COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 899 cases, 13 deaths, 721 active, 165 discharged in T&T

Postby K74T » August 22nd, 2020, 11:47 am

FB_IMG_1598111162494.jpeg
FB_IMG_1598111188467.jpeg

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 899 cases, 13 deaths, 721 active, 165 discharged in T&T

Postby pugboy » August 22nd, 2020, 11:57 am

that top graph not looking right
on the 18th there less than 15 cases?

Postby redmanjp » August 22nd, 2020, 12:04 pm

pugboy wrote:that top graph not looking right

One of them said the graph doesn't include all the cases yet so he won't assume cases are going down until all cases are included.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 22nd, 2020, 12:09 pm

daring dragoon wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:I live alone most of the time, self isolation isn't a problem for me. More concerned about my neighbor if she has it. She lives with her elderly mom, brother his wife and their daughter.

whats the latest with your symptoms ? it getting worst ? what about your neighbour ?

I feel the same if not worse, mild fever, headaches, and extreme fatigue.

My neighbor is similar but worse as she has a cough and more fever.

The girl is supposed to be self isolation but it was her brothers Birthday last night and she went over. Wore a mask most of the time except when eating. I could slap she eh.

Postby pugboy » August 22nd, 2020, 12:20 pm

so what’s the point of putting out obvious fake data then ?
steups

them really take we for arse

redmanjp wrote:
pugboy wrote:that top graph not looking right

One of them said the graph doesn't include all the cases yet so he won't assume cases are going down until all cases are included.

Postby redmanjp » August 22nd, 2020, 12:26 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:I live alone most of the time, self isolation isn't a problem for me. More concerned about my neighbor if she has it. She lives with her elderly mom, brother his wife and their daughter.

whats the latest with your symptoms ? it getting worst ? what about your neighbour ?

The girl is supposed to be self isolation but it was her brothers Birthday last night and she went over. Wore a mask most of the time except when eating. I could slap she eh.

Did she at least eat by herself? The contact tracing go be dread if she test positive. They should also sanitize any utensils she used.
Last edited by redmanjp on August 22nd, 2020, 12:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby The_Honourable » August 22nd, 2020, 12:31 pm

Bit suspect stopping stats on the 18th, we spiked hard since. Cases nearly doubled in 1 week and dey holding back.

Aug 15 - 474 (+45)
Aug 16 - 519 (+46)
Aug 17 - 565 (+35)
Aug 18 - 600 (+50)
Aug 19 - 650 (+80)
Aug 20 - 730 (+76)
Aug 21 - 806 (+93)
Aug 22 - 899

Postby redmanjp » August 22nd, 2020, 12:34 pm

^1200 by next Saturday

Postby pugboy » August 22nd, 2020, 12:37 pm

we in a real mess now that the so called authorities feeding us fake info
animal farm we reach

Postby The_Honourable » August 22nd, 2020, 12:41 pm

redmanjp wrote:^1200 by next Saturday

Laughs in shakes...

More like 1700

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » August 22nd, 2020, 12:50 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:

u taking anything ? advil, panadol, fever grass, lucozade ?

Postby aaron17 » August 22nd, 2020, 12:57 pm

Peppermint?

Postby maj. tom » August 22nd, 2020, 1:15 pm

heard old people talking about "Congo Lala grass" for fever and sickness.
Looked it up, it's a plant named Eclipta prostrata.

Dup deeper, and it's more than just a traditional name from African knowledge. The plant has been used since ancient times all over the world to treat everything... Amerindians, India, China, Thailand and Europe... it's a staple of herbal medicine. It's likely to work for some things because the plant contains a wide range of flavonoids, alkaloids, phenolic acids and tannins. But it will also likely have many unwanted side-effects too.

If i got sick, i would try it... if i can find it. Not expecting that it's a cure of course, but it may help symptoms.

