T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

urbandilema

Re: New Vehicle Prices In Trinidad & Tobago 2016

Postby urbandilema » March 23rd, 2016, 12:16 am

Wait how toyota tnt bringing used cars...I saw the same on the papers and I was like wait a min...in my maxim baddy voice:shock:

zando

Postby zando » March 23rd, 2016, 6:20 am

Sooooo, here is the new Impreza! kind of looks like the Corolla now, but a lil more upscale, i like that touring car esque spoiler :lol: :lol: would i buy this? I think i would consider it, depending on how it drives.

http://www.autoblog.com/2016/03/10/2017-subaru-impreza-teaser/

Postby Morpheus » March 23rd, 2016, 6:41 am

Ugh.....

Pirate

Postby Pirate » March 23rd, 2016, 9:07 am

That is essentially a toned down WRX look. Not too bad.
Waiting to hear how Messy ah mean Massy price a car that is in the price range of the corolla in the international market be over 40K to 50K more here...

tacf85

Postby tacf85 » March 23rd, 2016, 1:23 pm

Don't know if it's a foolish question but SUV's cabin width bigger than a car cabin width?

4Motion

Postby 4Motion » March 23rd, 2016, 2:56 pm

tacf85 wrote:Don't know if it's a foolish question but SUV's cabin width bigger than a car cabin width?

I think from a little research online. Generally a SUV is marginally wider than an equivalent car (with in the same brand). So a Tucson is wider than an Elantra. A Q5 is wider than a A4.

tacf85

Postby tacf85 » March 23rd, 2016, 7:44 pm

Guys I think I'm settled with the VW Amarok. A very spacious van and have great safety features. Did a test drive also and its firm on the road. Great vehicle..

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » March 23rd, 2016, 7:47 pm

VW?

go with god

Postby Gladiator » March 23rd, 2016, 7:52 pm

tacf85 wrote:Guys I think I'm settled with the VW Amarok. A very spacious van and have great safety features. Did a test drive also and its firm on the road. Great vehicle..

the diesel Passat failed on our local brew... would be interesting to see how the pickup handles it.

carluva

Postby carluva » March 23rd, 2016, 9:17 pm

kjaglal76v2 wrote:VW?

go with god

^^^^ lol.... Agreed

Postby Morpheus » March 23rd, 2016, 9:33 pm

kjaglal76v2 wrote:VW?

go with god

Hahhaha!!!

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » March 23rd, 2016, 9:42 pm

tacf85 wrote:Guys I think I'm settled with the VW Amarok. A very spacious van and have great safety features. Did a test drive also and its firm on the road. Great vehicle..

You will be sorryyyyyyyy

Postby cinco » March 23rd, 2016, 9:56 pm

Yuh better off buying a wingle

Postby nervewrecker » March 23rd, 2016, 10:19 pm

Them frontier prices looking good.

Sent from my ONE E1005 using Tapatalk

carluva

Postby carluva » March 23rd, 2016, 10:37 pm

cinco wrote:Yuh better off buying a wingle

Rotfl.... Wingle! Haha... Tell d man he good with a musso too.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » March 23rd, 2016, 10:46 pm

Gladiator wrote:

the diesel Passat failed on our local brew... would be interesting to see how the pickup handles it.

Nah man is a commercial vehicle. Well tried and tested engine and transmission. Tuned for our diesel as well so should be a good buy.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » March 24th, 2016, 12:36 am

I would avoid VW now till the management of bess auto change

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Postby zoom rader » March 24th, 2016, 5:42 am

Pointman-IA wrote:

You will be sorryyyyyyyy

Why?

carluva

Postby carluva » March 24th, 2016, 6:36 am

Curious... How you went from a 7 seater that needed to fit 3 car seats to a pickup (VW no less) which are usually really cramped in the back?

And why the VW amarok over other vans?

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » March 24th, 2016, 7:09 am

quietdevil wrote:
jhonnieblue wrote:I would avoid VW now till the management of bess auto change

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Seconded and thirded...the entire VW brand needs to be given to someone who can appreciate the brand. Best Auto service, managers, technicians qualify to work under a mango tree at most

ZoomRaider...
Look the reason why.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » March 24th, 2016, 7:20 am

I have never heard of a pleasant experience with any dealership in Trinidad when having to do major warranty work. They will all give you major run around. Jetta buyers had a rough time with a major recall concerning the transmission, hence the vw hate.
If you think the grass is greener at the other dealers think again!

Postby cinco » March 24th, 2016, 7:38 am

drchaos wrote:I have never heard of a pleasant experience with any dealership in Trinidad when having to do major warranty work. They will all give you major run around. Jetta buyers had a rough time with a major recall concerning the transmission, hence the vw hate.

So far the tiguan has been the only trouble free vw to hit Trinidad as per owners.
Would you risk the chance with a brand new model like the Amazon, especially amid dieselgate?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » March 24th, 2016, 10:10 am

Diesel gate? Didn't know you cared about the environment so much cinco.
Amarok has been out since 2010/2011 in other markets.

