COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Dohplaydat

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 1691 cases, 21 deaths, 998 active, 672 discharged in T&T

Postby Dohplaydat » August 31st, 2020, 1:07 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
aaron17 wrote:
maj. tom wrote:There are other reasons why to wear a mask while in the car with someone inside your social bubble.
This virus is more contagious than anyone ever thought.

Since you're outside your house, everytime you go out with your car you increase your risk because you interact with the outside world with an aerosolized virus that can leave residue in many places you're not aware of, from many people who are likely to be asymptomatic carriers. Touch the door handle, the seat, the arm rest, the steering wheel... was it disinfected from the last time you used the car? You used hand sanitizer? You're so sure 1 single virus particle didn't get by that 5-second hand rubbing sequence? Wearing a mask deters you from touching your face, nose and mouth. That alone will decrease the risk by a lot. Interactions can also happen while you're driving. If the police officer taps on your window, scramble to put on a mask first... or you were just wearing it all the time. Minor accident or a flat tire... last thing on your mind is yourask.

Well would it matter because you're living together anyway? Maybe. Because when you reach home and exit the car you can wash your hands with soap properly and get rid of any residue that could make it to your nose and mouth by hand. The mask was preventing that. Again, we're observing how super-contagious this virus is. Every bit of training and good habit helps. The good habit is wearing a mask anytime you leave home. You won't get complacent. You won't touch your nose and your face. You set an example as normal for other people out there who are thinking the same. You're making sure you cannot be careless. This is for you. It's like a drill that your practise all the time. Argue if you want "because that is stupid since we live together." I'm sure there are literally millions of people in the world who so far had such arguments.

Wow...
Big up

All the latest studies show the virus is extremely difficult to contract via touch, 99% of the spread occurs via the air. So all this handwashing is rather pointless toward the fight against Covid.

Sources?

https://www.vox.com/science-and-health/ ... d-19-risks

Great article with links to many scientific studies. Now the experts aren't saying don't wash your hands, but the evidence is coming in that it's far less likely to get Covid from surfaces than previously thought.

Also 6ft isn't enough, especially in indoor environments with recirculated air.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 1691 cases, 21 deaths, 998 active, 672 discharged in T&T

Postby adnj » August 31st, 2020, 1:54 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
aaron17 wrote:
maj. tom wrote:There are other reasons why to wear a mask while in the car with someone inside your social bubble.
This virus is more contagious than anyone ever thought.

Since you're outside your house, everytime you go out with your car you increase your risk because you interact with the outside world with an aerosolized virus that can leave residue in many places you're not aware of, from many people who are likely to be asymptomatic carriers. Touch the door handle, the seat, the arm rest, the steering wheel... was it disinfected from the last time you used the car? You used hand sanitizer? You're so sure 1 single virus particle didn't get by that 5-second hand rubbing sequence? Wearing a mask deters you from touching your face, nose and mouth. That alone will decrease the risk by a lot. Interactions can also happen while you're driving. If the police officer taps on your window, scramble to put on a mask first... or you were just wearing it all the time. Minor accident or a flat tire... last thing on your mind is yourask.

Well would it matter because you're living together anyway? Maybe. Because when you reach home and exit the car you can wash your hands with soap properly and get rid of any residue that could make it to your nose and mouth by hand. The mask was preventing that. Again, we're observing how super-contagious this virus is. Every bit of training and good habit helps. The good habit is wearing a mask anytime you leave home. You won't get complacent. You won't touch your nose and your face. You set an example as normal for other people out there who are thinking the same. You're making sure you cannot be careless. This is for you. It's like a drill that your practise all the time. Argue if you want "because that is stupid since we live together." I'm sure there are literally millions of people in the world who so far had such arguments.

Wow...
Big up

All the latest studies show the virus is extremely difficult to contract via touch, 99% of the spread occurs via the air. So all this handwashing is rather pointless toward the fight against Covid.

