brams112 wrote:zoom rader wrote:brams112 wrote:rspann wrote:Larry Howai in an article in the express by Asha javeed on the1/12/12 confirmed that the government only talked to the IADB but made no request for a loan because the funds would not have been ready in time for the start of construction.This was confirmed by Luis Alberto Moreno president of the IADB.He said this was why they decided to fund it from the treasury/budget.
Hopes this educates fari on his questioning,because he keeps listening to the wanna be prime minister it seems![]()
Guys dont waste time explaining anything to rfari he will always put a useless PNM spin to it from bailiser house with bogus reports and hearsay propaganda
Fellas like him make me laff boi,he keeps asking but so what?
rspann wrote:NO, I remember them saying that all is not needed at the same time and $1.5b was allocated last year and I cant remember if it was the same amt this year or$2b.So by the time it done it paid for.Question ,why they put a five minister team to run the project?It harder to thief than when one man controlling.You feel Kamla didn't know what would go on if the MOW/JW was in charge?
rspann wrote:It was during the budget speech I heard it.Also the team was Jack,Kevin Ramnarine,Moonilal,Kamla and I think the last one was Chandresh Sharma.The rationale was that it involved their constituencies so they could deal with the issues and Ramnarine would deal with the petrotrin and oilfield issues.I believe it was a wise move in a different way.Three of them is part of the cabal Jack claims is against him so they would keep him in check.
src1983 wrote:Nobody answer my question. Who would be willing to pay $5M to live in penal?
Peoples Champion wrote:src1983 wrote:Nobody answer my question. Who would be willing to pay $5M to live in penal?
WHOEVER HAS AN ISSUE WITH MR. EDWARD MOODIE'S COMPENSATION @NEILSINGH
MR. EDWARD MOODIE WILL BE ON WINTV MORNING PROGRAMME TOMORROW AT 6:45AM WITH HANSLEY AJODHA
TUNE IN AND GET THE FACTS! THEN COME BACK AND YAP YAP YOUR UNEDUCATED SUGGESTIONS![]()
MadCrix wrote:Man join tuner to post this lol
src1983 wrote:Peoples Champion wrote:src1983 wrote:Nobody answer my question. Who would be willing to pay $5M to live in penal?
MR. EDWARD MOODIE WILL BE ON WINTV MORNING PROGRAMME TOMORROW AT 6:45AM WITH HANSLEY AJODHA
TUNE IN AND GET THE FACTS! THEN COME BACK AND YAP YAP YOUR UNEDUCATED SUGGESTIONS![]()
So u are saying u could get a person to $5m for a house in penal, when he could get a 1/2 acre in Valsayn for the same thing???
I don't care about who for the highway or not, I want to know how they came up with that....
Peoples Champion wrote:src1983 wrote:Peoples Champion wrote:src1983 wrote:Nobody answer my question. Who would be willing to pay $5M to live in penal?
So u are saying u could get a person to $5m for a house in penal, when he could get a 1/2 acre in Valsayn for the same thing???
I don't care about who for the highway or not, I want to know how they came up with that....
Read my previous post, the compensation was 4.1M not 5M.. I stated and this is something EVERYBODY knows; how much ever the compensation package is, it's not the worth of the property; it's the worth of the property PLUS a DISTURBANCE ALLOWANCE which is given for displacement to residents in order to facilitate their moving.. READ and UNDERSTAND! It ain't that hard
nervewrecker wrote:So help me out here....they getting 4.1m disturbance allowance? Shift the highway a bit nuh...like by my house.
neilsingh100 wrote:If there was ever any doubt why the highway has to be built... This confirms that it is pay back to government friends and family...4 million for a house in Penal that land cost $175,000 in 2005.Nidco consultant cashes in on $4m highway deal
http://guardian.co.tt/news/2012-12-02/n ... ghway-deal
National Infrastructure Development Company Ltd (Nidco) community consultant Edward Moodie—who is responsible for ensuring relocated residents of the Debe to Mon Desir segment of the San Fernando to Point Fortin Highway are compensated—has brokered a $4.1 million deal for himself.
