COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 1577 cases, 19 deaths, 934 active, 628 discharged in T&T

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 29th, 2020, 6:31 pm

pugboy wrote:but them was shutting down sauce doubles saying the customer lines would be contravening health ordinance laws and ting

he even threaten to shutdown banks with pensioners lined up

Ever notice how well GG can threaten? Everybody need to watch out for Gary, they eh know who is he nah.

What does he ACTUALLY do?

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 1577 cases, 19 deaths, 934 active, 628 discharged in T&T

Postby pugboy » August 29th, 2020, 6:47 pm

he like a pompek behind a gate

Strugglerzinc wrote:
pugboy wrote:but them was shutting down sauce doubles saying the customer lines would be contravening health ordinance laws and ting

he even threaten to shutdown banks with pensioners lined up

Ever notice how well GG can threaten? Everybody need to watch out for Gary, they eh know who is he nah.

What does he ACTUALLY do?

Postby adnj » August 29th, 2020, 7:14 pm

maj. tom wrote:
aaron17 wrote:What is a permanent method of not fogging up glasses due to the mask? Tape?
It(fog) blocks my view of driving.

You're using the mask improperly. If hot air is escaping your nose and mouth to get up to the eyes, there isn't a proper seal at the top of the mask, or you're panting and gasping hard for breath. I don't have a problem with fogging unless it's extremely humid.

Every mask is supposed to have a flexible wire clamp on one side that molds to the shape of your nose. Mold it to fit snug on your nose bridge and press it down. You can then use surgical tape to secure it if it's still a problem. Breathe normally through your nose.

Your home-made cloth mask doesn't have this wire? Well who designed that mask?
Any lens will fog from quick changes in temperature (leaving a cold area and entering a humid area).

There are many spray coatings on the market. But none of them are permanent. You can usually find them at optometrists, pharmacies, camera shops, and dive shops.

https://www.amazon.com/Optix-55-Anti-Fo ... B07P7J48VT

If you need a cheap, quick fix, dampen your fingers, touch them to a bar of soap and lightly rub them on the lens surface. When dry, lightly polish the lens with a lint-free cloth.

If you have a face mask that doesn't conform to your face, slide a single copper or aluminum wire into the seam at the bridge of the nose to help the mask retain curvature.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » August 29th, 2020, 7:37 pm

With regards to the numbers being posted, with respect to cases, if it is we are testing by "batches" and we have a backlog, then for the most part then the rates/numbers we see are only a reflection of the rate at which we are testing not the rate of the virus.

That would mean that every "model" out there is an underestimation.

Postby sMASH » August 29th, 2020, 7:48 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:With regards to the numbers being posted, with respect to cases, if it is we are testing by "batches" and we have a backlog, then for the most part then the rates/numbers we see are only a reflection of the rate at which we are testing not the rate of the virus.

:repost:

Postby pugboy » August 29th, 2020, 8:01 pm

they simply hoping that if numbers start to go down they can further average the batches down to seem like we never had huge spikes

sMASH wrote:
Numb3r4 wrote:With regards to the numbers being posted, with respect to cases, if it is we are testing by "batches" and we have a backlog, then for the most part then the rates/numbers we see are only a reflection of the rate at which we are testing not the rate of the virus.

:repost:

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 1645 cases, 19 deaths, 962 active, 664 discharged in T&T

Postby aaron17 » August 29th, 2020, 8:17 pm

'National Security Minister Stuart Young: A motorist alone in their vehicle doesn't have to wear a mask while in the vehicle. However, family members traveling in a vehicle or passengers in PH/taxis/maxi taxis MUST wear their masks.'

Just confirming the above statement, if I am in the same household with a family member and I am driving with that person..I have to wear a mask in the vehicle together with the family member? If yes , we should wear masks at home to?

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 1645 cases, 19 deaths, 962 active, 664 discharged in T&T

Postby sMASH » August 29th, 2020, 8:21 pm

so if u can ramcram in a car, wear mask and be safe, why H cars have to be 50%?

