The Religion Discussion

Re: The Religion Discussion

Postby MG Man » August 31st, 2012, 7:14 am

MG Man wrote:sorry eh but for a hundred years after le prophet's death, there were differing versions circulating befor everyone agreed on the final edit
do your research and see for yourself

adamb so busy flaming kasey he forgot me :(

PS LMAO at 'rapture ready'

Kasey

Postby Kasey » August 31st, 2012, 9:09 am

^^yuh mean blowing me up.........

d spike

Postby d spike » August 31st, 2012, 10:09 am

MG Man wrote:sorry eh but for a hundred years after le prophet's death, there were differing versions circulating befor everyone agreed on the final edit
do your research and see for yourself

adamb so busy flaming kasey he forgot me :(

PS LMAO at 'rapture ready'

That "Rapture" nonsense was pure escapism, something that continues to crop up every so often, taking different forms through the centuries... but I always found this particular errant concept rather amusing...
d spike wrote:Millions of arrogant, haranguing, narrow-minded, self-righteous, prejudiced people transported into space, away from here, all in an instant? Millions, you say.
Wow. Sounds like paradise. Can't wait.

It isn't that he forgot you, but more likely that the nail got hit on the head so hard, that it needed to fetch some aspirin.

Kasey, AdamB has freely admitted that he doesn't see the point in looking back at previous posts. Furthermore, he clearly doesn't fully comprehend the posts that he appears to read - one wonders if he understands his own posts sometimes... So he is in NO position to judge the quality of your posts, having most likely not read half of them and not understanding the other half.

Cheers

d spike

Postby d spike » August 31st, 2012, 10:23 am

Kasey wrote: The truth is that you are in error in the way you think, not the scripture you so selflessly defend.

I have a horrible feeling this is going to pass over AdamB's head.

AdamB

Postby AdamB » August 31st, 2012, 10:25 am

MG,
Kasey apparently has more lives than a "Cat on a hot tin roof".
If I roast you, that may only add to the scum of the earth?
Rapture ready! LOL

Dspike,
After all d ole talk, please post a link to one of Kasey's posts of VALUE over the last 100 pages, IF YOU ARE TRUTHFUL!!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 31st, 2012, 10:28 am

AdamB wrote:
stickman wrote:I haven't visited this thread in a while and you're still trying to justify Islam.

Funny that you mention the word "objective" a few posts ago. There is no objective proof of God/Allah. You can only believe in him via faith which clouds your logic and and ability to think unbiased.

:popcorn:

Wrong!! Logic and ability to think unbiased is what instils faith in the heart of the believer.

how can you be unbiased when you have faith in only one way?

It's like claiming you are unbiased but you have faith in UNC over PNM.

faith [feyth]
    noun
    1. confidence or trust in a person or thing: faith in another's ability.
    2. belief that is not based on proof

Of course if there was proof, faith would not be needed. You do not need faith to know that the earth goes around the sun because there is empirical evidence (proof) of it.

d spike

Postby d spike » August 31st, 2012, 11:30 am

AdamB wrote:Dspike,
After all d ole talk, please post a link to one of Kasey's posts of VALUE over the last 100 pages, IF YOU ARE TRUTHFUL!!

If I AM TRUTHFUL?????
What sort of unwanted balloon-pump crawled up your nether regions and inflated your ego to the point where you think you are in a position to make such an imposition???

First, scroll to the post just before yours and you will see such a quotation.
Secondly, Mr. Lazybones, you lift your own finger and go look through the thread (as I have asked you BEFORE) for yourself... why should I (or anyone else) elucidate a matter which you can easily do for yourself???? I am no slave of yours. Go rub a lamp...

This sort of lazy attitude sheds a lot of light on how you approach learning, and CERTAINLY EXPLAINS A LOT ABOUT YOU. No one brings knowledge before you - you lift your arse and find it.

In conclusion, inform your esteemed teachers they are wasting their time. No matter how much they water that ti-marie plant, it won't bear any oranges.

d spike

Postby d spike » August 31st, 2012, 11:34 am

AdamB wrote:
stickman wrote:I haven't visited this thread in a while and you're still trying to justify Islam.

