T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

rebound

Re: New Vehicle Prices In Trinidad & Tobago

Postby rebound » August 24th, 2017, 10:07 pm

carluva wrote:Btw, my 40k rav4 service in February of this year was $4530 which included oil and filter change, retorque of suspension, change air filter, injector service, wheel alignment, replacement of cabin air filter.

And heres a breakdown of my service costs

45k - $1400
40k - $4530
35k -$895
30k - $2675 this included a replacement of brake pads at front
25k - $926
20k - $2754
15k - $922
10k - $1341
5k - $909

That doesnt seem so steep does it? How does that compare to other vehicles in this segment?

That's correct.......I wonder why someone said they paid above 6K for their 40K service? and someone else posted that the screen in Toyota showed the Rav4 service as the most expensive?....what screen did they look at?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » August 24th, 2017, 10:09 pm

He said he was quoted over 6K ... not that he paided 6K.

rebound

Postby rebound » August 24th, 2017, 10:20 pm

ohhh....ok

car

Postby car » August 24th, 2017, 10:20 pm

rebound wrote:
carluva wrote:Btw, my 40k rav4 service in February of this year was $4530 which included oil and filter change, retorque of suspension, change air filter, injector service, wheel alignment, replacement of cabin air filter.

And heres a breakdown of my service costs

45k - $1400
40k - $4530
35k -$895
30k - $2675 this included a replacement of brake pads at front
25k - $926
20k - $2754
15k - $922
10k - $1341
5k - $909

That doesnt seem so steep does it? How does that compare to other vehicles in this segment?

That's correct.......I wonder why someone said they paid above 6K for their 40K service? and someone else posted that the screen in Toyota showed the Rav4 service as the most expensive?....what screen did they look at?

Those prices are not current. The 20k service is about $5500.
The tv screen is located in the waiting area in south branch. Right where you look through the glass to see the service bay. All the service intervals prices are shown for each vehicle.

Postby Gladiator » August 24th, 2017, 10:21 pm

drchaos wrote:He said he was quoted over 6K ... not that he paided 6K.

That's right... the CSR called this morning to confirm the appointment. Asked for the approx cost and the service schedule list. $6450.00 for the 40k service with major job being oil change and fuel and air filters.

Price probably gone up.... as with the price of the cars.

rebound

Postby rebound » August 24th, 2017, 10:22 pm

I have an idea of where the screen is, but I cant remember the Rav 4 service being the most expensive... maybe I was looking at another screen..

rebound

Postby rebound » August 24th, 2017, 10:23 pm

Gladiator wrote:

That's right... the CSR called this morning to confirm the appointment. Asked for the approx cost and the service schedule list. $6450.00 for the 40k service with major job being oil change and fuel and air filters.

Daz pressah....

car

Postby car » August 24th, 2017, 10:31 pm

rebound wrote:I have an idea of where the screen is, but I cant remember the Rav 4 service being the most expensive... maybe I was looking at another screen..

I clearly remember it being the most expensive as I had to wait for a half day for my RAV4. I sat there for hours and almost had all the prices memorized for each vehicle. I even inquired why and the person at the desk was non technical and couldn't properly answer my questions. If I had known about the high service cost before I would have bought a different vehicle.

Postby SR » August 24th, 2017, 10:31 pm

How many of allyuh takin the "it does run in super" chainup or the 10000 k service. Wait till you see the problems when warranty is up.

carluva

Postby carluva » August 24th, 2017, 10:34 pm

Gladiator wrote:

Now that you mention it, I now recall that for one of my services the csr provided and estimate over the phone and the cost that she told me was way higher than what I ended up paying. I remember bc when I got the bill I was relieved that it was much less than what I estimated.

triniboi49

Postby triniboi49 » August 24th, 2017, 10:35 pm

The screen price does be wrong ...well at least in barataria

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 24th, 2017, 10:36 pm

SR wrote:How many of allyuh takin the "it does run in super" chainup or the 10000 k service. Wait till you see the problems when warranty is up.

People like that sell early. Don't see issues.

car

Postby car » August 24th, 2017, 10:36 pm

SR wrote:How many of allyuh takin the "it does run in super" chainup or the 10000 k service. Wait till you see the problems when warranty is up.

That is the first thing I checked. Took the engine model number and checked myself. Even checked to see if it uses timing belt or chain.

carluva

Postby carluva » August 24th, 2017, 10:36 pm

rebound wrote:
Gladiator wrote:

Daz pressah....