But this apparent conflict of interest is not the only questionable aspect of the land acquisition for the controversial highway. One of the valuators being used by Nidco—Harland Temull, who also did the valuation for Moodie’s property at Goopie Trace, Penal—has submitted a proposal for 15 acres of land owned by his family and himself at San Francique Main Road, and is waiting to sign on the dotted line.
These dubious transactions have caused consternation in the Ministry of Works, with some employees calling for Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar to intervene. A senior ministry official commented, “It is a clear conflict of interest. How could people involved in the transition process be working and be gaining from it? Where is the transparency?”
State agency Nidco has been entrusted with the responsibility for the $7.3 billion highway as part of a comprehensive land transformation programme. So far only six residents at Goopie Trace have accepted compensation to relocate to Petit Morne, Ste Madeleine, as the protest of the Highway Re-Route Movement led by hunger-striker Dr Wayne Kublalsingh continues.
Among those residents is Moodie, who is also president of the Debe/Point Fortin Action Committee. A visit to Nidco’s Penal office on Friday to get answers about the dubious land deal involving Moodie unearthed more questions than answers.
Nidco consultant cashes in on $4.1 million deal
Moodie is insisting the compensation package offered to him is above board. He was offered payment earlier this year. A request from the Sunday Guardian to explain the rationale behind the $4.1 million deal offered to him for his four-bedroom home, which is situated on two lots of land—compared to the $2.4 million each paid to two residents who owned houses on one-acre parcels of land—was rejected at first.
Temull immediately interrupted the interview, insisting such information was confidential and could not be revealed. However, a visibly taken-aback Moodie confirmed that he did in fact receive the sum. He admitted many people were not aware he had been compensated. Moodie said in 2005 he purchased the land for $175,000 and spent approximately $2.4 million building his home, which includes a swimming pool.
Moodie insisted he has nothing to hide, saying, “I did not get back my two lots of land. I only got back one lot. “But I was compensated. I got $4.1 million. I built a castle for this highway. I finished building my house the week of the elections in 2010. “In the valuation report my house was valued at $5 million, but I decided to settle for $4.1 million. Many people were upset with me because they said I could have gotten more money.
“I accepted less because I knew my valuation would be heavily scrutinised, and I did not want to compromise my integrity for $1 million.” He refused to provide the Sunday Guardian with a copy of the valuation report on his house, though he flipped through the pages of the report, showing photos of what he said was his home.
Asked why he continued upgrading the property, even though he was one of the residents earmarked to be relocated, Moodie said the upkeep to any property was key to ensure fair equity. “I paved my yard with oil sand and I fixed some cracks. I have to maintain my property.
“For those that are trying for me to lose credibility, I want to ask them if, when they are selling a vehicle, they do not spray air freshener. Let us be practical, it is reality. “A lot of people are saying that I built my house for the highway. The point is, when I bought my property, I had no idea the highway was coming through here. I finished my house properly in preparation for it.”
Justifying his choice to jump ship and now support construction of the highway, Moodie said it was a case of being between the devil and the deep blue sea. “It is the truth I was against the highway at first, but after various meetings with different officials I realised we really do not have a case.
“I was then given the responsibility to ensure that residents are satisfied with the transition. I look at issues and take it back to Nidco. I am also heavily involved in explaining to the people what has been offered. I take a special interest in churches and big businesses because of what they stand to lose by the highway. I am facilitating them to ensure that they get their money’s worth and the transition from one place to another.”
Recommended evaluators want three per cent so...
Defending his decision to use additional evaluators—apart from those recommended by the ministry—Moodie said it was aimed at reducing cost. “People are free to use any of the valuators recommended by the ministry, but the issue is they want three per cent of the compensation. Other valuators we approached like HT Valuation and Accounting Ltd, to which Temull is attached, are willing to accept only one per cent.
“If we are giving so much business, why must they want three per cent?” He said while he was not directly involved in the negotiations, six landowners from his area asked him for help in reaching an agreement. “I am not involved in negotiations unless a client asks me. From the six residents, all of them came back to me and said they were fairly compensated and are just waiting on the lot of land.