Funny that you mention the word "objective" a few posts ago. There is no objective proof of God/Allah. You can only believe in him via faith which clouds your logic and and ability to think unbiased.

:popcorn:

Wrong!! Logic and ability to think unbiased is what instils faith in the heart of the believer.

how can you be unbiased when you have faith in only one way?

It's like claiming you are unbiased but you have faith in UNC over PNM.

faith [feyth]
    noun
    1. confidence or trust in a person or thing: faith in another's ability.
    2. belief that is not based on proof

Of course if there was proof, faith would not be needed. You do not need faith to know that the earth goes around the sun because there is empirical evidence (proof) of it.

Duane, for the wise, Faith brings Awareness... for the ignorant, Faith brings Blindness.
Awareness breeds Understanding, and this breeds Acceptance.
Blindness breeds Bigotry and Fear, and this breeds Hate.

d spike

Postby d spike » August 31st, 2012, 11:56 am

Faith is but a light on the roadway of our journey.
What we choose to do while we travel, is dependent on how well we can see, and that is dependent on the light... but, the choice of right or wrong action is still ours to make, AND NOT that of the light. And though we can claim that our decisions are based on that very light, that is but justification, not reason.
FOR THE LIGHT JUST ILLUMINATES - what we perceive to see in the distance has more to do with our opinion and imagination, than light.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » August 31st, 2012, 2:57 pm

What religion does GOD follow?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 31st, 2012, 4:04 pm

^ Why would God follow a religion? He is God!
that would be like asking what classes does the Minister of Education attend.

the better question IMO is "Which religion does God want us to follow?" and "give reasons for your answer".

sensiman

Postby sensiman » August 31st, 2012, 4:23 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ Why would God follow a religion? He is God!

the better question IMO is "Which religion does God want us to follow?" and "give reasons for your answer".

Not really, the Minister is not all knowing and can always attend a class to further his knowledge.

Also, the question of an omnipotent being following a religion is only valid if said being is sentient, like the beyonder, for example.

Postby pioneer » August 31st, 2012, 4:36 pm

Adam, do you have dogs?

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » August 31st, 2012, 7:29 pm

alyuh go trip off Adamb, just now he would take his Qur'an and ride out

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » August 31st, 2012, 9:52 pm

As in the recipe for baking a cake, one is free to follow the instructions or deviate and add or subtract from the original producing a dish that is more in line with their individual taste. Ancient men wrote the recipe, but it would seem that we are not intelligent or worthy enough to make changes or additions.

People who can think cannot be controlled. It is important though for children, they need the guidance. Most children however never become adults. They can be likened to domesticated animals, always afraid to venture cause if they do they may be renounce everything they believe in and may never come back to where they were. Or it can do the opposite.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 31st, 2012, 11:26 pm

^ true story!

sensiman wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ Why would God follow a religion? He is God!

Not really, the Minister is not all knowing and can always attend a class to further his knowledge.

Also, the question of an omnipotent being following a religion is only valid if said being is sentient, like the beyonder, for example.
perhaps the analogy was not perfect since nothing is equivalent to the concept of God.

However the point I was making is that the typical dictionary definition of religion refers to a "belief in, or the worship of, a god or gods" - Since God cannot worship himself, nor needs to believe in himself nor have faith that he exists, nor follow the guidelines he sets for his followers (how or when to pray, for example) then God cannot follow a religion, by definition.

AdamB

Postby AdamB » August 31st, 2012, 11:49 pm

d spike wrote:Faith is but a light on the roadway of our journey.
What we choose to do while we travel, is dependent on how well we can see, and that is dependent on the light... but, the choice of right or wrong action is still ours to make, AND NOT that of the light. And though we can claim that our decisions are based on that very light, that is but justification, not reason.
FOR THE LIGHT JUST ILLUMINATES - what we perceive to see in the distance has more to do with our opinion and imagination, than light.

Classical Christian hogwash that the prophet Jesus never taught!! You innovate thinking that you are better than Jesus himself and the early generations that followed him who were on the right path.