Postby K74T » August 22nd, 2020, 1:29 pm

FB_IMG_1598117256567.jpeg

Postby K74T » August 22nd, 2020, 1:32 pm

Key Points From The Ministry Of Health’s Media Conference on COVID-19 – Saturday August 22nd 2020:

- Health Minister Terrence Deyalsingh said health officials are working assiduously to move T&T from "Community Spread" back to "Cluster Spread" - which is mostly confined to a smaller circle. He said testing must be ramped up in order to accomplish this.

- The Health Minister also apologised to persons at step down/quarantine facilities who are awaiting COVID-19 test results. He expects the problem to be rectified in a day or two.

- Two key decisions have been taken: Schools will reopen in January 2021, and the Brooklyn Settlement facility in Sangre Grande has now been reserved to treat senior citizens who may need specialised care for COVID-19.

- More beds and facilities to be added (Penal/Debe with 110 beds and UTT with 100-150 beds). Health Minister Terrence Deyalsingh said there is physical capacity (beds, facilities) to deal with COVID-19 in the health system. However, the human resource capacity (health care workers) is another matter. It can get overwhelming for them and many have reported being burnt out.

- Minister Deyalsingh admitted that health officials have not been getting the public’s cooperation in some instances. He cited a report which stated that police had to break up an event at a private residence where 32 people had gathered. He urged citizens not to congregate or stage gatherings. The Health Minister also received reports of bars closing their doors and encouraging patrons to stay inside their establishments to watch CPL games in an enclosed environment. He said, "That type of behaviour is what is going to give us problems... Stay home. Only go out for necessary purchases"

- As of Monday August 17th 2020, there were 19,000 COVID-19 Test Kits in the country. Twenty thousand more Test Kits are coming in from Canada and 100,000 from another source. Twenty five more GeneXpert machines have been ordered for the major health facilities.

- Principal Medical Officer - Epidemiology, Dr. Naresh Nandram, provided an update on COVID-19 Testing and Reporting. He reminded that hundreds of persons can get infected from a singular COVID-19 case. He urged persons who are ill to stay home and follow the Public Health Guidelines on COVID-19 as this will cut down on the number of persons being sought (through contact tracing) for testing.

- Dr. Nandram confirmed that as of this morning, approximately 600 samples remain to be tested for COVID-19. To clear this backlog, the Ministry is utilising a private lab. The samples went to the private lab yesterday and results are expected within the next day.

- There are also plans to expand and digitise the system so COVID-19 tests will be requested digitally. Dr. Nandram said with the end of paper-based forms, the lag time will be "brought effectively to nil. This will be close to real-time reporting as can possibly be had."

- Approval has been granted/funding identified to procure a PCR machine to establish a molecular testing service at the Trinidad Public Health Laboratory. It is expected that the lab will be running on a 24-hour basis. Additional staff will be brought on.

- The Medical Research Foundation (MRF) is awaiting the green light from CARPHA to start testing for COVID-19.

- Chief Medical Officer Dr. Roshan Parasram confirmed an adjustment in the discharge criteria from a Secondary/Tertiary facility to a Step Down facility, and from a Step Down facility to home.

- Dr. Parasram said temperature checks on forehead or wrist can work to tell if you have a fever. However, it is not a singular check to see if you have COVID-19. Businesses should ask/look for other signs and symptoms of the virus.

- Dr. Parasram stated that 92 persons at Paria hotel are expected to be discharged today or tomorrow.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » August 22nd, 2020, 1:37 pm

any roll backs in the press conference today? closing time return to 8pm ? restaurants closed ?
Last edited by daring dragoon on August 22nd, 2020, 1:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pugboy » August 22nd, 2020, 1:40 pm

seems all is not well with testing too
and just gonna get worser

https://trinidadexpress.com/newsextra/c ... f0526.html

Postby K74T » August 22nd, 2020, 1:46 pm

daring dragoon wrote:any roll backs in the press conference today? closing time return to 8pm ? restaurants closed ?

No this was a MoH conference, not one by the PM.

