Pros and Cons of new 1.4 tsi Jetta

BMW, Mercedes, Mini, Audi, Peugeot, Renault, VW, Rover, Volvo, Porsche, Jaguar etc.

Pointman-IA

Re: Pros and Cons of new 1.4 tsi Jetta

Postby Pointman-IA » August 18th, 2013, 4:45 pm

nicks1 wrote:Just went and took this pic of the back,same thing looking like oil to me. Wondering if that is the shock oil,I have to go by bess and let them have that checkout cause not like I does tote cattle in my wagon and the car is only 7months old so that lil funny.

You toting ram goats or wha?

kingskid

Postby kingskid » August 18th, 2013, 4:51 pm

Pointman-IA wrote:
nicks1 wrote:Just went and took this pic of the back,same thing looking like oil to me. Wondering if that is the shock oil,I have to go by bess and let them have that checkout cause not like I does tote cattle in my wagon and the car is only 7months old so that lil funny.

You toting ram goats or wha?

lol what would you say about mine.

Postby Team Loco » August 18th, 2013, 6:51 pm

Peeps I drove one of these today. Oh.........my............word! Simply sweet! Performance like wow

nemesis

Postby nemesis » August 19th, 2013, 7:49 am

Dat somehow not looking like shocks to me because of where it is. But let us know when you figure it out.

Team Loco wrote:Peeps I drove one of these today. Oh.........my............word! Simply sweet! Performance like wow

I used to think so too. Then last month I drove one and wasn't feeling too impressed. Not sure why.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 19th, 2013, 7:54 am

VW has a TPI related to leaking shock absorbers. It states basically that some oil should be present as a side effect during installation and should look "dry" but if it looks fresh or wet then the shock absorber is leaking and needs to be changed.

Team Loco wrote:Peeps I drove one of these today. Oh.........my............word! Simply sweet! Performance like wow

I was driving behind a white one this morning. My word they fast! Had to real push pedal to keep up :lol:

On another note has anyone driven behind a tsi Jetta and seen a cloud of black smoke emerge?? The white one I was following belched for a split second and it got me thinking to how sooty my exhaust tips are.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » August 19th, 2013, 9:30 am

Michael Westen drove a Jetta in last week's episode of Burn Notice!

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 19th, 2013, 10:51 am

DJ Q wrote:Michael Westen drove a Jetta in last week's episode of Burn Notice!

:pics:

neexis

Postby neexis » August 19th, 2013, 5:30 pm

nemesis wrote:

I used to think so too. Then last month I drove one and wasn't feeling too impressed. Not sure why.

Cuz the bimmer spoil you!!

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 19th, 2013, 6:22 pm

neexis wrote:
nemesis wrote:

Cuz the bimmer spoil you!!

This!

nemesis

Postby nemesis » August 20th, 2013, 7:05 am

Nah, iz not that. Usually could still have fun driving other cars. I think since it was my first time in the new model, the little extra refinement kinda took away some of the excitement... I mean, the new models are nicer, but they lost a little bit of that crazy feeling.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 20th, 2013, 8:00 am

the only extra refinement I noticed was leather on the door handle, a sliding centre armrest and new aircon control knobs. What else has changed?

Postby Habit7 » August 20th, 2013, 11:38 am

Other than N&M, where sells wiper blades for the Jetta?

Pros and Cons of new 1.4 tsi Jetta

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 20th, 2013, 11:52 am

Haven't purchased any yet but maybe ERM? Sterling maybe for Skoda octavia wiper blades?

Postby Habit7 » August 20th, 2013, 2:11 pm

ERM?? Sterling very pricey

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 20th, 2013, 2:16 pm

Habit7 wrote:ERM?? Sterling very pricey

ERM automotive limited in Chaguanus. I never went but practically anyone who owned a Euro has told me about them. How much Sterling would sell those blades for?

21 Ramsaran St Chaguanas
868-671-0318

nemesis

Postby nemesis » August 20th, 2013, 2:54 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:the only extra refinement I noticed was leather on the door handle, a sliding centre armrest and new aircon control knobs. What else has changed?

