Everything you complaining about there sir , is a management problem which falls on the government as the employer which equates to a leadership issue. No matter how you try to spin it everything comes back to the employer. The government should not be involved in certain fields , yet they still are, we know the government is terrible at running businesses yet for some reason they continuewing wrote:Same reason as the public service. Poor productivity, politically inclined to the PNM, asking for increases but no improvement in service.hover11 wrote:Why was the refinery closed to begin with thoughwing wrote:Why worry? In just over a year, Kamla will fix it. She'll restart the refinery and open up the jubilee oil field. Our friend has reported nothing that isn't already widely known, what he hasn't offered is a solution, which is what most of them do with the exemption of Mariano Brown. That Indira sagewan has also taken to repeat verbatim the same talking points as her political directorate.paid_influencer wrote:Economist on inflation: Still a problem
The local economy is not performing well and inflation remains a problem, contrary to what the Government is saying, The University of the West Indies economist Dr Daren Conrad has said.
In a phone interview with the Express last week, Conrad -a senior lecturer in the Department of Economics at The UWI, also believes that in about six months, when the Donald Trump administration in the United States settles in, this country will begin to grapple with “a falling apart of agreements” that could be disastrous for T&T’s economy.
He said the country is not moving forward.
“The economy is not in good stead. It is at the weakest level it has probably been, but when they are reporting the numbers to us, they are picking and choosing which numbers to report and how they report it to make it look good. So I guess this is done not to create a sense of panic, but if we understand the truth, we will be able to make better decisions,” Conrad said.
He noted that a number of companies have reported a decline in profits, “so there is a problem, and it means demand is falling, and if demand is falling, then inflation will be low because people don’t have money to spend. But is this how we want to achieve low inflation? By people not having money to spend? No, that is not how we want to report inflation. The economy is not doing well, but we have to acknowledge this, and the people in charge should acknowledge that we have a problem and let us know what we can do on the ground. How they are choosing to report on inflation is not solving anything.
There has been no real growth in the country, Conrad argued.
“We are not seeing any major construction taking place, and those are the things that tell you that things are moving forward. We are seeing a lot of road repairs, which is what administrations do during election time when certain roads in certain constituencies will be paved. I don’t think that is a logical approach to anything. We should not be looking the way we look.
“If you walk through any of the malls, you will see inflation is low because people aren’t spending a lot of money. But the can is being kicked down the road until the time reaches to tell us the truth, and we all know when that time is. If you go to the supermarket, you know that what is being reported is not a true depiction of inflation,” he explained.
Price information from the Central Bank comes from the distributors, Conrad said.
“The distributors have not experienced an increase in the prices. What we are paying at the point of sale, (authorities) don’t collect as prices, so it’s how they collect the information to tell the story that they want to tell to citizens. But if there weren’t an issue, especially with (foreign exchange), we would not have all the banks cutting forex spending on all of the credit cards, and they are selling it to the point that you are only able to get this much in a billing cycle, so much so that you have to plan months ahead for a trip to the US,” he observed.
He continued, “Small and medium enterprises are suffering to the point that they are closing because of the lack of forex, but the larger corporations don’t have that problem because they are in the line for forex. The conglomerates get forex. How else will we have all of these brand new vehicles coming in unless they have forex available to these companies to bring in all those cars? So in their eyes, forex is not a problem because the major corporations that have the major stakes in the country’s economy have access to forex. The small and medium enterprises are the ones that don’t have access to forex.”
Conrad said other Caricom countries aren’t experiencing foreign exchange issues like this country.
“From where they sit, they look at the import cover, and the threshold is six months, so once it’s more than six months, we are good. But do you have access to forex? People are hoarding forex; they are buying it from their friends and family coming into the country so that they could have some foreign exchange. If we compare ourselves to countries like Jamaica, Grenada and Guyana, they could walk in the bank and buy US (dollars). In Guyana, you can walk into the bank and buy US$1,000. But our problem is that we don’t admit that we have a problem, and it’s not a problem until it reaches crisis levels,” Conrad said.
Manufacturing and labour issues
Conrad said manufacturing and the labour force are at their lowest in the country right now.