Postby maj. tom » August 22nd, 2020, 1:51 pm

“Samples left for testing as of this morning have approximately 600 samples left and that's after we leverage one more tweak to our system. The clear the backlog of samples we have leveraged utilization of a private lab that was willing to accept samples from us."

soooo... anyone can explain why they were not using the resources of private labs before, since the start of this crisis? Like does it have any valid reason why they have not organized this properly and spread out the demand to qualified labs across the country? Isn't the government capable of paying them or something?

Postby adnj » August 22nd, 2020, 1:51 pm

USA COVID-19 related fatalities revised upward. Nearly 310,000 deaths expected by December 1st.Image

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 22nd, 2020, 2:16 pm

daring dragoon wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:

Jus Advil for the fever and headache but as of the last hour my chest starting to hurt and I'm feeling small urges to cough.

Postby The_Honourable » August 22nd, 2020, 2:23 pm

maj. tom wrote:“Samples left for testing as of this morning have approximately 600 samples left and that's after we leverage one more tweak to our system. The clear the backlog of samples we have leveraged utilization of a private lab that was willing to accept samples from us."

soooo... anyone can explain why they were not using the resources of private labs before, since the start of this crisis? Like does it have any valid reason why they have not organized this properly and spread out the demand to qualified labs across the country? Isn't the government capable of paying them or something?

Check this: https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/private ... 28675a2a07

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » August 22nd, 2020, 2:26 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:

Jus Advil for the fever and headache but as of the last hour my chest starting to hurt and I'm feeling small urges to cough.

didnt the cmo said if symptoms get worst such as trouble breathing, chest pain to visit the health center one time? any loss of smell, taste, vomiting ? isnt there a hotline ?

Postby maj. tom » August 22nd, 2020, 2:38 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
maj. tom wrote:“Samples left for testing as of this morning have approximately 600 samples left and that's after we leverage one more tweak to our system. The clear the backlog of samples we have leveraged utilization of a private lab that was willing to accept samples from us."

Check this: https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/private ... 28675a2a07

Wow. If true, that says so much about the private sector institution of health care here. On the other hand it could be the usual political blame game because more recently https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/ministe ... a39a8e3bf1

The Ministry should just do what must be done to approve private labs to do the testing at this point. We really can't afford to play these games anymore.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 22nd, 2020, 2:48 pm

daring dragoon wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:

didnt the cmo said if symptoms get worst such as trouble breathing, chest pain to visit the health center one time? any loss of smell, taste, vomiting ? isnt there a hotline ?

I think I'll be fine, if it gets worse I'll go in but the amount of confusion and slowness going on, to me it's not worth it. I have a friend who is still waiting on her Covid results 13 days now. The lab in St James where my neighbor went said by Monday they'll let her know, willing to bet she doesn't get results by then.

Also, I can self quarantine at home without infecting anyone.

FYI there are lots of people who are sick and aren't going on because they don't want to be in state quarantine. They know they're young, no underlying conditions and that they'll be fine in a couple weeks.

Problem is though not all are self isolating like I am and many will infect their immediate family.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 22nd, 2020, 3:34 pm

Late 920s to early 930s this evening...1200 by wednesday evening into thursday morning. This is providing they keep "playing it safe"

Postby goalpost » August 22nd, 2020, 4:20 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:

Late 920s to early 930s this evening...1200 by wednesday evening into thursday morning. This is providing they keep "playing it safe"

Lol those are the playing it safe numbers?

Postby goalpost » August 22nd, 2020, 4:22 pm

Anybody know if they still selling food in the Savannah?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 22nd, 2020, 4:39 pm

goalpost wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:

Lol those are the playing it safe numbers?

Ah sure yuh aint seeing the 100+ per day figure in a release

Postby toyolink » August 22nd, 2020, 5:06 pm

There isn't much we can do as ordinary citizens to impact the number of new cases over the next 7 days.
We can however change the infection rate by what we do starting now, by about 31st august.
The public health care systems and facilities by Wednesday may very well turn into our own hell.
Presently there can be no question that administrative systems are starting to crack with reporting time lags being indicative of this fact.
Every citizen can make a big difference and this message must continue to be drilled.
The mistakes of the pass must not define our conversation for the future.