2008 sportage diesel

Sportage, Sorento, Soul, Rio, Cerato, Optima

SNIPER 3000

Re: 2008 sportage diesel

Postby SNIPER 3000 » October 24th, 2016, 6:26 pm

It's good to see the thread active.
I have not been around for a while. My sportage is doing 99000km and would like to replace the timing belt soon.
747 could you past on the mechnic number?
I got all the original parts in princess town, the parts place by transport ground. At a fraction of the price from southern sale I bought the timing belt, tensioner pulley, cam shaft seals top and bottom just in case it's showing signs of leaks and serpent belt.
Joshie, the fuel filter is easy to replace. 747 has it listed but I donot remove the clips I just unsure the filter leaving the housing and line connected, this way reduces the wearing of the plugs/clips.

Also I use fuel treatment every other fill ups. No smoking and use shell R6 full synthetic oil. The fuel and air filter I use Sakura brand and oil filter I use original.
The Sakura has an OEM replacement for fuel and air that I think is better quality.

The transmission I replaced the fluids with 6.7 quarts I think was type IV, will recheck.
Good luck with your fix 747.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » October 24th, 2016, 6:40 pm

Oh, one more thing. When replacing fuel filters you donot need to keep starting to prime the system. Just turn the keys to ACC with out starting, listen and you would hear the pump automatically priming the filter. One tumble and it would start. If you do not have treatment just fill the filter with diesel.

Joshie could you please sent me your mechnic number also. I would like to check out my options before choosing. I am very cautious about timing belt changes, I had a bad experience and would not want to go down the road of figuring out who have to pay for want, I would not accept a rebuild. I would want a new engine. :D

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » October 24th, 2016, 10:32 pm

SNIPER 3000 wrote:Oh, one more thing. When replacing fuel filters you donot need to keep starting to prime the system. Just turn the keys to ACC with out starting, listen and you would hear the pump automatically priming the filter. One tumble and it would start. If you do not have treatment just fill the filter with diesel.

Joshie could you please sent me your mechnic number also. I would like to check out my options before choosing. I am very cautious about timing belt changes, I had a bad experience and would not want to go down the road of figuring out who have to pay for want, I would not accept a rebuild. I would want a new engine. :D

Yeah bro, this was quoted from Adoni in the Tucson thread

24312-27250 Timing Belt
24410-27250 Tensioner Assembly
24810-27250 Idle Tensioner

Youll also need the coolant pump-2510027900

I bought the belt, seals and coolant pump in AUSCO on Charles Street, Port of Spain..the tensioner assembly I bought online because Massy had it for $1,348 (approx. $1,500 with VAT), Faiz had it for $995 and I got it online shipped and cleared for approx. $780..im pretty sure that even with the 7% OPT you could still get a decent discount if you import everything..I'm doing my change with VMCOTT (6533609) as they used to service these vehicles when they were in the TTPS' circulation..just read over your post and saw you already purchased stuff so I'm blabbering :lol: but thanks for the advice with the fuel filter change. I'm trying the Chevron Delo from Pricesmart and using Denckermann filters from Ed's Auto Parts in Vistabella (6534337) best prices thus far..

Dj_Bee

Postby Dj_Bee » October 24th, 2016, 11:52 pm

ADONI wrote:Yea boi nutty. I went by the diesel man in Tableland. He sort out the hot start issue I had. Two months and it working thus far. He cleaned the EGR, fiddle with the injectors and pump. Told me I have to rebuild in a timing, as those engine weak. The price he give me, is best I use that as a down payment on a new vehicle.

Who is this guy? I have a sportage which hard starts at times and gives off white smoke till it heats up, mechanic said the injectors leaking, dumping fuel and needs servicing as well as the pump.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » October 25th, 2016, 6:40 am

Dj_Bee wrote:
ADONI wrote:Yea boi nutty. I went by the diesel man in Tableland. He sort out the hot start issue I had. Two months and it working thus far. He cleaned the EGR, fiddle with the injectors and pump. Told me I have to rebuild in a timing, as those engine weak. The price he give me, is best I use that as a down payment on a new vehicle.

Who is this guy? I have a sportage which hard starts at times and gives off white smoke till it heats up, mechanic said the injectors leaking, dumping fuel and needs servicing as well as the pump.