Sources?

I don't believe that there was a quantitative risk associated with fomite transmission of SARS-CoV-2, and I don't know if your statement of 99% is merely hyperbole, but the risk is real. It may not be to your advantage to wash your hands before entering a public space but it is certainly to your advantage for every other person to wash their hands.

To reduce your own risk of infection, you may decide that it is wisest to wash your hands after you have contacted any surface that another person could have touched or coughed on within the last couple of hours.

---------

Based on what we know about other respiratory diseases, the Centre for Disease Control (CDC) says it's possible a person can get COVID-19 by touching a surface or object that has the virus on it and then touching their own mouth, nose or possibly their eyes.

"But this isn't thought to be the main way the virus spreads," the CDC says.

Coronavirus questions answered
An illustration of a cell on an orange background with the word 'coronacast' overlayed.
Breaking down the latest news and research to understand how the world is living through an epidemic, this is the ABC's Coronacast podcast.

Susy Hota, an infection prevention and control expert at the University of Toronto, says much has been learnt about surface spread as the pandemic unfolded.

"Early research showed the virus could survive on surfaces for up to six days, which was worrisome," she says.

"But it's probably not as big of a risk as we initially thought."

There is still no evidence in any COVID-19 studies that anyone has contracted the virus from a surface alone.

Ian Mackay, a virologist at the University of Queensland, says the growing evidence about aerosol transmission may mean surface transmission becomes a more minor risk.

The problem is we often can't definitively say how someone becomes infected, Dr Mackay points out.

Importantly, the risk is not zero and surface transmission could play a role when we see COVID-19 spread through a household.

https://www.abc.net.au/news/science/202 ... 9/12512720

---------

In my opinion, the chance of transmission through
inanimate surfaces is very small, and only in instances
where an infected person coughs or sneezes on the
surface, and someone else touches that surface soon
after the cough or sneeze (within 1–2 h). I do not
disagree with erring on the side of caution, but this
can go to extremes not justified by the data. Although
periodically disinfecting surfaces and use of gloves
are reasonable precautions especially in hospitals, I
believe that fomites that have not been in contact
with an infected carrier for many hours do not pose
a measurable risk of transmission in non-hospital
settings. A more balanced perspective is needed to curb
excesses that become counterproductive.

https://www.thelancet.com/pdfs/journals ... 73-3099(20)30561-2.pdf

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 1727 cases, 22 deaths, 1029 active, 676 discharged in T&T

Postby redmanjp » August 31st, 2020, 2:11 pm

jhonnieblue wrote:My question is now that we have sustained community spread, why aren't the boarders being reopened?

To not make a bad situation worse?

We have community spread but it not as bad as the US or Brazil. If we do that and allow hundreds of infected ppl back we will become like that.

But the PM did say they are increasing repatriation flights. But the numbers of ppl have to be managed. It can't be business as usual.
Last edited by redmanjp on August 31st, 2020, 2:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 1727 cases, 22 deaths, 1029 active, 676 discharged in T&T

Postby pugboy » August 31st, 2020, 2:12 pm

agreed
a bigger risk is simply breathing exhaled air from another person than the mechanic transmission of touching a surface and then touching your nose
ie a 3 step physical process vs just sucking him exhaled air

Postby redmanjp » August 31st, 2020, 2:19 pm

pugboy wrote:agreed
a bigger risk is simply breathing exhaled air from another person than the mechanic transmission of touching a surface and then touching your nose
ie a 3 step physical process vs just sucking him exhaled air

Hence the reason for mandatory masks bit not mandatory hand washing

Postby sMASH » August 31st, 2020, 3:13 pm

Could have had all them rules since February if they allowed covid talks

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 31st, 2020, 4:30 pm

Key Points From The Ministry of Health’s Virtual Media Conference – Monday 31st August 2020

The Minister of Health, Terrence Deyalsingh announced that 160,000 Rapid Test, Antigen Kits were ordered and will be a "game changer" when it comes to testing in T&T. Minister Deyalsingh also indicated that these test kits would be used as part of the screening process, to quickly determine if persons require further testing for Covid-19.

The Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs, Faris Al-Rawi, indicated that there were some printed errors with regards to the latest public health regulations which will be rectified and the corrected regulations distributed.

For clarity’s sake, AG Al-Rawi stated that once you are on the public road in a vehicle or in a public space, you will be required to wear something that covers your nose, mouth and chin. There are only two exceptions to this law, persons operating a vehicle or vessel alone or children under the age of eight.

The Attorney General also listed reasonable excuses for not wearing a mask, which include:

• Medical, physical or mental illness or impairment which inhibits the person’s ability to wear a mask or face shield.

• If the person is travelling with or providing assistance to someone that relies on lip reading to communicate.

• If the person removes the face covering to prevent harm or injury to themselves or others.

• If the person is escaping risk of harm and does not have a face covering with them.

• If it is reasonably necessary for the person to temporarily remove the mask to eat, drink or take medication.

• If a request is made for the person to remove the face covering for security/identification purposes.

AG Al-Rawi also stated that fitness activities was NOT excluded from the mask wearing regulations, once you are in a public space, you are required to wear a mask.

Attorney General Al-Rawi stated that the regulation concerning mandated mask wearing in private vehicles is to facilitate effective policing of said regulation, as it would be extremely difficult for law enforcement to differentiate between PH Taxis and family cars.

The AG firmly declared that ALL citizens are to comply with the mask wearing regulations regardless of station, this included elected officials, protective services and even the socially displaced. Work is currently underway to ensure that masks are provided to the socially displaced.

When answering a question with regards to the use of face shields, the Attorney General confirmed that they are accepted as an alternative to face masks by law.

The AG indicated that children, 8 years or older are alone, they CAN be fined for not wearing a mask in public.

AG Al-Rawi also advised persons who have a medical condition that impairs their ability to wear a mask, to carry proof of such as it would be up to the police officer to determine if the mask law applies to them or not. In cases where persons are fined and believe that they had a valid reason for not wearing a mask, the matter can be taken to court and contested.

Postby sMASH » August 31st, 2020, 5:12 pm

Notice the AG was in a public space without a mask.

Postby aaron17 » August 31st, 2020, 5:47 pm

That 'steups' spreaded the virus in that entire transport that day.

Postby pugboy » August 31st, 2020, 5:51 pm

i feel that vid staged by ttps as a warning

Postby K74T » August 31st, 2020, 6:12 pm

32+

FB_IMG_1598911864363.jpeg

screwbash

Postby screwbash » August 31st, 2020, 6:22 pm

so if i standing in front d grocery drinking a coke an smoking a cigarette dey cud charge my mc? so smoking in public is ban now?

Postby pugboy » August 31st, 2020, 6:25 pm

no, eating and drinking allows for mask removal

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 31st, 2020, 6:26 pm

And we've just officially passed NZ's number of Covid cases.

killercow

Postby killercow » August 31st, 2020, 7:15 pm

I blame the maxi man

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » August 31st, 2020, 7:16 pm

Well if you still smoking cigarettes in this day and age, they should lock you up with stupidity.
screwbash wrote:so if i standing in front d grocery drinking a coke an smoking a cigarette dey cud charge my mc? so smoking in public is ban now?