The build quality and size make it feel different. It's a little better put together. Feels less raw than the previous version. Keep in mind i'm talking about the previous version (old body shape), not just a facelift or anything.

For wiper blades, I always check Amazon first. ERM might have, although I doubt for any skoda since it's not a car sold in great volumes in Trinidad. That being said, buying a skoda and then buying wiper blades from Sterling doesn't seem to make sense to me unless they have their prices well adjusted for the brand.

Btw bunnyears, decided against selling the BMW. Going to keep it and get a normal daily driver also. Didn't make sense to put in so much extra for little gain. Lets just say it going to get a slight wild up too. When it reaches weekend car only status anyway.

Postby Habit7 » August 20th, 2013, 10:36 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:How much Sterling would sell those blades for?

Around +$300 for one. I currently buy my wipers from the UK but as selective as the online option can be, nothing beats instant gratification of in-store shopping.

nemesis, I picking some scorn for Skodas from you :?

nemesis

Postby nemesis » August 21st, 2013, 7:11 am

Not scorn. Actually have been rather liking the useability of the new Fabia for in town usage. Just saying, doesn't make sense to go to the dealer with amongst the highest service and parts cost in the country to buy very basic parts for what may be the cheapest euros in Trinidad.
Of course going there and seeing it before you purchase, and getting it instantly as you said does have a certain feel to it. And it's not the total price that's the issue for me, it's just the extreme markup. A pair of my wiper blades on amazon are 50US. Granted there's shipping and taxes, it still doesn't come up to anything near as much as the dealer. For the parts they have reasonably priced, I buy at the dealer, but just for the 80% markup on things like oil filters/wiper blades etc, I buy online.
Besides, if you have a skoda and go to buy wiper blades you'll lose that great feeling of buying at the dealer when you navigate your way through 5 or 6 E classes to get to the counter. :) Again, nothing against the skodas, just my view.

Postby Habit7 » August 21st, 2013, 11:04 am

Actually my bill at Sterling more times than not is cheaper than my bill at Southern Sales. One time I serviced at SS and I asked if it wasnt to much to rotate the tyres...at the end of the day I received an addition $100 on my bill for that request.

nicks1

Postby nicks1 » August 21st, 2013, 11:54 am

Any one ev

nicks1

Postby nicks1 » August 21st, 2013, 11:56 am

Anyone ever see a A4 Audi PCL 18 run whoa that thing is a beast and mean looking...thru euro monster.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 21st, 2013, 8:15 pm

nicks1 wrote:Anyone ever see a A4 Audi PCL 18 run whoa that thing is a beast and mean looking...thru euro monster.

Colour? Pics? North? South?

There is a white A4 in south with a body kit. Thing of beauty oui.

nicks1

Postby nicks1 » August 21st, 2013, 10:38 pm

Lightish blue saw it in south but that thing pass me on the beetham frightening speed...

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 21st, 2013, 11:18 pm

What speed were you going?

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » August 22nd, 2013, 12:39 am

I think I witnessed this light blue A4 some years back.
Was doing about 120 on the Beetham and that thing had me wondering if my handbrakes were up.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 22nd, 2013, 1:00 am

Nice!

nemesis

Postby nemesis » August 22nd, 2013, 6:42 am

Yeah I know the car. Isn't it a normal 1.8T though? Just some exterior mods I believe. Never seen it run hard.

EcoTune Trinidad

Postby EcoTune Trinidad » August 22nd, 2013, 6:44 am

That car is tuned...that's the owner of Wheels Wizard's friend

nemesis

Postby nemesis » August 22nd, 2013, 6:47 am

Yeah, seen them with the white and blue sometimes.
How much power he got out of it?
You did the tuning?

EcoTune Trinidad

Postby EcoTune Trinidad » August 22nd, 2013, 7:05 am

Not sure who tuned the blue one, but the white is doing between 230-250hp estimated

Return to “EURO”