The comprehensive 4age thread

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

Postby A172 » March 28th, 2010, 9:34 pm

throw some kernels in de exhaust

psycostud666

Postby psycostud666 » March 29th, 2010, 9:36 am

So I guess the pop is very wasteful on fuel. I figured that saving fuel works best with moderate driving. But I just love the pop,

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » March 29th, 2010, 9:40 am

excess gas igniting in a hot exhaust ..its the same principle as bussing bamboo :|

Postby Hook » March 29th, 2010, 9:47 am

Like I said earlier, the engines naturally run a tad rich anyway so you'll still get the pop, especially when you rev high on low octane swill like Super, since at the first sign of knock the ECU throw fuel at it.

You're gonna get around 300-350km to a full tank in an AE10* either way (~20km-30km less with buttocks driving...~20km more if you shift low and grannytize it), so (also, like I said before) trying to squeeze more out of it is kinda pointless...it's not an econobox engine. Just have fun with it meng.

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » March 29th, 2010, 9:50 am

Hook wrote:Like I said earlier, the engines naturally run a tad rich anyway so you'll still get the pop, especially when you rev high on low octane swill like Super, since at the first sign of knock the ECU throw fuel at it.

You're gonna get around 300-350km to a full tank in an AE10* either way (~20km-30km less with buttocks driving...~20km more if you shift low and grannytize it), so (also, like I said before) trying to squeeze more out of it is kinda pointless...it's not an econobox engine. Just have fun with it meng.

wow those engines drink dude

i get 300km on 1/2 tank super , shifting at 3000 rpm .. 4e and 5e
E must be tuned leaner :?

josh.dookie

Postby josh.dookie » March 29th, 2010, 9:59 am

The yellow AE80 is Fiaz from Scar Concepts car, it works well, levins poppin is normel behaviour man, I remember using the NOS fuel treatment in the levin, went from yellow flame to blue flames, lol @ u wanting the "blue pop"... So daz how u get the blue pop..!
The pop is also easily attained by manual 20v vehicles (from my experience) that are free flowed or those that have removed there converters and using super..
Lol at all this discussion of the pop which is jus excess fuel being pelt out the exhaust an combusting...
Gotta love those 4e's, 300km on half tank, daz EPIC dread...!

Postby Hook » March 29th, 2010, 10:02 am

Yeah they do drink, but I think it's a displacement thing coupled with the whole knock issue.
It's a fun little engine to have if you don't wanna do boost, but I guess the fueling is just something you learn to live with.

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » March 29th, 2010, 10:12 am

question 4 d 4age guys :

u all ever interfere with cam phasing to make power?

cause i changed the cam phasing on my padna ga15 and we wet up 2 20v AE on the high way recently

the men ask us if it was ah sr

Postby Hook » March 29th, 2010, 10:34 am

Well there's the VVT in our case which opens the 5th valve and already introduces a bit of cam overlap, but there's not much room for adjustment and most times, guys aren't willing to dig up too much...including myself...I'm not really interested in it anyway, so I didn't put any thought into it.

Dunno if the Scar Concepts guys are experimenting with it, so some input from them would be cool...maybe even some dyno runs would to gauge the power increase too.

josh.dookie

Postby josh.dookie » March 29th, 2010, 10:48 am

Yeah from what I've heard as well there isn't much room for adjusting, (e-tuning an hearsay btw).. I duuno if any 20v guys try it, but it's an idea..!

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » March 29th, 2010, 10:54 am

come on guys , that here say thing not gonna work :(

some one buy or make a set of cam gears and try a ting nah :mrgreen:
im very interested to see some results

the ga15 had very impressive top end , it was leaving the 2 20v by a good 8-10 lengths on top ...surly it could have not done that with out digging up in it

:mrgreen:

josh.dookie

Postby josh.dookie » March 29th, 2010, 11:14 am

^^^ A GA15, lawd :shock:

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » March 29th, 2010, 11:16 am

^^thas exactly wat the 20v men say :lol:

Postby Hook » March 29th, 2010, 11:19 am

Where can u suggest someone make these cam gears tho?

I'm gonna be replacing valve seals soon so I don't mind taking a lil dig up while it's down...I mean, it's a non-inteference head, right...might have to make a dyno run before to get a baseline tho...we'll see what May brings w.r.t. time...'til then I guess I could get working on the cam gears

josh.dookie

Postby josh.dookie » March 29th, 2010, 11:19 am

yeah I can imagine hayden lol, toda cams would be the real way to go wit the 20v eh, but u gotta have deep pockets to frigg up wit this lamo engine..
It wud be for sheer love of NA power alone I guess, for men to invest in a 20valve..

josh.dookie

Postby josh.dookie » March 29th, 2010, 11:20 am

Where can u suggest someone make these cam gears tho?

x2, I up for a rebuild soon as well..!

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » March 29th, 2010, 11:24 am

mic can do it, on my side a guy name prakash did one for me , will get his # and post it up

josh.dookie

Postby josh.dookie » March 29th, 2010, 11:25 am

noice... daz we talkin bout, loving this idea hayden, maybe we cud keep up with the ga15 after :lol:

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » March 29th, 2010, 11:26 am

mine looked like bajan chamelion one

Postby Hook » March 29th, 2010, 11:36 am

oh okie...so that's a modified cam? not a completely rebuilt one?...looks clean

Would prefer I send one to mod so there's no downtime nuh
WTB: 20V exhaust cam gear

josh.dookie

Postby josh.dookie » March 29th, 2010, 12:28 pm

will try it while my engine is being redone.. yup it looks like it jus cam of d assembly line!! :D

psycostud666

Postby psycostud666 » March 29th, 2010, 6:21 pm

haydn28, Dude, how d hell do i put up pics on a message here?

Postby A172 » March 29th, 2010, 6:24 pm

go to tinypic.com

upload image there

copy and paste the last link there and put it in the tags here and post it in your message

psycostud666

Postby psycostud666 » March 29th, 2010, 6:50 pm

A172, Thanks

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » March 30th, 2010, 4:57 pm

Hook,toda cam gears are 360US and it disables the vvt

Postby Hook » March 30th, 2010, 5:07 pm

Zeriam wrote:Hook,toda cam gears are 360US and it disables the vvt

Not interested.

Hook wrote:WTB: 20V exhaust cam gear

pablo_tt

WTK: 4AGE 20V starter

Postby pablo_tt » April 1st, 2010, 7:00 pm

Can I use the starter off another toyota engine (eg 5afe etc) and use it on the 4AGE 20v ST engine?

clone101

Postby clone101 » April 1st, 2010, 7:14 pm

YES :lol:

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » April 1st, 2010, 7:22 pm

ok, thank you

Postby eliteauto » April 1st, 2010, 7:24 pm

must be of the same transmission i.e. auto for auto