“How can we generate foreign exchange when medium and small enterprises don’t have access to the forex that they very well need to purchase the intermediate goods to engage in manufacturing? We need to engage our labour force fully because it is the lowest in the region at 11%. We need to engage the labour force because we have the capacity to expand labour production and export, but companies don’t have the forex to do so. We also have to work on improving productivity,” he said.
Conrad believes Trump’s policies will impact this country.
“Biden buying natural gas from Trinidad goes out the window from January. And then the US won’t need to import anything from us, so what do we do? In six months the full effects of everything will be felt when the new Trump administration settles in and all of the agreements fall apart,” he opined.
Conrad said citizens have a role to play in the country moving forward.
“We lack discipline and then the unions are demanding increases without an increase in productivity which is so unfortunate,” he concluded.
Inflation at 0.2%
Last week the Central Statistical Office (CSO) released its Consumer Price Index for the month of October 2024.
It noted then: “The inflation rate for October 2024, which measures the percentage change in the All Items Index for the month of October 2024 over October 2023, was 0.2%. This represents a decrease from the previous period (September 2024/September 2023) of 0.4%. The inflation rate for the comparative period (October 2023/October 2022) was 1.3%.”
The All Items Index calculated from the prices collected for the month of October 2024 was 124.4, representing an increase of 0.3 points of 0.2% above the All Items Index for September 2024.
The CSO observed that the Index for Food and Non-Alcoholic Beverages increased from 150.2 in September 2024 to 150.8 in October 2024, reflecting an increase of 0.4%.
“Contributing significantly to this increase was the general upward movement in the prices of fresh whole chicken, tomatoes, green sweet peppers, parboiled rice, table margarine, fresh carite, fresh kingfish, fresh salmon, melon and other chilled or frozen chicken,” the CSO stated. However, the full impact of these price increases “was offset by the general decreases in the prices of Irish potatoes, cucumber, carrots, eddoes, ochroes, chive, plantains, garlic, onions and oranges”, it added.
https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... dd9cc.html
Photo included because I know some ah allyuh does check the last name or picture for any hint of indianness
The products that the refinery sold , like what prices per barrel would they have sold at ?The_Honourable wrote:mero wrote:sMASH wrote:Closing down the refinery was a wise move or a dumb move ?
Post figures of petrotrin vs heritage and I'll make a fair assessment. You guys smart so those figures easily accessible off the top
Weird how the same ppl who want to privatize the port, privatize WASA and privatize T&TEC and other mismanaged state run companies , welcoming the IMF but crying over Petrotrin as if Petrotrin wasn't gonna be the first to go. Make up allyuh mind and sob story nah.
Dont get distracted and forget to post the figures ok, know allyuh attention span low
Saw this post:
The idea that our forex problem stems from the closure of Petrotrin is wrong for a number of reasons.
When it closed in 2018, Petrortrin was losing over $2 billion TTD annually, weighed down by $25 billion TTD in debt and liabilities, and operating with outdated, inefficient systems.
The refinery required 120,000 barrels per day (bpd) of crude to function but produced only 40,000 bpd, forcing imports at a loss. The high costs of importing crude, combined with inefficiencies, aging infrastructure, and global market pressures, resulted in the company selling refined products at a loss.
Additionally, its bloated workforce—32 employees per 1,000 barrels of capacity, compared to a global average of 5-15—highlighted its uncompetitiveness.
Contrary to claims by some, Petrotrin's closure is not the cause of today’s forex shortages.
Heritage Petroleum has been a major forex contributor, earning $8 billion TTD in 2023 through crude oil exports, which offsets Paria Fuel’s refined product imports.
The forex crisis stems from broader structural issues, such as limited diversification, declining energy revenues during low oil prices, and inefficiencies in forex allocation.
Addressing these issues will require focused leadership and bold reforms—not empty promises of reopening the refinery -and certainly not by taking economic policy from the OWTU.
https://www.facebook.com/share/p/4NBeXwPDrkt9ZX7V/
I had to re read and make sure this was not your article. Otherwise, I would I have put u in the Jackarse corner with Wing.The_Honourable wrote:mero wrote:sMASH wrote:Closing down the refinery was a wise move or a dumb move ?
