3NE2NR Official Phototakerouter & Photography Thread...

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » August 17th, 2008, 8:36 pm

I didn't know what sutter speed I wanted, just trying out differnt speeds and looking at the results. Now that I have an idea of what the pic will look like I can use A pri. mode. I'll try playing the ISO this week. Thanks for the pointers you two.

Rensh

Postby Rensh » August 17th, 2008, 10:29 pm

Rel pics rolling in the ched yes. :o

Ed anyone?

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » August 17th, 2008, 10:52 pm

^the photos saved them shoes yes :lol: good work :!:

Rensh

Postby Rensh » August 17th, 2008, 11:17 pm

^ Nah... you cyah be hating on meh shoes. :evil: :oops:

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » August 18th, 2008, 12:35 am

Playing with my POS Tamron 75-300... I need to get myself a canon 100mm f2.8 macro

Dragist

Postby Dragist » August 18th, 2008, 8:41 am

^^^ Nothing is wrong with those shots you just have to find the sweet spot of that Lens My Tamron 70-300mm is from f8 at f11 it's great .

My own has a Macro switch on it .

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » August 18th, 2008, 10:55 am

Wow! Always loved Tiger lillies.

Unless you intend to make heaps of money from Macro shots, why not invest in Canon extension tubes, or even a Kenko extension tub kit?

These will convert any of your existing lenses into macro lenses, with no sacrifice on quality, but for a fraction of the price.

The problems I'm seeing with the images are lack of light and aperture too large (probably as a result of not having enough light). Macros should show impeccable detail, and for this you need light. Secondly, when you've decided what your subject is, whether it's the entire flower or just the stamens, you need to choose an aperture that would allow the entire subject to be in sharp focus. Then when you realise that because of how close you are*, that you probably need to use f11, f16, or even f22, then you really have to figure out how you're going to light the subject.

*Two things to keep in mind with this are that DOF decreases when you're focusing at close range, and also to keep in mind the minimum focusing distance of the lens, unless using an extension tube.

Tripod or monopod would be a good idea.

In the 4th pic, where there's what appears to be window light in the background, the light could have been better used by allowing the light from the window to cross the subject at 45 deg. to your back left or right when taking the pic, this would better illuminate the subject, giving it better form and shape.

Other things to remember are:when focusing close to the subject, your lens can block the on-camera flash from the subject, and also it can help to switch off Auto Focus when shooting macros, to ensure you're focusing exactly where you want.

Freelander

Postby Freelander » August 18th, 2008, 12:23 pm

cant remember if i uploadded these but oh well

Dragist

Postby Dragist » August 18th, 2008, 12:25 pm

Testing for a product shoot

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » August 18th, 2008, 12:40 pm

Thanks for the tips fellas.... I did increase the amperture because of low light, but in some of the pics the subject became part of my DOF, Im not sure if you understand what Im trying to say... Basically the edges of subject started to blur with the background... When I stated closing the amperture to get the entire flower in focus, then I ran into a low light situation... This morning I went outside and took several comparison shots with different amperture settings and thanks to Draglist for the tip, I managed to get what I was after... My lens don't have a macro switch.. I herd the extention tubes add's a few stops to the lens, so basically my 300mm @5.6 will probably act like a f7 or so... Macro would have to be my main interest and where I live (suburbs) there are tons of little critters & flowers to shoot... I herd the 100mm f2.8 makes a good portrait lens aswell so I will probably fork out the $500 and buy it... In the coming weeks I'll organize myself better by getting a proper tripod and few other little things to make my life easier...

Here's a pic of my stink little african- Congo

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » August 18th, 2008, 1:30 pm

You're mixing up extension tubes with telephoto converters.

Extension tubes simply increase the distance between your lens and camera body, and because there are no elements it does not affect your apertures at all.

What they do is allow you to focus much closer than the lens alone allows you to.

See here:

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_ss_gw?ur ... be&x=0&y=0

On a Rebel XTi, the 100mm f2.8 Macro would probably give you ok portraits but remember you'd now effectively have a 150mm fixed length lens. great for headshots, head and shoulders, and possibly upper body shots. Anything more than that, and you'll be too far away from your subject for effective communication and to capture fine detail.

What I'm trying to say is that I use my 70-200 F4L for portraits alot, and even with that, I find myself pissed when I have to swap lenses in the middle of a shoot to capture a 3/4 or head to toe.

