Diversification! Oil prices falling!

Re: Diversification! Oil prices falling!

Postby Redman » January 13th, 2018, 9:34 am

Any one can grow weed and be 'economic'
until we run into the cyclical nature of any commoditized substance that we produce.

See oil for the issues.....

drchaos

Postby drchaos » January 13th, 2018, 10:24 am

sMASH wrote:Well, cocaine isn't legally accepted in any market we would wish to sell to, so we would it be able To Sell it. Trinidad doesn't use cocaine, it merely passes through here on the way to the real destination.

there are other preferred source of energy now, so demand will remain low for oil, and thusly the price.
Most u might reach is a $80 and that if is reall madness goes on in the middle east, but if thing only go a little more badly, then I thinking $70 is reasonable to asume

Tell that to all the crack heads from Belmont to Betham and the coke head business elites in this country.

We actually do use alot of cocaine here ....

Miktay

Postby Miktay » January 13th, 2018, 10:24 am

TTtd is worthless and useless on the international scenes.
a currency is only in demand, if the goods or services that u want to procure, are purchased with that currency.... we have very few things, besides oil and gas, that foreigners would want to purchase.

Ergo...yuan as a secondary trading currency iza worthless proposal.

Postby sMASH » January 13th, 2018, 10:43 am

Yuan is only really for local businesses to purchase with shenzen businesses. Unless Australia, Africa, Eastern Europe have stuff we want to buy, and wiling to sell in yuan.
Yuan is only really for dealing with China.

The cocaine consumer market for cocaine is miniscule compared to both the amount that is proving up our economy.

Like avocado to North America. The amount consumed in North America and produced by Mexico, is so much more that we could put a dent in.
Fones, cars clothes tools... Most things it's more feasible to mass produce them else where and ship them here to satisfy local demand.

We can't compete in rational terms of quantity, quality or economic of scale. What we need to do is compete irrationally via branding. Find things that outsiders will only be able to Get from Trinidad.
So far, all We good at supplying foreigners is chop... The Japanese pan Gyulis and the retired German couple in Tobago.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » January 13th, 2018, 6:34 pm

sMASH wrote:Well, cocaine isn't legally accepted in any market we would wish to sell to, so we would it be able To Sell it. Trinidad doesn't use cocaine, it merely passes through here on the way to the real destination.

there are other preferred source of energy now, so demand will remain low for oil, and thusly the price.
Most u might reach is a $80 and that if is reall madness goes on in the middle east, but if thing only go a little more badly, then I thinking $70 is reasonable to asume

$70.00 I think we should be planning and preparing for a $50-$60 per barrel of oil. Whatever extra percentage should be placed into a fund of some sort.

Postby sMASH » January 13th, 2018, 6:43 pm

^^ agreed.

Postby desifemlove » January 14th, 2018, 8:37 am

desifemlove wrote:
nervewrecker wrote:Nothing is ever going to happen and no change is ever going to come until the miserable, incompetent, greedy, power hungry old farts step down and let some younger, eager and up to date young blood take the wheel.
The old farts rose to the top via senority and cant even operate a computer. They want to impose their primitive and prehistoric way of life on the population while being resistant to change.

As an educated man, what happened to your strong diction? I guess police doh do dat, eh?
You have the right to remain silent

silent for what? you being a nookie, aged 40, who don't like comeback?
Places ingore desi, she is not a trini and does not live here. Plus she is anti Hindu and has a racist agenda

telling irony, ent?
Go deal with your county own problems, Muslims already taking over the UK, Londonstan in full swing.

i not british. your coutry is failing, and only relies on oil. heaven help you when electric cars are stndard. and racist, you hate anytng non-indo.

Postby Redman » January 14th, 2018, 8:46 am

Why not set up the infrastructure to enable those that so minded to trade Yuan ?

We should be looking at supporting trade with anywhere in anything.

Its not one or the other.

Postby zoom rader » January 14th, 2018, 9:02 am

desifemlove wrote:
nervewrecker wrote:Nothing is ever going to happen and no change is ever going to come until the miserable, incompetent, greedy, power hungry old farts step down and let some younger, eager and up to date young blood take the wheel.
The old farts rose to the top via senority and cant even operate a computer. They want to impose their primitive and prehistoric way of life on the population while being resistant to change.

As an educated man, what happened to your strong diction? I guess police doh do dat, eh?

Places ingore desi, she is not a trini and does not live here. Plus she is anti Hindu and has a racist agenda

telling irony, ent?
Go deal with your county own problems, Muslims already taking over the UK, Londonstan in full swing.

i not british. your coutry is failing, and only relies on oil. heaven help you when electric cars are stndard. and racist, you hate anytng non-indo.
Girl,

stop being Jennyass , I pointed out about 3 times where you said you are British and are of British roots. Stop being a liar you are making yourself look like an donkey more and more

Trinidad has being falling ever since Europeans arrived here so that is nothing new.