Post figures of petrotrin vs heritage and I'll make a fair assessment. You guys smart so those figures easily accessible off the top
Weird how the same ppl who want to privatize the port, privatize WASA and privatize T&TEC and other mismanaged state run companies , welcoming the IMF but crying over Petrotrin as if Petrotrin wasn't gonna be the first to go. Make up allyuh mind and sob story nah.
Dont get distracted and forget to post the figures ok, know allyuh attention span low
Saw this post:
The idea that our forex problem stems from the closure of Petrotrin is wrong for a number of reasons.
When it closed in 2018, Petrortrin was losing over $2 billion TTD annually, weighed down by $25 billion TTD in debt and liabilities, and operating with outdated, inefficient systems.
The refinery required 120,000 barrels per day (bpd) of crude to function but produced only 40,000 bpd, forcing imports at a loss. The high costs of importing crude, combined with inefficiencies, aging infrastructure, and global market pressures, resulted in the company selling refined products at a loss.
Additionally, its bloated workforce—32 employees per 1,000 barrels of capacity, compared to a global average of 5-15—highlighted its uncompetitiveness.
Contrary to claims by some, Petrotrin's closure is not the cause of today’s forex shortages.
Heritage Petroleum has been a major forex contributor, earning $8 billion TTD in 2023 through crude oil exports, which offsets Paria Fuel’s refined product imports.
The forex crisis stems from broader structural issues, such as limited diversification, declining energy revenues during low oil prices, and inefficiencies in forex allocation.
Addressing these issues will require focused leadership and bold reforms—not empty promises of reopening the refinery -and certainly not by taking economic policy from the OWTU.
https://www.facebook.com/share/p/4NBeXwPDrkt9ZX7V/
Economic principles?wing wrote:What's the production of the lease operators Vs heritage wells? Only idiots like the three stooges of tuner will fall for your bs. You claim to work in oil, but can't understand simple economic principles and no you were out of the oil long before petrotrin crashed, starting with Khalid and the crew.
Makes no sense....it must have a rum shop open somewhere.zoom rader wrote:Economic principles?wing wrote:What's the production of the lease operators Vs heritage wells? Only idiots like the three stooges of tuner will fall for your bs. You claim to work in oil, but can't understand simple economic principles and no you were out of the oil long before petrotrin crashed, starting with Khalid and the crew.
Quoting figures in TT looses but selling in US for profit
Continue
It won't make sense to youwing wrote:Makes no sense....it must have a rum shop open somewhere.zoom rader wrote:Economic principles?wing wrote:What's the production of the lease operators Vs heritage wells? Only idiots like the three stooges of tuner will fall for your bs. You claim to work in oil, but can't understand simple economic principles and no you were out of the oil long before petrotrin crashed, starting with Khalid and the crew.
Quoting figures in TT looses but selling in US for profit
Continue
This PNM pothound again in his glee because someone said PNM did something right in their two consecutive terms in government. Newsflash, even a broken clock tells the right time twice in one day.mero wrote:That was a good read Honourable, appreciate the actual information unlike the others who does live online whole day but pretending they suddenly can't find any info and playing dumb and rather use only KOTPNM for their source of news.
Side note, Welcome to the PNM The_Honourable!!. See zoom done start to fling sheit at you. Expect his concubine hover to follow suit.
What was the income gained by the products it sold?mero wrote:That was a good read Honourable, appreciate the actual information unlike the others who does live online whole day but pretending they suddenly can't find any info and playing dumb and rather use only KOTPNM for their source of news.
Side note, Welcome to the PNM The_Honourable!!. See zoom done start to fling sheit at you. Expect his concubine hover to follow suit.
mero wrote:That was a good read Honourable, appreciate the actual information unlike the others who does live online whole day but pretending they suddenly can't find any info and playing dumb and rather use only KOTPNM for their source of news.
WtfDizzy28 wrote:mero wrote:That was a good read Honourable, appreciate the actual information unlike the others who does live online whole day but pretending they suddenly can't find any info and playing dumb and rather use only KOTPNM for their source of news.
