T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

urbandilema

Re: New Vehicle Prices In Trinidad & Tobago

Postby urbandilema » August 25th, 2017, 9:11 pm

agent007 wrote:Hey guys, may I chip in here with a point please. Not everyone can afford the risk of investing in a new car and then by not servicing at the company, the warranty can be voided. I was told that if our Cruze was not in a regular service pattern at the dealership, GM would NOT have replaced the transmission for free. An advisor told me the cost of a new one was $60k installed. That's why imo Toyota and Nissan appears to be the best and they know this. Their prices are hot, we can all agree on this, the vehicles are not lookers like say a Mazda or fast like a euro etc but reliability and resale value speaks volumes for people. TTTL and Massy know this and take advantage of it. To me all those dealerships ripping off customers. Makes you wanna just buy a vehicle from MRampersad or Maska or Achievors or Crism and done yes.

Knew a Co worker bought a brand new fully loaded optima and the engine lifters went..morale of the story he kept his warranty

drchaos

Postby drchaos » August 25th, 2017, 9:28 pm

SR wrote:Jettas known for cylinder 3 failure. Massy replaces 1 piston alone under warranty. In the us they replace entire head and block Also engine cannot run on our super. Octane is too low.

That's kind of obvious ... says so in the user manual.

Who said it could in the first place???

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 25th, 2017, 10:38 pm

Generally dealers tend to shy away from warranty coverage where our diesel is concerned. So that was out the door since day one.
My van hasn't been completely trouble free... My stereo failed after 3.5 years and did take out the two front speakers as it died.
Friend once told me that a replacement headunit from Toyota would cost 20 thousand dollars or so but because it was under warranty it didn't cost him anything... I told him for 20 thousand I could buy the best headunit pioneer has to offer and still have change... why would I spend that money on another factory headunit.
I replaced everything with the money saved by not going TTTL for service and it sounds a whole lot better.
And about money spent on servicing, I have done a lot more than they would for less.
At 60000km I have spent around $11000
Besides the oil and filter changes (sometimes Synthetic) at 5 to 6 thousand km; I have replaced the transmission, differentials, transfer case, and power steering fluid, greased the crosses in the drive line, replaced cabin and engine air filter, replaced fuel filter, stereo and other things.

Dealers should offer more for the amount of money they charging customers.

Toyota owners manual makes provision for servicing outside the dealer... There are conditions but if it is followed, does the dealer honor it?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » August 26th, 2017, 11:23 am

Dealerships have huge overheads ... All dem Directors and CEO's, General Managers with salaries and perks in the millions.

So next time you steupsin at them high costs for vehicles and vehicle service think about the children of dem upper management people! I mean dem every other weekend shopping trips in Miami, de private schools fees and luxury vehicles for the wife doh come cheap. So empty allu bank account and give to good cause!

Postby Dizzy28 » August 28th, 2017, 9:57 am

carluva wrote:Btw, my 40k rav4 service in February of this year was $4530 which included oil and filter change, retorque of suspension, change air filter, injector service, wheel alignment, replacement of cabin air filter.

And heres a breakdown of my service costs

45k - $1400
40k - $4530
35k -$895
30k - $2675 this included a replacement of brake pads at front
25k - $926
20k - $2754
15k - $922
10k - $1341
5k - $909

That doesn't seem so steep does it? How does that compare to other vehicles in this segment?

The non major service intervals aren't looking like they are badly priced.
My Tucson (2l) service costs thus far are below. [Would be making 2 years on it next month and should hit 25k kms around November.]

20k - $2,450
15k - $1,325
10k - $1,739
5k - $1,300

carluva

Postby carluva » August 28th, 2017, 3:42 pm

So based on those numbers, the service cost on the Hyundai is more than Toyota. And both are similar categories of vehicles and the 2.0l gas. And even if you include inflation at 10-15% per year the service cost of the Toyota is still cheaper

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 28th, 2017, 4:03 pm

At face value it would appear so... However does Toyota change the oil filter at every oil change for the RAV4 at those prices... If that is not the case then the prices for each service would be a lot closer.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 28th, 2017, 4:20 pm

Who doesn't change the oil filter at each oil change ?

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 28th, 2017, 8:46 pm

TTTL

car

Postby car » August 28th, 2017, 9:23 pm

Not changing your oil filter is like taking a bade an putting on back the same jockey you had on.

rebound

Postby rebound » August 28th, 2017, 9:54 pm

the oil is changed at 5k and the filter at 10k

drchaos

Postby drchaos » August 28th, 2017, 10:03 pm

That is just rip off then ... That means the service intervals is 10K and they trying a ting.