I think there are ALOT of other more useful lenses/lens tube combinations out there to spend your $500 on.

My choices would probably be:

Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Canon EOS AF Mount
$169.00 http://www.amazon.com/Kenko-Auto-Extens ... 010&sr=8-1

Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II Camera Lens
$88.57 http://www.amazon.com/Canon-50mm-1-8-Ca ... 010&sr=8-5

Sigma 70-300mm F/4-5.6 APO DG Macro Lens
$219.00
http://www.amazon.com/Sigma-70-300mm-4- ... 305&sr=8-1

Total: $476.57

OR

Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Canon EOS AF Mount
$169.00 http://www.amazon.com/Kenko-Auto-Extens ... 010&sr=8-1

Canon EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS
$409.99
http://www.amazon.com/Canon-28-135mm-3- ... 571&sr=8-1

plex

Postby plex » August 18th, 2008, 1:40 pm

A little visitor who was lost and we kept him until the owners realised he was missing, cute little dog but glad he is back home now..

Freelander

Postby Freelander » August 18th, 2008, 1:43 pm

^^ lol like u lost a slipper

plex

Postby plex » August 18th, 2008, 1:48 pm

Freelander wrote:^^ lol like u lost a slipper

What you mean?

Yeo

Postby Yeo » August 18th, 2008, 1:51 pm

XTi or XS or XSi?

What do you guys recommend?

Freelander

Postby Freelander » August 18th, 2008, 1:53 pm

^ XSi :D

and plex i mean the puppy probubly ate ur slipper while he was by u :lol:

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » August 18th, 2008, 1:53 pm

If budget allows: XSi all the way!!!

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » August 18th, 2008, 1:56 pm

Yeo

Postby Yeo » August 18th, 2008, 1:58 pm

Notorious Scullman wrote:If budget allows: XSi all the way!!!

So this (Silver or black)
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/5 ... _k_a_.html

instead of this
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/4 ... l_XTi.html

and this

Less than $100 difference from lo- hi.

plex

Postby plex » August 18th, 2008, 2:02 pm

Freelander wrote:^ XSi :D

and plex i mean the puppy probubly ate ur slipper while he was by u :lol:

The dog saw me eating pizza and i had to break piece and give him..He eat 2 big pieces.....But i told him the beer is not for him, so he drank water instead... :lol: :lol:

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » August 18th, 2008, 2:06 pm

Or you can buy my XTi :lol:
$550 includes 18-55 kit lens, tamron 75-300 macro, 4gb exteme III CF, tiffen 58mm & 62mm UV protectors

Help fund my 40D project :lol:
Last edited by RoTaRyBoYz on August 18th, 2008, 3:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » August 18th, 2008, 3:01 pm

Yeo wrote:
Notorious Scullman wrote:If budget allows: XSi all the way!!!

So this (Silver or black)

instead of this
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/4 ... l_XTi.html

and this

Less than $100 difference from lo- hi.

yup

Dragist

Postby Dragist » August 18th, 2008, 9:29 pm

So I made a Light Box today

Link if anyone wants to make one

http://strobist.blogspot.com/2006/07/ho ... tudio.html

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » August 18th, 2008, 10:12 pm

^ cool light box.. That will come in very handy when Im doing product photos for work

Here's my first attempt at long exposures.... I took several comparision shots at different shutter speeds & WB settings... I'll practice some more this weekend if I go down to the city... I haven't studied WB in detail yet, but I have a basic idea of light temperature (color) so I guess i have to start reading..

Dragist

Postby Dragist » August 18th, 2008, 10:14 pm

One more

Dragist

Postby Dragist » August 18th, 2008, 10:26 pm

Good shots Scullman what Lens is that the 18-55 Kit ?

I just pulled out my 18-55 To take the Light box shots it's not that bad stopped down

I was at f11 for those shots

ImprezaDriver

Postby ImprezaDriver » August 19th, 2008, 12:31 am

R. Mutt
Location: on the side of the road maptracing and reflashing the ecu

Postby R. Mutt » August 19th, 2008, 5:51 am

nice shot.

Dragist

Postby Dragist » August 19th, 2008, 4:19 pm

Hey I just went to photosig and I am the Featured photographer of the day :oops: :oops:

http://www.photosig.com/go/main

Freelander

Postby Freelander » August 19th, 2008, 4:51 pm

lol congrats david. We all gonna have to step up our game to compete with you lol.