sMASH wrote:thats pnm 5 years from now. he voting the future pnm in.MG Man wrote:MaxPower is the kind of guy who takes a sharpie to the polling booth and scribbles 'Nicky Maduro xoxoxoxo' on his polling card
All of this and have skilled workers left on the breadline with no paid income.Habit7 wrote:Dizzy28 wrote:
TBH Trinidad and the average Trinidadian hasn't actually experienced Austerity. Austerity is actual hardships through sacrifice.
What have we had to give up?
By now you should realise Trinis love to embellish our situation.
Covid cases low, they will say it is truly sky high and the govt hiding the true number.
Covid cases high, they say all ah we go dead.
Covid cases low again, why we don't we bring home everybody? (reason why the covid numbers are low)
The govt imposes a tax, they taxing we to death, despite we are one of the lowest taxed countries in the region.
They removing fuel subsidy, prices will skyrocket, despite record low inflation.
Closing the loss making and debt riddled refinery will bankrupt us, HPCL and Paria making billions.
Upset over withdrawals from our Stabilisation Fund to stabilise the economy, whistle dixie while $14B was being withdrawn from NGC which was supposed to be reinjected into the gas sector to expand it.
Upset over plant closures at Pt Lisa's while not acknowledging its antecedent in the line above.
2020 record drop in murder and serious crime in 10 yrs, 2021 seen as more dangerous than ever.
I am sure the mere fact that I am bringing up these factual statements will elicit disdain and responses to represent them as worst than they are. Our Caribbean neighbours dependant on tourism are facing economic ruin as the sector will be down by 80%. But when T&T reacts to low gas prices it is somehow a sign of failure on our part.
UNC after 25yrs of existence still renting a HQ but believes they could manage the economy better.
Mero boymero wrote:Smash you taking this zoom obsession and worship to a whole other level now.. kinda sus rn.sMASH wrote:everyone, repeat after zoom:
unc is not the government
again,
in case u went by the fridge
10/10 down in zoom DMs.
Blaze d Chalice and other inspiring ponytail bamcee lickers, this is the level of ass eating required for , take note.
So in your own intelligent words, tell me why they not important. We all know this is your newest catch phrase to defer and deflect any discussions about the UNC but I'd like to know why the UNC is unimportant to you and the country.zoom rader wrote:Mero boymero wrote:Smash you taking this zoom obsession and worship to a whole other level now.. kinda sus rn.sMASH wrote:everyone, repeat after zoom:
again,
10/10 down in zoom DMs.
Blaze d Chalice and other inspiring ponytail bamcee lickers, this is the level of ass eating required for , take note.
Unc not important at this stage nor are they in power
UNC not in power and the buck stops at your African prime minister.mero wrote:So in your own intelligent words, tell me why they not important. We all know this is your newest catch phrase to defer and deflect any discussions about the UNC but I'd like to know why the UNC is unimportant to you and the country.zoom rader wrote:Mero boymero wrote:Smash you taking this zoom obsession and worship to a whole other level now.. kinda sus rn.sMASH wrote:everyone, repeat after zoom:
again,
10/10 down in zoom DMs.
mero wrote:So in your own intelligent words, tell me why they not important. We all know this is your newest catch phrase to defer and deflect any discussions about the UNC but I'd like to know why the UNC is unimportant to you and the country.zoom rader wrote:Mero boymero wrote:Smash you taking this zoom obsession and worship to a whole other level now.. kinda sus rn.sMASH wrote:everyone, repeat after zoom:
again,
10/10 down in zoom DMs.
zoom rader wrote:UNC not in power and the buck stops at your African prime minister.mero wrote:So in your own intelligent words, tell me why they not important. We all know this is your newest catch phrase to defer and deflect any discussions about the UNC but I'd like to know why the UNC is unimportant to you and the country.zoom rader wrote:Mero boymero wrote:Smash you taking this zoom obsession and worship to a whole other level now.. kinda sus rn.sMASH wrote:everyone, repeat after zoom:
again,
10/10 down in zoom DMs.
