Re: The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby S_2NR » April 30th, 2014, 11:23 am

Moto g. Stock ROM with faux kernel

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » April 30th, 2014, 11:37 am

my bad. I remember you posting about the G
7+ SOT ... what did that equate to in phone ontime? 3 days?
moto g & x were really the sleepers of the year yes.

Postby S_2NR » April 30th, 2014, 12:04 pm

Phone on time was about 16 hours.

Postby M_2NR » April 30th, 2014, 5:38 pm

and it eh touch a charger ent. that der is great. Sad to say... is a motorola -_-'

Postby S_2NR » April 30th, 2014, 5:49 pm

What's wrong with Motorola?
I find they make rock solid devices

Postby M_2NR » April 30th, 2014, 6:40 pm

yuh never had a v70 that's why. :lol:

kerwindaboss

Postby kerwindaboss » April 30th, 2014, 7:12 pm

M_2NR wrote:yuh never had a v70 that's why. :lol:

Motorola is slowly but surely rising in the android game. But LG, HTC and Samsung would still be the top dogs.
Last edited by kerwindaboss on April 30th, 2014, 8:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby S_2NR » April 30th, 2014, 7:47 pm

Had to Google v70 lol.
This is my 2nd Motorola. 1st was the RAZR way back when

speedist

Postby speedist » April 30th, 2014, 7:53 pm

S_2NR wrote:What's wrong with Motorola?
I find they make rock solid devices

This. I had a razr from my bro and dat shizzle last rell long.

kerwindaboss

Postby kerwindaboss » April 30th, 2014, 8:09 pm

I remember when I get the Dolce & Gabana edition RAZR. That gold was even better than iPhone "champagne gold"

Postby M_2NR » April 30th, 2014, 11:23 pm

Fellas how much ulyuh think I go get for a galaxy tab2 10.1 and a HTC one X? Wanna get rid of some of these things...
Just taking up space

Postby Trini Hookah » April 30th, 2014, 11:56 pm

M_2NR wrote:Fellas how much ulyuh think I go get for a galaxy tab2 10.1 and a HTC one X? Wanna get rid of some of these things...
Just taking up space

I have a V70 to trade, wwgd

Postby S_2NR » May 1st, 2014, 12:08 am

Hahahaha

Postby M_2NR » May 1st, 2014, 8:40 am

Trini Hookah wrote:
M_2NR wrote:Fellas how much ulyuh think I go get for a galaxy tab2 10.1 and a HTC one X? Wanna get rid of some of these things...
Just taking up space

I have a V70 to trade, wwgd

No mc trades. Cyarsh only

Postby nervewrecker » May 1st, 2014, 10:05 am

Whats wrong with the moto g? I find its a great phone. :D

Postby S_2NR » May 1st, 2014, 1:04 pm

Nothing is wrong with it you know. Its just that people in general (trinis especially) love brands. IPhones, galaxies sell because they have massive marketing campaigns and people recognize the brand. From what I've noticed most people care more about what brand of phone they have than what it can't or can do. If Motorola start marketing as much as Samsung watch and see how popular it get. Just a few years back everybody had blackberry, now is android/iPhone. Its all about what's popular to trinis.

Not saying this to u M, u have a nexus. U don't fit that stereotype. :)

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » May 1st, 2014, 2:04 pm

its true.
Moto is really the only major brand to ship their phone with little to no bloatware and a very very close-to-stock android experience.
Whats even better is that the things they implement are actually very useful and functional - VS 1.4 GB of laggy (samsung & lg) bloated software.
S4's software is over 3X the size of Nexus ROM

Postby RASC » May 1st, 2014, 2:12 pm

Oh Lawd here we go again with the #NEXUSMASTERRACE talk...

I enjoy my Samsung "bloatware" thank you.
Tried stock...and was zzzzzzz to death. Boring--->

...and no I not rooting. The End.

