Trinituner Reefers, Saltwater Aquarium Fish Keepers

Re: Trinituner Reefers, Saltwater Aquarium Fish Keepers

Postby UML » September 11th, 2014, 10:59 am

I have check meh nah 8-)

for persons who dont have ATO systems, how do you add your top off water?

all at once?

little bit every day?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 11th, 2014, 11:35 am

UML wrote:I have check meh nah 8-)

for persons who dont have ATO systems, how do you add your top off water?

all at once?

little bit every day?

I have added 5-10 gal of water all at once in my 70gal tank with no issues

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » September 11th, 2014, 12:13 pm

Likewise I usually top off 5 gallons weekly in my 100gal comfortably.

Postby UML » September 11th, 2014, 12:22 pm

I also just dump my water in my sump, but i was reading about this causing shock to inverts. I little concerned since i finally got two peppermint shrimp to survive again; i also have no more aptasia :)

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 11th, 2014, 1:46 pm

UML wrote:I also just dump my water in my sump, but i was reading about this causing shock to inverts. I little concerned since i finally got two peppermint shrimp to survive again; i also have no more aptasia :)

5 gal of water in a large tank is not going to shock your inverts. Your salinity range will only go up . something of a reading on a refractometer. nothing to kill them
Now if you talking about dumping 5 gals in a 10 or 15gal tank well YESS!!!!

Postby UML » September 11th, 2014, 8:23 pm

Anyone ever tried Skyboxing copepods or amphipods for their mandarin?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 11th, 2014, 10:34 pm

UML, what you want for the mushrooms

Postby UML » September 12th, 2014, 5:06 am

I check and I really only have one red detached from my rock, maybe two right now, is better you wait to we original plan of Christmas. By then I should have more so we could actually trade.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 12th, 2014, 9:58 am

ok cool

dgobo

Postby dgobo » September 12th, 2014, 4:58 pm

UML wrote:Anyone ever tried Skyboxing copepods or amphipods for their mandarin?

lol, I just purchase two bottles of cope pods and will be shipping it through my skybox, will let you know how it goes.

Postby UML » September 12th, 2014, 9:21 pm

dgobo wrote:
UML wrote:Anyone ever tried Skyboxing copepods or amphipods for their mandarin?

lol, I just purchase two bottles of cope pods and will be shipping it through my skybox, will let you know how it goes.

Great I just msg my Skybox company today to find out if there was any restrictions.

I say I would call Raj to find out if he brings it in to save me the hassle.

What type and brand did u purchase?

Do you have to hatch it or just pour it into your tank?

dgobo

Postby dgobo » September 12th, 2014, 10:30 pm

Its live stuff, just need to put it in. No raj does not have anything like that. He gave me some PhytoPlan which the mandarin might eat

Postby UML » September 13th, 2014, 7:22 am

Wah brand you buy?

I want to buy Reef Nutrition Tigger Pods

Looking to see if I can find amphipods to buy as well

Postby UML » September 13th, 2014, 1:22 pm

K websource say dey can't ship it because it is alive.

Let me know if you get through, if they survive the shipping and who you ship it with.

Good luck!

dgobo

Postby dgobo » September 13th, 2014, 4:32 pm

I not telling my skybox company what is it. I'm just telling them its for aquarium and I need it over night.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 13th, 2014, 6:10 pm

Just pray it don't reach your skybox late a fri evening and has to stay over the weekend.
I have bought in tiger pods on 2 occasions in my luggage and once placed in the fridge, they have gone just over a week. Find out if they can be shipped with a cold pack.

dgobo

Postby dgobo » September 14th, 2014, 7:20 am

Yip they ship standard with a cold pack and it will leave there shop on monday . should reach my skybox by Tuesday and if they don't mess up it should reach here Wednesday , Thursday for the las test.

Postby UML » September 14th, 2014, 2:44 pm

Nice.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 14th, 2014, 9:03 pm

dgobo, Which one is it you buying online?

dgobo

Postby dgobo » September 15th, 2014, 9:09 am

Ocean pods premium mix

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 15th, 2014, 3:25 pm

dgobo wrote:Ocean pods premium mix

Will look for it up there.
Raj really have some nice mushrooms. went and took a few just now

dgobo

Postby dgobo » September 15th, 2014, 3:31 pm

Really what colour, what price

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 15th, 2014, 5:30 pm

Reds, Purple/blue, and some multicolor ones (different shade of green with blue and orange) also some different camouflage ones. All are $300-400 EACH.
Most are like 8-12 mushrooms on one rock

src1983

Postby src1983 » September 15th, 2014, 8:46 pm

Hi guys,

I have an aquarium with heavy hard water stains, everything I have tried hasn't worked. Can anyone tell me where I can find Oxalic Acid, saw some youtube vids where this worked best

http://www.amazon.com/Oxalic-Acid-99%25-bag-C2H2O4/dp/B007HUPP7E/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1410827986&sr=8-2&keywords=oxalic+acid

Thanks,

Postby UML » September 16th, 2014, 5:26 am

Not sure if it will work but try some vinegar.

You tried a razor blade and some water?

src1983

Postby src1983 » September 16th, 2014, 9:38 am

UML wrote:Not sure if it will work but try some vinegar.

You tried a razor blade and some water?

So far I tried, Vinegar, Glass polish, windex, generic glass cleaner, razor blade.

Postby UML » September 16th, 2014, 12:10 pm

^^^all dat money yuh spend...better yuh did buy ah new tank :|

(just kidding)

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 17th, 2014, 2:49 pm

Still looking for mushrooms

Postby UML » September 19th, 2014, 6:26 pm

Do you use US gallons or imperial gallons for your tank?

I recently realized I had been calculating my tank incorrectly.

Just thought I should share for the benefit of all.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 19th, 2014, 10:08 pm

I use the US gallon because most dosing products and stuff like salt is based on the US gallon