AdamB wrote:Can the concept of time be applied / subjected to GOD? He created time. He said the son of Adam abuses Him by his abuse of time.
GOD has informed us that the question "Who created GOD?" Is from the Whisper of Satan.
(Muslim perspective).
ichiniisama99 wrote:crossdrilled wrote:Ok, great, satan is a great tempter, he leads you into evil... God punishes you for listening to him... by sending you to live with him? I would think that if he went through all that troubble, there would be a reward in hell for you. quote]
Doesn't make sense does it? This is because "Hell" isn't really a place of torture. That word "hell" comes from a greek word "Gehenna" , which in Bible times was a place near Jerusalem where they would throw the bodies of repulsive criminals into a dump and keep a fire burning to get rid of the garbage and the bodies. So in other words those criminals were not deserving of a decent burial. So in those days when the word "hell" (or "gehenna") was used, persons knew that it referred to the treatment of those bodies, and that it was a figurative eternal death, not eternal torture. Some things in the bible are not literal, when Jesus spoke he used illustrations so that the people of his day could understand what he was talking about. But nowadays the eternal fire and torment concept is kept alive so people would be afraid.
The thing is though, that most religious leaders teach that if a person is good, they go to heaven, and if they're bad, hell fuh it, but in a funeral whether a man or woman or child was good or bad, do they ever say that person going to hell? i never heard it...seems fishy to me.
crossdrilled wrote:Ok, great, satan is a great tempter, he leads you into evil... God punishes you for listening to him... by sending you to live with him? I would think that if he went through all that troubble, there would be a reward in hell for you. Satan must be one sick mofo to want to send your soul his way just so he can torture you. Does satan get something out of tortureing you? What is his motivation?
It's not like yuh going to live with him. Everyone in hell will be punished with varying degrees of fire. The fire of hell is 70 times the fire that we kindle. Jinns even though made of smokeless fire, will also be burned. Imagine a fire so intense that it burns fire of a lesser degree.
There is no reward in hell and it aint gonna be like a party down there! The descriptions we have of the punishment to be meted out include bodies enlarged, skins burnt and replenished and burnt over and over again. Replenished because the nerve cells get burnt so the person does not feel the pain but the point of the punishment is so that the pain will be felt over and over again.
One more thing.... I asking here really don't know.... this thing about Jinn... that means unseen spirits sent by the devil right? Never got a good explanation of those even from Imams... and I have read conflicting stuff online..... they seem reluctant to talk about them for some reason. Also, what powers these Jinn have? can they posess you and cause harm to you or are they just temptes and "whisperers" as well.
ABA Trading LTD wrote:AdamB wrote:Can the concept of time be applied / subjected to GOD? He created time. He said the son of Adam abuses Him by his abuse of time.
GOD has informed us that the question "Who created GOD?" Is from the Whisper of Satan.
(Muslim perspective).
God has said...god has informed us....
just curious again, where did GOD say and inform us ? in the flawed MAN-MADE koran,bible, all other holy books?
megadoc1 wrote:crossdrilled wrote:Them Jehovas wittness real nice. Always coming by your house, giving you free stuff to read and I guess a fire engine service cause all I hear is they saving you from fire.... jolly good chaps.. bravo.
lol! yuh lie they don't think that a good God will send you to hell..wait what kinda fire yuh talking about?
maj. tom wrote:are you 6 years old or something?
AdamB wrote:ichiniisama99 wrote:crossdrilled wrote:Ok, great, satan is a great tempter, he leads you into evil... God punishes you for listening to him... by sending you to live with him? I would think that if he went through all that troubble, there would be a reward in hell for you. quote]
Doesn't make sense does it? This is because "Hell" isn't really a place of torture. That word "hell" comes from a greek word "Gehenna" , which in Bible times was a place near Jerusalem where they would throw the bodies of repulsive criminals into a dump and keep a fire burning to get rid of the garbage and the bodies. So in other words those criminals were not deserving of a decent burial. So in those days when the word "hell" (or "gehenna") was used, persons knew that it referred to the treatment of those bodies, and that it was a figurative eternal death, not eternal torture. Some things in the bible are not literal, when Jesus spoke he used illustrations so that the people of his day could understand what he was talking about. But nowadays the eternal fire and torment concept is kept alive so people would be afraid.
The thing is though, that most religious leaders teach that if a person is good, they go to heaven, and if they're bad, hell fuh it, but in a funeral whether a man or woman or child was good or bad, do they ever say that person going to hell? i never heard it...seems fishy to me.
This is one of the deviations (or unique) belief of the JW from mainstream christianity, that there is no hell, no place of punishment for criminals, polytheists, etc. That those people who we say are deserving to go to hell, will cease to exist instead. There is no justice in this for the ones affected by the bad deeds of the murderer, criminal, etc.
Ichi, can you confirm this. It would also be good to get a comment from a "mainstream" christian.
AdamB wrote:megadoc1 wrote:crossdrilled wrote:Them Jehovas wittness real nice. Always coming by your house, giving you free stuff to read and I guess a fire engine service cause all I hear is they saving you from fire.... jolly good chaps.. bravo.
lol! yuh lie they don't think that a good God will send you to hell..wait what kinda fire yuh talking about?
I used to think that the JW, due to their belief that Jesus is not GOD (they don't believe in the Trinity), was somewhat closer to the belief in Islam. But I changed that view and instead saw that it was worse. The reason being that normal christians do believe in ONE GOD in their minds so they try to make the 3 gods of the trinity into 1. However, the JW believe that Jesus is separate from GOD but still HIS SON, more than a man.
They also believe that Jesus was the first angel, chief as it were. It sounds preposterous to me, but that's just me. Evidence that people twist and turn the scriptures. It's amazing that after over 1800 yrs, they JW now come along and suddenly know all the truths that the bible holds.
ichiniisama99 wrote:
Doesn't make sense does it? This is because "Hell" isn't really a place of torture. That word "hell" comes from a greek word "Gehenna" , which in Bible times was a place near Jerusalem where they would throw the bodies of repulsive criminals into a dump and keep a fire burning to get rid of the garbage and the bodies. So in other words those criminals were not deserving of a decent burial. So in those days when the word "hell" (or "gehenna") was used, persons knew that it referred to the treatment of those bodies, and that it was a figurative eternal death, not eternal torture.
γέεννα
geenna
gheh'-en-nah
Of Hebrew origin ([H1516] and [H2011]); valley of (the son of) Hinnom; gehenna (or Ge-Hinnom), a valley of Jerusalem, used (figuratively) as a name for the place (or state) of everlasting punishment: - hell.
Gehenna is a Greek word borrowed from the Hebrew language. In Mark 9:43-44, Jesus speaks of hell (gehenna). Hell is a Greek translation of the Hebrew “Valley of Hinnom,” a place outside Jerusalem’s walls desecrated by Molech worship and human sacrifice (2 Chronicles 28:1-3; Jeremiah 32:35). It was also a garbage dump where rubbish and refuse were burned. The smoldering fires and festering worms of the Valley of Hinnom made it a graphic and effective picture of the fate of the damned. This is the lake of fire prepared for the devil and his angels (Matthew 25:41). Men only go to this place prepared for the devil and his angels if they reject God’s salvation and condemn themselves.
ichiniisama99 wrote:Some things in the bible are not literal, when Jesus spoke he used illustrations so that the people of his day could understand what he was talking about. But nowadays the eternal fire and torment concept is kept alive so people would be afraid.
Rev 20:9-15 They came up over the surface of the earth and surrounded the encampment of the saints, the beloved city. Then fire came down from heaven and consumed them.
10 The Devil who deceived them was thrown into the lake of fire and sulfur where the beast and the false prophet are, and they will be tormented day and night forever and ever.
11 Then I saw a great white throne and One seated on it. Earth and heaven fled from His presence, and no place was found for them.
12 I also saw the dead, the great and the small, standing before the throne, and books were opened. Another book was opened, which is the book of life, and the dead were judged according to their works by what was written in the books.
13 Then the sea gave up its dead, and Death and * Hades gave up their dead; all were judged according to their works.
14 Death and Hades were thrown into the lake of fire. This is the second death, the lake of fire.
15 And anyone not found written in the book of life was thrown into the lake of fire.
can you say who are the religious leaders that teach this? because its not the message of the bible, the bible teaches that one is save by faith..ichiniisama99 wrote:The thing is though, that most religious leaders teach that if a person is good, they go to heaven, and if they're bad, hell fuh it,
Dizzy28 wrote:AdamB wrote:megadoc1 wrote:crossdrilled wrote:Them Jehovas wittness real nice. Always coming by your house, giving you free stuff to read and I guess a fire engine service cause all I hear is they saving you from fire.... jolly good chaps.. bravo.
I used to think that the JW, due to their belief that Jesus is not GOD (they don't believe in the Trinity), was somewhat closer to the belief in Islam. But I changed that view and instead saw that it was worse. The reason being that normal christians do believe in ONE GOD in their minds so they try to make the 3 gods of the trinity into 1. However, the JW believe that Jesus is separate from GOD but still HIS SON, more than a man.
They also believe that Jesus was the first angel, chief as it were. It sounds preposterous to me, but that's just me. Evidence that people twist and turn the scriptures. It's amazing that after over 1800 yrs, they JW now come along and suddenly know all the truths that the bible holds.
On the flip side...........
"It's amazing that after only 1400 yrs, the Muslims now come along and suddenly theirs is the only truth."
ichiniisama99 wrote:Some things in the bible are not literal, when Jesus spoke he used illustrations so that the people of his day could understand what he was talking about.\
Bizzare wrote:ichiniisama99 wrote:Some things in the bible are not literal, when Jesus spoke he used illustrations so that the people of his day could understand what he was talking about.\
So how exactly do you choose what is literal and what isn't?
AdamB wrote:megadoc1 wrote:crossdrilled wrote:Them Jehovas wittness real nice. Always coming by your house, giving you free stuff to read and I guess a fire engine service cause all I hear is they saving you from fire.... jolly good chaps.. bravo.
AdamB wrote:Bizzare wrote:ichiniisama99 wrote:Some things in the bible are not literal, when Jesus spoke he used illustrations so that the people of his day could understand what he was talking about.\
Make the text obsolete and send down a new book with straight talk, no parables / beating around the bush.
AdamB wrote:Bizzare wrote:ichiniisama99 wrote:Some things in the bible are not literal, when Jesus spoke he used illustrations so that the people of his day could understand what he was talking about.\
Make the text obsolete and send down a new book with straight talk, no parables / beating around the bush.
AdamB wrote:Dizzy28 wrote:AdamB wrote:megadoc1 wrote:crossdrilled wrote:Them Jehovas wittness real nice. Always coming by your house, giving you free stuff to read and I guess a fire engine service cause all I hear is they saving you from fire.... jolly good chaps.. bravo.
On the flip side...........
"It's amazing that after only 1400 yrs, the Muslims now come along and suddenly theirs is the only truth."
Its was established 1400 YEARS AGO, just 600 plus years in our era (AD). JW was established in the late 1870s (that's almost 1900 yrs AD. See the difference?
ichiniisama99 wrote:AdamB wrote:Bizzare wrote:ichiniisama99 wrote:Some things in the bible are not literal, when Jesus spoke he used illustrations so that the people of his day could understand what he was talking about.\
You compare them to other scriptures and analyze the subject of that scripture, and what it applies to. Scriptures before and after contribute to its meaning, the situation at the time it was written, etc., which calls for deep study.
maj. tom wrote:^ isn't that a good idea? why doesn't god just send down a new text now that we have modern technology to record it accurately for all ages to come. Why doesn't he send something that this modern population will believe and understand to be credible in stride with all our current knowledge of the Universe?
And there are Universities now that could examine and verify it and accredit it.
Bizzare wrote:ichiniisama99 wrote:AdamB wrote:Bizzare wrote:ichiniisama99 wrote:Some things in the bible are not literal, when Jesus spoke he used illustrations so that the people of his day could understand what he was talking about.\
You compare them to other scriptures and analyze the subject of that scripture, and what it applies to. Scriptures before and after contribute to its meaning, the situation at the time it was written, etc., which calls for deep study.
WRONG!
Interpretation should come only through the Holy Spirit according to the bible. Man is subject to mistake and after all, it is the word of God..... not man.
AdamB wrote:Because HE already has, the HOLY QUR'AAN!!!
ichiniisama99 wrote:AdamB wrote:Because HE already has, the HOLY QUR'AAN!!!
i never said the Bible was superior to the Qur'aan