UNC not important at this stage
Yep UNC not important at this stage.Redman wrote:mero wrote:So in your own intelligent words, tell me why they not important. We all know this is your newest catch phrase to defer and deflect any discussions about the UNC but I'd like to know why the UNC is unimportant to you and the country.zoom rader wrote:Mero boymero wrote:Smash you taking this zoom obsession and worship to a whole other level now.. kinda sus rn.sMASH wrote:everyone, repeat after zoom:
again,
10/10 down in zoom DMs.
For UNC to be important they would have to show that they have evolved away from the party that royally messed it up in 2015.
They have not...ergo they are not.
They have yet to show that they deserve to be taken seriously.
Your PM from TobagoMG Man wrote:zoom rader wrote:UNC not in power and the buck stops at your African prime minister.mero wrote:So in your own intelligent words, tell me why they not important. We all know this is your newest catch phrase to defer and deflect any discussions about the UNC but I'd like to know why the UNC is unimportant to you and the country.zoom rader wrote:Mero boymero wrote:Smash you taking this zoom obsession and worship to a whole other level now.. kinda sus rn.sMASH wrote:everyone, repeat after zoom:
again,
10/10 down in zoom DMs.
Isn't our PM Trinidadian?
zoom rader wrote:Your PM from TobagoMG Man wrote:zoom rader wrote:UNC not in power and the buck stops at your African prime minister.mero wrote:So in your own intelligent words, tell me why they not important. We all know this is your newest catch phrase to defer and deflect any discussions about the UNC but I'd like to know why the UNC is unimportant to you and the country.zoom rader wrote:Mero boymero wrote:Smash you taking this zoom obsession and worship to a whole other level now.. kinda sus rn.sMASH wrote:everyone, repeat after zoom:
again,
10/10 down in zoom DMs.
Bogo ppl don't like to be called Trinidadians
sMASH wrote:everyone, repeat after zoom:
again,
Ok your PM is an injunMG Man wrote:zoom rader wrote:Your PM from TobagoMG Man wrote:zoom rader wrote:UNC not in power and the buck stops at your African prime minister.mero wrote:So in your own intelligent words, tell me why they not important. We all know this is your newest catch phrase to defer and deflect any discussions about the UNC but I'd like to know why the UNC is unimportant to you and the country.zoom rader wrote:Mero boymero wrote:Smash you taking this zoom obsession and worship to a whole other level now.. kinda sus rn.sMASH wrote:everyone, repeat after zoom:
again,
10/10 down in zoom DMs.
Bogo ppl don't like to be called Trinidadians
ok fine, my PM is a citizen of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago...tf you on about this african assness?
Habit7 wrote:ZR and his followers dont like the discussion to be about fact and figures. They don't like it to be about informed opinions that could be substantiated by reports.
They like it to be about race and personal insults. That is where they try to beat you with experience.
imbert said, “….situations where the source of funds cannot be easily verified. So the person say, well I earn this from pumpkin and bhagi. And it might be difficult to…..or I am a fisherman. It might be difficult because the pumpkin and bhagi may have been sold and eaten and the fish might have been caught and so on…”
Baptiste-Primus was heard saying “cutting grass” and “selling pholourie”.
elec2020 wrote:@Smash respectfully you mixing up austerity and support. the government supported the public during the closures with their unemployment grants, increase in food cards, rent grants, tax refunds etc. their was also hits to taxes during the closures as it is well publicized who got furloughed who close up shops, etc. so to facilitate the support (during a time where revenues were hit and oil prices bottomed out) the government had to dip into savings. so yh thats my two cents on the difference between austerity and support
sMASH wrote:yooo, the austerity is the cut back of all the social programs, the cut back all of the jobs by closure of the certain businesses, AND the increase in taxes and fines. yes u got an increase in the income tax shelter and a reduction in VAT, but u countered that by firing a sheit tonne of people and making non VATable items, VATable. the non VATable items, making them more expensive will only make things harder for poor people. reduction in VAT from 15% to 12.5% would only really benefit the rich as when they buy their luxury sofas, it will now be 2.5% cheaper.
why that VAT reduction would not benefit poor people AS MUCH, cause they would just be switching spending to focus on necisities rather than optional things. so, instead of buying a bess ifone, they would have to put that towards peas and rice and cheese and what not. the costs just switched.
