Trinidad and Tobago V8 projects

d spike

Re: Trinidad & Tobago V8 Car Club

Postby d spike » December 12th, 2011, 1:09 pm

roadracer7 wrote:using volks wagon shell as platform.

I have seen some work along these lines, and I really liked what I saw! More power to you, hope you get no more trouble... (hoping to see some pics!!! :mrgreen: )

nigie

Postby nigie » December 12th, 2011, 2:07 pm

V8 = effortless, unstressed, reliable power and effortless torque at a cost...that cost is WEIGHT
Japanese 2.0 turbo (for example) = reasonably high stressed power, maybe not as reliable as a V8, BUT you get a compact, lightweight package, which pays dividends in terms of vehicle handling and balance, not to mention fuel economy
They both have their merits and ultimately it comes down to preference

Yep u put it ...beautifully...and im glad u mentioned the Rover V8 ...which comes in at a paltry 318 lbs and may I mention the very popular Chevy LS1 at 460 lbs...
I hate 2 hear people ..even mechanics with that dreaded .."You running a big stinking V8"... PEOPLE.... a lot of the jappo performance engines which we love here...are in fact heavier (and longer) than the V8 ...and... added in our performance quest is that large intercooler and piping way way up front. So... its consideration in handling and balance....so u do the math..

2JZ-GTE - 594 lbs alone
w/ Getrag V160 or A340 - 746lbs

7MGTE complete with turbo and A/C compressor 515 lb

L28 complete with stock manifolds, SU's, and A/C compressor + 5 spd 523lbs

Nissan CA18DET with trans 389lb

NissanSR20DET Complete + Five Speed 490lbs (source Sport Compact Car)

Nissan Z20 NAPS-Z 2.0 346 (4) RWD chain cam

Ford 289/302 V8 460lb (168) (late 5.0s are a bit lighter)

:mrgreen:

NOMOSS

Postby NOMOSS » December 12th, 2011, 4:51 pm

roadracer7 wrote:
nigie wrote:People does bad talk the Jappers ,I guilty as well,but they does get it right for a lot less money,and horsepower is horsepower no matter who makes it .Nigie how bout a toyota v8 in big shirley eh?

MOSS in local racing the jappers... those who have experience in both say that V8 is less money to race..
actually a lot of the V8s in local racing the blocks are over 20yrs old..and the engines seem 2 b running forever...plus I ..have seen expenditure jappers side...these fellas spending gazillions of dollars....its not about bad talking jappers....engines/drive trains have weaknesses ..and power is power with all the old talk the same Jz or rB mite b bolted to a GM powerglide and linked to a Ford 9 inch diff
fact is fact.... the jappers making great strides here & globally in the performance area..thats why I rally the V8 posse to hold on to the power we weild.... :mrgreen:

remember the import set has the bamboo factory. look at how many engines that go through that place & how many of these engines go through when moded. i once built the only lasting b20 honda engine with cams ,springs ,v gears,o-pump etc. engine did 10,200 rpms driving. the fromt of the car wanted to break apart. told the owner the valves cannot take it at that rpm, and he sent for them but not in time."kaboom" yes these engines make good power but the reliability factor comes into play. horse power per dollar give me 60+year designed V8.STILL GOING STRONG ALL THESE YEARS. and reliable power.remember bmw f1 1.5 liter turbo engine of the 70's 1500+ horsepower. then imagine 3700+ hp from 8.4 litres,4300+ hp from 8.0 litres turboed.v8 guys still have the same engine that came out the factory 50-60 years ago, & still going fast. but i still not selling my 94 suzuki swift.[/quote]

I agree with most of what was said I have cars with 4 cylinder engines and I am building a 302 at present.Frankly the cost of building both is about the same and it seems unfair that one gets 8 forged pistons with forged rods for about 600US and 4 pistons and rods of the same quality for the 4banger is about 800US.i have four project cars one with a 2000cc pinto twin 44idf webbers,I am doing the 302 cortina ,a turbo 2000cc pinto in the near future and a secret project with some of my associates which we will post when it finally gets off the ground (probably with an sr20 in race trim).You can build a v8 cheaply and get some good power but if you want real quality parts it will cost you trust me .I dont know what parts other guys buying but my money trickles slowly but steadily so I don't practice false economy and I am lazy.I save and spend for the good stuff .I dont like worries and breakdowns .

