Take Note: GATE - September 2017

Re: Take Note: GATE - September 2017

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 8th, 2017, 8:27 pm

Is it official yet? no gate for any of the private schools come September?

Postby bluefete » August 9th, 2017, 6:13 am

^^ Official since 2016. No GATE for New students at any Private tertiary school except the 3 bible schools.

Means Test Documents:

Documents supporting income such as:

Salary

Self employed

Government Pension

Disability Grants

NIS

Child Support

Alimony

Rental Income

Allowance

Public Assistance

Scholarships/Bursaries

http://www.e-gate.gov.tt/gate-app/faq.htm

Postby bluefete » August 9th, 2017, 6:42 am

GATE POLICE

SEAN DOUGLAS Wednesday, August 9 2017

AN ARMY of investigating officers will be unleashed to probe individuals suspected of lying about their family income in the means-test for their Government Assistance with Tuition Expenses (GATE) application, Education Minister Anthony Garcia announced yesterday a news briefing at his Port of Spain office.

“We’ll be appointing investigating officers in instances where we perceive students have not been truthful in their declarations,” he said. Students caught trying to cheat the means-test for assessing their true entitlement to a GATE grant, could find themselves fully debarred from the subsidy now and in the future, Garcia warned.

“I want to ask all students to ensure that the information they submit as a result of the means testing, is accurate, so that sanctions or withdrawals will not have to be applied. Over and over we have been asked what we can put in place to ensure integrity of the process, I am appealing to students to ensure that integrity is maintained so we will not have to send investigating officers to your homes or workplace to verify accuracy of the information.

“You could run the risk of having funding debarred or future access to GATE denied and we don’t want that.” Garcia said while Government is committed to everyone accessing tertiary education, the country no longer enjoys its former economic largesse when oil and gas prices were high.

He said new measures aim to save about $100 million per year out of the usual GATE annual cost of $600 million. The income- based means test will ensure persons truly in need of state assistance will get the maximum benefit available, he said. Saying people are confused by misinformation over GATE, Garcia spelt out the entitlements.

Students with a household monthly income of under $10,000, can get 100 percent GATE funding.

For those between $10,000 to $30,000 income, the GATE funding is 75 percent. Students whose households earn over $30,000 will get 50 percent funding. “Cabinet has decided that wherever a person’s household income falls, that person will still be eligible for some measure of GATE funding.” Garcia said students will be funded only for one undergraduate and one postgraduate degree.

“So the programme hopping we saw in the past will be no more.” He said that for post-graduate students, GATE funding will be accessible only to students whose programmes are aligned with the country’s development needs and which are approved by the Accreditation Council (ACTT).

Asked if the ministry has a list of the aligned courses, Garcia deferred to Teresa Davidson, head of the ministry’s Unit for Grants and Funding, who said the list is being compiled by the Ministries of Planning, Labour and Finance.

For the upcoming academic year, this aligned list will not be applied, Davidson said.

Garcia said new students over age 50, won’t be able to access GATE, but continuing students who reach age 50 will get funding to complete their programme. He said his ministry’s website contains details of the means testing.

Davidson pointed out that the means test only deals with income, unlike a previous eight page means test used in 2004 to 2006, which included questions on family assets. Garcia said that even with means-testing, students fees will be modest.

He said that for a student to pay 25 percent of the $12,000 annual fees of the Faculty of Social Studies, would work out at just $250 per month. Minister in the Ministry of Education, Dr Lovell Francis, said the GATE debate covers just a 20 percent portion of the university fees, with the State paying the rest. “So you are being asked to pay a fraction of a fraction,” Francis said.

Also at the briefing yesterday, ACTT executive director Michael Bradshaw said the tertiary student population is estimated at 56,316, enrolled in 1,697 programmes approved the council at 12 accredited institutions, led by the University of the West Indies. Inclusive of non accredited bodies, the student population is 67,500, he added.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » August 9th, 2017, 7:39 am

So indulge me..what defines a 'household'? If there are 2 or 3 families living in house, is everyone's income to be consolidated for the purposes of the Means Test or is it going to be broken down to the individual family units?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 9th, 2017, 8:26 am

This thing is so funny

Postby bluefete » August 9th, 2017, 8:37 am

-------
Last edited by bluefete on August 9th, 2017, 8:43 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby bluefete » August 9th, 2017, 8:41 am

One key change made by the government for GATE:

ALL students who enrolled in a tertiary level programme in 2016 or before WILL continue to get 100% GATE (both public and private tertiary schools).

All students accepted to the 9 public schools and 3 bible schools ONLY, from August 2017, will get GATE (subject to the means test).

Postby bluefete » August 9th, 2017, 8:41 am

bluefete wrote:
Joshie23 wrote:So indulge me..what defines a 'household'? If there are 2 or 3 families living in house, is everyone's income to be consolidated for the purposes of the Means Test or is it going to be broken down to the individual family units?