First it was trying to convince us that the "Samsung screen is not calibrated to the xdegree divided by the sum of the exponent blah blah" Now the Stock> Your first new born, crew has returned.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » May 1st, 2014, 2:21 pm

Enjoy bloatware and lag????
I had from iPhone to every type of android there was..Samsung was the worst to use on stock interface..to laggy ..all the hype was gymick
Settled on a nexus 5... Prefer the ease of use

Postby RASC » May 1st, 2014, 2:31 pm

Bloatware... Yum.
Gimme Multiple Screens, S pen functionality and over saturation...

Nom Nom Nom!

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » May 1st, 2014, 3:01 pm

RASC wrote:Oh Lawd here we go again with the #NEXUSMASTERRACE talk...

I enjoy my Samsung "bloatware" thank you.
Tried stock...and was zzzzzzz to death. Boring--->

...and no I not rooting. The End.

First it was trying to convince us that the "Samsung screen is not calibrated to the xdegree divided by the sum of the exponent blah blah" Now the Stock> Your first new born, crew has returned.

Your right. I dont like samsung's software, I find it bloated and laggy. But obviously I'm part of the minority. Most people seem to prefer Samsung's software over stock. Or at least seem to buy Samsung devices over other devices.

But would you also agree that Samsung puts a lot of software (their own appstore for example) that you probably dont want, need and cant remove?

Postby 16 cycles » May 1st, 2014, 3:10 pm

for the lagless users on android...what apps do you run to help with day to day life?

work? meetings? time keeping? notes? etc?

Postby nervewrecker » May 1st, 2014, 4:22 pm

There is a battery widget I use to monitor battery use, memory and temp of the phone.
Just a normal notes widget I use and keep notes / memos on the screen when I need them.
I think google allows you to set reminders too.

The moto g is a great phone. I was going to get one.
Some prefer samsung I guess. I'm not holding a gun to anyone head telling them what to buy but oh gosh man, some people eh. They googling specs of phones today and came to the conclusion that blu phones pwns the moto g. Sometimes you just have to stay quiet yes.

Postby M_2NR » May 1st, 2014, 4:36 pm

Lol at lagless users. :lol:
Check out trigger (its like tasker but much simpler), inotes (icloud notes syncing), Google keep, Google calendar. That's all I really use to be honest. Of course a cloud storage like dropbox, one drive or whichever you prefer.

I've tried a few "to do" and note taking apps and I've always fell back to Google keep. Simply because it syncs so easily across devices and web. And notifications are pushed to Google now also. Too bad there isn't an iOS version.

I actually don't mind touchwiz on the note 2014 10.1 I have on loaner. The launcher is chit though so I use nova on it. There is this adapt sound feature that is really awesome though.

Man I agree with u S, if moto marketed the X and G more they'd have so many more buyers. The active notifications alone was awesome in the X and to be honest I actually recommended the G to someone and that's how I used it. It's a very good device and well priced and moto lapsed badly. I guess Google may have played a part in it. The nexus also is very stupidly marketed as it ain't hyped as much either.

To each his own though. I prefer the stock android but I'd love to see a nice kitkat holo light skin for it just to use for a bit. I'm already a bit tired of the all black interface which serves no purpose to me since this is LCD and not amoled. I can't see myself using touchwiz on my phone though. I hated it on an s4 and saw some reviewers stating its a lil laggy still on the s5.

Postby nervewrecker » May 1st, 2014, 4:53 pm

Coworkers never heard of nexus either. Had to google that too.

Postby S_2NR » May 1st, 2014, 6:06 pm

RASC wrote:Bloatware... Yum.

Nom Nom Nom!

Notsureifsrs

Postby ismithx » May 1st, 2014, 6:18 pm

stock > everything else

so much faster and smoother, do you really need all those extra features?

Postby RASC » May 2nd, 2014, 3:49 am

S_2NR wrote:

Nom Nom Nom!

Notsureifsrs

Vry
Love those feAtures... used nearly everyday!

Postby RASC » May 2nd, 2014, 3:49 am

ismithx wrote:stock > everything else

so much faster and smoother, do you really need all those extra features?

Yup

kerwindaboss

Postby kerwindaboss » May 2nd, 2014, 5:52 am

Nom Nom Nom!

You know u can root and install debloated firmware and still keep all tw features like s pen functionality