All automotive companies have scandals, Trini's beloved Toyota's were killing people with poorly designed accelerator pedals that were getting stuck and they covered it up until they were caught.

carluva

Postby carluva » March 24th, 2016, 10:16 am

drchaos wrote:I have never heard of a pleasant experience with any dealership in Trinidad when having to do major warranty work. They will all give you major run around. Jetta buyers had a rough time with a major recall concerning the transmission, hence the vw hate.

Agreed. I had pissy experiences with McEarneney Motors back in the day (when I had a Focus and a Ranger) and $hitty experiences with my VW a few years ago. Although to be fair, Best Auto did treat me fairly well (probably cause I nagged the Service Manager and spoke to the GM a few times). I've heard many talk about Southern Sales being the worst so maybe that's their contribution to Best Auto (as they have 50% joint ownership in the brand).

All dealers sweet talk you into marriage with their brand and once you tie the knot, if things start to go wrong, that's when you see the true nature of the beast.

But from all you peeps experiences, who would you say offer the least horrible service experience, particularly for major problems?

agent007

Postby agent007 » March 24th, 2016, 11:39 am

Good info
Last edited by agent007 on March 31st, 2016, 2:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby A172 » March 24th, 2016, 11:48 am

vw is a $hotta brand tho

Sent from my E6883 using Tapatalk

tacf85

Postby tacf85 » March 24th, 2016, 12:22 pm

The reason I want to choose VW because firstly my wife don't want a foreign used vehicle.. All the seven seaters SUV are to expensive and the other brand new 7 seaters we don't really like. We saw the Amarok yesterday and it was very wide and spacious.. The car seats are fitting without stress and there is feature to deactivate the airbag in front if we decide to put a child there. The normal 5 seat SUV's is a very tight fit. The Amarok is not cramping for space at all.. But I'm still listening to advice.. Nothing cast on stone yet.. Appreciate the feedback I'm getting. Also it have isofix and some pretty good safety features for the kids safety.

carluva

Postby carluva » March 24th, 2016, 12:35 pm

Did some research myself and you can get narrow car seats which can fit three across the back... If this is the case, then this does not limit you to a 7-seater SUV. You can get a decent sized SUV with a lot of room in the back seat (like a forester), buy the narrow car seats (which mind you have great ratings and reviews) and you should be in business... Check out this URL:

http://www.thecarcrashdetective.com/3-a ... uide-html/

Pay particular notice to some SUVs such as the Rav 4 and CX-5 which, due to its overlapping rear seat belt configuration, is not recommended for three seats in the back. Hence the reason I suggested the Forester as I think this is the most spacious SUV in its class. You may even be able to get away with a large car...

As a note also, don't get too hung up by ISOFIX for a few reasons. Many cars coming with this now so this is pretty much a standard feature. And, more importantly, at or above a particular weight of child + weight or car seat, ISOFIX is not recommended. Strapping the car seat in with the seat belt and tether hooks is advised. This is due to the fact that the seatbelts have a higher restraining strength that the ISOFIX i.e. in an accident, the seatbelt would hold the car seat back and then the harness of the car seat will hold the child back and this is more effective that the ISOFIX which will then have to hold back the inertia of the car seat + child. Look at your car seat manual and you will see that its clearly stated to use the seat belt to secure the car seat above a certain weight.

And if your concerned about vehicular safety for you and the kids, check out Australia NCAP and Euro NCAP websites. A lot of crash safety ratings for many of the vehicles currently being sold here in T&T.

Oh yeah - I'm a former VW owner and for what its worth, I'll probably never go back with a VW cause I got burned with the vehicle. Other folks here get burned with Best Auto and some both. The point is, consider the experiences people share with not only VW but any other brands for that matter. Notice how many ppl have issues with VWs on various tuner forums. Plus the Amarok is new to our market - it may fear well, but IMO, I'd think odds are really against it to do so.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 24th, 2016, 12:51 pm

tacf85 wrote:The reason I want to choose VW because firstly my wife don't want a foreign used vehicle.. All the seven seaters SUV are to expensive and the other brand new 7 seaters we don't really like. We saw the Amarok yesterday and it was very wide and spacious.. The car seats are fitting without stress and there is feature to deactivate the airbag in front if we decide to put a child there. The normal 5 seat SUV's is a very tight fit. The Amarok is not cramping for space at all.. But I'm still listening to advice.. Nothing cast on stone yet.. Appreciate the feedback I'm getting. Also it have isofix and some pretty good safety features for the kids safety.

Any new vehicle on the market be careful in buying. Dealer will always tell you there are no issues or they issues were fixed or the vehicle was designed for our climate/fuel/puncheon etc.

Also sometimes simpler is better. Feature lists are good but not the be all and end all. You can't drive features if your vehicle isn't driveable for instance. Have you checked out other vans as well?

Postby cinco » March 24th, 2016, 2:11 pm

drchaos wrote:Diesel gate? Didn't know you cared about the environment so much cinco.
Amarok has been out since 2010/2011 in other markets.

All automotive companies have scandals, Trini's beloved Toyota's were killing people with poorly designed accelerator pedals that were getting stuck and they covered it up until they were caught.

Umm dieselgate has more to do with vw as a company than the environment you know...