Postby paid_influencer » August 29th, 2020, 8:26 pm

aaron17 wrote:'National Security Minister Stuart Young: A motorist alone in their vehicle doesn't have to wear a mask while in the vehicle. However, family members traveling in a vehicle or passengers in PH/taxis/maxi taxis MUST wear their masks.'

Just confirming the above statement, if I am in the same household with a family member and I am driving with that person..I have to wear a mask in the vehicle together with the family member? If yes , we should wear masks at home to?

EVERYONE has to wear a mask. Full stop.

The MoNS is suggesting occifers use some discretion for lone drivers. Occifers, as you may have realized, are not bound by discretion and CAN and WILL charge you for any reason they want.

just wear the mask. it not hard.

Postby teems1 » August 29th, 2020, 8:28 pm

Because H cars are strangers and there is a higher risk when coming into close proximity with a stranger.

Every measure being implemented is to reduce to risk of transmission.
sMASH wrote:so if u can ramcram in a car, wear mask and be safe, why H cars have to be 50%?

Postby aaron17 » August 29th, 2020, 8:29 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
aaron17 wrote:'National Security Minister Stuart Young: A motorist alone in their vehicle doesn't have to wear a mask while in the vehicle. However, family members traveling in a vehicle or passengers in PH/taxis/maxi taxis MUST wear their masks.'

The MoNS is suggesting occifers use some discretion for lone drivers. Occifers, as you may have realized, are not bound by discretion and CAN and WILL charge you for any reason they want.

Yeah it hard ... I don't want to be obscured while driving..fog

Postby paid_influencer » August 29th, 2020, 8:45 pm

aaron17 wrote:Yeah it hard ... I don't want to be obscured while driving..fog

you just need a better mask. Try some different types and see which works best. As maj.tom pointed out, fog means air is going upwards - which is a problem that needs to be fixed. Look for one with an exhale valve if possible, with the metal strip for the nose, and still try a couple different types/materials (pure cotton, polyester, mixed, etc).

in the mean time, occifers going to charge you from next week. govt need morney.

Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 1645 cases, 19 deaths, 962 active, 664 discharged in T&T

Postby MaxPower » August 29th, 2020, 8:59 pm

Trinis,

Stop complaining about wearing a mask.

This is what is required.

If your mask is uncomfortable, adjust it or get one that works for you.

This is the new norm, get your masks and at your own expense.

Postby pugboy » August 29th, 2020, 9:00 pm

exhale valves defeat the purpose as it allows your exhaled air high velocity access out

Postby Chimera » August 29th, 2020, 9:21 pm

Lol and its 3m exhale valve mask that mt hope sharing out for alot of their staff
pugboy wrote:exhale valves defeat the purpose as it allows your exhaled air high velocity access out

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 29th, 2020, 9:36 pm

paid_influencer wrote:

Me: has intimate relations with wife at home

Me and wife in car: wear a mask before I give you Covid

Seems legit.

Postby pugboy » August 29th, 2020, 9:37 pm

the proper n95 medical ones dont have exhale valves, they must be giving out industrial ones

imagine you close to somebody and they exhale, that air coming out that narrow valve aperture at high velocity according to bernoulli's law going from large to small opening.

Phone Surgeon wrote:Lol and its 3m exhale valve mask that mt hope sharing out for alot of their staff
pugboy wrote:exhale valves defeat the purpose as it allows your exhaled air high velocity access out

Postby redmanjp » August 29th, 2020, 10:03 pm

paid_influencer wrote:

he said u won't be charged if u are alone. I mean who u gonna infect, yourself?

if there are any passengers including family members u have to wear it. it will be hard for the ttps to decide who is family and who isn't especially with the prevalance of PH cars.

INDAVID WORKSHOP

Postby INDAVID WORKSHOP » August 29th, 2020, 10:13 pm

COMMENTS MADE BY PERSONS
You're telling me that I have to breathe in CO2 when God gave this body the ability to extract that from my body, and now you want me to put it back in my body," she said.

Shiva Ayyadurai, a biological engineer , says the cloth and surgical masks most of us wear are too porous to stop the virus. He says we'd be better off strengthening our immune systems with good diets, time outside (for vitamin D), and, if necessary, vitamins.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » August 29th, 2020, 10:25 pm

Yes those mask comments are quite often cited by many anti-maskers.

