Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Lance

Re: Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby Lance » May 16th, 2017, 7:07 am

Has the ministry provided any insight into exactly how they are going to deal with properties that have hybrid classifications i.e. partially rented and partially occupied by the owner for residential purposes.

All I am seeing is "Property will be assessed by its proportional use"

Lance

Postby Lance » May 16th, 2017, 7:39 am

*KRONIK* wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:so anyone in here was visited by valuation people???

They visit u already?

The OPM released a statement saying that no valuation visits have commenced.

When it does, they are urging property owners to verify that the valuations are in official uniform and in possession of ministerial Identification.

src1983

Postby src1983 » May 16th, 2017, 9:00 am

drchaos wrote:
GeneralHonda wrote:The man said the recommendation is to devalue the dollar 10 to 1 and remove all subsidies on water, elec. and education. He said they don't want to....yea right.

This makes sense! Dollar needs to be devalued, only real way to curb demand on the USD. Subsidies should be removed from electricity and water very slowly .

Won't help as the government will get more money that they would give to their contractor friends for overpriced crappy work, that needs to be repaired every 5 years

These contractors would then use all the USD to buy Bentley etc while we paying TTD10:USD1 to buy shocks and suspension parts

Postby Chimera » May 16th, 2017, 9:24 am

What would be the scene with those villas in tobago that rent for $2000 to $4000 a night? How they assessing their rental value?

sinister_14

Postby sinister_14 » May 16th, 2017, 9:45 am

So i seeing ppl all over the country protesting no water, they destroying squatters houses, property tax, etc....and most of these people are from pnm constituencies...they are dealing with hardship cause the government not doing there jobs....and u what is amazing these same jackass come next election they will vote back pnm in power....these ppl have to wake up an realise there pnm god the rot who they put in power fail them...and its about time for a change.....

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 16th, 2017, 12:37 pm

RedVEVO wrote:^^
Devaluation works when you have a strong export economy . China likes a low yuan or RMB so
it can attract sales of its millions different types of manufactured goods.

To devalue a country's currency to shake off demand from the locals ? Oppressive . It's similar to MVT & VAT when buying a car in Trinidad - TT people will still buy the car.

US $$$ demand will increase. Black markets will spring up overnight.

What we have in Trinidad to export that you need to devalue the TT dollar 10 to 1 etc. ?

Nobody in foreign wants Crix and Solo Coconut Water and Chubby .

You would be surprised, I saw crix and Chubby in a mid-sized ( not WI owned )grocery in maryland in the states.
Chubby was even featured in an Al Jazeera special in the states about Childhood diabetes and obesity.
I even saw Carib in Athens and in London.
With a lower valued TT dollar these products become more attractive in foreign markets.

Our products sell extremely well in the Caricom market as well. Devalued dollar would also help us compete better with Jamaican producers.

Emmar01

Postby Emmar01 » May 16th, 2017, 3:32 pm

Is there a penalty for dropping off your forms after the 22 May deadline? I passed by the Chaguanas office today - 20x20 tent full ah people waiting. Spoke to a guy who said he had to wait 90minutes to be served, and all they doing is reviewing your forms for correctness.

If daiz the case, and there's no penalty, i waiting till after the 22nd to drop forms off.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 16th, 2017, 5:09 pm

Emmar01 wrote:Is there a penalty for dropping off your forms after the 22 May deadline? I passed by the Chaguanas office today - 20x20 tent full ah people waiting. Spoke to a guy who said he had to wait 90minutes to be served, and all they doing is reviewing your forms for correctness.

If daiz the case, and there's no penalty, i waiting till after the 22nd to drop forms off.

Yup this is what I am going to do, 23rd or 26th for it once the crowds die down.

Postby adnj » May 16th, 2017, 6:56 pm

drchaos wrote:
Devaluation works when you have a strong export economy . China likes a low yuan or RMB so

To devalue a country's currency to shake off demand from the locals ? Oppressive . It's similar to MVT & VAT when buying a car in Trinidad - TT people will still buy the car.

What we have in Trinidad to export that you need to devalue the TT dollar 10 to 1 etc. ?

You would be surprised, I saw crix and Chubby in a mid-sized ( not WI owned )grocery in maryland in the states.
Chubby was even featured in an Al Jazeera special in the states about Childhood diabetes and obesity.
With a lower valued TT dollar these products become more attractive in foreign markets.

Our products sell extremely well in the Caricom market as well. Devalued dollar would also help us compete better with Jamaican producers.

