The Official CS Lancer Thread!

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

idlemind

Re: The Official CS Lancer Thread!

Postby idlemind » July 21st, 2013, 7:43 am

Yup..it's that much of a difference!

Glad Biggs and fras get thru, like allyuh self fellas.

daniel135

Postby daniel135 » July 21st, 2013, 9:52 am

nissan4life wrote:
daniel135 wrote:$36 for a pack of four polyurethane rubbers at automotive replacements in el socorro

Thanks dey daniel, they closer to highway or truvalue?

Its closer to the main road side, its right before honey bee supermarket when comin from the highway.

nissan4life

Postby nissan4life » July 21st, 2013, 10:33 am

daniel135 wrote:
nissan4life wrote:
daniel135 wrote:$36 for a pack of four polyurethane rubbers at automotive replacements in el socorro

Thanks dey daniel, they closer to highway or truvalue?

Its closer to the main road side, its right before honey bee supermarket when comin from the highway.

Thanks daniel,will pass tru on monday to get.

Biggs is fraid you jus say.haha
Manual you gone... less gas, more power, faster acceleration. wa more you want?
Jus duh leh meh see you ripping tires with big rims on like some @$$ does wah do

Postby BrotherHood » July 21st, 2013, 3:41 pm

Biggs yuh rel tempting ah brother here dred, wheey!

Enjoy it man.

mety57

Postby mety57 » July 21st, 2013, 3:48 pm

Biggs3ne wrote:Fellas doh laugh at meh eh....but ah fraid to drive d car....d 4g15 dohc is real fyazzz...jus 1st alone it shooting off..dat cvt tranny was a turtle

all yuh need now is ah lil boost

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » July 21st, 2013, 5:29 pm

Ive seen idle's car perform after the manual conversion........it real fast probably close or better than the evo.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » July 21st, 2013, 5:37 pm

Nah buddy, my econobox far from being an evo. But I was telling Biggs, manual under DOHC would hit some nice torque figures. All allyuh missing is some solid mounts to keep that power at the wheels.

Postby BrotherHood » July 21st, 2013, 6:24 pm

Like nobody here automatic again ah wa :lol:

daniel135

Postby daniel135 » July 21st, 2013, 8:19 pm

BrotherHood wrote:Like nobody here automatic again ah wa :lol:

Manual is the way to go!
Hopefully we can get a nice crew to come an enter a solodex some time.!

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » July 21st, 2013, 9:09 pm

Took d car up to d board walk tonight...accel is insane...one problem i gotta practice stop and go..i taking too long to find d release...men honking and pelting bad words at me :shock::lol::idea

idlemind

Postby idlemind » July 21st, 2013, 9:16 pm

Easiest way is feather the throttle twice and come off the clutch, then back on throttle. After a while you will get accustomed to balancing.

Call me if you in St James anytime this week and we'll go for a spin.

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » July 21st, 2013, 9:41 pm

ZeroOne wrote:Problem is I'm looking at ASA and there is no plug seal.

Im seeing MD302172 SEAL,INLET VALVE STEM and MD307341 SEAL,EXHAUST VALVE STEM. Both comprise of 8 small rubber seals so thats 16 in all.

Might change this one time too MD362554 GASKET,CYLINDER HEAD

that seal you talking about is called (on the ASA) the bearing cap cluster seal MD346062 (1015B006)
that's for the GDI 4G93, i'm just drawing a reference

the head is made up of two sections, the actual head and the second part is the camshaft bearing cap...that seal goes in between the two sections and that seals off the plug chamber and the intake path

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » July 22nd, 2013, 6:30 am

MD346062 is a gasket. I searched for a seal so I didn't find it.

So this is the part that will stop the oil from getting on the spark plugs?

idlemind

Postby idlemind » July 22nd, 2013, 7:17 am

Sounds correct Zero. Turbo explained it the way I know it...

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » July 22nd, 2013, 7:46 am

idlemind wrote:Easiest way is feather the throttle twice and come off the clutch, then back on throttle. After a while you will get accustomed to balancing.

Left the car home...I want to practice pulling off some more before I start drving too and from work...seems as though the lady young will be off limits for me for a while as well..

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » July 22nd, 2013, 8:00 am

That part is 30US including shipping.

Postby BrotherHood » July 22nd, 2013, 9:06 am

Biggs3ne wrote:
idlemind wrote:Easiest way is feather the throttle twice and come off the clutch, then back on throttle. After a while you will get accustomed to balancing.

Left the car home...I want to practice pulling off some more before I start drving too and from work...seems as though the lady young will be off limits for me for a while as well..

If I was in your situation I think I would be in the same boat. Haven't really driven a manual car for about 3 years.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » July 22nd, 2013, 9:15 am

BrotherHood wrote:
Biggs3ne wrote:

If I was in your situation I think I would be in the same boat. Haven't really driven a manual car for about 3 years.

The best way to get comfortable is to drive it.
When I did mine, I went straight into traffic the next day, and I didnt drive manual in years.
Yes you will stall and have a delayed reaction (even to this day I do) but the more you drive, the faster you will learn the car, not every manual car will give the same experience. You have to learn yours and know what you can get away with.