Key findings:
The tax wedge across LAC countries varies widely, from 34.6% in Argentina and 32.2% in Brazil to 11% in Trinidad and Tobago and 10% in Honduras. Colombia and Uruguay also have levels above 30%, while Guatemala’s tax wedge is also less than 15%.
Chile (19.1% of gross wage earnings) had the highest personal average tax rate (defined as PIT plus mandatory employee SSCs) in the region followed by Uruguay (18.0%) and Argentina (17.0%). The lowest rates were in Honduras (3.6%), Guatemala (4.0%) and Trinidad and Tobago (4.5%). The average amongst the LAC countries was 9.3% compared with the OECD average of 25.4%.
https://www.oecd.org/tax/latin-america- ... %2025.4%25.
That article is misleading .Habit7 wrote:sMASH wrote:yooo, the austerity is the cut back of all the social programs, the cut back all of the jobs by closure of the certain businesses, AND the increase in taxes and fines. yes u got an increase in the income tax shelter and a reduction in VAT, but u countered that by firing a sheit tonne of people and making non VATable items, VATable. the non VATable items, making them more expensive will only make things harder for poor people. reduction in VAT from 15% to 12.5% would only really benefit the rich as when they buy their luxury sofas, it will now be 2.5% cheaper.
why that VAT reduction would not benefit poor people AS MUCH, cause they would just be switching spending to focus on necisities rather than optional things. so, instead of buying a bess ifone, they would have to put that towards peas and rice and cheese and what not. the costs just switched.
Sorry I cant allow this crap to pass.
"Poor people" got an increase in personal tax allowance from $60K to $72K a year or $5K to $6K a month. A $12K increase in the personal allowance equates to a $3K reduction to their Income Tax liability. Essential food items still remain zero-rated (milk, sugar, oil, cheese, canned meat, canned fish, pasta, infant formula, juices, etc). So when you talk about "peas and rice and cheese" there is no VAT on them.
Which "poor person" found themselves paying $250 more per month because VAT was reintroduced on some food items? That would mean their monthly food bill for VATable items would be over $2K to outspend the benefit. Then in 2020/2021 Imbert increased personal tax allowance to $84K, this is all while food inflation is low and the same poor ppl saving on VAT reductions on more expensive items like appliances, furniture, clothes even cars, which are not a luxury.
This is how we compare to Latin America and the Caribbean with personal taxesKey findings:
The tax wedge across LAC countries varies widely, from 34.6% in Argentina and 32.2% in Brazil to 11% in Trinidad and Tobago and 10% in Honduras. Colombia and Uruguay also have levels above 30%, while Guatemala’s tax wedge is also less than 15%.
Chile (19.1% of gross wage earnings) had the highest personal average tax rate (defined as PIT plus mandatory employee SSCs) in the region followed by Uruguay (18.0%) and Argentina (17.0%). The lowest rates were in Honduras (3.6%), Guatemala (4.0%) and Trinidad and Tobago (4.5%). The average amongst the LAC countries was 9.3% compared with the OECD average of 25.4%.
https://www.oecd.org/tax/latin-america- ... %2025.4%25.
And with business
https://www.caribjournal.com/2014/01/15 ... caribbean/
So when I hear UNC ppl like yourself saying things above, it is either comes from ignorance or an attempt to deceive. Try again.
Redman wrote:@ Smash re HSF.
Your issue is spending and borrowing and you think unc will do better.![]()
I dont believe either party has a philosophical framework or policy that they can vocalize.
If you cant explain it to a 6 year old- you dont know what you talking about.
So lets agree that planned economic policy does not exist in TnT.
Both parties spend what they can because they think its politically expedient.
Both parties are 150% dependent on energy prices and production levels to dictate what they do on a day to day basis.
