Re: *** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby pimptacular » November 16th, 2010, 10:38 pm

Chiney wrote:^^ unless u refering to the realllll expensive brands..yes

but n a friendly price level...klipsch ftw

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 16th, 2010, 11:15 pm

The Klipsch SL sound good but they don't sound great.
They sound better than Bose, but that's not saying much - lol

I don't want to do with towers even though my head is telling me that they will sound significantly better.

I like the look of wall mounted fronts around the TV and I'm loving the Definitive Technology Mythos XTR-50

crazychinee wrote:
i was under the impression that he HDMI out should of worked for both the hdmi and composite inputs.
yes it does

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 17th, 2010, 12:22 am

i was under the impression that he HDMI out should of worked for both the hdmi and composite inputs.[/quote]yes it does[/quote]

not all receivers do that bro
the higher end ones simulates and does whats called 1080 upscale.. unless u have that feature, u might get some trouble with none hdmi to display out the hdmi

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » November 17th, 2010, 8:31 am

Chiney wrote:^^ unless u refering to the realllll expensive brands..yes

but n a friendly price level...klipsch ftw

so yuh sayin bose bess den :?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 17th, 2010, 10:14 am

Chiney wrote:
crazychinee wrote:i was under the impression that he HDMI out should of worked for both the hdmi and composite inputs.
yes it does

not all receivers do that bro
the higher end ones simulates and does whats called 1080 upscale.. unless u have that feature, u might get some trouble with none hdmi to display out the hdmi
I don't think he is talking about upscaling. Chiney is trying to get the video signal from the FLOW cable box to go to the input on his receiver and show via the HDMI out to the TV.

an HDMI cable can show video at standard definition and does not need to upscale it to show it.

All receivers, even the old old ones that have multiple inputs, will ALL be able to feed the single video output with which ever input you set it to. That is the point behind using a multi-input receiver.

The upscaling you are talking about has nothing really to do with feeding out of the HDMI OUT or not. Upscaling only has to do with taking a SD signal and upconvert it to HD using a processor to calculate the scaling.

The reason he may be getting a breakdown in the video is because of a breakdown in the signal coming into the receiver.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 17th, 2010, 10:23 am

pioneer wrote:Duane what's the clearance (inches) above your receiver in the cabinet?

I reading a pioneer manual and it says have at least 16" clearance
about 4 inches

but I have a 120mm fan venting the shelf that it is in.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 17th, 2010, 11:17 am

ok i got you now

well i guess he is going to have to route the signal straight to the TV then the audio from the tv back to the receiver or jus the audio from the box itself to the TV input on the RCA section of the receiver and switch to TV when he is watching TV then.

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » November 17th, 2010, 7:49 pm

Chiney wrote:ok i got you now

well i guess he is going to have to route the signal straight to the TV then the audio from the tv back to the receiver or jus the audio from the box itself to the TV input on the RCA section of the receiver and switch to TV when he is watching TV then.

Kept it as Composite from the cable box to the receiver.
So now instead of the TV being on HDMI 1 and everything running, I need to switch the TV back to "TV" mode where it picks up the video from the coax, but the audio plays great through the speakers that came with the receiver.

Got it set to Prologic II, dunno if that's right but I get the 5.1.

Instead of getting the HD flow box, what about this:

http://www.amazon.com/Component-video-Y ... 793&sr=1-3
And then I use the composite cables to that box, and then hdmi out to the other receiver hdmi input?

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 17th, 2010, 8:14 pm

dat is honestly not a bad plan there..

by the way....
how much u paying for HD ?

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » November 17th, 2010, 8:33 pm

Chiney wrote:dat is honestly not a bad plan there..

by the way....
how much u paying for HD ?

Dont got it..I think duane does?

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 17th, 2010, 9:18 pm

oh

duane?

cuz i wondering if its worth the money

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 17th, 2010, 10:56 pm

I don't have HD cable - my receiver has a built in upscaler.

Chiney and crazychinee really confused yes.
both of you have it wrong wrong wrong

you only need two cords going to your TV: the power cord and an HDMI cable. FULL STOP.

plug the FLOW cable box via the composite cable into the cable/Sat IN on the receiver.
The receiver will take this signal and send it to the HDMI OUT that the TV is connected to.

You don't have to change the input on the TV EVER!
The input is changed using the input select menu on the receiver!

DONE!!! There is NO other correct way to connect it.

What you are doing by connecting the composite video to the TV and the composite audio to the receiver is wrong and will only inconvenience you and cause problems with audio sync etc.

if you are getting distortions and no video then change the composite cable for a better quality one - I did and it made a difference in the way my FLOW cable shows.

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » November 18th, 2010, 6:34 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I don't have HD cable - my receiver has a built in upscaler.

Chiney and crazychinee really confused yes.
both of you have it wrong wrong wrong

you only need two cords going to your TV: the power cord and an HDMI cable. FULL STOP.

plug the FLOW cable box via the composite cable into the cable/Sat IN on the receiver.
The receiver will take this signal and send it to the HDMI OUT that the TV is connected to.

You don't have to change the input on the TV EVER!
The input is changed using the input select menu on the receiver!

DONE!!! There is NO other correct way to connect it.

