BlueIce wrote:ok i got a chance to look at the navara, ranger, bt-50, triton ...all models i looked at were 4x4 manual
Ranger and the bt-50 interior and under the hook looked almost identical.....they both felt "arite" but i cant get away from this "cheapy" feeling of the interior and the power wasnt what i expected.
ranger fully loaded was 169K but sale ends next week and it going back up to the 189K...bt-50 was 188K (i cant rem now)...my intial reaction on both vehicles is "what you pay for is what you get"..thats why is so much cheaper than the toyota/nissan/mitsu
The triton was "pretty" ...too curvy imho....under the hood looked "rich" and the interior was VERY nice and roomy! liking the addition of the rear glass that can slide down so you can speak to anyone on the tray...checked out the 4x4 auto ( no manuals were there ) price was 219K for the manual fully loaded....arranging for a test drive
The navara 4x4 manual is big and tough looking...lower than all the other trucks we looked at...which is good ...i prefered something lower. Like i said...the sale rep was bogus...when we asked for a flyer with the specs and pricing he said " this is our best seller...we dont have any flyers to give you" ...his attitude was discouraging as well...he didnt even try to sell the vehicle...just answered my questions...but despite that...the interior was big enough...triton seemed bigger though.....didnt get to test drive it yet
out of all the vans i looked at yesterday i'd say my ranking are as follows
1. navara $206K 4x4 manual fabric interior
2. triton $219K 4x4 manual leather interior
3. bt-50 $188K
4. ranger $169K till next week..then back up to $189K
where is the hilux you ask? meh neighbour, uncle, cousin, aunty all have one...its too played outBTW the ford/nissan/mitsu/mazda dealers all said the toyota was extremely top heavy and was prone to stability issues
i keep hearing this....
would buy a Ranger in two blinks... at that price? Wow... BT-50 too.... proven time after time after time
What do you mean by "looked rich". BTW, you cyar have people in the tray boy! But it is a nice touch. The SR5 hilux had that as well... (Mien too!) The salesman at Diamond Motors also told me that the Sportero is based on the Dakar Rally Vehicle, so hence it was stronger, and better than the others. Wow... I wish I were in sales eh...
Lower isnt better where some of us are concerned. hehe
In fact the more inportant aspect is ground clearance. The transfer case and gearbox are usually the lowest parts of the vehicle and should be taken into consideration when purchasing a 4x4. I never see under Biggy truck, so I cant comment on that.
WINNER!!! Buy a Hilux!
Man.. if you getting chain up by sales people so... wow... Any vehicle can flip. it all depends on the idiot who is driving it.
BlueIce wrote:Lower isnt better where some of us are concerned. hehe
In fact the more inportant aspect is ground clearance. The transfer case and gearbox are usually the lowest parts of the vehicle and should be taken into consideration when purchasing a 4x4. I never see under Biggy truck, so I cant comment on that.
i prefered the lower height...personal preference i guess....its not that lower than the hilux...but i guess the fact that its wider makes it appear alot lower....under biggy van has alot of clearance...why? cause biggy has some big mofos called "22's"![]()
BlueIce wrote:oh did i mention i'm biased ?...nissan t heart![]()
bleedingfreak wrote:Nuttin wrong with bias or "brand loyalty"
bleedingfreak wrote:I sure when venum see this he will glow like a fairy (not far from it though) about your commendation of the Sportero's interior!
bleedingfreak wrote:What I meant about the ground clearance - a vehicle could be lower by the rocker panels, but if the power train not protruding that much, then yuh on. One of the problems with the Rangers/Mazdas is that same powertrain components being alot lower than the chassis.
bleedingfreak wrote:I have actually gotten a Mazda stuck on the transfer case... Dum dee dum dum![]()
bleedingfreak wrote:And the Nav aint that low, is just when he's CONSTANTLY surrounded by the Mafia, you know... makes him look, you know... incapable
[/spoiler]tr1ad wrote:fack you and hush yuh kant
who was the sales rep u dealth with in massey (ah assuming is south)
BlueIce wrote:who was the sales rep u dealth with in massey (ah assuming is south)
nope not south...oh by the way...did i mention that the sales rep told me that the navara comes with LSD? i asked him because i read some of u guys said it doesnt come with LSD.....he looked at me shocked and said " you young fellahs with internet think allyuh know eveything eh...it comes with LSD"
i still didnt bring the price listings to scan:S hopefully if i not junk 2morow i will post it up
killerhyundai-DET wrote:That sales rep probably doesn't even know what an LSD is!
South sales rep confirmed, NO LSD!
Greypatch wrote:go slow what you getting boi ?
Mr. Go Slow wrote:Greypatch wrote:go slow what you getting boi ?
Hoss, I still don't know ... I was all set on the Navara until the LSD thing,
Then I was sweet on the Mazda, because the facelift model was supposed to have the new active suspension (DE-S I think) and the 3.0 lump, but that never came off ...
Can't get the Ranger in manual with the 2.5 or 3.0 common rail and the styling is not really to my tastes.
The Toyota has way too many flip reports for me ... Sorry Toyota fans, once or twice we can attribute to idiot drivers unaware of the vehicle dynamics, more than that (and it is) and it's a design flaw ...
The Isuzu is rubbish ... Sorry if any owners are put off by that, drive anything else and compare.
And I am off again and on again with the Mitsu styling wise (have yet to drive it).
If I have to spend 200K on a truck, I have to freakin' love it ... It can't be OK, or just pretty good for that money, it has to be awesome ... I've not yet found something that fits that requirement.
Maybe the '09 Ranger? We'll see ... The Trueno is still a fun ride in the mean time
Mr. Go Slow wrote:BlueIce wrote:who was the sales rep u dealth with in massey (ah assuming is south)
nope not south...oh by the way...did i mention that the sales rep told me that the navara comes with LSD? i asked him because i read some of u guys said it doesnt come with LSD.....he looked at me shocked and said " you young fellahs with internet think allyuh know eveything eh...it comes with LSD"
i still didnt bring the price listings to scan:S hopefully if i not junk 2morow i will post it up
I asked two different reps at two different locations and BOTH said it does NOT come with an LSD ... I called the local office separately to confirm and they as well said it does NOT come with an LSD ... Will call again tomorrow.
Let's be clear, this is the LOCAL model that you buy here, not the foreign model.
Greypatch wrote:When will the ford platform stop go slow ?
Do you know its replacement ?
(thought you buy a van already eh)