Postby sMASH » August 31st, 2020, 7:18 pm

fokhan_96 wrote:Well if you still smoking cigarettes in this day and age, they should lock you up with stupidity.
screwbash wrote:so if i standing in front d grocery drinking a coke an smoking a cigarette dey cud charge my mc? so smoking in public is ban now?
If smoking is stupidity ur govt makes it legal.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 1759 cases, 22 deaths, 1061 active, 676 discharged in T&T

Postby paid_influencer » August 31st, 2020, 7:20 pm

the worst is them vaper fellas that want everybody breath in their lung vomit

occifers, lock up they mc
Last edited by paid_influencer on August 31st, 2020, 7:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby sMASH » August 31st, 2020, 7:21 pm

pugboy wrote:no, eating and drinking allows for mask removal
Dont get it twisted. They said with reason. Not gonna let u stand up and eat a roti . Only a lil sip a s bite of sumting now and then. Police might not bother, but but u have the few that feel them is batman.

Postby pugboy » August 31st, 2020, 7:21 pm

tell the witco shareholders that
govt heavily vested too
just like angostura

sMASH wrote:
fokhan_96 wrote:Well if you still smoking cigarettes in this day and age, they should lock you up with stupidity.
If smoking is stupidity ur govt makes it legal.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 1759 cases, 22 deaths, 1061 active, 676 discharged in T&T

Postby paid_influencer » August 31st, 2020, 9:10 pm

alright so I came across this media release by the new Senator/former Naps girl Jayanti Lutchmedial, via DNN.

So there is no new "Mandatory Mask Wearing" law. What was passed in Parliament was an amendment to the Public Health Ordinance Act for the following additional powers:

- Adds a "fixed penalty" system, similar to traffic tickets, under the Public Health Ordinance.
- Increases maximum fine to $250,000 (up from $50,000)
- Adds the ability of the Minister of Health to make modifications (before it was only the CMO).

All the things Al-Rawi and Stuart Young talked about were added in the Public Health Ordinance, none of which comes before Parliament and the vagueness of interpretation is part-and-parcel of that.

Basically the reality is: an occifer gives you a ticket if he feels like it, you have 14 days to pay the ticket, and you can appeal to the magistrate after if you think the occifer is wrong.

Postby sMASH » August 31st, 2020, 11:08 pm

i waiting for president to proclaim and ting. all this about lower house and upper house, i was wondering how they could say it would be law by monday and may weeks sleeping.

they dont need to go to parliament for the health ordinance, but under the quarantine act, that would require parliament. so this was just a pseudo democracy exercise.

Postby pugboy » August 31st, 2020, 11:18 pm

Papers said she proclaimed it

It’s not any different than when kamala called max Richards in the middle of the night exactly 8 years ago to proclaim section 34 whilst the man was partying for independence.

sMASH wrote:i waiting for president to proclaim and ting. all this about lower house and upper house, i was wondering how they could say it would be law by monday and may weeks sleeping.

they dont need to go to parliament for the health ordinance, but under the quarantine act, that would require parliament. so this was just a pseudo democracy exercise.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 31st, 2020, 11:35 pm

right so if this law pass can we re-open gyms now?

abducted

Postby abducted » September 1st, 2020, 12:37 am

Dohplaydat wrote:right so if this law pass can we re-open gyms now?

How would that make any sense? 5 people at a time in the gym?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 1st, 2020, 7:41 am

Me here again with meh rumors. It is believed that quite a few trainees at the ttps academy have tested +. The necessary is being done to have them moved to quarantine facilities

Postby Gladiator » September 1st, 2020, 7:47 am

Just from a logical perspective not taking Covid measures into consideration...

5 people in the gym with a time limit of 1hr per group.

Gym opens 12 hours a day. That's 60 people passing through a day.

$300 membership for the month... That's $18k in total fees....

Rent money yo!!!
abducted wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:right so if this law pass can we re-open gyms now?

How would that make any sense? 5 people at a time in the gym?

Postby pugboy » September 1st, 2020, 7:56 am

academy where them living in shared dorm quarters ?

academies are schools and should have been shut down also

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Me here again with meh rumors. It is believed that quite a few trainees at the ttps academy have tested +. The necessary is being done to have them moved to quarantine facilities

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 1st, 2020, 8:00 am

Aka the barracks^. Primary contacts and contact tracing list very ridiculous