Everyone's income in the household will be considered for the means test, including pensioners.

Drea

Postby Drea » August 9th, 2017, 9:50 am

bluefete wrote:
Joshie23 wrote:So indulge me..what defines a 'household'? If there are 2 or 3 families living in house, is everyone's income to be consolidated for the purposes of the Means Test or is it going to be broken down to the individual family units?

Everyone's income in the household will be considered for the means test, including pensioners.
bluefete wrote:

I think this is my main issue with this, we all know in our society we have very complex family structures. Its not always the simple nuclear family. Sometimes people have an aunt/uncle/cousin etc living with them. So are they meaning to consolidate all those people's incomes even if they technically live with me but in no way financially support you?

Rivalry

Postby Rivalry » August 9th, 2017, 10:47 am

how will they judge the income of a home business?

Postby bluefete » August 9th, 2017, 1:15 pm

Rivalry wrote:how will they judge the income of a home business?

You have to submit papers. Financial and bank statements.

Postby bluefete » August 9th, 2017, 1:17 pm

Drea wrote:I think this is my main issue with this, we all know in our society we have very complex family structures. Its not always the simple nuclear family. Sometimes people have an aunt/uncle/cousin etc living with them. So are they meaning to consolidate all those people's incomes even if they technically live with me but in no way financially support you?

All the income in a household will be counted as part of the means test.

Suppose, mammy and daddy not working but grandparents living in the same house have a pension. They will count the pension as income in the means test.

Drea

Postby Drea » August 9th, 2017, 1:39 pm

bluefete wrote:
Drea wrote:I think this is my main issue with this, we all know in our society we have very complex family structures. Its not always the simple nuclear family. Sometimes people have an aunt/uncle/cousin etc living with them. So are they meaning to consolidate all those people's incomes even if they technically live with me but in no way financially support you?

All the income in a household will be counted as part of the means test.

Suppose, mammy and daddy not working but grandparents living in the same house have a pension. They will count the pension as income in the means test.

I understand what it means but don't necessarily agree with it.

Let's say because of everyone's income I am denied GATE because they assume everyone in the household can afford to send me to school. In reality everybody working to mind themselves or their own, my moms and pops minding me not aunt and uncle. You feel anybody else dipping in the pocket if I say i need $$ to pay for school?

Postby The_Honourable » August 14th, 2017, 9:05 pm

A better explanation on the new GATE rules from Sept 2017. Current students safe, new students... things shaky.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » August 15th, 2017, 10:19 am

All this Gate talk aint make sense because it have no jobs for Graduates anyways..
UWI graduates are the worst off when it comes to gaining employment despite the institution being the most intense in terms of attaining your degree.
Even UTT graduates secure employment faster...

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » August 15th, 2017, 10:45 am

^^^ Don't think so big man.
A large portion of persons from utt never get hired. When I completed my qualification there the class had about 50 persons, only 6 got jobs and after contracts ended only 2 had jobs. The job market isn't what it used to be (thanks to gate), it has become over saturated and most like will not return to the "good ole days" because nobody is investing in the economy. People just sitting around waiting for things to happen.

Best thing to do is have a small job and learn a new skill on the side or start a small business.

I just tired see people get caught up thinking having a degree or diploma guarantee someone a job. These schools just using people and feeding men dreams... after them get your money, salt...

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » August 15th, 2017, 9:05 pm

vaiostation wrote:^^^ Don't think so big man.
A large portion of persons from utt never get hired. When I completed my qualification there the class had about 50 persons, only 6 got jobs and after contracts ended only 2 had jobs. The job market isn't what it used to be (thanks to gate), it has become over saturated and most like will not return to the "good ole days" because nobody is investing in the economy. People just sitting around waiting for things to happen.

Best thing to do is have a small job and learn a new skill on the side or start a small business.

I just tired see people get caught up thinking having a degree or diploma guarantee someone a job. These schools just using people and feeding men dreams... after them get your money, salt...

I honestly feel school is a waste of time...Too much people getting fooled into thinking degree = automatic job..
Sad state...
Hope with the new GATE restrictions, the number of graduates decrease significantly..

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » August 15th, 2017, 9:45 pm

^^^^ So if school doesn't == job....wdf does?

You do realise that attaining tertiary education is a way out of poverty and hardship for some right?

If the number of graduates decrease drastically, that would also mean that more people/workers would be forced due to their lack of qualifications and education to work "minimum wage" type jobs. Less access to higher education would also result in increased crime.

Listen, let me break this down for you and try to put life in TnT into perspective. UWI was established in 1948, there are secondary schools that are older than UWI. Oxford university on the other hand is over 800 years old. So over 800 years ago, England decided that its citizens required some form of higher education to advance in this world. That was over 800 years ago. Higher education is just that, higher education. It's just that here it's a viable way to pull oneself away from generations of hardship.