“We must understand, though, that Penal is a place where old East Indian people have lived all their lives, and give them how much money, they are not interested.”
Moodie and Temull claim no conflict of interest
Dismissing the notion of a conflict of interest, Moodie said, “People are saying all kinds of things about me. The fact is, I have to look after the people because a highway has to be built.” Temull said his company offers a particular brand and is well known in south Trinidad.
“It is all about customer service compared to other evaluators. They come to us; we do not go to them. “I am being affected by the highway. It is four family members being affected. We have dealt with them already. It was stress for my family. My mom, Annie, got very ill. We are negotiating for a settlement right now,” Temull said.
Residents charge ‘Moodie sold out’
But while Moodie is convinced he has the interest of residents at heart, several residents are accusing him of “selling out.” Even some of Moodie’s own neighbours who live directly adjacent to his house have turned their backs on him. Ravi and Arti Persad blamed Government for the controversy surrounding the highway because of the lack of proper representation and consultation.
Saying they are not opposed to moving, the Persads said they were not willing to meet with Moodie. “Neighbours have conflict sometimes. We do not have dealings with him, so what is our situation? Do I have to depend on him? “It is a conflict of interest with him being involved in this matter. It is a case of himself to himself.
“The Government is going about it the wrong way and they are not listening to the people.” Moodie’s decision has also cost him his longtime friendship with 70-year-old Balliram Siewh. When the Sunday Guardian approached Siewh, he said, “I do not want to hear about Edward Moodie. I would die first before moving.
“We were friends; now we are enemies. He only seeing about himself and not representing what we the people want.” A similar view was expressed by Bridglal Ramcharan, 79, of Tulas Trace. Ramcharan, who lives with his brother Mahadeo and sister-in-law Radhica, said, “Tell me, at this age, where are we going to build a house? We might die before it finishes. Moodie fool all of us down here; he came here and telling us to fix up the house to get good money.
“But we are not taking him on. We do not intend to move anywhere. “This entire controversy is not going to end nice at all, because the people affected are being ignored.”
Charles: I am not involved in settlements
When the Sunday Guardian asked Nidco head Dr Carson Charles to shed some light on the matter, he distanced himself, saying he had no involvement in negotiations. Asked to comment on the $4.1 million settlement offered to Moodie, Charles said, “I cannot comment on what settlement he got. The evaluators dealt with that.”
Nidco consultant cashes in on $4m highway deal
On Temull, Charles only said he was facilitating the residents. “He is representing the people. We allow the residents to choose who they want and at the end, when the settlement is agreed, we pay the residents and the evaluator. Temull is one of the evaluators being used,” Charles said. He said Temull was allowed to hold consultations at the Nidco offices during negotiations.
Line minister Emmanuel George did not respond to text messages and telephone calls from the Sunday Guardian.
Peoples Champion wrote:nervewrecker wrote:So help me out here....they getting 4.1m disturbance allowance? Shift the highway a bit nuh...like by my house.
You sir are quoting very wrong from my posts.. If you read them again I said that 4.1M was the compensation for the House AND the Disturbance Allowance in one!
Peoples Champion wrote:nervewrecker wrote:So help me out here....they getting 4.1m disturbance allowance? Shift the highway a bit nuh...like by my house.
You sir are quoting very wrong from my posts.. If you read them again I said that 4.1M was the compensation for the House AND the Disturbance Allowance in one!
src1983 wrote:Peoples Champion wrote:src1983 wrote:Peoples Champion wrote:src1983 wrote:Nobody answer my question. Who would be willing to pay $5M to live in penal?
Read my previous post, the compensation was 4.1M not 5M.. I stated and this is something EVERYBODY knows; how much ever the compensation package is, it's not the worth of the property; it's the worth of the property PLUS a DISTURBANCE ALLOWANCE which is given for displacement to residents in order to facilitate their moving.. READ and UNDERSTAND! It ain't that hard
You seem upset, I am not referring to Moodie, I am putting a situation forward
Since you seem upset I put it to you, will you be willing to pay 4.1m for a property in penal?
And with regards to "compensation package" since you are so versed tell me what do you think is the value???