COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 730 cases, 12 deaths, 578 active, 140 discharged in T&T

Postby paid_influencer » August 20th, 2020, 6:42 pm

i feel is ah never done batch they reporting on

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 730 cases, 12 deaths, 578 active, 140 discharged in T&T

Postby toyolink » August 20th, 2020, 6:58 pm

Our statistics for daily infections for the period mid april to end july show very low infection rates (and the low instances were easily accounted for).
Come August our rates have hit crazy highs (eg 50 on 8th aug).
I have always felt the virus was amongst us from sometime in March and our present number of infected persons is more in the order of 8000.
With what is happening now and anticipated for the forseeable future, I havn't heard any explanation that can make sense.
The question now becomes...........are we ready to deal with case loads in the order of 100 per day?

Postby adnj » August 20th, 2020, 6:59 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:81 in a day is equivalent to the US having 18,500 cases a day. However, we are still under testing so in reality this could be a long hard peak that can last month's.
The USA was +43,798 confirmed cases today.

Postby aaron17 » August 20th, 2020, 7:06 pm

As seen on news...no social distancing as usual for the SEA students.at least they wearing masks.

Postby paid_influencer » August 20th, 2020, 7:07 pm

toyolink wrote:Our statistics for daily infections for the period mid april to end july show very low infection rates (and the low instances were easily accounted for).
I have always felt the virus was amongst us from sometime in March and our present number of infected persons is more in the order of 8000.
With what is happening now and anticipated for the forseeable future, I havn't heard any explanation that can make sense.
The question now becomes...........are we ready to deal with case loads in the order of 100 per day?

is like watching a plane crash happen

except we on the plane this time :drinking:

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 20th, 2020, 7:43 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
toyolink wrote:Our statistics for daily infections for the period mid april to end july show very low infection rates (and the low instances were easily accounted for).

Ent God is a Trini? Countries with an infection rate like this end up having at least 250 deaths per million.

Sad to say but we can end up with 300 deaths by end of the year.

Postby bluefete » August 20th, 2020, 7:48 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:

Ent God is a Trini? Countries with an infection rate like this end up having at least 250 deaths per million.

Sad to say but we can end up with 300 deaths by end of the year.

I don't think the death rate will be that high but the infection rate will continue to climb for a while.

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » August 20th, 2020, 8:04 pm

The peak should come in the next week then a gradual fall. We are doing approximately 1000 tests per day which is not bad. Our positivity rate is increasing and stands as 10% but should fall off after we hit the peak. If by end of next week new daily cases do not decrease a total lockdown is needed.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 767 cases, 12 deaths, 615 active, 140 discharged in T&T

Postby j.o.e » August 20th, 2020, 8:17 pm

aaron17 wrote:If a child like 8 years old have corona, what is the pricedure? Are they going to quarantine the person in isolation? The mindset of a child is different.

Minors quarantine with parents. One of the early imported cases was a child

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 20th, 2020, 8:19 pm

eitech wrote:https://www.facebook.com/100000174755994/posts/3810544895627965/

Screenshot 2020-08-20 at 8.11.27 PM.jpg

The whole UNC camp have this now watch and see.

Postby pugboy » August 20th, 2020, 8:25 pm

was he actively involved in this campaign ?

Dohplaydat wrote:

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 767 cases, 12 deaths, 615 active, 140 discharged in T&T

Postby paid_influencer » August 20th, 2020, 8:29 pm

He gave up politics before the campaign, iirc

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 20th, 2020, 8:32 pm

pugboy wrote:was he actively involved in this campaign ?

Dohplaydat wrote:

Yes he was but not as involved as many others.

Postby 88sins » August 20th, 2020, 8:42 pm

Short answer-no.
Long answer-When we reach that stage, many people will die. Iirc there's a grand total of less than 90 ventilators in this country, about 87 across both the public and private health care sectors, and patients requiring them usually have to stay on them for approximately 3 weeks.
Now, if cases cross 100/day and keep increasing, and 10 % of the total cases require hospitalization that's 210 ppl in the hospital on top of who already there, not accounting for additional incoming. If 20% of those hospitalized need ventilators that's 42 units occupied for the next 3 weeks, that's almost half. And like I said, that's not considering new incoming cases.
What's gonna happen when we reach that point, is people will be told to quarantine at home, unmonitored, and to try to treat their symptoms and make themselves as comfortable as possible. Elderly people that live alone and those with comorbidities will be the first to go.