Ever wonder why when you buy a car in US or Europe along with the user manual you get a service manual. Here in Trini you only get a user manual. They don't want you to know what the manufacturer recommends for service intervals.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 28th, 2017, 11:55 pm

They actually aren't trying anything... The owners manual for the vehicle details the service schedule. Strange thing is that they treat the oil and the filter as two separate items with their own schedules and conditions... Hence the practice at the dealership.

I choose not to follow it though; I change my filter when I change my oil.

Postby Dizzy28 » August 29th, 2017, 9:31 am

carluva wrote:So based on those numbers, the service cost on the Hyundai is more than Toyota. And both are similar categories of vehicles and the 2.0l gas. And even if you include inflation at 10-15% per year the service cost of the Toyota is still cheaper

Apart from test driving and comparing features I always try to establish the servicing costs as well. When I was looking before buying the Tucson, the Massy Sales Rep assured me the average service was around $800-900 for regular services and maybe $2,000 for the bigger ones.

Boy was he wrong. Sadly he died in a motorcycle crash last year so I can't even tote to him that he set me up.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » August 29th, 2017, 9:32 am

kamakazi wrote: I change my filter when I change my oil.

Plain and simple! Talk done!

Postby j.o.e » August 29th, 2017, 9:53 am

carluva wrote:So based on those numbers, the service cost on the Hyundai is more than Toyota. And both are similar categories of vehicles and the 2.0l gas. And even if you include inflation at 10-15% per year the service cost of the Toyota is still cheaper

Apart from test driving and comparing features I always try to establish the servicing costs as well. When I was looking before buying the Tucson, the Massy Sales Rep assured me the average service was around $800-900 for regular services and maybe $2,000 for the bigger ones.

Boy was he wrong. Sadly he died in a motorcycle crash last year so I can't even tote to him that he set me up.

Hit us some details on the service costs before you get bump off too.

Postby 16 cycles » August 29th, 2017, 12:37 pm

TTTL quote for front pads for nze 141 @ 1400TTD...fyi

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » August 29th, 2017, 1:47 pm

Crazy. I buy Wagner thermo quiet for my hilux for about 300. Lasts longer holds better and less dust than the original

ADONI

Postby ADONI » August 29th, 2017, 2:15 pm

PariaMan wrote:Crazy. I buy Wagner thermo quiet for my hilux for about 300. Lasts longer holds better and less dust than the original

Wagner all the way Dude!!!

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » August 29th, 2017, 3:27 pm

A set of wagner lasting more than 2yrs and still going

Postby 16 cycles » August 29th, 2017, 5:27 pm

Agreed @ Wagner...Just showing the madness that is TTTL...

Kronik

Postby Kronik » August 30th, 2017, 6:29 am

Never me and Wagner again. Ever wonder why it lasts so long? I rather change brake pads often than have to change rotors

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » August 30th, 2017, 6:34 am

Substitute disc and Wagner thermo quiet going on 3 years arround 50k . No jitter when mashing much better than original. Fan for life. And i am the definition of an aggressive driver. I also moved from 15 to 17 tires. From 255 to 275.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » August 30th, 2017, 8:58 am

I try original first but if it not working for me I do research and try something else . Those original pads and disk does not see to be up to scratch.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 30th, 2017, 12:31 pm

I like Wagner brake pads... However the first two stops in the morning when they are cold were a bit sketchy when I had them in the Corolla. I have also encountered different formulations; one was dark grey while the other was more cream colored. Dark grey stopping better when you put some heat into them.

They are a bit aggressive on rotors though...

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » August 30th, 2017, 2:03 pm

Well i always adjust my rear brakes so maybe that's why I do not have a problem

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 31st, 2017, 8:35 am

I can't see how adjusting rear brakes will solve the problem with brake pads... Unless you are using your handbrake to assist your brake pedal input

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » August 31st, 2017, 9:07 am

When I adjust my rear brakes I get a better brake response which means less stress in the front brakes

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » August 31st, 2017, 10:31 am

PariaMan wrote:When I adjust my rear brakes I get a better brake response which means less stress in the front brakes

From my experience properly adjusted rear drums always affect pedal height and therefore braking.

zando

Postby zando » August 31st, 2017, 10:47 am

racedriverpro wrote:
PariaMan wrote:When I adjust my rear brakes I get a better brake response which means less stress in the front brakes

From my experience properly adjusted rear drums always affect pedal height and therefore braking.

I don't think it affects braking, it affects brake feel, all vehicles use a proportioning valve which divides braking effort between front and rear, 70/30 I think, it moves the pad or shoe closer to the disk or drum so when u press the brake pedal there is less travel between the pad or shoe and the disk or drum which gives better feel, based on the design of the car I think the braking effort or how well the brakes work would remain constant, unless you upgrade pads or change disks, I could be wrong with a few points however.