Any way on another note does anyone have any idea if a 750cfm holley double pumper is too much for a road going 302 running a stock crank (no stroker) .

NOMOSS

Postby NOMOSS » December 12th, 2011, 5:06 pm

roadracer7 wrote:using volks wagon shell as platform.nuff said. v8 vs rotary vs japo vs euro vs each other=going nowhere.lighten up guys .bring some intelligence to the board. try to encourage not discourage. subtly point a HUMAN in the right direction,not stamp them into the ground with criticism. words of wisdom make the wise wiser.

Yuh choppin de top too.Would love to see one done locally.Go for it man .Always wanted to do a chop top and a rat rod only makes it sweeter .Who knows the bug (lol) might bite me.

nigie

Postby nigie » December 12th, 2011, 7:33 pm

I agree with most of what was said I have cars with 4 cylinder engines and I am building a 302 at present.Frankly the cost of building both is about the same and it seems unfair that one gets 8 forged pistons with forged rods for about 600US and 4 pistons and rods of the same quality for the 4banger is about 800US.

Thats why people r amazed when they hear the cost of V8 parts.....notably camshafts, rods and pistons...u wonder if its the same isky or crane making the stuff.. :mrgreen:

Postby MG Man » December 12th, 2011, 10:04 pm

nigie why u comparing japanese engine AND box against V8 engine alone?

Postby wagonrunner » December 12th, 2011, 10:59 pm

MG Man wrote:nigie why u comparing japanese engine AND box against V8 engine alone?

yuh mean V8 boxes not weightless? nah man.

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » December 12th, 2011, 11:18 pm

for the 302 ford, what heads ,2 or 4 barrel ,size valves,camshaft specs ,headers comp. ratio. if stock engine original 2 barrel 4500 rpm using 4 barrel intake go with 450 cfm holley vaccum secondarys. if original 4 barrel engine with aftermarket intake go 600 cfm holley vaccum secondary .if camshaft with 280 degrees up ,9.3:1 + comp. ratio, headers modded heads 6500 rpm ,go with 750 cfm d/p jet to suit combo. checked out the beetle rods looks good .designed something way outrageous.today the 2000cc up ford cosworth engine is still a tough nut to crack,. 650 hp factory original engines. remember patrick boodoosing's cosworth escort "raw power" running against street dominator vauxhall v8 ,those were racing days .take your licks ,you beat me today we end up in the same bar drinking togeather, those were the days.now we in nightime. dark days for racing.

NOMOSS

Postby NOMOSS » December 13th, 2011, 7:07 am

roadracer7 wrote:for the 302 ford, what heads ,2 or 4 barrel ,size valves,camshaft specs ,headers comp. ratio. if stock engine original 2 barrel 4500 rpm using 4 barrel intake go with 450 cfm holley vaccum secondarys. if original 4 barrel engine with aftermarket intake go 600 cfm holley vaccum secondary .if camshaft with 280 degrees up ,9.3:1 + comp. ratio, headers modded heads 6500 rpm ,go with 750 cfm d/p jet to suit combo. checked out the beetle rods looks good .designed something way outrageous.today the 2000cc up ford cosworth engine is still a tough nut to crack,. 650 hp factory original engines. remember patrick boodoosing's cosworth escort "raw power" running against street dominator vauxhall v8 ,those were racing days .take your licks ,you beat me today we end up in the same bar drinking togeather, those were the days.now we in nightime. dark days for racing.