The irony in ZR writing off the author of Honourable's post as a PNM hack when he is actually a known UNC operative who was actually fired by the Express from being a columnist for not declaring his UNC links (working in the Opposition leader's Office)
Why don't u explain how oil production goes up right after Petrotrin closure ?mero wrote:That was a good read Honourable, appreciate the actual information unlike the others who does live online whole day but pretending they suddenly can't find any info and playing dumb and rather use only KOTPNM for their source of news.
Mero is very dishonestsMASH wrote:What was the income gained by the products it sold?mero wrote:That was a good read Honourable, appreciate the actual information unlike the others who does live online whole day but pretending they suddenly can't find any info and playing dumb and rather use only KOTPNM for their source of news.
zoom rader wrote:WtfDizzy28 wrote:mero wrote:That was a good read Honourable, appreciate the actual information unlike the others who does live online whole day but pretending they suddenly can't find any info and playing dumb and rather use only KOTPNM for their source of news.
The irony in ZR writing off the author of Honourable's post as a PNM hack when he is actually a known UNC operative who was actually fired by the Express from being a columnist for not declaring his UNC links (working in the Opposition leader's Office)
You should know I dont gives two fvcks about any political party
U some kind of panty man ?SuperiorMan wrote:zoom rader wrote:WtfDizzy28 wrote:mero wrote:That was a good read Honourable, appreciate the actual information unlike the others who does live online whole day but pretending they suddenly can't find any info and playing dumb and rather use only KOTPNM for their source of news.
dizzy28 owning his dog zoom rader as usual
If you are anti PNM, then you are a lick bottom UNC.zoom rader wrote:U some kind of panty man ?SuperiorMan wrote:zoom rader wrote:WtfDizzy28 wrote:mero wrote:That was a good read Honourable, appreciate the actual information unlike the others who does live online whole day but pretending they suddenly can't find any info and playing dumb and rather use only KOTPNM for their source of news.
Did u not read I don't support any political party or tuner
Come with bullśhit I will nail u . I don't give two fvcks about anyone on tuner.
Whoever wrote that article is a cont, UNC or not.
Letters to the Editor
The appetite for foreign goods
Funny how our erudite Prime Minister can condemn citizens' “appetite for foreign goods” when this is the same individual who jumps on a flight each time his head aches to have his blood pressure checked by doctors in foreign jurisdictions, California to be precise.
At least he and his regime have been consistent in blaming citizens for their massive incompetence, as is evident in faux pas after faux pas.
Apparently when he decided to close down Petrotrin, a forex asset, to import fuel, a forex liability, he never considered the mater of forex (forex exchange). Perhaps someone was closing a fridge door and he didn’t hear himself. It is either that or he calculated relying on his advanced maths, PNM style. Nowhere in any of the regime's responses to the nation’s economic woes is Petrotrin ever mention.
Our “appetite for foreign goods,” Mr PM, stems from the fact that we have failed to be a producer of anything, which I have reason to think is intricately linked to the watchwords provided by PNM’s “esteemed” founder: discipline, production and tolerance. I have since come to suspect that Dr Eric Williams was merely being sarcastic.
I can say without fear or favour that, as a people, we lack discipline, and are barely tolerant. And, when it comes to production, we are as non-productive as a nation can get. We live to fete and seek out any reason to celebrate or party, from baby showers to funerals and anything in between.
It should come as no surprise that he decided to import “yam.” While Benz seems to be his preference. And since no one wants our precious TT dollar, each time we import, we do so in foreign currency, our choice being the US dollar.
In 2016 the Mercedes S-Class was said to be $2 million. Was it paid in TT dollars? He said it was merely $900K. Was Young’s Benz GLE 450, Deyalsingh’s Prado TXL, or Al-Rawi’s Porsche Cayenne purchased using TT dollars? What about all the other MPs who purchase high-end luxury vehicles, tax free, only to sell them at book value two years later?
Speaking for thyself, I too hold a strong appetite for foreign goods. Onions, garlic, salt, sugar, flour, rice, cooking oil and pastas are prime on my list. As are a wide variety of peas and beans. We all know how much of that stuff NFM “produces.”
Included on my list of foreign goods are sardines, tuna, corned beef, saltfish, smoked herring and, of course, the “tax-free” pigtails. I am almost sure the pigs who donated their tails must be ecstatic.