I think he's talking about United Diesel in Tableland..guy watched me and told me $5,000 to service my injectors. I went to Electro Diesel on Cipero Street..if all you need is cleaning and servicing it's $345 per injector and $2,500 to service the pump (obviously more if you need replacements parts but the guy is reasonable). White smoke might also be as a result of the engine burning off the condensation in the tank..I could be wrong but I think excessive fuel burn is shown by black smoke. I stand to be corrected though.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » October 25th, 2016, 6:48 am

Good stuff Joshie, may I ask how much is VMOCTT is charging to do the job?
Thanks.
Also which site do you buy parts from?

ADONI

Postby ADONI » October 25th, 2016, 8:34 am

Dj_Bee wrote:

I know the guy as Boy 656-3108/678-2072. He is the diesel guy who fixes a lot of the police vehicle. If yuh lost, just ask for the police mechanic people would know who you are looking for. He charge me 4K, less than waste of time Sookhai's. He may take a while to make sure your vehicle works good and he is proud/confident of his job.

Dj_Bee

Postby Dj_Bee » October 25th, 2016, 8:46 am

ADONI wrote:
Dj_Bee wrote:

I know the guy as Boy 656-3108/678-2072. He is the diesel guy who fixes a lot of the police vehicle. If yuh lost, just ask for the police mechanic people would know who you are looking for. He charge me 4K, less than waste of time Sookhai's. He may take a while to make sure your vehicle works good and he is proud/confident of his job.

All what he did for that price?

ADONI

Postby ADONI » October 25th, 2016, 9:12 am

1) Clean EGR, as opposed to Sookhai, which blank it and said it was passed a point to be too dirty to clean and needed a new EGR...
2) Change some seals on the injector pump. It wasn't leaking doh, but was rebuilt by Sookhai about a year before.
3) Service and calibrate injectors.
4) Full electrical check on van.

I had no choice, was living with the hot hard start issue for a few months. One weekend leaving by my parents in Rio and the van tumble till battery died. I just bite the bullet and decide to drop the van by him (Rio to Tableland is close), as I couldn't get nobody to fix the van. I have a friend with a PBZ same issue on a Tucson. The amount of parts Massy make them change is unbelievable... Usual Massy blame it on the quality of diesel. They have been bouncing around from mechanic to mechanic and still have the hot start issue.

The guy has about 20 diesel vehicles (80% being Hyundai and Kia) fixing and a crew of seven mechanics. The guy told me he has been fixing a lot of injectors that people clean and were told the injectors were bad by whoever service them.

If Sando is closer for you, then you can try out where Joshie went, because that place will actually service and change parts of the injectors, as oppose to Sookhai's making you buy a new injector ($3,500 per injector)...

Hope you get through, I know that hot hard start is frustrating, make you feel to drive it down into the sea,

sudesh1980

Postby sudesh1980 » October 25th, 2016, 10:30 am

ADONI wrote:Blanking the EGR on mines caused the check light to come on. A lot of mechanics seem to stay away from fixing these vehicles. I for one believe that you save at the pump but, spend the savings back in maintenance.

Did you get through with the hard starting during the day. I had the same problem and it turned out it was the rail pressure sensor. It was not showing up as a trouble code but it was causing problems. Could have been on its way out

ADONI

Postby ADONI » October 25th, 2016, 10:44 am

sudesh1980 wrote:
ADONI wrote:Blanking the EGR on mines caused the check light to come on. A lot of mechanics seem to stay away from fixing these vehicles. I for one believe that you save at the pump but, spend the savings back in maintenance.

Did you get through with the hard starting during the day. I had the same problem and it turned out it was the rail pressure sensor. It was not showing up as a trouble code but it was causing problems. Could have been on its way out

Yea, I got through. The sensor and rail was cleaned.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » October 25th, 2016, 2:40 pm

SNIPER 3000 wrote:Good stuff Joshie, may I ask how much is VMOCTT is charging to do the job?
Thanks.