When you devalue, your accounts payable decrease in value also. In other words, any oil leases, refinery products contracts, natural gas contracts, etc., that are written for long term are automatically worth less unless they were written in a foreign currency.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 16th, 2017, 8:29 pm

no visit for me...all I get was the form in le mailbox

Postby sMASH » May 16th, 2017, 8:40 pm

drchaos wrote:
Emmar01 wrote:Is there a penalty for dropping off your forms after the 22 May deadline? I passed by the Chaguanas office today - 20x20 tent full ah people waiting. Spoke to a guy who said he had to wait 90minutes to be served, and all they doing is reviewing your forms for correctness.

Yup this is what I am going to do, 23rd or 26th for it once the crowds die down.

ent they will have to write u specifically to volunteer ur information? and at that time will the law start to work.

car

Postby car » May 16th, 2017, 9:13 pm

sMASH wrote:
drchaos wrote:

ent they will have to write u specifically to volunteer ur information? and at that time will the law start to work.

Now from the media :
If you don't deliver by the 22nd you pay $500

I just don't trust this gubberment. This $500 for not dropping off your forms in time might turn out to be a next source of income for the gubberment.

Knowing them, they go take your $500 and still make you drop off your forms.

Best you drop it off on time.

Postby matr1x » May 16th, 2017, 9:45 pm

drchaos wrote:

Did you just say.that devaluation was a good thing? Based on competition with Jamaica?

I am trying to figure out if you are inbred or dropped as a child to explain your stupidity.

As for the valuators? Let them come. If they are not authorized ministry of finance valuators with a police escort with correct paperwork, my gate not opening

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 16th, 2017, 10:14 pm

matr1x wrote:
drchaos wrote:

Did you just say.that devaluation was a good thing? Based on competition with Jamaica?

I am trying to figure out if you are inbred or dropped as a child to explain your stupidity.

As for the valuators? Let them come. If they are not authorized ministry of finance valuators with a police escort with correct paperwork, my gate not opening

insults without anything intelligent to say ... your animal handler must be so proud of you.

Postby De Dragon » May 16th, 2017, 10:19 pm

sMASH wrote:Reporter: why has residential properties been chosen to be taxed first as opposed to commercial?
Imbert: the vast majority of properties are residential, so it would be easier to do.

Golda asked this arse what about GORTT's plans for diversification, and this arse replies "diversify into what"? :shock:
Yet he kept repeating that the "people" didn't vote for Moody's or S&P. Basically he admitted what we knew all along, they don't have a facking clue, but will not listen to people who do.

Postby nervewrecker » May 16th, 2017, 10:26 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:no visit for me...all I get was the form in le mailbox

I eh have no mailbox, didnt cut the grass on the road. No visit...

Postby matr1x » May 17th, 2017, 1:18 am

drchaos wrote:
matr1x wrote:
drchaos wrote:

insults without anything intelligent to say ... your animal handler must be so proud of you.

Of course you would find difficulty in extracting intelligence with your barely functioning mind.

A devalue of our currency is the last thing we need. Our weak economic position makes our bargaining position very week.

The riots will come

Postby RedVEVO » May 17th, 2017, 2:01 am

The "Grenadian" losing his mind up in this Forum. I keeping telling him he have no property tax to pay since his cardboard box on the pavement is "tax free" but he still want to fill out a form and after May 22 :)

We should be looking more to evaluate TT dollar rather than devalue .
Barbados revenue comes mainly from Tourism and their ratio 2BD$ = 1USD$

They have managed their economy fairly good. But TT just lend them millions $$$ USD .

Why we care about competing with Jamaica ? They not in our financial arena.
Caricom is such a failure - all talk , no money .

We have to start inviting investors with low tax investments and allow the private sector to
invest with equal access to Forex .

Again leave TT homes alone , reduce VAT and free the people from bondage .

Axe the Tax

Postby The_Honourable » May 17th, 2017, 3:08 am

Eh? Barbados is in trouble. Their US reserves are depleting to the point that they have 2 remaining months of import cover. They were downgraded to CCC+ by S&P, their fiscal deficit is widening, they are one step away from the IMF which the government is trying to dodge because general elections is next year so austerity and devaluation during election season is a big no no.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 17th, 2017, 5:01 am

Investors have no reasons to come here, we don't work we have countless holidays and lots of extensions as people does stay home from Friday. And we are not connected to South America either we are an Island so anything built here has to leave by plane or boat.

I would suggest tourism but this place is a dump who wants to visit a labass when you can just go Bahamas?

