3NE2NR Official Phototakerouter & Photography Thread...

Rensh

Postby Rensh » July 5th, 2008, 1:46 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ good compositions as usual Rensh; interesting that you focused on the delete button rather than the shinier power button.

which 50mm did you use there? the f/1.8 or the f1.4?

The delete button caught my eye more than the button lol. And yeah it was the 1.8. That 1.4 is too much more money. But it wasn't mine... (yet)

And nice shot too there Duane, nice exposure. 8-)

Took some shots today, but I dunno if I can post those up. :roll:

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » July 5th, 2008, 2:01 pm

Yesterday I went down to B&H to get a Nikon D300 & 18-200 VR lense for my uncle.. I took some out the box shots before I ship it down for him next week

Dragist

Postby Dragist » July 5th, 2008, 2:04 pm

Sweet cam , Lucky you can go down to B&H while I drool on their site all day long .

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » July 5th, 2008, 2:45 pm

Camera is pretty sweet but I can't see myself spending $2300 on that... $2300 could help buy a Garrett GT-45 monster for one of my cars :lol:
B&H is like SanJuan market on a saturday, people like mad in there... Its like heaven for any photo/video junky, even the way the store is managed is something of greatness. I'll try to upload some fireworks shots later...

Dragist

Postby Dragist » July 5th, 2008, 4:40 pm

Good shooting , take care you land up keeping the Camera . :lol:

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » July 6th, 2008, 5:27 pm

Nice pics people.

Found this on Flickr. She's not local, but incredible work.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/ndybisz/

ImprezaDriver

Postby ImprezaDriver » July 6th, 2008, 7:44 pm

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » July 6th, 2008, 8:17 pm

^frikkin awesome...and fireworks sure aint the easiest thing to shoot . 0X

obeiron

Postby obeiron » July 6th, 2008, 8:26 pm

great shots people. Really like the fireworks shots by R.Mutt & imprezadriver.

Postby Aaron 2NR » July 6th, 2008, 8:50 pm

rel impressive work therre guys...

Postby Maserati » July 6th, 2008, 9:14 pm

2NR Smurf wrote:^frikkin awesome...and fireworks sure aint the easiest thing to shoot . 0X

for real lol with a P&S they come out like this

R. Mutt
Location: on the side of the road maptracing and reflashing the ecu

Postby R. Mutt » July 6th, 2008, 11:51 pm

ImprezaDriver take win jed. What camera/lens and settings?

Dragist

Postby Dragist » July 7th, 2008, 7:09 am

Great shot's everyone ImprezaDriver you orn .

This is one that I took last year with my P&S

ImprezaDriver

Postby ImprezaDriver » July 7th, 2008, 3:58 pm

R. Mutt wrote:ImprezaDriver take win jed. What camera/lens and settings?

check mah sig

thanks for the compliments

R. Mutt

Postby R. Mutt » July 7th, 2008, 5:56 pm

err...I checking on flikr but not seeing any info on that.

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » July 7th, 2008, 5:59 pm

Hiii..

Question :oops: What do you all think of this cam:

http://www.dpreview.com/news/0801/08012904nikons550.asp

ImprezaDriver

Postby ImprezaDriver » July 7th, 2008, 6:54 pm

R. Mutt wrote:err...I checking on flikr but not seeing any info on that.

click on any pic on my page, and look at the bottom right. click on "additional properties"

Rensh

Postby Rensh » July 7th, 2008, 8:31 pm

Nice pics ya'll.. them fireworks shots orn.
This was some of mine, last year..

R. Mutt

Postby R. Mutt » July 8th, 2008, 12:07 am

impressive

plex

Postby plex » July 8th, 2008, 6:59 am

Impressive indeed..

Dragist

Postby Dragist » July 8th, 2008, 7:04 am

Like WOW !!

plex

Postby plex » July 8th, 2008, 8:12 am

Tripod advice?

Can anyone give advise what one should consider when buying a tripod? Would appreciate some tips etc.

I did some research and one factor they mention is good tripods are heavy and look at the construction of it ( in other words avoid using plastic design)...There are other alternatives such as monopod which i am not familar with and choices?

Also they talk about " determined which type of head you need" i am aware that is the part that attaches your camera and the tripod but what do you look for and what criteria one considers?

Fuzz Master

Postby Fuzz Master » July 8th, 2008, 8:30 am

man i missed out on fireworks this year cuz it rained and when i did check the spot where i was was downwind so smoke everywhere

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 8th, 2008, 12:15 pm

plex wrote:Tripod advice?

Can anyone give advise what one should consider when buying a tripod? Would appreciate some tips etc.