They charged $600 plus VAT, which is a far cry from Massy's $1,500 plus VAT..I ordered my stuff from KPartsmall.com..shipped and delivered in a week. The only thing I bought from Massy was the thermostat for $145 because I didn't want an aftermarket thermo for any generic parts place (I ain't playing the overheating game with these engines) and I even got a 15% off. When my Amsoil products are finished I'm trying Cyclo Diesel stuff from Pricesmart THEN I may try the Fuel Medic from Massy (plus I recently got a MassyCard so I can build points :D ) but certain parts I just ain't buying from Massy bruh..any reviews on the additives though?

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » October 25th, 2016, 5:52 pm

Thanks for that Joshie. Adoin, the tableland guy has lots of good reviews.
Joshie, I use the amsoil stuff and some times mix it up with normal stuff from the service stations. The cyclo is my next move also, the price is excellent. The price of the thermostat at Massy is excellent.
which VMCOTT did you used?

cressida_override

Postby cressida_override » October 25th, 2016, 7:26 pm

Joshie23 wrote:
SNIPER 3000 wrote:Good stuff Joshie, may I ask how much is VMOCTT is charging to do the job?
Thanks.

They charged $600 plus VAT, which is a far cry from Massy's $1,500 plus VAT..I ordered my stuff from KPartsmall.com..shipped and delivered in a week. The only thing I bought from Massy was the thermostat for $145 because I didn't want an aftermarket thermo for any generic parts place (I ain't playing the overheating game with these engines) and I even got a 15% off. When my Amsoil products are finished I'm trying Cyclo Diesel stuff from Pricesmart THEN I may try the Fuel Medic from Massy (plus I recently got a MassyCard so I can build points :D ) but certain parts I just ain't buying from Massy bruh..any reviews on the additives though?

The treatment from pricesmart is a waste of time....no effect whatsoever. However i tried the redline 85+ and it worked great ....that was until i gave the amsoil diesel cleaner (black bottle) a try after a padna recommended it, this is the best treatment i've used thus far.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » October 25th, 2016, 8:02 pm

cressida_override wrote:
Joshie23 wrote:
Thanks.

The treatment from pricesmart is a waste of time....no effect whatsoever. However i tried the redline 85+ and it worked great ....that was until i gave the amsoil diesel cleaner (black bottle) a try after a padna recommended it, this is the best treatment i've used thus far.

Sniper I used the San F'do Branch. And if what Cressida is saying is true, it's either back to Amsoil Cetane Booster and Diesel Concentrate or I'll give the Fuel Medic a try..better to stick to what I know oui..the TWO bottles of the Amsoil is approximately $160 for the combo though..how does the ONE bottle of Redline stack up??

cressida_override

Postby cressida_override » October 25th, 2016, 8:39 pm

Joshie23 wrote:
cressida_override wrote:
Joshie23 wrote:
Thanks.

Sniper I used the San F'do Branch. And if what Cressida is saying is true, it's either back to Amsoil Cetane Booster and Diesel Concentrate or I'll give the Fuel Medic a try..better to stick to what I know oui..the TWO bottles of the Amsoil is approximately $160 for the combo though..how does the ONE bottle of Redline stack up??

A padna buys the amsoil for me somewhere in south...the 16oz bottle costs $75, but we want to try purchasing it by the case which will be cheaper.
I used to pay $600 for a case of the redline 85+ in grande which works out to be $50 each....but like i said before the performance imo from the amsoil is better. Haven't tried the liqui moly treatment yet though.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » October 26th, 2016, 7:53 am

So late I have bought the cyclo, will see how it goes?
Interested in how 747 rebuild in going.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » October 26th, 2016, 7:54 am

Anyone cleaned their MAF sensor recently?
I haven't clean mines in a while, will look into it.

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » October 26th, 2016, 8:03 am

I finished last week, after a few days of driving, I realized it stopped smoking as when I now started it up. Its slightly smoking on idle after warming up and a 2 minute drive, which has me thinking an injector is dribbling.

If I press out, I will black smoke a lot, and I no the open catalyst has something to do with it.

I'll be using the vehicle from today a lot as I fixed my oil leak which was from a cracked oil drain hose from the vacuum pump.

So far vehicle is working nice and smooth, and has power. Also noticed my diesel gauge aint going down as fast as before :D

Will update on the smoking issue soon.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » October 26th, 2016, 9:51 am

SNIPER 3000 wrote:Anyone cleaned their MAF sensor recently?
I haven't clean mines in a while, will look into it.