The UNC missed the golden opportunity to change for the better the financial position of the country by keeping our spending less than our income. (That despite their campaign being based on everything they did while in power)
Budgets instead grew from the 40B to 64B range matching our income growth-and every year ran a deficit.
in 2010 I suggested fixing our budgets at 75% of last years revenue with a moving average to smoothout the changes-a mechanism that took windfall from oil and gas -and banked it, but still allowed some extra cash to be used prudently.
Now that our earnings since 2014 have been reduced, alongside the major recalibration of the energy sector that were ignored by your UNC....of course we will have a hard and tough environment.
If UNC couldn't run surpluses with oil in the 90s why are you penalising the PNM for the same with oil at 50?
While dealing with the Petrotrins etc.
I disagree with you on the hway- (not at 250M per KM like the Point Sando under your fiscally prudent UNC but properly costed and built)
Opening up South and the East with a hway brings business opportunity ,activity and wealth to all citizens those areas.
Of course our challenge is the properly part on everything.
The HSF fund is at the levels they were in 2015 despite the drawdowns.
That isnt a bad place to be comparatively.
De Dragon wrote:Redman wrote:@ Smash re HSF.
I dont believe either party has a philosophical framework or policy that they can vocalize.
Both parties are 150% dependent on energy prices and production levels to dictate what they do on a day to day basis.
The UNC missed the golden opportunity to change for the better the financial position of the country by keeping our spending less than our income. (That despite their campaign being based on everything they did while in power)
Budgets instead grew from the 40B to 64B range matching our income growth-and every year ran a deficit.
in 2010 I suggested fixing our budgets at 75% of last years revenue with a moving average to smoothout the changes-a mechanism that took windfall from oil and gas -and banked it, but still allowed some extra cash to be used prudently.
Now that our earnings since 2014 have been reduced, alongside the major recalibration of the energy sector that were ignored by your UNC....of course we will have a hard and tough environment.
If UNC couldn't run surpluses with oil in the 90s why are you penalising the PNM for the same with oil at 50?
I disagree with you on the hway- (not at 250M per KM like the Point Sando under your fiscally prudent UNC but properly costed and built)
Opening up South and the East with a hway brings business opportunity ,activity and wealth to all citizens those areas.
This has to be the singularly most dotish statement on 2NR that you've made in some time, and you have made quite a few.![]()
By your logic, if oil falls to $40, then we're supposed to be hopeless? Did we elect people who could only lead and manage in good times? Real leaders emerge in crises, and so far, JUHN Scarfy, Impsy and the entire LFDRFD PNM isn't cutting it
In other words Kamla fault? Why hasn't the LFDRFD PNM also done those things?
What opportunity a Toco port brings? Who TF driving to Toco, to take a boat to Tobago?
What opportunity closing PT brings when two YEARS later, it cannot be sold, or restarted?
Who issued the 850 M USD bond, and what benefit did it bring to the refinery?
Your red underwear showing RedmanRedman wrote:De Dragon wrote:Redman wrote:@ Smash re HSF.
This has to be the singularly most dotish statement on 2NR that you've made in some time, and you have made quite a few.![]()
By your logic, if oil falls to $40, then we're supposed to be hopeless? Did we elect people who could only lead and manage in good times? Real leaders emerge in crises, and so far, JUHN Scarfy, Impsy and the entire LFDRFD PNM isn't cutting it
In other words Kamla fault? Why hasn't the LFDRFD PNM also done those things?
What opportunity a Toco port brings? Who TF driving to Toco, to take a boat to Tobago?
What opportunity closing PT brings when two YEARS later, it cannot be sold, or restarted?
Who issued the 850 M USD bond, and what benefit did it bring to the refinery?
That's ok dumbass..I don't expect you would understand....blather on.
sMASH wrote:poor people not making enough to pay income tax even before. when u dressed it up from 60k to 72k... they did NOT gain any levity.
the people working kfc, or a store, or selling market, or selling water/drinks, or selling doubles, or doing yard work.
if u go with $20 per hour.
thats 160 per 8hr day,
that 960 per 6day week
thats 49,920 per 52 week year.
how on earth would those people benefit from expanding the non taxable income?
now i see why u all dont understand how petrotrin closure was an economic atom bomb. the people on the ground, dont exist to u all.