Check out this one:

https://i.redd.it/hambabbxghf51.jpg

I have heard the 2nd one, stated and justified by the fact that the COVID-19 virus is smaller than the filtering ability of many of the masks out there, the virus being 0.12microns and the cloth masks being ale to allow those particle sizes through. However the N95 does filter out up to 0.1microns.

But for the data:
From the Mayo Clinic

https://newsnetwork.mayoclinic.org/disc ... its%20name.

Doctor Runs 22 Miles Wearing Face Mask to Show it Doesn't Cut Oxygen Levels

https://www.newsweek.com/masks-covid-19 ... en-1520060

A doctor has run 22 miles to work and back wearing a mask to help stop the spread of misinformation and conspiracy theories around face coverings and to raise funds for charity.

He recorded that oxygen levels never fell below 98% of what it would usually be.

Also have a read:

Leaving Your Nose Uncovered Defeats the Purpose of Wearing a Mask: Study Reveals

https://www.nbcdfw.com/news/health/leav ... k/2412189/

Postby sMASH » August 29th, 2020, 10:33 pm

teems1 wrote:Because H cars are strangers and there is a higher risk when coming into close proximity with a stranger.

sMASH wrote:so if u can ramcram in a car, wear mask and be safe, why H cars have to be 50%?
so then if the p car doesnt have strangers, why charge them for not wearing masks? if a PH can can be safe once they wear masks, y not the h car?
Last edited by sMASH on August 29th, 2020, 10:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

abducted

Postby abducted » August 29th, 2020, 10:35 pm

sMASH wrote:Sooo for press conferences they will have to keep on masks?
The TV and radio announcers will have to have on masks?
Does it extend tour own family in vehicle?

I would really like to see the fines applied to the homeless. Cause they in breach of loitering ever since but nothing done.

79b8f13b-c777-4075-812a-90a0d98b9364.jpg

Postby sMASH » August 29th, 2020, 10:37 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Lol and its 3m exhale valve mask that mt hope sharing out for alot of their staff
shhhh, dont point out the hypocrisy of a national health institution falling under the MoH doing nonsense

Postby sMASH » August 29th, 2020, 10:38 pm

abducted wrote:
sMASH wrote:Sooo for press conferences they will have to keep on masks?
The TV and radio announcers will have to have on masks?
Does it extend tour own family in vehicle?

I would really like to see the fines applied to the homeless. Cause they in breach of loitering ever since but nothing done.

79b8f13b-c777-4075-812a-90a0d98b9364.jpg

sooo desha and ria hadda mask up now? they in a public space

Postby paid_influencer » August 29th, 2020, 10:53 pm

sMASH wrote:
teems1 wrote:Because H cars are strangers and there is a higher risk when coming into close proximity with a stranger.

so then if the p car doesnt have strangers, why charge them for not wearing masks? if a p can can be safe once they wear masks, y not the h car?

nobody is safe. that is dotish BS propaganda to keep the rats running in the rat race. People could be getting sick and falling down dead in the street, government and big businesses will keep pushing this agenda that you can "be safe" so we continue being good worker bees and making them profits even in the middle of a pandemic.

Look at this dotishness.

118473054_10157930306443915_9165943124363923214_o.jpg

wear a mask so you can come to the mall and spend money to make the 1% even wealthier. friggin bull sheit. You cannot be safe, every interaction is a risk in a pandemic. Save your money. Things going to get very hard soon. The mall and the 1% owners are set financially. Stay home. Keep your money in your pocket. Do not put yourself at risk. Do not fool yourself into believing a mask makes you immune. Do what only what you are forced to for survival and stay home.

Zim

Postby Zim » August 29th, 2020, 11:15 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
Zim wrote:So no cure invented yet?

Hello Zim,

Dr Anthony Faucci said there is no cure and at most he is hopeful that a vaccine of 60% efficacy will be developed by the end of the year he says this is within a reasonable expectation.