I saw its Torx security screws, which sucks!!!

ADONI

Postby ADONI » October 26th, 2016, 9:58 am

In terms of treatment, I mainly use Redline 85+. Even buy the gallon for $395 by Car Boutique. I have used the Schaeffer's in between. Next would be trying is Fuel Medic, then maybe a Liqui Moly.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » October 26th, 2016, 10:28 am

ADONI wrote:In terms of treatment, I mainly use Redline 85+. Even buy the gallon for $395 by Car Boutique. I have used the Schaeffer's in between. Next would be trying is Fuel Medic, then maybe a Liqui Moly.

Take a pass through Massy's parts division and you'll see the little demo of the Fuel Medics capabilities compared to what they say are leading fuel additives so if it's not a gimmick, I'm leaning towards trying them next as I look for value for money. As for the Torx security screws, any parts place should sell the right size. I had to buy one to replace the sensor on my QG15.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » October 26th, 2016, 11:09 am

Yeah, the screws for the MAF I used a small flat head screw driver, it fit across the screw and turned out easy.
747 what catalysts? The regeneration filter ?

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » October 27th, 2016, 2:08 am

catalytic converter in the exhaust

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » October 27th, 2016, 11:18 am

Oh, I was thinking DPF ( Diesel Particulate filters ) regeneration process, which I think our local models do not have.
http://www.theaa.com/motoring_advice/fu ... lters.html

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » October 27th, 2016, 2:26 pm

OK guys so..I got back the van on Tuesday, my wife had it and she cut off and didn't get to start back..had to wreck the van back to VMCOTT to find out yesterday that the belt apparently jumped a tooth :shock: no damage was sustained as the van was off thank God..they also kept the van a day longer than we expected but I got my brake fluid and front brake pads replaced, entire timing belt system replaced (coolant pump, coolant, cooling system flushed and new thermostat inclusive) EGR valve cleaned and oil changed (I was going to change my own oil but they damaged my old filter while carrying out the job so they wanted to know if I wanted them to replace the filter and bill me for it so when I told them I was going to change it myself to save a few dollars, I was advised to bring my oil and filter in and they'd replace it) for approximately $1,220. I was given a bit of a discount for the minor inconveniences and this is my honest opinion, no cover ups for a man to curse me for recommending them if he gets shafted..they're qualified mechanics and the administrative staff are very supportive. In spite of the minor mess ups (that almost cost a lot.....) I'll continue to use them and I think once you know how to use colourful language (which I don't so I'm counting my blessings nonetheless) you an use them as well..because Massy is RIDICULOUS with their pricing and they still mess up your vehicle after bussing your throat (see Adoni's post in the Tucson thread).

This morning I changed my fuel filter..almost ran into some difficulties. There's a nipple with double threading on it that screws onto the filter through a sensor with an orifice on it and then it screws onto the top of the filter mount. That nipple came out when I unscrewed and I got a little scared...but I fixed it..lols. She tumbled for about 10 seconds before she started but I was successful thank God.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » October 28th, 2016, 12:20 pm

Yuh in business for a good while there with that service Josh.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » October 29th, 2016, 1:43 am

ADONI wrote:Yuh in business for a good while there with that service Josh.

Yeah thanks bro..tires in a gear and now engine on point..just need to replace my clock spring (as the previous owner didn't inform me that it was damaged but it was also a lack of my due diligence), and then maybe replace differential fluids and transmission fluids but I might do that at closer to 100k unless I need to do it before because if I spend anymore money on this van my wife will beat me and she'll make sure my daughter hears about it when she's born in some weeks :lol:

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » October 29th, 2016, 9:55 pm

ADONI,
you miss the bullet there. Happy it worked out. VMCOTT still did not give me the ok to bring the Sportage. Might take it to a kia mechanic in preysal . Anyone heard of him?
Said he works Kia doing the same jobs. What happened to you ADOIN is what I want to avoid. What clock spring you speaking about?

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » October 29th, 2016, 9:57 pm

Also looking for a set of door visors, any where locally I can get them?

Return to “KIA”