Dohplaydat wrote:wing wrote:Can someone contract covid if they have on a mask, exercise social distancing, limit interaction at work or in public, sanitise rigorously etc?maj. tom wrote:Soon the authorities will have to start blaming someone else for this to save face.
Probably blame the patients themselves.
Yes but the risk is lower.
According to the latest studies just being in the same room with a Covid+ person for a day, even if you both wear masks and stay 10ft apart, you still have a relatively high chance of contracting it. Especially if the room is poorly ventilated.
But like many have said, practicing social distancing and mask wearing will reduce your risk significantly, but it's definitely not foolproof
Thanks, the point I'm making is that the majority of patients will have themselves to blame. It will be interesting to see the figures in the next couple of weeks after the events of yesterday.Dohplaydat wrote:wing wrote:Can someone contract covid if they have on a mask, exercise social distancing, limit interaction at work or in public, sanitise rigorously etc?maj. tom wrote:Soon the authorities will have to start blaming someone else for this to save face.
According to the latest studies just being in the same room with a Covid+ person for a day, even if you both wear masks and stay 10ft apart, you still have a relatively high chance of contracting it. Especially if the room is poorly ventilated.
But like many have said, practicing social distancing and mask wearing will reduce your risk significantly, but it's definitely not foolproof
redmanjp wrote:Dohplaydat wrote:wing wrote:Can someone contract covid if they have on a mask, exercise social distancing, limit interaction at work or in public, sanitise rigorously etc?maj. tom wrote:Soon the authorities will have to start blaming someone else for this to save face.
can you cite a source? would like to send it to some work colleagues
redmanjp wrote:Dohplaydat wrote:wing wrote:Can someone contract covid if they have on a mask, exercise social distancing, limit interaction at work or in public, sanitise rigorously etc?maj. tom wrote:Soon the authorities will have to start blaming someone else for this to save face.
maj. tom wrote:
I still remember on the last day of July how the PM said they observed the outbreaks following this exact pattern in NY and other places , but they will continue to flaunt those observation by trusting the public to do the right thing (the public is stupid and everyone knows this). And he should have been more strict right there like he finally did yesterday. Elections could have happened still and the same results would be there. It's useless now to discuss this because the past is done and gone, but i'm sure you know how politics are played out.
K74T wrote:FB_IMG_1597680156914.jpegFB_IMG_1597680203804.jpegFB_IMG_1597680206744.jpeg
X-Axis wrote:12 deaths now
redmanjp wrote:X-Axis wrote:12 deaths now
so that's 4 ppl for this wave so far. how much allyuh think we would reach for this wave? 20? 50?
88sins wrote:So I was watching the news yesterday.
Seems the virus has mutated, US based researchers have discovered that several samples of the virus have mutated, developing characteristics that would allow it to attach itself to cells easier and more securely, making it more contagious and more difficult for the body's immune response system to battle than earlier samples.
As of now, they're awaiting the results of peer review testing to confirm.
aaron17 wrote:How much you think they should be charging ppl who not wearing masks?
redmanjp wrote:so in the absence of community testing at the beginning of the first wave- do u think there could have been just as much cases then & they went undetected, or is it still more now?
Will D614G Make Infections More Severe?
So far there is no evidence that infection with SARS-CoV-2 containing the G614 variant will lead to more severe disease. By examining clinical data from 999 COVID-19 cases diagnosed in the United Kingdom, Korber et al. (2020) found that patients infected with viruses containing G614 had higher levels of virus RNA, but they did not find a difference in hospitalization outcomes.
Grubaugh et al., Making Sense of Mutation: What D614G Means for the COVID-19 Pandemic RemainsUnclear, Cell (2020), https://doi.org/10.1016/j.cell.2020.06.040 URL:https://www.cell.com/cell/pdf/S0092-8674(20)30817-5.pdf
pugboy wrote:the question is if covid mutates just like the common cold which is the reason there is no vaccine for the common cold
redmanjp wrote:aaron17 wrote:How much you think they should be charging ppl who not wearing masks?
$5000-20000, and maybe made to pay their hospital bill if they positive
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:pugboy wrote:the question is if covid mutates just like the common cold which is the reason there is no vaccine for the common cold
To add to this...let's say the vaccine has been created(as claimed by some countries) would it stand up to the mutated virus?? Or back to drawing board again
Poor ventilation is always an issue unless you are wearing a hazmat suit with a N100 respirator.PariaMan wrote:https://www.ucsf.edu/news/2020/07/418181/one-more-reason-wear-mask-youll-get-less-sick-covid-19#:~:text=It's%20likely%20that%20face%20masks,specialist%20at%20UC%20San%20Francisco.redmanjp wrote:Dohplaydat wrote:wing wrote:Can someone contract covid if they have on a mask, exercise social distancing, limit interaction at work or in public, sanitise rigorously etc?maj. tom wrote:Soon the authorities will have to start blaming someone else for this to save face.