Agreed... Well then, we have to compare apples with apples. How do current service costs compare across this segment? And anyone can share a cost breakdown, similar to what I've done, for similar vehicles in the rav4 segment?

carluva

Postby carluva » August 24th, 2017, 10:40 pm

drchaos wrote:
carluva wrote:
Gladiator wrote:
agent007 wrote:Well crossovers/SUVs are selling well and fast both new and used! I notice we don't ever talk about the RAV4 which is now in its 4th generation. So you may not want a van but you can probably buy the vehicle that practically created the segment! Currently going for $385k but act soon and you can get yourself a nice $10k discount on that price. This is the 2.0 2WD model with 7 airbags, sunroof, leather seats, power driver's seat and tailgate, Blaupunkt double DIN deck with BT, 17" rims, fog lights, front and rear parking sensors etc etc etc
IMG_5707.jpg
You decide if it's worth $73k more than a Sportage GT Line.

I honestly think that the toyota fan club is what has the RAV4 selling so. I have one for the past 4 years. Pretty normal vehicle, solid engine and okish CVT (noisy and revvy) but other than that very sub par when it comes to build quality, ride quality and handling.

It moves like a boat on the highway... motions in all different directions. Suspension is soft and balanced well enough for an SUV. Vehicle is light and does not have a sturdy feel. It is noisy on the highway. Interior material feels cheap and buttons and controls are shaky and creaky. Not worth the current 300k+ price tag.

The entertainment system sucks big time. There is a good bit of compartmental space to store nick nacks though. The rear folding seats is a neat feature and you get a privacy screen and grocery net which comes in handy.

Toyota Trinidad is the #1 criminal. Just called them for the 40K service and they quoted $6450.00 I ask them what you getting for that they say

Oil change
Oil Fuel and Air filter
Check fluids
Check Battery
Rotate tyres (which they never do, marked them last service and nothing was done)
Tighten brakes and suspension

On my way to find an outside mechanic... LOL

For buyers, i think there are better options. Not sure what they may be but Toyota quality seems to be dropping and their prices only go up and up... I for one not brave enough to take the Korean dip... the Tucson however is one mean looking machine.

As a rav4 owner, i disagree with the majority of what is stated here. I find the drive quality quite good and far superior to its korean counterparts. Drove in a sportage, tuscon and sorento and found the ride quality just average. And the materials used in those have that plastic feel although there are average attempts to display them in a luxurious flowing manner.

Agree that the infotainment in the rav4 is bleh at best, but for me who personally finds the radio plays alot of crap, the radio and speaker work for me listening to BBC world.

The service and parts are expensive for toyotas on the whole, so no argument there but fwiw i consider my customer service experience in sando very good and ive developed a good rapport with many folks in there, especially my service advisor.

There are always options for any buyer, and the rav4 is suitable for a particular buyer, just like the hyundai and kia are suited to a particular buyer. At the end of the day its what tickles your pickle and i think that often folks are buying cars to tickle other people's pickle rather than what is best suited for them.

The rav4 works for me and got my attention when i was in the market three years ago. And knock on wood, i am satisfied with the purchase and therefore can say that for me, the koreans didnt cut it.

I have a cousin with a last gen corolla and he swears it is the best car he has ever driven. He even test drove my jetta a few years ago ... Called it slow, said his corolla was more responsive in terms of acceleration, he did say the jetta felt more stable at highway speed but preferred the floaty feel of the corolla at 140 KPH something about feeling like flying. Lastly he loved talking about his 4 wheel disc breaks on the corolla, claimed it was sporty AF.

I don't think it have anyway back once you drink that Toyota kool aid. :drinking:

Sumpin wrong here if your cousin saying the corolla more nifty than a Jetta. That's weird. Even as a Toyota owner I will admit the Jetta is superior to the corolla on paper and for the initial months of ownership. After that tho, a Toyota owner will be grateful his car doesn't have a mechatronics, or hell, that it's not a vw

rebound

Postby rebound » August 24th, 2017, 10:53 pm

carluva wrote:
rebound wrote:
Gladiator wrote:

Daz pressah....

Agreed... Well then, we have to compare apples with apples. How do current service costs compare across this segment? And anyone can share a cost breakdown, similar to what I've done, for similar vehicles in the rav4 segment?

A side by side comparison would be nice...I am sure we would have a representative from each mark.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » August 24th, 2017, 10:54 pm

So the user manual printed from the manufacturer chaining up men now?

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 25th, 2017, 12:10 am

Chaining up people long time... Selling expensive replacement parts is more profitable when it is out of warranty.
I have yet to see any TTTL mechanic tighten any bolt on any suspension... Then again haven't been there in a while.

They told me I would void my warranty if I used different Toyota rims than what came on the vehicle...I told them to keep it. It doesn't cover enough for me to justify paying their exorbitant service fees.