Some of you all act like people here don't have a "hard life". People suffering in this country.

Postby sMASH » August 15th, 2017, 10:38 pm

So rather than have an admin professional buy doubles from a double man, all yuh prefer the admin person decide to sell doubles too, and both of them try to sell each other?

When u check the list for gate, there are three theological institutions... not coursesz, but institutions.
U have uwi, utt, and theirs chapters and theological institutions.

U tell me they couldn't leave sbcs on the list, or in place of one?

And I really cannot see the value in making tertiary education less attainable yet spending on stadium and cazabon.

Academically u all are right, but in this instance, pnm did not invest the meagre money we have into the future. They spent it on cricket and paintings.

Postby sMASH » August 15th, 2017, 10:38 pm

So rather than have an admin professional buy doubles from a double man, all yuh prefer the admin person decide to sell doubles too, and both of them try to sell each other?

When u check the list for gate, there are three theological institutions... not coursesz, but institutions.

And I really cannot see the value in making tertiary education less attainable yet spending on stadium and cazabon.

Academically u all are right, but in this instance, pnm did not invest the meagre money we have into the future. They spent it on cricket and paintings.

Postby sMASH » August 15th, 2017, 10:39 pm

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » August 15th, 2017, 11:04 pm

Nah....Some of them want the doubles man children and grandchildren to also sell doubles and then wonder why the "1%" feel that way.

Let's also remember that pursuing tertiary education isn't just about gaining employment, it is also about family planning. Being better able to provide for your prospective family.

Most people today can't even afford a mortgage and car etc with multiple degrees and masters etc.

Nothing wrong with these people, it's the country that is seriously off.

How many "Reshmis" do you all feel it have in the public and private sector...

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 15th, 2017, 11:09 pm

fcuk gate and degree...plant some garden and yuh set for life

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » August 15th, 2017, 11:22 pm

“The government and people of Cuba will pay accommodation and tuition,” said Holdip. “We will pay for their flight to go and return, US$200 per month stipend to help them. They underwent psychological preparation to be away from their families for the next five to seven years.”
Garcia paid kudos to the students who had excelled in a competitive field and “aced” a rigorous selection process.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20170815 ... ps-to-cuba

Sidenote.....So you sacrificing 5-7 years of your life and the government will give you a stipend of $200usd per month. $200 * 12 * 7 = $16800usd for 7 years of study.....
That is not a stipend, that is sufferage. A cool 7 years of loss income gone there.

People really destined to be poor in this country yes. No wonder any little thing they does look to thief and enjoy. The conversation could have started at $500usd. How do they even come up with these numbers...LMAO

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » August 15th, 2017, 11:23 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:fcuk gate and degree...plant some garden and yuh set for life

With what fcuking land?

Postby The_Honourable » August 15th, 2017, 11:27 pm

SBCS in trouble...

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 15th, 2017, 11:48 pm

^ GATE is a tricky thing only a handful of countries in the world will fund this. The reason we could fund GATE in the first place is because of the Oil Boom.
The Oil boom is done, the Oil chapter is over for us and so is GATE. As hard as it is to accept this is reality, money doesn't grow on trees.
No amount of blaming the PNM is going to change basic economics and commonsense. We need to prepare ourselves now for the worst, oil is on a decline, India has just installed one of the largest solar plant on the planet 4.8 Gigawatts

https://cleantechnica.com/2017/08/11/in ... sses-2016/

The way forward for the government at this point is using this money to diversify our economy this is more important than GATE. We have endless Engineers and business graduates sitting home unable to find employment anywhere. Unfortunately the government is clueless on this and does not have a plan, neither does the UNC.

PapaC

Postby PapaC » August 16th, 2017, 12:04 am

Other countries people have to take huge student loans to fund their education, then repay it after they complete.
Right here that was the norm before GATE, so i guess it's just back to the old way.

Postby sMASH » August 16th, 2017, 5:24 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:fcuk gate and degree...plant some garden and yuh set for life

I agreed with that, hoss, but when the economy was strong.

There are some people who could get office jobs or Industry jobs and still fall into garden or doubles if things get bad.

The problem is that some people could only do doubles and garden. And when u force the potential office workers and potential industry worker into doubles and garden, u will have the lowest level of the society over saturated.
Not enough people to buy, too many selling the same thing.

And people who thinking we have too many graduates, they, even the graduates need to focus internationally.

Probably the ones with experience could move out and allow the fresh to get opportunities locally.

That way, every body gets a different piece of the pie, instead of fighting up for the same pieces.

But no, buy cazabon, play cricket. That is sound investment into your nation's future.

Postby sMASH » August 16th, 2017, 5:29 am

PapaC wrote:Other countries people have to take huge student loans to fund their education, then repay it after they complete.
Right here that was the norm before GATE, so i guess it's just back to the old way.

Yes. And in America, it's one of the biggest problems they have: student debt.