I did some research and one factor they mention is good tripods are heavy and look at the construction of it ( in other words avoid using plastic design)...There are other alternatives such as monopod which i am not familar with and choices?

Also they talk about " determined which type of head you need" i am aware that is the part that attaches your camera and the tripod but what do you look for and what criteria one considers?

tripods can be expensive
there are tripods for US$2500 - then there are tripods for US$25

It all depends on what you want to do with the tripod and how heavy the camera is when mounted on the tripod.

If you have a light point and shoot then you can get away with buying a cheap tripod - with regards to the head all you need is one that can pan and tilt - some come with spirit levels if you want to get fancy. If you also plan to use it for video then look for one with the fluid head so that panning and tilting motion is smooth and not jerky.

If you have a heavy SLR with a heavy flash and heavy lens then you need a heavy tripod to hold it up. Lock up metal head assembly to handle the leverage and strong, sturdy legs with good adjustment locks.
Heavy tripods work well in high
If you need heavy duty and still need it light (you may need to tote it around while hiking for example) then you need to fork out the $$$ and buy a professional carbon fibre tripod.

A brand you can swear by for photography mounting devices like tripods and monopods is Bogen/Manfrotto - pricey but worth it and lasts a lifetime.

A monopod is just one leg, so you need to hold it up, it just offers stability in low light or telephoto shooting - a tripod however can stand on its own.

My advice is to go and buy an el cheapo Samsonite or Sony tripod and destroy that first before looking at the expensive ones. After all its just to hold the camera still.

More important IMO than having the world's best tripod: Remember when using a tripod it is best to either use a remote for the shutter or set your camera drive to "timer" so that you are not touching the camera when the photo is taken - this reduced any chance of shake or vibration.

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » July 8th, 2008, 12:19 pm

plex wrote:Tripod advice?

i have Titanium tripods coming in soon

wholesale cost around 300-500-800 + VAT

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » July 8th, 2008, 3:46 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:tripods can be expensive
there are tripods for US$2500 - then there are tripods for US$25

It all depends on what you want to do with the tripod and how heavy the camera is when mounted on the tripod.

If you have a light point and shoot then you can get away with buying a cheap tripod - with regards to the head all you need is one that can pan and tilt - some come with spirit levels if you want to get fancy. If you also plan to use it for video then look for one with the fluid head so that panning and tilting motion is smooth and not jerky.

If you have a heavy SLR with a heavy flash and heavy lens then you need a heavy tripod to hold it up. Lock up metal head assembly to handle the leverage and strong, sturdy legs with good adjustment locks.
Heavy tripods work well in high
If you need heavy duty and still need it light (you may need to tote it around while hiking for example) then you need to fork out the $$$ and buy a professional carbon fibre tripod.

A brand you can swear by for photography mounting devices like tripods and monopods is Bogen/Manfrotto - pricey but worth it and lasts a lifetime.

A monopod is just one leg, so you need to hold it up, it just offers stability in low light or telephoto shooting - a tripod however can stand on its own.

My advice is to go and buy an el cheapo Samsonite or Sony tripod and destroy that first before looking at the expensive ones. After all its just to hold the camera still.

More important IMO than having the world's best tripod: Remember when using a tripod it is best to either use a remote for the shutter or set your camera drive to "timer" so that you are not touching the camera when the photo is taken - this reduced any chance of shake or vibration.

And if you REALLY want to look all "sports-up" and "Blinged-out", then you should be looking at Gitzo Tripods

Freelander

Postby Freelander » July 8th, 2008, 4:12 pm

i was looking to get the manfrotto 190XPROB still tossing up about the type of head though

still looking for a good back pack, saw the lowepro slingshot 200AW something along those lines. compact and looks good. cause i really dont plan to lug 3 lens at a time and stuff.

plex

Postby plex » July 8th, 2008, 5:05 pm

Thanks for the advice Duane 3NE 2NR, but its for a canon 40d...Well look into the brands you posted..

RapToR, i send u a pm.

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » July 8th, 2008, 8:56 pm

word of advice when traveling with camera parts to trinidad... Last year my uncle lost a $500USD tripod head to one ah dem goones in the airport because the dumb a$$ put the head in the check in luggage and dem airport men cut the suitcase and gone with a few bags of stuff.... Do yuhself a favor and put all that stuff in yuh hand luggage if yuh ever wanna see it again..
Sunday Im going down to B&H to get a Nikon D40x for myself

Dragist

Postby Dragist » July 8th, 2008, 9:22 pm

^^^ I knew you could not help it :twisted: