Official 2NR | GT 5| Thread

Bacon

Re: Official | Gran Turismo 5 |Thread| Redbull X1 Giveaways

Postby Bacon » January 14th, 2011, 2:52 pm

Decided to test out the camera...

Nothing fancy....2 from my small garage....

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » January 14th, 2011, 2:56 pm

wagon r wrote:....i will add when i go online....haven't done so in 2 days. so it was you i passed in the advan yellow widebody squatted lancer.

....ah wash does wonders for your van apparently...my neighbour ask me if i paint it over.. :neutral: ..

yea... widebody = fiberglass kit, squatted lancer.... shocks buss and i running cut springs :oops:

Yeo

Postby Yeo » January 14th, 2011, 3:07 pm

wagon r wrote:

i in tonight. from about 10pm. and same for saturday night. be prepared to race for awhile.....i throwing out 10-15lap races from now...with multi lap races on the 'ring.

long races will be done on long tracks and before allyuh start complainin....the longer the race, the more money and experience you get. and to make sure you are upset....the races will not big in high hp cars....except the 'ring race, that could be a 500-600hp race.

who game...???

I in after midnite Saturday, tell me the exact hp allowable for the races,so I can go build a few options.....

Postby wagon r » January 14th, 2011, 3:14 pm

usual amount..... 250, 300, 400, 450, 500, 600. keep ah beast car just in case...+700hp.

keep it all street cars if possible...or atleast street based...

ShIvAm

Postby ShIvAm » January 14th, 2011, 3:16 pm

wagon r wrote:
ShIvAm wrote:im on the 5meg with no probs..... well only one time i was lagging for no reason all night but it seem as tho it stopped rite?

it stopped ...that was the first couple nights we started to race.

wrd 8-)

daz a full carbon fiber skyline i seeing day! :shock:

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » January 14th, 2011, 3:54 pm

wagon, what are your cars in each of those catergories?

Rensh

Postby Rensh » January 14th, 2011, 4:02 pm

Will be online tonight for sure from about 9:30pm... friday night gt5 lime with some partners again. So about 4 of us in the lobby normel normel. So tonight should have plenty people!

Postby wagon r » January 14th, 2011, 4:03 pm

...i have no specific cars honestly....take for instance, you could run an evo from 350 to 500hp just by takin out parts...

...is what you most comfortable with and have in your garage. i will say this though, and was confirmed with driftbizkit, RWD cars in your garage, while they run sweet in GT Life with no driver aids...are almost undriveable in online play unless you use TC at least...

i have a few RWD cars i would to run but to contain them when everyone else is running 4WD means that i have to fight the car and always lose time on the course.

but we'll see how it goes.

Rensh

Postby Rensh » January 14th, 2011, 4:09 pm

wagon r wrote:...is what you most comfortable with and have in your garage. i will say this though, and was confirmed with driftbizkit, RWD cars in your garage, while they run sweet in GT Life with no driver aids...are almost undriveable in online play unless you use TC at least...

i have a few RWD cars i would to run but to contain them when everyone else is running 4WD means that i have to fight the car and always lose time on the course.

but we'll see how it goes.

Same thing here, under intense racing rwd cars is pressure. What I doing is using the them for lower power races. 350 hp for the most.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » January 14th, 2011, 4:13 pm

yea i have teh lambo lp640 chrome line edition ( part of the collectors pack) but even max out, the suspension feels like crap at higher speeds. not impressed with the handleing of the lambno. the dodge viper race car devi have. is a BEAST

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 14th, 2011, 4:28 pm

I cool with the 10-15 lap races once the HP is higher than 400hp
anything slower will be torture

last night Rensh was running some races fixed to 3 car options - that was very cool as it leveled out the playing field very well. That same thing might be just the recipe for a 10-15 lap race. You dont want to reach in a 10-15 lap race and realise yuh chose the wrong car from your garage cause you didnt see what the last 3 ppl who joined came in with.

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » January 14th, 2011, 4:43 pm

MadCrix wrote:the 25 megs line i on, does real flow. no issuses at all. 25 dwon 1 meg up

the 5meg only have 256k upload.. anybody on that and have no problems?

5 megs flow , no problem , no lag ...been running it for about1 month now

Postby tr1ad » January 14th, 2011, 11:08 pm

fack allyuh yes

i waiting real long and no online racing
other people in the real world does hadda get up and work when 7am reach

4everstock

Postby 4everstock » January 14th, 2011, 11:44 pm

ok.........I'm in for Saturday......I have to build two more Lexus IS-F with lower Hp........that car wicked boy!!!

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » January 15th, 2011, 3:13 am

apparently race modding a car to race in a tuner lobby is a crime :| so dont waste any money like me by race modding ur cars , jus modify d engine :arrow:

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » January 15th, 2011, 10:09 am

breds the 3 am racing night before mash me up

i cap out 9 last ngiht

i in for sure tonight
i will be on from around 10-11ish till what ever time we finihs tom moring

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » January 15th, 2011, 1:03 pm

once im home i will be joining yuh

this was when we started up last night

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 15th, 2011, 1:36 pm

^ nice! the racing gets better when more ppl join - last night was good!!! I start getting fatigued by 1am though and end up coming last or second to last consistently :lol:, I feel next time I going to try some redbull or coffee!

NiTrOuS RaCeR wrote:apparently race modding a car to race in a tuner lobby is a crime :| so dont waste any money like me by race modding ur cars , jus modify d engine :arrow:
I can understand what you are saying.

initially we said if we racing street cars then we racing street cars and no race cars allowed in those races. However after some thought, once your car is under the HP limit and over the minimum weight limit I don't see any valid reason why you can't race with it. At first when I have my factory Evo IX with engine, transmission and suspension mods and I see Devi come out to race me with a Calsonic Impul GT-R (R35) I say BWTMC, but his car is over 1000kg and under 550hp and that's the regulations of the race - so be it, I ent see nutting wrong there - even though I getting licks :( , regulations are regulations. However the race cars and even the RM cars still have serious advantage in that there is downforce tuning that the self modified street cars don't have - so the no race car argument is at stalemate. IMO I'd still at least allow the RM cars, not race cars, since you can modify you street car to RM level if you wanted, you cannot however modify your street car to race car level. Depends on the other competitors in the room and what rules they want to set I guess...

what I have beef with is the driving aids and driving line.
IMO turn off all the driving aids as this levels the playing field and allows us to improve on setting our cars up WRT suspension, camber, traction etc etc and helps us all the improve our driving. So I suggest we leave them all OFF.
Similarly I suggest leave ON the driving line - last night we turned it off for a Nurburgring event and men were all over the place crashing into each other upsetting even guys who were innocently keeping their lines, you get pushed off in a S bend and next thing you know you get a short cut penalty cause you got shoved off cause the guy behind you didnt know the track too well.
The driving lines helps us all to learn the tracks, learn lines and keep the newer drivers in line.

I already hear the argument: "online racing is for racing, not for learning, if yuh want to learn go practice in the game", however the opponents in the game dont drive, react or retaliate like another human - which is why racing online teaches you to drive so much better.

All this is just my opinion - its up to the majority of people who are racing in the room to decide what the race settings are. In other words if yuh jump een a room with ppl racing already and TCS and driving line are off, respect that. Yuh could always ask though.

WRT the penalties... I think Polyphony needs to sort somethings out - but I hear guys saying "he bonx me but I get the penalty!!!", remember that on a racetrack there is a driving line with the right-of-way. The apex racing line is the right-of-way, so if you are not in that line and you get in the way someone who is taking that line, then you are wrong when they hit you and you will get the penalty!

Also read this:
FIA Regualtions wrote:The 1999 FIA Formula One World Championship Sporting Regulations cover overtaking under "incidents":

"Incident means any occurrence or series of occurrences involving one or more drivers, or any action by any driver, which is reported to the stewards by the race director (or noted by the stewards and referred to the race director for investigation) which:

- caused an avoidable collision;
- forced a driver off the track;
- illegitimately prevented a legitimate overtaking manoeuvre by a driver;
- illegitimately impeded another driver during overtaking.

The stewards may impose a 10 second time penalty on any driver involved in an Incident."

This quite clearly bans using physical contact to overtake and prohibits blocking a driver attempting to overtake.
Now before allyuh start laughing that I quoting FIA regulations, this is what the game uses and it's the primary reason for setting penalties in the game and understanding why you got a penalty. Granted it is impossible to see who is on the side of you in bumper cam view (I think most of us race using this view), it doesnt change the rules of the game.

Soundwave

Postby Soundwave » January 15th, 2011, 1:41 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ nice! the racing gets better when more ppl join - last night was good!!! I start getting fatigued by 1am though and end up coming last or second to last consistently :lol:, I feel next time I going to try some redbull or coffee!

NiTrOuS RaCeR wrote:apparently race modding a car to race in a tuner lobby is a crime :| so dont waste any money like me by race modding ur cars , jus modify d engine :arrow:
I can understand what you are saying.

initially we said if we racing street cars then we racing street cars and no race cars allowed in those races. However after some thought, once your car is under the HP limit and over the minimum weight limit I don't see any valid reason why you can't race with it. At first when I have my factory Evo IX with engine, transmission and suspension mods and I see Devi come out to race me with a Calsonic Impul GT-R (R35) I say BWTMC, but his car is over 1000kg and under 550hp and that's the regulations of the race - so be it, I ent see nutting wrong there - even though I getting licks :( , regulations are regulations. However the race cars and even the RM cars still have serious advantage in that there is downforce tuning that the self modified street cars don't have - so the no race car argument is at stalemate. IMO I'd still at least allow the RM cars, not race cars, since you can modify you street car to RM level if you wanted, you cannot however modify your street car to race car level. Depends on the other competitors in the room and what rules they want to set I guess...

what I have beef with is the driving aids and driving line.
IMO turn off all the driving aids as this levels the playing field and allows us to improve on setting our cars up WRT suspension, camber, traction etc etc and helps us all the improve our driving. So I suggest we leave them all OFF.
Similarly I suggest leave ON the driving line - last night we turned it off for a Nurburgring event and men were all over the place crashing into each other upsetting even guys who were innocently keeping their lines, you get pushed off in a S bend and next thing you know you get a short cut penalty cause you got shoved off cause the guy behind you didnt know the track too well.
The driving lines helps us all to learn the tracks, learn lines and keep the newer drivers in line.

I already hear the argument: "online racing is for racing, not for learning, if yuh want to learn go practice in the game", however the opponents in the game dont drive, react or retaliate like another human - which is why racing online teaches you to drive so much better.

All this is just my opinion - its up to the majority of people who are racing in the room to decide what the race settings are. In other words if yuh jump een a room with ppl racing already and TCS and driving line are off, respect that. Yuh could always ask though.

WRT the penalties... I think Polyphony needs to sort somethings out - but I hear guys saying "he bonx me but I get the penalty!!!", remember that on a racetrack there is a driving line with the right-of-way. The apex racing line is the right-of-way, so if you are not in that line and you get in the way someone who is taking that line, then you are wrong when they hit you and you will get the penalty!

Also read this:
FIA Regualtions wrote:The 1999 FIA Formula One World Championship Sporting Regulations cover overtaking under "incidents":

"Incident means any occurrence or series of occurrences involving one or more drivers, or any action by any driver, which is reported to the stewards by the race director (or noted by the stewards and referred to the race director for investigation) which:

- caused an avoidable collision;
- forced a driver off the track;
- illegitimately prevented a legitimate overtaking manoeuvre by a driver;
- illegitimately impeded another driver during overtaking.

The stewards may impose a 10 second time penalty on any driver involved in an Incident."

This quite clearly bans using physical contact to overtake and prohibits blocking a driver attempting to overtake.
Now before allyuh start laughing that I quoting FIA regulations, this is what the game uses and it's the primary reason for setting penalties in the game and understanding why you got a penalty. Granted it is impossible to see who is on the side of you in bumper cam view (I think most of us race using this view), it doesnt change the rules of the game.

what you saying might be true eh, but I waiting for TTASA to confirm...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 15th, 2011, 1:43 pm

^ ROFL - i look for that

Postby tr1ad » January 15th, 2011, 1:45 pm

wuh is driving aids?
advanced motor HIV?