Lady Young is not that bad, stay far from the car in front you when climbing if there's traffic, it will lessen the times you have to come to a complete stop as balancing on a hill is tricky. The good thing bout lady young is you can shift to neutral as you start to descend and sail down with no effort and rest your left foot.

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » July 22nd, 2013, 10:00 am

kris my biggest fear is stalling...but i guess u must fall a few times before you learn to walk

nissan4life

Postby nissan4life » July 22nd, 2013, 10:04 am

biggs, idle said it rite the first time,best way is to practice.
Duh wanna be jumping the clutch and sinking it to much go burn it out quick
Frick who honking behind you,i learn gears on a old hiace with fingertip gears that use to slip out when it ready
Talk bout cuss i get.. lol
I use to pull up hand brakes evrytime i coming off a hill in first and not drop it till the van start to pull caz i fraid i wudda roll back and hit someone.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » July 22nd, 2013, 10:10 am

Biggs3ne wrote:kris my biggest fear is stalling...but i guess u must fall a few times before you learn to walk

Nah you cant escape that, I converted over two years now and up to recently I stall.
Sometimes you really not paying attention. You reach a traffic light in a high gear and you forget to go back into 1st. When the light change you try to pull off and stall...it happens. Jus bounce starter and pump like nobody business.

Feathering the throttle before you balance the clutch to pull off can help in this regard.
If you balancing Acc and clutch to pull off and you in the wrong gear you will cut off one time.
When you feather the throttle before you come off the clutch, you will feel the gear engage and the car will start to roll, then you could come off clutch immediately and give gas.

And as n4l, use your handbrake on the hills til you get accustomed.

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » July 22nd, 2013, 10:53 am

N4L, I practised a few times with an old bluebird running on a diesel engine..I said if a GB can feel like this in an old car well imagine how it would be in a CS...fourth gear would pop out often...

I just got to accept the fact that I gonna cut off and do what I gotta do...

I sorta started to get a feel for the clutch lastnight Idle...just practise I need with stop and go...and the rest should come like 2nd nature...

Automatic makes u a lazy, unaware driver indeed!!!! wow...no offense to d guys with auto but it's the truth

idlemind

Postby idlemind » July 22nd, 2013, 10:56 am

:2gunfire:

Tiptronic too :skurred:

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » July 22nd, 2013, 11:12 am

not really.

I shift into neutral at the traffic lights or at a stop, sometimes i shift into neutral and coast before I reach the lights.

I know most of traffic light timings on most of my routes so I shift into Ds before the light turn green, then back to D when I get enough speed.

Most times in traffic I shift into neutral and let both feet rest.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » July 22nd, 2013, 11:25 am

Brave fella...
Do you throw it in D from Neutral if the light turns green before you come to a stop? That is a cvt killer. Cos your RPMs will spike to match your speed in an instant.

My bro used to do that shift into neutral and let both feet rest thing until he was rear ended and thrown onto the car in front him. Since then boy, if I in a gear or not, my foot on brake at stop.

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » July 22nd, 2013, 11:34 am

x2....I used to put d car in Ds and let it slow down then brake if I get d red light or back into D if I get green....mech padna told me to mash brakes and buy new pads when they wear instead of a new cvt....

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » July 22nd, 2013, 12:41 pm

ZeroOne wrote:MD346062 is a gasket. I searched for a seal so I didn't find it.

So this is the part that will stop the oil from getting on the spark plugs?

sorry for saying seal instead of gasket....

the gasket you looking for is MD356498

yes that gasket would stop oil from getting into the spark plug chamber..

I bought that seal for my 93T because I noticed there was oil on the coil pack stems

I also bought rocker cover gaskets, cam and crank seals to change so when I installing d engine I

doh have to worry about that for a long time...the original plan was to clean the intake manifold,

service throttle body and blank the egr so it's a good opportunity to change the bearing cap cluster

and rocker cover gaskets one shot

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » July 22nd, 2013, 3:03 pm

Thanks dey turbo

I changed the rocker cover gaskets and rear crankshaft seal already. that seal didn't even need changing, i looked at the old seal saw no wear.

Just to blank the egr and change that gasket now.

Then get a GDI manual tranny to convert.

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » July 22nd, 2013, 3:17 pm

even tho it may not be leaking nor showing any visible signs of wear it's always good to change it

while the transmission is out on relatively high mileage engines, you may over look it and say nah

man that area dry and that seal still good and boom it start to leak after a couple months...the seal

would have wear, you just can't see it with the naked eye

I'm sure you know that there is no GDI manual tranny

what you have to look for is a 4G15 gearbox (F5M41) out of a MPI CS2A

but ZeroOne you does baby your car, you plan on roughing it up when u convert to manual?

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » July 22nd, 2013, 3:28 pm

Thats exactly why i changed it, it was sure to wear out even though it looked ok.

I actually dont know much about converting GDI CVT to manual.

You mean there is no manual tranny in the sense that it was never manufactured or that they hard to find?

Its not so much about roughing up. Just the thought of more significant speed, less gas consumption, more control, less money on maintenance is more than enough to convert to manual.

I know a ole lady who does convert all her cars to manual just because of that.

Idle i know that I have to come to complete stop before going in D, I use discretion when coasting and its not all the time I do it.

Biggs you use brakes then N or brakes then N then hand brake to slow down the car not Ds, good thing you convert.

Return to “MITSUBISHI”