It was done for the fun those days and it kept bringing out the best.I remember guys used to slow down when there was highway traffic and wait for the other guy until it was clear to go again .Now these guys take the opportunity to bob and weave and bad drive people and boast afterward that I leave him out.I suppose thats how they need to polish their egos.I remember when it was fun to to go down the highway matching wits with another guy ,you get your arse cut and you had a good laugh .Guys nowadays take it personally and its like they want to kill you animosity for days i tell you ,thats not what it is about for me and i think thats why i dont have the stomach for fast driving anymore

NOMOSS

Postby NOMOSS » December 13th, 2011, 7:09 am

roadracer7 wrote:for the 302 ford, what heads ,2 or 4 barrel ,size valves,camshaft specs ,headers comp. ratio. if stock engine original 2 barrel 4500 rpm using 4 barrel intake go with 450 cfm holley vaccum secondarys. if original 4 barrel engine with aftermarket intake go 600 cfm holley vaccum secondary .if camshaft with 280 degrees up ,9.3:1 + comp. ratio, headers modded heads 6500 rpm ,go with 750 cfm d/p jet to suit combo. checked out the beetle rods looks good .designed something way outrageous.today the 2000cc up ford cosworth engine is still a tough nut to crack,. 650 hp factory original engines. remember patrick boodoosing's cosworth escort "raw power" running against street dominator vauxhall v8 ,those were racing days .take your licks ,you beat me today we end up in the same bar drinking togeather, those were the days.now we in nightime. dark days for racing.

i did not know raw power was a cossie,was it single or twin cam?

nigie

Postby nigie » December 13th, 2011, 9:01 am

MG Man wrote:nigie why u comparing japanese engine AND box against V8 engine alone?

GRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR!!!!!

Point i was making is that in some instances u have a lighter V8 alternative to the big long heavy six :x

Postby MG Man » December 13th, 2011, 9:03 am

yeah but Iw as comparing 4 cylinder Japanese engines, hence 2.0 Turbo in my reference.......and u still comparing an engine and box to an engine alone.........can you show us the weight of the V8 engines you quoted together with a common type of gearbox they might use?
I think that would offer a more fair comparison

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » December 13th, 2011, 11:30 am

5.0 ford eng.430 lbs, t5 manual transmission 112 lbs =542 lbs with all accessories .

GM LS1 eng. 487 lbs, t5 manual transmission 112 lbs =599 lbs with all accessories .
LS1 with T56 6 speed 487+ 125=612 lbs
SR20 eng & m/t=490lbs etc
RAW POWER WAS TWIN CAM COSWORTH 4 CYL.
LS1=345 HP A NEW THING
LS2=400 HP AUSSIE INSPIRED
LS3=450 HP BALLS BRUISER
LS6=430 HP SETTING NEW GROUND
LS7=505 HP +26MPG CITY
LS9=638 HP OVERKILL
LT1=300 HP WOLF IN SHEEP CLOTHING
LT4=330 HP DECEPTIVE
FORD 4.6 =412 HP FUN RIDE
LS460 LEXUS=380 HP LATEST SWAPPER'S ENGINE OF CHOICE.=489 LBS
imagine 2 modified suzuki hyabusa cylinder heads on a little V8=500 BHP CHECK OUT CLARKSON THE ITALIAN JOB.
TO EACH HIS OWN,
wheather you own a old school cast iron v8,or a toyota,nissan,mitsubishi,honda,mazda rotary,or a moped JUST get out & enjoy yourself. imagine all the mini's,fords,matrix subbies ,evo's rx7,s MG'S,nissans volvo's............. driving along together and everybody smiling. WE HAVING AH NICE TIME.
Last edited by roadracer7 on December 13th, 2011, 12:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

nigie

Postby nigie » December 13th, 2011, 12:11 pm

Well actually i was concentrating on V8 versus the ever popular jaysee and rb..concerning weight and balance...but as u can see the sr20 and manual tranny clocking close to 500lbs whan the rover v8 is 319lbs and a powerglide transmission is 92lbs but u got some insight on weight thanks 2 roadracer...

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » December 13th, 2011, 12:15 pm

nigie wrote:
roadracer7 wrote:5.0 ford eng.430 lbs, t5 manual transmission 112 lbs =542 lbs with all accessories .

