter , but it seem to work for me in fact too good based on the rate of the water hyacinth deaths, but i have used a nozzle to decrease the flow and would be monitoring the plants

Nice man. Keep me updated.

link

Postby link » June 30th, 2010, 5:47 am

did u know the water hyacinth is an important factor in maintaining water quality in the aquatic environment ?? So good, in fact, that they were used in waste water treatment 'green' systems to render treated water safe for discharge back into waterways, etc ??
that means (& I have seen it myself) that if there is not enough waste material entering the system (food, faeces), water hyacinths & 'cabbage lily' actually die off.
maybe cornfused should stop the filtration for a bit, get the hyacinths on the right side of 'dirty water' (ie raise the plant nutrient levels), then start low level filtering until the balance is achieved.

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » June 30th, 2010, 1:22 pm

/\ That's why he's trying to "throttle back on the water filtration"

link

Postby link » June 30th, 2010, 5:57 pm

not 'throttle back'....remove the filter elements for two or three days, then gradually seek the balance once he sees 'green' coming back to the water hyacinths

heavy rollers

Postby heavy rollers » June 30th, 2010, 10:11 pm

Where can i get this and what is an average cost?

firstgen7

Postby firstgen7 » July 1st, 2010, 6:44 am

hey guy looking to start back my discus tank but thinking of going planted too, so can anyone tell me what is the best sudstrate to use ......... hoping to get started by this weekend ,,,,,

SHARIFF

Postby SHARIFF » July 1st, 2010, 2:05 pm

heavy rollers wrote:Where can i get this and what is an average cost?

PANTINS ON PICTON STREET IN WOODBROOK

Postby UML » July 1st, 2010, 6:13 pm

Anyone selling Freshwater Puffer Fish???

Saw some last month in a pet shop in Sando and went back one week later to buy it and they were all gone...I figure someone with a petshop bought them all......so who has them...I want!!!

netsket

Postby netsket » July 2nd, 2010, 9:07 am

Anyone have a contact number for Amazon Pet Shop in Cunupia????

link

Postby link » July 2nd, 2010, 6:17 pm

Smurfy1

Postby Smurfy1 » July 3rd, 2010, 9:34 pm

Looking for a small flower horn or a small arrowwanna

cornfused

Postby cornfused » July 3rd, 2010, 10:23 pm

The water conditioner i have found is "Super Strength Tap Water Conditioner"
Its a clear plastic vessel about four - five inches high , with a red yellow and orange label.

1 drop to each gallon or 1/4 teaspoon to 20 gallons , when i had the azoo or another brand in my hand he handed me this

cornfused

Postby cornfused » July 3rd, 2010, 10:28 pm

link wrote:not 'throttle back'....remove the filter elements for two or three days, then gradually seek the balance once he sees 'green' coming back to the water hyacinths

Link I took off the water filter for about that same period , but what i found is that when i turn it back on , i don't want that initial 2 mins of water going back into the tank, the bacteria is contained in the "canister" and this initial water smells terrible as in full of ammonia and solid waste

link

Postby link » July 4th, 2010, 1:10 am

cornfused wrote:
link wrote:not 'throttle back'....remove the filter elements for two or three days, then gradually seek the balance once he sees 'green' coming back to the water hyacinths

Link I took off the water filter for about that same period , but what i found is that when i turn it back on , i don't want that initial 2 mins of water going back into the tank, the bacteria is contained in the "canister" and this initial water smells terrible as in full of ammonia and solid waste

keep yr water recirculation, but w/o the filters.......that will allow sufficient nitrogen to build up to support the plants. THEN u can meter the level of filtered recirculation u actually need

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » July 4th, 2010, 6:45 am

cornfused wrote:The water conditioner i have found is "Super Strength Tap Water Conditioner"
Its a clear plastic vessel about four - five inches high , with a red yellow and orange label.

1 drop to each gallon or 1/4 teaspoon to 20 gallons , when i had the azoo or another brand in my hand he handed me this

Not the best. I'll PM you what I'm using these days.

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » July 4th, 2010, 11:07 pm

Fellas i have a bunch of Yellow Cichlids would sell them really cheap for anyone interested, the only problem is catching them as they are in a pond. I have too many now, as they are like rabbits :?

heavy rollers

Postby heavy rollers » July 4th, 2010, 11:40 pm

Smurfy1 wrote:Looking for a small flower horn or a small arrowwanna

Check Pet Shop Boys in Sando .................. Mucurapo Street.

They have Black arowanas for $800..........about 3-4"

This was in Friday. They only had about 4 though.

Postby foss » July 5th, 2010, 8:54 am

heavy rollers wrote:
Smurfy1 wrote:Looking for a small flower horn or a small arrowwanna

Check Pet Shop Boys in Sando .................. Mucurapo Street.

They have Black arowanas for $800..........about 3-4"

:shock: :shock:
wow, expensive!!

djblademan

Postby djblademan » July 5th, 2010, 9:27 pm

any number for the fuy with the discus?
AGENT RORO...you have discus? ent you started back breeding? forgive my knowledge eh fellas, i ahve been outa it for a while, have some medical issues that needs to sort out, it shouldnt even be here, cause its my eyes i hadda see about...
so discus men.....?