Chaos... You have to admit you got lucky selling your VDub before the Mechatronics fail... Cause the day that it could of stranded you... You would of wished for a reliable bland car that would still be driving..(or it might not have been luck at all that you sold it knowing the inevitable )

Postby eliteauto » August 25th, 2017, 6:19 am

Buy what you like, service it yourself, screw the warranty. You're likely to do a better job than the dealership anyway. I've seen too many misdiagnosis by dealerships of vehicle issues. A fellow H1 owner had his vehicle smoking, dealer says he needs a new fuel pump @ $21k he takes it to another mech for a second opinion, guy services the injectors @ $6000 never has the issue again. Another services only at the dealership on time, oil pickup/ strainer clogs, engine damaged the dealership says it's not their fault is de diesel and tells him he has to pay to fix. On his second H1 now, he's doing over 200000kms, never serviced at the dealership

drchaos

Postby drchaos » August 25th, 2017, 8:28 am

kamakazi wrote:Chaining up people long time... Selling expensive replacement parts is more profitable when it is out of warranty.
I have yet to see any TTTL mechanic tighten any bolt on any suspension... Then again haven't been there in a while.

They told me I would void my warranty if I used different Toyota rims than what came on the vehicle...I told them to keep it. It doesn't cover enough for me to justify paying their exorbitant service fees.

Chaos... You have to admit you got lucky selling your VDub before the Mechatronics fail... Cause the day that it could of stranded you... You would of wished for a reliable bland car that would still be driving..(or it might not have been luck at all that you sold it knowing the inevitable )

Still have not bought a "reliable" Toyota and have no plans to buy one in the future. Funny enough out of the two VW's and a Honda that I have personally owned, it was the more "reliable" Honda that has issues.
But yeah dem Jetta and Cruzes have some major issues ....

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 25th, 2017, 8:52 am

Do you know if the new owner fixed the Jetta yet

stanis232

Postby stanis232 » August 25th, 2017, 9:33 am

drchaos wrote:
kamakazi wrote:Chaining up people long time... Selling expensive replacement parts is more profitable when it is out of warranty.

Still have not bought a "reliable" Toyota and have no plans to buy one in the future. Funny enough out of the two VW's and a Honda that I have personally owned, it was the more "reliable" Honda that has issues.

What kind of issues the Jetta has? Mostly dsg issues? Sorry I didn't get to read that far

zando

Postby zando » August 25th, 2017, 9:39 am

drchaos wrote:

To be quite honest, every car I've owned has had some sort of issue, the Almera and the subaru were the two worst ones, no manufacturer is immune, one car may have a bunch of small issues and one may have have one or two major issues like transmission, engine or electrical.

stanis232

Postby stanis232 » August 25th, 2017, 10:20 am

zando wrote:
drchaos wrote:

To be quite honest, every car I've owned has had some sort of issue, the Almera and the subaru were the two worst ones, no manufacturer is immune, one car may have a bunch of small issues and one may have have one or two major issues like transmission, engine or electrical.

True

Caesar_T

Postby Caesar_T » August 25th, 2017, 2:41 pm

Off topic: does Massy still brings in 2.0 Tucson?

agent007

Postby agent007 » August 25th, 2017, 4:22 pm

Hey guys, may I chip in here with a point please. Not everyone can afford the risk of investing in a new car and then by not servicing at the company, the warranty can be voided. I was told that if our Cruze was not in a regular service pattern at the dealership, GM would NOT have replaced the transmission for free. An advisor told me the cost of a new one was $60k installed. That's why imo Toyota and Nissan appears to be the best and they know this. Their prices are hot, we can all agree on this, the vehicles are not lookers like say a Mazda or fast like a euro etc but reliability and resale value speaks volumes for people. TTTL and Massy know this and take advantage of it. To me all those dealerships ripping off customers. Makes you wanna just buy a vehicle from MRampersad or Maska or Achievors or Crism and done yes.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » August 25th, 2017, 5:41 pm

rebound wrote:
Gladiator wrote:

Daz pressah....

40,000km service for a Hilux at TTTL cost $6,772.53 (VAT inclusive) in April 2017. But $1,093.39 of that cost was just to replace the rubber on the back bumper. All other costs were related to routine maintenance.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » August 25th, 2017, 7:42 pm

kamakazi wrote:Do you know if the new owner fixed the Jetta yet

He said yes ... Massy replaced with good will after he made some noise as the car was 3 and a half years old ( somewhere around that mark) at the time of mechatronic failure. Otherwise he said car still works well, no other issues. He said he wants to sell soon and upgrade as the car is nearing 5 year mark.

Postby SR » August 25th, 2017, 8:08 pm

Jettas known for cylinder 3 failure. Massy replaces 1 piston alone under warranty. In the us they replace entire head and block Also engine cannot run on our super. Octane is too low.

stanis232

Postby stanis232 » August 25th, 2017, 8:32 pm

SR wrote:Jettas known for cylinder 3 failure. Massy replaces 1 piston alone under warranty. In the us they replace entire head and block Also engine cannot run on our super. Octane is too low.

Hmm! Ok thanks for sharing