GM LS1 eng. 487 lbs, t5 manual transmission 112 lbs =599 lbs with all accessories .
LS1=345 HP A NEW THING
LS3=450 HP BALLS BRUISER
LS7=505 HP +26MPG CITY
LS9=638 HP OVERKILL
LT4=330 HP DECEPTIVE
imagine 2 modified suzuki hyabusa cylinder heads on a little V8=500 BHP
TO EACH HIS OWN,
wheather you own a old school cast iron v8,or a toyota,nissan,mitsubishi,honda,mazda rotary,or a moped JUST get out & enjoy yourself. imagine all the mini's,fords,matrix subbies ,evo's rx7,s MG'S,nissans volvo's............. driving along together and everybody smiling. WE HAVING AH NICE TIME.

Well actually i was concentrating on V8 versus the ever popular jaysee and rb..concerning weight and balance...but as u can see the sr20 and manual tranny clocking close to 500lbs whan the rover v8 is 319lbs and a powerglide transmission is 92lbs but u got some insight on weight thanks 2 roadracer...

ARIEL ATOM 500 HP 3.0 litre V8 ENG.=198 LBS " unbelievable" check out ariel atom wiki
1.15 minutes at top gear track

Postby MG Man » December 13th, 2011, 12:33 pm

Ariel Atom is an unfair comparison
the car itself weighs about as much as a housefly
not to mention that is an alloy V8
the engines nigie typically refers to are cast iron

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » December 13th, 2011, 12:40 pm

SUPRA 2 JZGTE=594 LBS ENGINE ALONE
RB25DET ENG & BOX 700LBS

Postby MG Man » December 13th, 2011, 12:44 pm

as I said before, my comparison was on 4 cylinder engines.........

nigie

Postby nigie » December 13th, 2011, 12:47 pm

MG Man wrote:Ariel Atom is an unfair comparison

Yep im refering to the local offerings in terms of engines
I may never see a atom engine in my life..and im talking about a man looking at us V8 ers and talking about big hulking engine in car ..and gas etc...and he has a rb25 plus turbo and intercooler in a Escort... :shock: WHATTTTTTTTTTT!....also these jappo engines burn a lot of fuel especially at the rpms that we tailor them 2 operate at .. :roll:

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » December 13th, 2011, 12:51 pm

take into consideration cheap aftermarket parts.
for instance classic 350 chevy 550 lbs all cast iron engine.
aluminum heads save 56 lbs
intake manifold save 24 lbs
exhaust manifolds save 40 lbs
added up save 120 lbs =430 lb engine
plus eliminate fuel pump, aluminum water pump, after market a/c,alt,p/s.
it can only get better

Postby wagonrunner » December 13th, 2011, 12:52 pm

1st weight, now consumption. and talking performance.
nigie, why grasp at straws?
you like what you like. no scene. but keep emotions out of facts please. It'll help others accept your point of your view as a valid one.

nigie

Postby nigie » December 13th, 2011, 2:13 pm

wagonrunner wrote:1st weight, now consumption. and talking performance.
nigie, why grasp at straws?
you like what you like. no scene. but keep emotions out of facts please. It'll help others accept your point of your view as a valid one.

The V8 option has it merits and demerits...
Fact is there are lightweight V8s ....notably the rover/buick V8 that Mg mentioned....when compared to some turbo charged 6s...so i dunno what straws im grasping at..thats the facts...has nothing 2 do with what i like..i like all engines...even the crooked vauxhall slant 4... :lol:

Postby wagonrunner » December 13th, 2011, 4:08 pm

ok then. two questions based on.......
nigie wrote:also these jappo engines burn a lot of fuel especially at the rpms that we tailor them 2 operate at .. :roll:

if you're talking stock for stock, that statement is horribly skewed as it's untrue.
And if modified for performance, why is gas consumption a factor?

as for the RB25 in an escort, i'd like to see a pic of that and that firewall. :|

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » December 13th, 2011, 4:48 pm

just to clear the air . from my personal experience 5.0 chevy sb 5speed manual 3.9 final. $220.00 full tank of premium fuel, Arima to Gulf City clipping @ 160-260+kph. at the mall would be asked to start & rev engine 30-40 times & return to Arima. To refill at service station between $29-$36 tt. arima to point fortin & back $42-$43 premium fuel. this over a year of driving vehicle. Once borrowed my good friend's S14 sr20det 322 hp at wheels Arima to Sando roundabout behind service station up by thaleel back to service station $100.00 super back to Arima. Now i left Arima with 1/4 tank fuel,after filling & return tank was on 1/4 $100.00 tt round trip. Club member has a 454 chevy bb in a trans am ,bought a r34 skyline for his son & commented that " the skyline burning more gas than the big block in meh trans am". the misconception that v8's are gas guzzlers is fuelled by lack of hands on experience" it is true that some maltuned oil burning v8's do consume a ridiculous amount of fuel,dont judge all by a few.$10.00 prem in my 94 swift arima over lady young to st james by mathura's back over lady young up the main road to arima WOW.