I must admit that much of the latter items have been priced out of my range as a NIS beneficiary, whose benefits have remained constant at $3,000. But that requires a separate response. Oh, and my 25-year-old vehicle was “manufactured” in Bamboo #3.
All praises due to our esteemed PM for reminding us of the need to scale back on our appetite for foreign goods. The next time I get the need to purchase a basic food item like rice, I will visit Moruga. I heard they have great mountain rice. I should be able to get flour in Debe, garlic and onions in Santa Cruz, cooking oil in Point Lisas, and sugar, obviously, in Caroni.
In my part to assist this brilliant regime in its struggle with the forex shortage, I am all too willing to find a TV manufacturer in the Trincity Industrial Estate, and an excellent cell phone manufacturer somewhere in the Omera Industrial Estate.
As for vehicles, I am quite sure the folks in Morvant still “manufacturer,” from scratch, nothing but the best. I might even consider ordering a GLE or Porche Cayenne or two myself, seeing that it would be free of import duties.
It is clear that as a people we have grown too used to consuming foreign products and ideas. May I humbly suggest that parents who have their children attending foreign universities have them repatriated immediately, if not sooner; no exceptions.
Ban the import of foreign clothing immediately. All items worn should only be made of locally produced materials. I am sure fig leaves can be treated and dyed and made into wonderful Armani-type suits. I am also sure good uses can be found for the entire balisier plant.
In case the accomplished author missed it while teeing off, TT did not become a consumer of foreign products and ideas overnight. Let us begin with our constitution. Dr Williams argued “if it’s good enough for the British, then it must be good enough for us.” And hence began the adaptation of foreign.
So, the next time one consumes a Carib/Stag s/he should learn “where barley grows.” And I am sure it’s not in Balisier House.
RUDY CHATO PAUL, SR
D'Abadie
Racist PEP lick bottom. No different from the other letter writer.paid_influencer wrote:Letters to the Editor
The appetite for foreign goods
Funny how our erudite Prime Minister can condemn citizens' “appetite for foreign goods” when this is the same individual who jumps on a flight each time his head aches to have his blood pressure checked by doctors in foreign jurisdictions, California to be precise.
At least he and his regime have been consistent in blaming citizens for their massive incompetence, as is evident in faux pas after faux pas.
Apparently when he decided to close down Petrotrin, a forex asset, to import fuel, a forex liability, he never considered the mater of forex (forex exchange). Perhaps someone was closing a fridge door and he didn’t hear himself. It is either that or he calculated relying on his advanced maths, PNM style. Nowhere in any of the regime's responses to the nation’s economic woes is Petrotrin ever mention.
Our “appetite for foreign goods,” Mr PM, stems from the fact that we have failed to be a producer of anything, which I have reason to think is intricately linked to the watchwords provided by PNM’s “esteemed” founder: discipline, production and tolerance. I have since come to suspect that Dr Eric Williams was merely being sarcastic.
I can say without fear or favour that, as a people, we lack discipline, and are barely tolerant. And, when it comes to production, we are as non-productive as a nation can get. We live to fete and seek out any reason to celebrate or party, from baby showers to funerals and anything in between.
It should come as no surprise that he decided to import “yam.” While Benz seems to be his preference. And since no one wants our precious TT dollar, each time we import, we do so in foreign currency, our choice being the US dollar.
In 2016 the Mercedes S-Class was said to be $2 million. Was it paid in TT dollars? He said it was merely $900K. Was Young’s Benz GLE 450, Deyalsingh’s Prado TXL, or Al-Rawi’s Porsche Cayenne purchased using TT dollars? What about all the other MPs who purchase high-end luxury vehicles, tax free, only to sell them at book value two years later?
Speaking for thyself, I too hold a strong appetite for foreign goods. Onions, garlic, salt, sugar, flour, rice, cooking oil and pastas are prime on my list. As are a wide variety of peas and beans. We all know how much of that stuff NFM “produces.”
Included on my list of foreign goods are sardines, tuna, corned beef, saltfish, smoked herring and, of course, the “tax-free” pigtails. I am almost sure the pigs who donated their tails must be ecstatic.