He also says that when the vaccine finally arrives NOTHING will return to normal as the way it was. SOME restrictions can be lifted, however life as we know it will remain as a lockdown life with socializing being banned. What this means is a significant portion of businesses and jobs will be lost forever and humans will have to cope with it.

At 60% efficacy you still have an almost half and half chance of catching covid and it could still kill you. 60% is NOT very good but it is much better than 0%

We also need to prepare for other new viruses coming out of wet markets in Asia, Bill Gates has warned more Viruses are on the way some maybe worse than Covid 19. Which is why the regulations are here to stay, people are slowly realizing just what is happening to life as we know it. The masks being mandatory and constant hand sanitizing is a good thing it will not only eliminate the Norovirus and seasonal flu but help stop the spread of the upcoming viruses from China and Africa's Wet Markets which will make Covid look like a walk in the park.

Greetings Ed thank you for the information I really appreciate it . That is very tough . With regards to your statement pertaining the 60% chance of having the vaccination be effective I am pushing Ali skeptical of that but at least it's better than nothing. I wouldn't doubt that nothing would return to normal so I guess hope for the best expect the worst thank you kindly again stay safe stay in quarantine and observe the laws . Also on a side note I have seen a lot of people wearing masks and not covering their noses

Postby De Dragon » August 30th, 2020, 12:03 am

paid_influencer wrote:
sMASH wrote:

so then if the p car doesnt have strangers, why charge them for not wearing masks? if a p can can be safe once they wear masks, y not the h car?

nobody is safe. that is dotish BS propaganda to keep the rats running in the rat race. People could be getting sick and falling down dead in the street, government and big businesses will keep pushing this agenda that you can "be safe" so we continue being good worker bees and making them profits even in the middle of a pandemic.

Look at this dotishness.

wear a mask so you can come to the mall and spend money to make the 1% even wealthier. friggin bull sheit. You cannot be safe, every interaction is a risk in a pandemic. Save your money. Things going to get very hard soon. The mall and the 1% owners are set financially. Stay home. Keep your money in your pocket. Do not put yourself at risk. Do not fool yourself into believing a mask makes you immune. Do what only what you are forced to for survival and stay home.

I haven't been to ANY mall, PriceSmart or any similar place since this whole Covid-19 sheit started. I really fail to see why people, other than workers who must, insist on going for nothing other than to gape,gawk and expose themselves and others to the virus.

Postby stev » August 30th, 2020, 5:10 am

paid_influencer wrote:
sMASH wrote:

Look at this dotishness.

I haven't been to ANY mall, PriceSmart or any similar place since this whole Covid-19 sheit started. I really fail to see why people, other than workers who must, insist on going for nothing other than to gape,gawk and expose themselves and others to the virus.

maybe they not fortunate enough to have groceries stock piled?

a lot of people live pay check to pay check...that's Trinidad for you...they have no choice...

Postby 88sins » August 30th, 2020, 6:51 am

Had to go pricesmart for dog food yesterday, line to get in wasn't too bad, about 20 minutes. I was in and out in about 15. Everyone was wearing a face covering, but people waiting to enter kept breaching physical distancing guidelines. I had to tell a girl behind me to leave some space between me and her cart about 3 times. The 4th time, I just watch she and like she realize the next time she push that cart up on me I was gonna make she wear as a tampon.

All in all people trying. But at this point of where we are in the pandemic, ain't no stopping it.

Postby pugboy » August 30th, 2020, 6:54 am

yes, in the mainstream places most folks have gotten accustomed to the right behaviours as they dont have a choice.

its the lil neighbourhood shops and bars where the slackness is

88sins wrote:Had to go pricesmart for dog food yesterday, line to get in wasn't too bad, about 20 minutes. I was in and out in about 15. Everyone was wearing a face covering, but people waiting to enter kept breaching physical distancing guidelines. I had to tell a girl behind me to leave some space between me and her cart about 3 times. The 4th time, I just watch she and like she realize the next time she push that cart up on me I was gonna make she wear as a tampon.

All in all people trying. But at this point of where we are in the pandemic, ain't no stopping it.