NOMOSS

Postby NOMOSS » December 13th, 2011, 6:06 pm

roadracer7 wrote:5.0 ford eng.430 lbs, t5 manual transmission 112 lbs =542 lbs with all accessories .

LS1=345 HP A NEW THING
LS3=450 HP BALLS BRUISER
LS7=505 HP +26MPG CITY
LS9=638 HP OVERKILL
LT4=330 HP DECEPTIVE
LS460 LEXUS=380 HP LATEST SWAPPER'S ENGINE OF CHOICE.=489 LBS
imagine 2 modified suzuki hyabusa cylinder heads on a little V8=500 BHP CHECK OUT CLARKSON THE ITALIAN JOB.
TO EACH HIS OWN,

Hear Hear ,

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » December 13th, 2011, 6:23 pm

nice project: lexus 2UR-GSE 5.0 V8 ENGINE with 417 hp ,373 ft /lb tq in a ke30 corolla. and only weights 488 lbs in service condition.
Last edited by roadracer7 on December 13th, 2011, 6:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.

NOMOSS

Postby NOMOSS » December 13th, 2011, 6:24 pm

roadracer7 wrote:just to clear the air . from my personal experience 5.0 chevy sb 5speed manual 3.9 final. $220.00 full tank of premium fuel, Arima to Gulf City clipping @ 160-260+kph. at the mall would be asked to start & rev engine 30-40 times & return to Arima. To refill at service station between $29-$36 tt. arima to point fortin & back $42-$43 premium fuel. this over a year of driving vehicle. Once borrowed my good friend's S14 sr20det 322 hp at wheels Arima to Sando roundabout behind service station up by thaleel back to service station $100.00 super back to Arima. Now i left Arima with 1/4 tank fuel,after filling & return tank was on 1/4 $100.00 tt round trip. Club member has a 454 chevy bb in a trans am ,bought a r34 skyline for his son & commented that " the skyline burning more gas than the big block in meh trans am". the misconception that v8's are gas guzzlers is fuelled by lack of hands on experience" it is true that some maltuned oil burning v8's do consume a ridiculous amount of fuel,dont judge all by a few.$10.00 prem in my 94 swift arima over lady young to st james by mathura's back over lady young up the main road to arima WOW.

,An old mechanic from Princes Town told me when I was a boy (just got my permit) that if you are going to complain about your car burning gas and its subsequent cost dont modify your car's engine and dont consider driving fast.Pick up knitting as a hobby. The cheapest thing in my car is the fuel .Honestly when I hear people going cheap in the car business I try to steer clear of them ,that word very often translates into cutting corners and compromising safety .And my antennae go up when I hear bitchin about the car does burn too much gas

NOMOSS

Postby NOMOSS » December 13th, 2011, 6:25 pm

roadracer7 wrote:

nice project: lexus 2UR-GSE 5.0 V8 ENGINE with 417 hp ,373 ft /lb tq in a ke30 corolla.

I take it that you found the project car

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » December 13th, 2011, 6:29 pm

if you cant afford gas what they buy a car for .$180,000.00 for the car $200.00 for gas .if you can't afford the fuel,sell the car and take a taxi & pay him to put gas.

NOMOSS

Postby NOMOSS » December 13th, 2011, 6:31 pm

nigie wrote:

GRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR!!!!!

Point i was making is that in some instances u have a lighter V8 alternative to the big long heavy six :x

There is nothing like the torque from a v8 ,or the sound of a turbo spooling,both give me an adrenaline shot just knowing what coming next