You innovated and strayed far from the right path. Your "Bible" scholars CHANGED THE WORDING AND MEANING of the GOSPEL OF JESUS.

O mankind! A similitude has been coined, so listen to it (carefully): Verily those on whom you call besides Allah, cannot create (even) a fly, even though they combine together for the purpose. And if the fly snatches away a thing from them, they will have no power to release it from the fly. So weak are (both) the seeker and the sought.
( سورة الحج , Al-Hajj, Chapter #22, Verse #73)

Postby MG Man » August 31st, 2012, 11:59 pm

yet again you criticize the bible and continue to ignore the truth that there were several versions of the koran and bands of people with their own versions floating around post prophet's death..........for over a century, before they all agreed on an 'official' version

btw, where did dspike refer to jesus / christianity in that quote?

AdamB

Postby AdamB » September 1st, 2012, 12:03 am

pioneer wrote:Adam, do you have dogs?

Why do you ask? Doesn't seem related to a religion discussion. Do you have dogs? Do you NEED dogs?

Sorry, I should be diplomatic like Dspike and Kasey (and some others) and say "My beliefs are none of your business." or "It is my choice to keep quiet" or "I refuse to admit or deny in an anonymous yet public forum is not proof of anything except my appreciation for privacy."

AdamB

Postby AdamB » September 1st, 2012, 12:10 am

[quote="MG Man"]yet again you criticize the bible and continue to ignore the truth that there were several versions of the koran and bands of people with their own versions floating around post prophet's death..........for over a century, before they all agreed on an 'official' version

btw, where did dspike refer to jesus / christianity in that quote?[/quote]
That's precisely my point. He is admittedly a christian. So his statements about faith is from a christian source.

Just like when he "explained" the Trinity, I asked BRING YOUR PROOF / SOURCE OF INFORMATION. Nothing yet because that's what they (Christians) have done, CHANGED THE RELIGION OF JESUS because it did not suit their FANCIES and DESIRES.

AdamB

Postby AdamB » September 1st, 2012, 12:23 am

MG Man wrote:there were several versions of the koran and bands of people with their own versions floating around post prophet's death..........for over a century, before they all agreed on an 'official' version

What is your source for this claim?

Please see: http://www.islam101.com/quran/preservedQ.htm
and http://www.quranandscience.com/quran-is ... quran.html

The latter gives opinions of leading orientalists.

d spike

Postby d spike » September 1st, 2012, 12:50 am

AdamB wrote:
MG Man wrote:yet again you criticize the bible and continue to ignore the truth that there were several versions of the koran and bands of people with their own versions floating around post prophet's death..........for over a century, before they all agreed on an 'official' version

btw, where did dspike refer to jesus / christianity in that quote?[/

That's precisely my point. He is admittedly a christian. So his statements about faith is from a christian source.

I am not a fundamentalist. In a public forum such as this, I deliberately take the middle road. MG's query is quite right. The statement I made is in agreement with most religions. (But you wouldn't know that, blinkers on and all...)
Your "logic" is wrong.

AdamB wrote:Just like when he "explained" the Trinity, I asked BRING YOUR PROOF / SOURCE OF INFORMATION. Nothing yet because that's what they (Christians) have done, CHANGED THE RELIGION OF JESUS because it did not suit their FANCIES and DESIRES.

I was explaining an article of Christian doctrine. I WAS NOT PROVING IT TO BE RIGHT - therefore no proof was needed.

This heap of horsefeathers about religion changing has gone on long enough.
AdamB, if you do not understand something, ASK!!
You are a blinded noise-maker, who is just as foolish as the fellow who kills every snake he sees because "snake is to kill" and he won't bother learning about them - and then wonders why there are so many rats around.

Religion is the relationship man has with his God. All relationships are dynamic.

A fundamentalist sticks to a literal interpretation of scripture. He clings desperately to the scribbles of those who went before, blind to the reality swirling around him... like a strange foolish astronomer who only studies books written by others but never looks at the sky himself.

AdamB wrote: Nothing yet because that's what they (Christians) have done, CHANGED THE RELIGION OF JESUS because it did not suit their FANCIES and DESIRES.