Btw, none of that takes into consideration the fact that most severe cases, if they survive, have a bunch of other health problems like reduced lung, liver and renal function, just to list a few.
Allyuh, for real, take care of allyuh self and allyuh people. Be mindful of where you are, and what you do, and who around you, wear yuh mask, sanitize your surfaces and yourself. If not for yourself, for your kids, for your parents and grandparents, yuh spouse, your dog, yuh cat, yuh snake, yuh bird, yuh goldfish. Take precautions, if not for yourself, do it for the ones yuh claim to care about.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 20th, 2020, 9:24 pm

neilsingh100 wrote:The peak should come in the next week then a gradual fall. We are doing approximately 1000 tests per day which is not bad. Our positivity rate is increasing and stands as 10% but should fall off after we hit the peak. If by end of next week new daily cases do not decrease a total lockdown is needed.

Neil or shakes correct me if I'm wrong, but are we doing 1000 tests a day or is that samples they're taking (hence the backlog).

Postby De Dragon » August 20th, 2020, 9:29 pm

CARPHA is incapable of that amount by itself, as was admitted early in the pandemic, so either that's combined with the new labs, or inclusive of rapid testing.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 20th, 2020, 10:02 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:

464e7e78-4d9e-4a05-84e4-292c853dee55.jpg

Postby mero » August 20th, 2020, 10:24 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:

464e7e78-4d9e-4a05-84e4-292c853dee55.jpg
Ffs

Postby pugboy » August 20th, 2020, 10:27 pm

Oh oh, hope they all isolating

Postby MaxPower » August 20th, 2020, 10:32 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:From covid to unc/pnm to zesser then FUL...all in one thread...allyuh good yes...LOL

All,

Any questions/information needed for a FUL,

Contact Lancer1234

He is the man with the LINK.

Postby shogun » August 20th, 2020, 10:52 pm

88sins wrote:Btw, none of that takes into consideration the fact that most severe cases, if they survive, have a bunch of other health problems like reduced lung, liver and renal function, just to list a few.
Allyuh, for real, take care of allyuh self and allyuh people. Be mindful of where you are, and what you do, and who around you, wear yuh mask, sanitize your surfaces and yourself. If not for yourself, for your kids, for your parents and grandparents, yuh spouse, your dog, yuh cat, yuh snake, yuh bird, yuh goldfish. Take precautions, if not for yourself, do it for the ones yuh claim to care about.

That.

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » August 20th, 2020, 11:13 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
neilsingh100 wrote:The peak should come in the next week then a gradual fall. We are doing approximately 1000 tests per day which is not bad. Our positivity rate is increasing and stands as 10% but should fall off after we hit the peak. If by end of next week new daily cases do not decrease a total lockdown is needed.

Neil or shakes correct me if I'm wrong, but are we doing 1000 tests a day or is that samples they're taking (hence the backlog).
I recall in one of the media briefings Dr. Naresh Nandram said they were doing close to 1000 tests/day.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » August 21st, 2020, 1:18 am

How are we so sure the peak is coming next week?

Postby aaron17 » August 21st, 2020, 3:38 am

Was reading up about false negatives and positives. What is the rate we have? 10 percent?

Postby maj. tom » August 21st, 2020, 8:25 am

Numb3r4 wrote:How are we so sure the peak is coming next week?

I think that's what they're hoping for from infections that actually happened 2 weeks prior. And hoping also that people are adhering to the latest Government lockdown to limit the spread. So the peak should be from when interaction was unchecked.

Let's hope that they're right.

carluva

Postby carluva » August 21st, 2020, 8:29 am

I'm doubtful.

I think they are expecting a peak, hence the reason why we are in restrictions for two 14 day periods, totalling 28 days in the first instance. This may be in anticipation of spread during the election campaign and day of voting. The country went into the 28 day restrictions 5 days after the election.

By that logic, if sound, we may not have yet seen a peak just yet.
maj. tom wrote:
Numb3r4 wrote:How are we so sure the peak is coming next week?

I think that's what they're hoping for from infections that actually happened 2 weeks prior. And hoping also that people are adhering to the latest Government lockdown to limit the spread. So the peak should be from when interaction was unchecked.

Let's hope that they're right.

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » August 21st, 2020, 9:00 am

I can confirm that 7 people in mt hope lab under quarantine with one positive case and the other 6 awaiting results.

Postby matr1x » August 21st, 2020, 9:19 am

Pnm gift to the ppl

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » August 21st, 2020, 10:31 am

PNM bring the covid and give we it. Bring a vote of no confidence against them. Call elections now!