Electric cars are minor, Air planes and ships will and continue to use fossil fuel for about another 100 years or so.

And trinidad is a Gas producing nation in case you did not know as you are not from here.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » January 14th, 2018, 9:08 am

desifemlove wrote:

telling irony, ent?

Girl,

stop being Jennyass , I pointed out about 3 times where you said you are British and are of British roots. Stop being a liar you are making yourself look like an donkey more and more

Trinidad has being falling ever since Europeans arrived here so that is nothing new.

Electric cars are minor, Air planes and ships will and continue to use fossil fuel for about another 100 years or so.

And trinidad is a Gas producing nation in case you did not know as you are not from here.
Desi ah jennyass....dedz

Postby desifemlove » January 14th, 2018, 7:50 pm

desifemlove wrote:

telling irony, ent?

Girl,

lol. man vex coz i cuss he party! :lol: :lol: :lol: i will cuss PNM too. shaven/bald man doing sheit, ent?

yes, i know T&T is a gas-producing country. however, no way global oil prices will be high at $100 a barrel anytime soon.

Postby Redman » January 14th, 2018, 7:52 pm

Pick a war.....any war.

Postby The_Honourable » January 14th, 2018, 9:31 pm

Redman wrote:Pick a war.....any war.

Iran for $1000

Miktay

Postby Miktay » January 15th, 2018, 10:29 am

Redman wrote:Why not set up the infrastructure to enable those that so minded to trade Yuan ?

We should be looking at supporting trade with anywhere in anything.

Its not one or the other.

China will have to do that...

Postby zoom rader » January 15th, 2018, 11:25 am

desifemlove wrote:
nervewrecker wrote:You have the right to remain silent

telling irony, ent?

Girl,

lol. man vex coz i cuss he party! i will cuss PNM too. shaven/bald man doing sheit, ent?

yes, i know T&T is a gas-producing country. however, no way global oil prices will be high at $100 a barrel anytime soon.
You sounding dumber and dumber and again you know little of trini.

You would have never made your dumbass statement of electric cars when it's has little impact on Trini.

With the variation of oil prices this country has always adjusted to what ever price was thrown to trin.

Oil was at less than $20 and trini survived.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » January 16th, 2018, 4:26 pm

A “currency dispute” between Trinidad and Tobago and St Vincent may well end up in the Caribbean Court of Justice.

That is what Prime Minister Ralph Gonsalves said on Monday speaking on behalf of as Vincentian traders who have been unable to convert their earnings to Eastern Caribbean Dollars after selling to Trinidad and Tobago retailers.

They are therefore forced to take the TT currency back to their island.

As an interim measure, Gonsalves has set up a facility at the Bank of St Vincent and the Grenadines that allows the conversion of Trinidad and Tobago dollars to Eastern Caribbean dollars.

But that is only a practical short term measure and Gonsalves said a long term solution is needed.
"And I will raise it and I will make certain suggestions about certain things which we may have to do beyond what we have been trying,” the Prime Minister said, at a news conference in Kingstown on Monday.

Even the governor of the Eastern Caribbean Central Bank, Timothy Antoine, has been trying with the Central Bank of Trinidad and Tobago to resolve the situation.

https://www.iwnsvg.com/2018/01/16/svg-m ... ncy-issue/

Postby rspann » January 16th, 2018, 9:31 pm

How allyuh roughing up my girl Desi so?

Postby The_Honourable » January 16th, 2018, 9:49 pm

rspann wrote:How allyuh roughing up my girl Desi so?

She/he/it never got a slice of that pizza, emo ever since.

Postby zoom rader » January 17th, 2018, 2:32 am

rspann wrote:How allyuh roughing up my girl Desi so?
She wants the Hindu experience and the ability to vote UNC.

Postby hydroep » January 28th, 2018, 9:25 am

Postby desifemlove » January 30th, 2018, 1:13 pm

desifemlove wrote:
desifemlove wrote:silent for what? you being a nookie, aged 40, who don't like comeback?

telling irony, ent?

Girl,

lol. man vex coz i cuss he party! i will cuss PNM too. shaven/bald man doing sheit, ent?

You sounding dumber and dumber and again you know little of trini.

You would have never made your dumbass statement of electric cars when it's has little impact on Trini.

With the variation of oil prices this country has always adjusted to what ever price was thrown to trin.

Oil was at less than $20 and trini survived.

Faux educated. Lol

Postby desifemlove » January 30th, 2018, 1:15 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:

$70.00 I think we should be planning and preparing for a $50-$60 per barrel of oil. Whatever extra percentage should be placed into a fund of some sort.