What you are doing by connecting the composite video to the TV and the composite audio to the receiver is wrong and will only inconvenience you and cause problems with audio sync etc.

if you are getting distortions and no video then change the composite cable for a better quality one - I did and it made a difference in the way my FLOW cable shows.

Got it papa duane.! :D

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » November 18th, 2010, 7:44 am

Duane buffing ppl yes.....lil bit again he pull out a guava whip

Postby tr1ad » November 18th, 2010, 7:50 am

all i have is my klim tin with two cockroach in it.....

anyone donating or selling their used setup?

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » November 18th, 2010, 7:55 am

tr1ad wrote:all i have is my klim tin with two cockroach in it.....

and since PSA striking, one roach call een sick and the other on work-to-rule....

Postby tr1ad » November 18th, 2010, 7:56 am

level pressure yes

yuh kno how hard it is to look at tv on a 20" when yuh had a 32" for 2 years

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » November 18th, 2010, 9:27 am

tr1ad wrote:level pressure yes

yuh kno how hard it is to look at tv on a 20" when yuh had a 32" for 2 years

LG 32" 1080p 60Hz LCD HDTV (Model # 32LD400)

$4000.00

Insignia 42" 720p Plasma HDTV (Model # NS-32P650A11)

$4500.00

you gotta order now if you want at those prices

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 18th, 2010, 9:51 am

biggy82 wrote:Duane buffing ppl yes.....lil bit again he pull out a guava whip
LOL ah not buffing

is just that I posted up a diagram of the setup and about 5 posts showing that the proper connection is to put everything through the receiver, but like ah had to type it in all caps for it to sink eeen.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 18th, 2010, 12:22 pm

Lol got it man. U go sweat meh orr. Lol.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 18th, 2010, 2:44 pm

^ you had brought in an Xtreamer before?

how much can you land an iXtreamer for?

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » November 18th, 2010, 4:39 pm

LOL ah not buffing

is just that I posted up a diagram of the setup and about 5 posts showing that the proper connection is to put everything through the receiver, but like ah had to type it in all caps for it to sink eeen.

It's not that.
Was wondering why i'm getting video from the cable box-> tv with the composite, but when I use it through the receiver I get absolutely NO video.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 18th, 2010, 5:41 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ you had brought in an Xtreamer before?

how much can you land an iXtreamer for?

yeh i brought it in myself...links nah

but the iXtreamer is new..the USA dealer ( my bro in law ) is currently awaiting stock on this!

will get a quote for you later tonight

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 18th, 2010, 6:59 pm

crazychinee wrote:
LOL ah not buffing

It's not that.
Was wondering why i'm getting video from the cable box-> tv with the composite, but when I use it through the receiver I get absolutely NO video.
did you try other inputs? like instead of using TV/Sat on the receiver, try using DVD or Video 1 etc. They are all the same, just with convenient names.

On some receivers you have to go into the menu and select whether a particular input uses composite video, sVideo or component RGB/YPbPr/YCbCr etc. It could be that the TV/SAT may be looking for the video from the component rather than the composite IN.

the other factor could be the cable and the signal quality required by the input.

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » November 18th, 2010, 10:04 pm

crazychinee wrote:
LOL ah not buffing

It's not that.
did you try other inputs? like instead of using TV/Sat on the receiver, try using DVD or Video 1 etc. They are all the same, just with convenient names.

On some receivers you have to go into the menu and select whether a particular input uses composite video, sVideo or component RGB/YPbPr/YCbCr etc. It could be that the TV/SAT may be looking for the video from the component rather than the composite IN.

the other factor could be the cable and the signal quality required by the input.

Oh, will check out those things.
Thanks.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 19th, 2010, 12:30 pm

http://cgi.ebay.com/Composite-3RCA-S-vi ... 19c0cf92a8

studying if to get that for my flow cable box..

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » November 23rd, 2010, 3:49 pm

Just listening to my Old Quintet II's comparing them to the RF's,i dunno how you said it was hard to tell the difference chiney from the SL5's.To me its obviously different,and i'm guessin with the 82's it would be night and day.

Postby M_2NR » November 23rd, 2010, 5:22 pm

Chiney wrote:http://cgi.ebay.com/Composite-3RCA-S-video-AV-HDMI-Converter-Wii-PS3-/110609011368?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item19c0cf92a8

studying if to get that for my flow cable box..

how much that go cost?
and let us know how it works out if in fact it makes it better?
ty :)
thinking of one for greendot

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 23rd, 2010, 5:39 pm

^ it all depends on the video scaler that is in the device

there are alot of cheap devices that scale SD to HD, however the quality will depend on the ability of the scaler

In better devices scalers are often paired with video processors to improve definition.
Remember scaling 480i to 1080p doesn't automatically mean its going to look better, it is just making the crappy image larger which usually results in it being crappier (larger crap)
"garbage in, garbage out" unless there is a good processor that is deinterlacing, correcting the aspect ratio, improving the colour space, edge and detail enhancement etc etc etc

Good processors are Anchor Bay, Faroujda, HQV Reon among others that have scalers and processors in one.

Most good quality A/V receivers have these powerful scalers and processors built in, so all you do is plug your FLOW box into the receiver and it looks great!

read more here
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Video_scaler