Postby honda hoe » January 15th, 2011, 2:51 pm

LMAO @ soundwave

On a side note me teggy have tuners hot. Noshow duckin lix :?

xauss

Postby xauss » January 15th, 2011, 3:21 pm

dhal power evo IV...finally fully tuned...ready fuh some racing tonight...d kermit d frog yaris gettin a re-tune on the suspension and drivetrain as well...so ah good for a 200hp and a 500hp race...btw...i think i gonna leave out them X1 races...i had to spend literally a million credits to fix back meh X1 after the last online tuner battle...engine rebuild half a mil and chassis restoration was half mil too...so...it park up in d garage to look pretty right now lol....on another note...RB26DETT being tuned to 800hp....coming soon...hopefully by tomorrow night :D

xauss

Postby xauss » January 15th, 2011, 3:28 pm

hoe i cawlin you owt...ah tunin a hyundai fuh yuh :D

Postby wagon r » January 15th, 2011, 3:36 pm

RM street cars IMHO should be allowed to race as they are street cars with race parts, the same as buyin all the race parts and dumpin it in a car....minus the body kit. Race cars however.....is a race car.

the first corner "zoo" that happens in every race...while it may piss off some, esp. last night, doh feel bad...i had to go thru the same thing a last week.... and the problems arises where some players just want to get in front, no matter who is in front of them. some guys purposely hit you from behind, i have had guys run me into the pit wall just because they didn't want to be overtaken...really...that's your idea of racing...???

if i hit anyone by accident, i apologise on time. i try my best to race clean, but if you "leave the door open" Bizkit will tell you....i gone thru. so much so, if there are only a few cars racing, or someone who i could run with, if i'm infront, i would wait for them to catch up, so we could race. sometimes, it no fun to run by yourself.

if bizkit and i running a race, 5 laps long, we race and wait as we see fit, but once last lap reach....tuff, fight for it.

some folks complain for the long races....if 10 laps is long, how the hell you going to make out with the enduro races or the F1 challenge. Rensh, i feel yuh pain last night, but is what happens when you start at the back of a 10 man race. been there, done that.

anyway, 250 - 500 hp are to me a good limit to be set. TC or skid recovery should be allowed for guys to run RWD cars...it boring to have 9 men in 4wd evos and subbies and gtrs.

see you online later.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 15th, 2011, 4:22 pm

xauss wrote:i think i gonna leave out them X1 races...i had to spend literally a million credits to fix back meh X1 after the last online tuner battle...engine rebuild half a mil and chassis restoration was half mil too...so...it park up in d garage to look pretty right now lol....
i doh understand that, the damage you get in online racing is not permanent AFAIK

Check this
GTplanet wrote:Mechanical damage arrived via a patch 1.03

"UPDATE: The servers are back online and an in-game news notice has been posted, but it mentions nothing of exactly what changes v1.03 contains. However, as can be seen in the online “My Lounge” options for an online race, a new “Mechanical Damage” setting is available for the event with three settings, as described by the scrolling information bar on the bottom of the screen:

“None” – No mechanical damage.
“Light” – Mechanical parts can be damaged, but will “automatically be repaired after a short time has passed.”
“Heavy” – Mechanical damage will be more severe, and can only be repaired by making a pit stop. Damaged parts will be indicated with on-screen icons."
I mean technically you dont need to spend $1mil, just drive into the pit in an online race to repair the car.

I do know that after racing with a car for quite a few races an engine overhaul ads back lost HP. I had seen my car drop about 30HP and an engine overhaul brought it back - not sure that was because mechanical damage was on in online racing or if GT5 just "wears" the engine on your garage cars based on mileage.

Can anyone confirm?

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » January 15th, 2011, 5:49 pm

I was online last night and no one said they were racing :cry:
Is there a special 3ne2nr room or something?

Hondahoe: I still waiting on customs to clear my X1 :agrue:

Postby 16 cycles » January 15th, 2011, 5:49 pm

entered online today - first time...

picked a gtr...men vote for track....start race...calsonic this , red bull that...passing me...

goal was not to get lap !!

i hear what fellas saying about the fairness in car selection...

Postby honda hoe » January 15th, 2011, 6:10 pm

Novastar.. I hafta wait til tomorrow before I can send a next one

Add me and I will send it to u

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 15th, 2011, 6:35 pm

novastar1 wrote:I was online last night and no one said they were racing :cry:
Is there a special 3ne2nr room or something?
just add the people in the list in this thread. WHen you go into the community, click on any one of the people online, if they are racing in a room you will see a yellow head icon next to their lounge coffee mug - click the yellow head icon and you will see if they are racing with the rest of tuners - click to join - that's it. I think you need to be friends with the host in order to join group rooms.

-------------------

downforce is over rated! tune it for lift! :lol:

just took this on Eiger Nordwand short track