Pnm tell from h&s fund. It will be empty soon enough.

Postby hydroep » April 13th, 2018, 8:56 am

Some pundits are predicting triple digits later in the year if Middle East tensions continue to escalate. Probable military response over the suspected chemical attack in Syria is behind the current rally.

https://www.nasdaq.com/markets/crude-oil.aspx?timeframe=5y

Postby Redman » April 16th, 2018, 7:40 am

Open seems to have managed supply growth to the point where prices will now react to the shocks and reflect uncertainties of the supply chain....Probably means higher prices as the geo political stage heats up.

Postby hydroep » April 19th, 2018, 10:29 am

Colon-in-Butt on the Newsday talking about how the economy showing signs of improvement and that more will be revealed during his Mid-Term-Review next month. Wonder how much of that has to do with Government policy as opposed to the continued rise in oil prices... :?:

https://www.nasdaq.com/markets/crude-oil.aspx?timeframe=5y

Postby hydroep » May 7th, 2018, 7:12 am

Postby Redman » May 7th, 2018, 1:11 pm

hydroep wrote:Colon-in-Butt on the Newsday talking about how the economy showing signs of improvement and that more will be revealed during his Mid-Term-Review next month. Wonder how much of that has to do with Government policy as opposed to the continued rise in oil prices... :?:

[/url]

Im wondering why you wondering.

Oil and gas revenue is the sole arbiter of what Govt 'policy' is

Spend what you can...as fast as you can

Postby The_Honourable » May 10th, 2018, 8:16 pm

New life for Moruga fishing, farming

TRADE and Industry Minister Paula Gopee-Scoon says when the Moruga Agro-Processing Park is completed next year, it will bring new life to the rural farming and fishing community.

Speaking during the sod-turning ceremony for the park in Saunders Road, Moruga yesterday, Gopee-Scoon said the initiative pairs well with the government’s thrust to diversify the economy.

“This is something we committed to maybe a year ago. We got involved in the first phase, which was design and feasibility study, and we are here today to do the actual construction,” she told reporters.

“Why Moruga? It is because Moruga is traditionally farming and agriculture, so for centuries this is what is has always been. It has waned and died a little bit, but here we are here reviving agro-processing and farming.”

The project will cost taxpayers some $77 million and will be operational in early 2019. Some of the products that may be processed at the park are cocoa, pineapples, hot peppers, Moruga hill rice and fresh fish.

Gopee-Scoon said it will also fit well with the upcoming construction of a Moruga fishing port.

“That project will commence very shortly as well. When it is done, it means that the produce which comes from that port will fit into the facility right here.”

However, she admitted there were no confirmed clients yet for the park, which will have 18 lots on 18 acres of land. During construction, five factory shells with be built that can be used immediately when the park opens.

“We don’t have indications and we don’t have definite commitments of who is coming on board. We are working with about 20 targeted entities to begin with, like the pineapple farmers, the cocoa farmers, the Moruga hill rice producers.”

She said the Agriculture and Trade ministries will consult with these entities in the coming year, with the aim of having products ready to leave the facility by the time it opens.

Agriculture Minister Clarence Rambharat said, “The government recognises that a lot of the industrial estates have been maxed out and agro-processors and other light manufacturers...are looking for space and we believe that Moruga is an excellent site, given the connectivity to Mayaro, Guayaguayare, Penal, the supply of labour and the need to stimulate economic activity in this part of the country,” he said.

Members of the Tableland Pineapple Farmers Association attended the sod-turning.

Farmer Ralph Rampersad, who sits on the association’s executive, said the park seems like a light at the end of the tunnel, but was hoping to hear the ministers address the issues facing farmers.

“We need for more of the agro-chemicals to be subsidised. Labour is a major constraint in the industry – you cannot get workers; and praedial larceny is a big problem in this country,” Rampersad said. “None of those issues were addressed here today, and these things need to be addressed before we dive into a project like this.”

Source: http://newsday.co.tt/2018/05/09/new-lif ... g-farming/

Miktay

Postby Miktay » May 14th, 2018, 10:09 am

“We need for more of the agro-chemicals to be subsidised. Labour is a major constraint in the industry – you cannot get workers; and praedial larceny is a big problem in this country,” Rampersad said. “None of those issues were addressed here today, and these things need to be addressed before we dive into a project like this.”

Postby The_Honourable » June 8th, 2018, 4:28 pm

Found this decent series that started this month on IETV. Posting it here as it is relevant to this topic.

"Diversification - Not Just Talk" by Indera Sagewan

Episode 1 - Manufacturing

Epiosde 2 - Honey

Episode 3 - Aquaponics and Hydroponics

Episode 4 - Agriculture

Episode 5 - Yachting