I must admit that much of the latter items have been priced out of my range as a NIS beneficiary, whose benefits have remained constant at $3,000. But that requires a separate response. Oh, and my 25-year-old vehicle was “manufactured” in Bamboo #3.
All praises due to our esteemed PM for reminding us of the need to scale back on our appetite for foreign goods. The next time I get the need to purchase a basic food item like rice, I will visit Moruga. I heard they have great mountain rice. I should be able to get flour in Debe, garlic and onions in Santa Cruz, cooking oil in Point Lisas, and sugar, obviously, in Caroni.
In my part to assist this brilliant regime in its struggle with the forex shortage, I am all too willing to find a TV manufacturer in the Trincity Industrial Estate, and an excellent cell phone manufacturer somewhere in the Omera Industrial Estate.
As for vehicles, I am quite sure the folks in Morvant still “manufacturer,” from scratch, nothing but the best. I might even consider ordering a GLE or Porche Cayenne or two myself, seeing that it would be free of import duties.
It is clear that as a people we have grown too used to consuming foreign products and ideas. May I humbly suggest that parents who have their children attending foreign universities have them repatriated immediately, if not sooner; no exceptions.
Ban the import of foreign clothing immediately. All items worn should only be made of locally produced materials. I am sure fig leaves can be treated and dyed and made into wonderful Armani-type suits. I am also sure good uses can be found for the entire balisier plant.
In case the accomplished author missed it while teeing off, TT did not become a consumer of foreign products and ideas overnight. Let us begin with our constitution. Dr Williams argued “if it’s good enough for the British, then it must be good enough for us.” And hence began the adaptation of foreign.
So, the next time one consumes a Carib/Stag s/he should learn “where barley grows.” And I am sure it’s not in Balisier House.
RUDY CHATO PAUL, SR
D'Abadie
https://newsday.co.tt/2024/11/25/the-ap ... ign-goods/
zoom rader wrote:Petrotrin was starved by capped Wells
+1 on the BP find.bluefete wrote:zoom rader wrote:Petrotrin was starved by capped Wells
Zoom telling allyuh some truth and allyuh still fighting de man.
I know for a fact that BP found oil and gas and quickly capped the wells so the government would not know.
There are supposed to be government inspectors on board drilling platforms to prevent this BUT money can pass in many different ways, for some to become blind, deaf and dumb.
Nuff said.
bluefete wrote:zoom rader wrote:Petrotrin was starved by capped Wells
I know for a fact that BP found oil and gas and quickly capped the wells so the government would not know.
There are supposed to be government inspectors on board drilling platforms to prevent this BUT money can pass in many different ways, for some to become blind, deaf and dumb.
Nuff said.
Dizzy28 wrote:bluefete wrote:zoom rader wrote:Petrotrin was starved by capped Wells
Nuff said.
What you all saying is after spending hundreds of millions to over a billion USD on exploration, BP cap a well as opposed to monetizing it?
Is this one of the oil giants along with the rest that swindled out of paying us royalties , why would they do such a thing ....not like they haven't been unethical in the pastDizzy28 wrote:bluefete wrote:zoom rader wrote:Petrotrin was starved by capped Wells
Nuff said.
What you all saying is after spending hundreds of millions to over a billion USD on exploration, BP cap a well as opposed to monetizing it?
Ent if it don't have oil/gas u will have to switch to renewables ?hover11 wrote:Is this one of the oil giants along with the rest that swindled out of paying us royalties , why would they do such a thing ....not like they haven't been unethical in the pastDizzy28 wrote:bluefete wrote:zoom rader wrote:Petrotrin was starved by capped Wells
Nuff said.
Yes very much anti BS from all partieswing wrote:If you are anti PNM, then you are a lick bottom UNC.zoom rader wrote:U some kind of panty man ?SuperiorMan wrote:zoom rader wrote:WtfDizzy28 wrote:mero wrote:That was a good read Honourable, appreciate the actual information unlike the others who does live online whole day but pretending they suddenly can't find any info and playing dumb and rather use only KOTPNM for their source of news.
Did u not read I don't support any political party or tuner
Come with bullśhit I will nail u . I don't give two fvcks about anyone on tuner.
Whoever wrote that article is a cont, UNC or not.