This is obviously the regurgitation of stories half-heard and badly told. If AdamB has no bloody idea what Christianity was about, how can he tell that it has changed? (Oh yes, he learned all about Christianity from Muslims and Muslim scripture...)

AdamB

Postby AdamB » September 1st, 2012, 1:35 am

AdamB wrote:
pioneer wrote:Well if islam believes in science they would understand the elementary concept that in order for something to exist, it must be relative to space and time.
Space and time is not required for the existence of ALLAH. HE is the Creator of those things and everything HE has created needs HIM for their continued existence and sustenance.
ALLAH has the POWER and ABILITY to do ALL THINGS!!!

Even thoughts exist, think about it.
Even down to our thoughts (and actions) ALLAH has created, you think about it. For you may have assumed that these concepts are new to Islam but rather muslims are the true PIONEERS!!

You speak of education, why it is most if not all muslims insist that their daughters do not become educated but instead subject themselves to a man to bear offspring?
Muslim women have always been the most educated when compared to others. Right here in T&T muslim women are doctors, lawyers, engineers, whatever field you can think of, even Parliamentarians and the current Deputy Speaker of the House.
You are confusing the culture of some people with the ideals of the religion. That's two totally opposite realities. People of the Middle East have a culture of tribalism and natural hardship due to their desert climate. Despite that muslim women have been business owners, teachers and have had the right to own property from 1400+ years ago. I challenge you to say from how long ago women in the West have had the same right.

Again, what's with all the copypasts with no source? Because if I said it, you would say I am only expressing MY OPINION. However, I have posted from a source outside of the Islamic fraternity (UK Guardian) to show you that the information is not biased and can be verified (a requirement for continuous improvement, mr Kaizen...U AWARE??).
Just for you:
http://www.guardian.co.uk/science/2002/ ... h.science2
http://www.al-bab.com/arab/islam_and_evolution.htm

Plus a bonus: http://www.scienceislam.com/evolution_creation.php

Oh right, that's how the koran was created, copy/paste/regurgitate what other religions said.

The Qur'aan was NOT CREATED!! It is the WORD of ALLAH. Neither ALLAH Nor HIS ATTRIBUTES (incl the Qur'aan) is CREATED.

Actually I heard a LOCAL lecture (in trinidad) by a very popular shake who is well known and respected amongst the local muslim community. HE was a strong advocate against education for muslim women. He said muslims are so caught up in "wordly things" like education and pride that they send their daughters off to university instead of "marrying them of as soon as possible in other to reproduce more muslims into the world". To support his point he said by the time a woman finishes school she is old and "no man will desire her".

He got pretty emotional about the subject and firmly believed muslim women should NOT be educated. My very own neighbours share this point of view, so how can you say this is some extreme middle eastern culture? You're clearly not aware and seem to live in a bubble or just pure ignorance.

Muslim women in the middle east not allowed to drive, not allowed to talk to a man in public, must conceal themselves from head to toe, can be "mercy-killed" for a plethora of reasons including being the victim of a rape, outcast if they divorce, outcast if they become a widow etc etc etc. Then you want to speak of women rights in the west? :lol:

care to say who this shaykh is? or which mosque/date of lecture (so I can find out to verify information)?

Marrying early in age, does not negate education.

Also, about Women's Rights in islam see: http://erun1.hubpages.com/hub/Women-in- ... tern-World

In West: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Women%27s_ ... d_equality

Rights and equality - (Earliest - 19th century)

Women's rights refers to the social and human rights of women. In the United States, the abolition movements sparked an increased wave of attention on the status of women, but the history of feminism reaches far back before the 18th century. (See protofeminism.) The advent of the reformist age during the 19th century meant that those invisible minorities or marginalized majorities were to find a catalyst and a microcosm in such new tendencies of reform. The earliest works on the so-called "woman question" criticized the restrictive role of women, without necessarily claiming that women were disadvantaged or that men were to blame. In Britain, the Feminism movement began in the 19th century and continues in the present day. In the early 20th century, Simone de Beauvoir wrote a detailed analysis of women's oppression. In the late 1960s and early 1970s, feminist movements, such as the one in the United States substantially changed the condition of women in the Western world. The trigger for the revolution was the development of the birth control pill in 1960, which gave women access to easy and reliable contraception.