Once upon a time we had a grand opportunity for a smelter plant, some cacahole fool the whole population saying it to poison us and we go dead, then when they came into power they tried the very same thing except it was too late and those investors had already gone elsewhere, politics really does have a morality of its own.
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on May 17th, 2017, 5:05 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby sMASH » May 17th, 2017, 5:05 am

the removal of fuel subsidy is necessary, as well as devaluing the TTd. but, just like the fuel subsidy, now is a very bad time for it to occur, so it should be a gradual thing. and that OPT thing is stupid, as a measure to reduce the USd hemorrhage. its like putting a plaster on a bruise, when u have a gaping wound in ur chest.

think of it like this, the government is subsidizing part of the cost of the USd.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 17th, 2017, 5:08 am

^ I agree, removal of fuel subsidy was the most logical thing to do. Prices are cheap enough anyways at $48 a barrel and will likely never go back up

Postby RedVEVO » May 17th, 2017, 5:43 am

Fuel subsidy removed ? Devaluation ?

Why ?

Someone explain why this is so important ?

We paying more $$$ for a dirty sulphur high diesel ?

WE lending USD$$ to other countries - Barbados . So no Forex for TT.
Banks making $$$$$ on this transaction - No Forex for TT businesses.

Gov't should be sued ( taken to Court via a class action ) for damaging our engines .

Again,

Axe the Tax

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 17th, 2017, 6:50 am

Guyana and Jamaica devalued their currency to ridiculous amounts and they not better of

Postby sMASH » May 17th, 2017, 7:47 am

Slowly....

As a business, would u continue to sell an item for $7 when it really needs to sold at $10?

But if they devalue the TTd, they would need to get rid of the OPT.
The normal market forces will will cause the USd demand to go to a realistic level.

Devaluing the TTd will not solve any problems except let big business and small business to play on an equitable footing.

If they really want people to tighten their belts and buy local, that is the way to go.

When foreign imports get sky high, then it could be feasible to start producing low tech items locally.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 17th, 2017, 9:55 am

RedVevo think the Barbadian Economy being managed fairly good LOL

This guy living in LALA land.

Postby The_Honourable » May 17th, 2017, 11:31 am

Long lines to hand in property tax forms

THERE were long lines yesterday at Palms Club, Pointe-a- Pierre Road in San Fernando as property owners flocked to the Valuation Office to submit their property tax forms, to begin the process for their properties to be evaluated, for the payment of the tax. As a result, a massive traffic jam stretched along the road for hours, affecting drivers heading to work.

Many property owners told Newsday they did not want to wait until the last minute on May 22, to file their documents. They lamented that there were so many others with similar sentiments as evidenced by extremely long lines outside the office.

Finance Minister Colm Imbert had said all property tax forms must be submitted to Valuation Division offices by May 22, as the Valuations Act of 2009 gives the Commissioner of Valuations power to “require all land owners to submit a return and all supporting information.” Property owners are required to submit an assessment form and several documents, including a lease or deed along with a WASA or electricity bill and their last land and building tax receipt.

There are eight Valuation Division offices throughout the country.

Mother of three, Anne-Marie Jaikaran of Marabella said she decided to visit the office yesterday because she wanted to avoid the rush. “I came here about 9 am and I saw this long line and I wanted to turn back, but I stayed and surprisingly, the lines are long but they are moving fast,” she said.

Jaikaran, 44, said the staff were assisting people who didn’t know what to do, particularly the pensioners.

“The process took like about 30 minutes. You just have to walk with your documents in an envelope and make sure your name is on it and then you are given a receipt and that is it,” she told Newsday.

Jaikaran said that she believes the receipt is very important.

“You have the proof that you submitted your documents and no one can say they lost it,” she said.

Property owners were also given the option of avoiding the lines and submitting their forms in a box.

Father of three, Marlon Waithe, 44, said people were very careful and very few had opted to submit their documents via the drop off box.

“This is Trinidad and somehow things go missing and without proof, no one knows for sure that you submitted the form,” he said.

Waithe said he believes that people are also panicking and no one wants to be penalised for not abiding by the law.

Source: http://newsday.co.tt/news/0,243727.html

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 17th, 2017, 12:15 pm

I waiting till after the 22nd. Anything happens if you refuse to pay that $500 fine?

I can always get one ah meh paddners to write me a medical saying I was incapacitated for most of the month of may and could not pay on time.

Postby matr1x » May 17th, 2017, 12:28 pm

Whoever talks about trini work culture being lazy and such, either parroting what someone else say, or themselves lazy. Have I encountered poor service? Sure. But of you look at the types, it's not hard to draw conclusion.

People who think it's better outside in terms of public service, go to Europe. You will run back here in a hurry

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 17th, 2017, 12:51 pm

matr1x wrote:Whoever talks about trini work culture being lazy and such, either parroting what someone else say, or themselves lazy. Have I encountered poor service? Sure. But of you look at the types, it's not hard to draw conclusion.

People who think it's better outside in terms of public service, go to Europe. You will run back here in a hurry

Depends where in Europe you talking bout. UK, French and German public service is amazing.