Postby pioneer » September 1st, 2012, 2:08 am

http://www.imranhosein.org/articles/women-in-islam.html

Man even dedicated an entire page for women :lol:

Here let me guide you...you just mentioned equality didn't you?

Islam has never sought to put an equal sign between the sexes

http://www.imranhosein.org/articles/wom ... islam.html

Postby pioneer » September 1st, 2012, 2:15 am

Equality?...women not supposed to be working...oh-the-horror...dem supposed to stay home make an mine chiren dan...

http://www.imranhosein.org/articles/wom ... t-age.html

“The sun rising from the West”, which is a major sign of the Last Day, appears to represent modern Western civilization's ‘upside down’ world in which, among many other things, women abandon their primary responsibility of rearing children in order to dress like men and go out to work full-time the way men do.

Postby pioneer » September 1st, 2012, 2:20 am

More facts...

http://www.imranhosein.org/articles/wom ... islam.html

The Qur’an has clearly established that men have (a measure of) authority over women, and has obliged a woman to be obedient to her husband (or guardian). In this connection Islam has gone to great lengths to reaffirm the natural order pertaining to the status, role and function of gender in society. Consider the following:

• The Qur’an refers to Allah Most High in the masculine, and never in the feminine gender. (The masculine gender in Arabic does not necessarily connote masculinity.)

• The Prophets sent by Allah to mankind to function as spiritual guides and leaders were all men. There was never a woman Prophet. But there is a perverted European effort which seeks to promote Mary to Prophethood.

• Although angels are neither male nor female the Qur’an gives them male names and denounces those who give them female names.

• When a child is born a thanksgiving feast called ‘Aqiqah’ is held. For a male child two animals must be sacrificed, but a female child requires the sacrifice of only one animal.

• The Prophet said that “the best row (in congregational prayer) for men is the first, and the worse is the last. And the best row for women is the last, and the worse is the first” (Sahih Muslim).

Yupp, that seems pretty equal to me.

Postby MG Man » September 1st, 2012, 6:45 am

the mosque that my mother prays at, teaches that women in positions of power leads to disaster, adn that women should not be allowed to assume roles of power....they frown on female world leaders, for example, and cite Kamla as an example of what happens when women are allowed to rule
I read somewhere years ago (pre innernety days) that if a man allwos a woman to be on top during sex, that man is doomed (t'was an islamic booklet)
According to a book given to me and all students in my year at ASJA Boys college in 1993/4, there is a prayer for a married man to say before going to sleep; it basically tells the man to pray for protection from any evil hiding in the woman, that may attack him during his slumber.......no such prayer was listed for a woman...........the best was 'Prayer when taking a wife (or buying a camel)'
To this day I regret misplacing that book

Postby bluefete » September 1st, 2012, 6:55 am

MG Man wrote:the mosque that my mother prays at, teaches that women in positions of power leads to disaster, adn that women should not be allowed to assume roles of power....they frown on female world leaders, for example, and cite Kamla as an example of what happens when women are allowed to rule
I read somewhere years ago (pre innernety days) that if a man allwos a woman to be on top during sex, that man is doomed (t'was an islamic booklet)
According to a book given to me and all students in my year at ASJA Boys college in 1993/4, there is a prayer for a married man to say before going to sleep; it basically tells the man to pray for protection from any evil hiding in the woman, that may attack him during his slumber.......no such prayer was listed for a woman...........the best was 'Prayer when taking a wife (or buying a camel)'

No wonder you are so messed up!

Kasey

Postby Kasey » September 1st, 2012, 9:17 am

bluefete wrote:
MG Man wrote:the mosque that my mother prays at, teaches that women in positions of power leads to disaster, adn that women should not be allowed to assume roles of power....they frown on female world leaders, for example, and cite Kamla as an example of what happens when women are allowed to rule

What u really sayin? That muslim mess up MG? Y u say MG's messed up?

d spike

Postby d spike » September 1st, 2012, 9:18 am

bluefete wrote: