COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 552 cases, 11 deaths, 401 active, 140 discharged in T&T

Postby 88sins » August 17th, 2020, 6:23 am

So I was watching the news yesterday.
Seems the virus has mutated, US based researchers have discovered that several samples of the virus have mutated, developing characteristics that would allow it to attach itself to cells easier and more securely, making it more contagious and more difficult for the body's immune response system to battle than earlier samples.
As of now, they're awaiting the results of peer review testing to confirm.

asmr26

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 552 cases, 11 deaths, 401 active, 140 discharged in T&T

Postby asmr26 » August 17th, 2020, 8:38 am

I can confirm that this is happening.

I was contacted by the MOH Surveillance centre last week as I was deemed to a be a primary contact of a COVID+ patient. The Surveillance centre confirmed that an ambulance was being sent for the patient on Thursday afternoon. This did not happen. The SC called back on Friday to track our symptoms and indicated that their resources are maxed out and an ambulance could not be sent on Thursday so one would have been sent later on Friday. Again, this did not happen.

On Friday night, the patient developed chest pains and difficulty breathing. I called 800-WELL on his behalf several times and there was no response. I then called 811. They informed me that they were not at liberty to pick up the patient as they could not bring him to the San Fernando General Hospital as this posed a contamination risk and we needed to wait until the specially-assigned COVID ambulances were available to pick him up. When asked when this would be, they said that there was very little available space at the Couva and Caura facilities and they were waiting for space to be made available before they could pick him up.

The ambulance finally arrived at 4:00 p.m. yesterday, over 72 hours after the patient was informed that he was positive and almost 48 hours after he began experiencing breathing difficulties.

Clearly, the parallel health care system is maxed out and the primary healthcare system is apparently not available to COVID+ patients. The authorities are not being truthful.
FB_IMG_1597636385707.jpeg
FB_IMG_1597636385707.jpeg (40.49 KiB) Viewed 2173 times

Postby maj. tom » August 17th, 2020, 8:55 am

Soon the authorities will have to start blaming someone else for this to save face.
Probably blame the patients themselves.

Postby pugboy » August 17th, 2020, 8:58 am

express says guy who died was picked up 8 days after test and died not long after.

by this week things will be maxed out

Postby adnj » August 17th, 2020, 9:04 am

pugboy wrote:not a bad estimate
we will hit 6-700 early in the week so rest of week to make 300 is peanuts

bluefete wrote:I hear we going and hit 1,000 by the end of the week.
That sounds possible. The doubling rate is currently 8 days.

killercow

Postby killercow » August 17th, 2020, 9:33 am

redmanjp wrote:so we lock down in may for 100 cases but not locking down for 500 . OK

to be fair perhaps due to increased testing/community testing we probably seeing more cases but still
We tryna follow the Brazil model.

Economy > Covid-19

Postby aaron17 » August 17th, 2020, 9:53 am

Elections > covid 19

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » August 17th, 2020, 10:02 am

This is the first time the term "brazil model" is used in a bad context.
killercow wrote:
redmanjp wrote:so we lock down in may for 100 cases but not locking down for 500 . OK

to be fair perhaps due to increased testing/community testing we probably seeing more cases but still

Economy > Covid-19

Postby alfa » August 17th, 2020, 10:04 am

PMN > Covid

Postby redmanjp » August 17th, 2020, 10:08 am

asmr26 wrote:I can confirm that this is happening.

I was contacted by the MOH Surveillance centre last week as I was deemed to a be a primary contact of a COVID+ patient. The Surveillance centre confirmed that an ambulance was being sent for the patient on Thursday afternoon. This did not happen. The SC called back on Friday to track our symptoms and indicated that their resources are maxed out and an ambulance could not be sent on Thursday so one would have been sent later on Friday. Again, this did not happen.

On Friday night, the patient developed chest pains and difficulty breathing. I called 800-WELL on his behalf several times and there was no response. I then called 811. They informed me that they were not at liberty to pick up the patient as they could not bring him to the San Fernando General Hospital as this posed a contamination risk and we needed to wait until the specially-assigned COVID ambulances were available to pick him up. When asked when this would be, they said that there was very little available space at the Couva and Caura facilities and they were waiting for space to be made available before they could pick him up.

The ambulance finally arrived at 4:00 p.m. yesterday, over 72 hours after the patient was informed that he was positive and almost 48 hours after he began experiencing breathing difficulties.

Clearly, the parallel health care system is maxed out and the primary healthcare system is apparently not available to COVID+ patients. The authorities are not being truthful.

Well if true you should be talking with reporters now - make this public! The public has to know how dire the situation is and also to force Govt to take stronger action!

Postby K74T » August 17th, 2020, 10:12 am

NIB TOBAGO CLOSED FOR SANITIZATION:

Nib Tobago has been closed for SANITIZATION, due to a covid-19 positive patient, visiting the establishment last week.

Workers have complained, the SANITIZATION process is not a good one, and they are being forced to return to work today.

Via Elizabeth Williams.

FB_IMG_1597673501260.jpeg

Postby redmanjp » August 17th, 2020, 10:14 am

killercow wrote:

Economy > Covid-19

Again, as i said before if this country had invested in ECommerce more that would ease the fallout from closed businesses. With a website u can be making money 24/7 whether your place close or not- the only thing that would have to be allowed is a few employees to process it and make deliveries! If this was an option it will allow Govt to say well close up for 1-2 weeks totally then open up for a few weeks for essential employees alone to make the delivery.

I hope they do this before Christmas- yuh could imagine a 3rd wave hitting us during the busiest shopping period for the year! :shock:

Postby K74T » August 17th, 2020, 10:15 am

FB_IMG_1597673680892.jpeg

Postby goalpost » August 17th, 2020, 10:22 am

This sanitization process of businesses really not serving a purpose eh.

Anyways what's the number for today?

Postby nemisis » August 17th, 2020, 10:24 am

Busy where? Persons disposable income used up or tied up due to the last set of restrictions and lay offs. This christmas season business will be lucky if they make enough to stay open.
redmanjp wrote:
killercow wrote:

Economy > Covid-19

Again, as i said before if this country had invested in ECommerce more that would ease the fallout from closed businesses. With a website u can be making money 24/7 whether your place close or not- the only thing that would have to be allowed is a few employees to process it and make deliveries! If this was an option it will allow Govt to say well close up for 1-2 weeks totally then open up for a few weeks for essential employees alone to make the delivery.

I hope they do this before Christmas- yuh could imagine a 3rd wave hitting us during the busiest shopping period for the year! :shock:

asmr26

Postby asmr26 » August 17th, 2020, 10:34 am

redmanjp wrote:
asmr26 wrote:I can confirm that this is happening.

Well if true you should be talking with reporters now - make this public! The public has to know how dire the situation is and also to force Govt to take stronger action!

Yes, it is definitely true. I've contacted CNC3 on FB detailing the incident, as well as included my personal contact info for verification.

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » August 17th, 2020, 10:45 am

No update this morning

wing

Postby wing » August 17th, 2020, 10:47 am

maj. tom wrote:Soon the authorities will have to start blaming someone else for this to save face.
Can someone contract covid if they have on a mask, exercise social distancing, limit interaction at work or in public, sanitise rigorously etc?

ron_28

Postby ron_28 » August 17th, 2020, 10:55 am

13 new cases
1 additional death :(

Postby The_Honourable » August 17th, 2020, 10:57 am

565 for 12
Last edited by The_Honourable on August 17th, 2020, 10:59 am, edited 2 times in total.

Postby redmanjp » August 17th, 2020, 10:58 am

ST Auto wrote:No update this morning

as I thought it was because of another death- they were probably informing the family first

Postby maj. tom » August 17th, 2020, 10:59 am

ST Auto wrote:https://in.news.yahoo.com/worse-come-malaysia-detects-coronavirus-061800564.html?soc_src=community&soc_trk=wa

Misleading panic headlines: D614G is 10 times more infectious, but not 10 times more severe or deadlier. A single amino acid in spike protein has changed, and this mutation was observed in the early days of the virus.
DOI: https://doi.org/10.1016/j.cell.2020.06.040

Postby The_Honourable » August 17th, 2020, 11:01 am

Ministry of Health Virtual Media Conference - Monday 17th August 2020

Postby toyolink » August 17th, 2020, 11:08 am

Covid19 is proving to be the most efficient bio-weapon unleashed by nature and targeting all nations globally.
The pain and suffering will certainly be followed by a power play with richest nations first inline if a vaccine is deployed.
The undeveloped and developing countries would continue to be in-play for a long time.
What each individual is required to do to mitigate or avoid exposure is really in opposition of how we were socialized/conditioned and this is where the virus has found its path.
Wealth may very shortly have a whole new definition.

Postby maj. tom » August 17th, 2020, 11:09 am

^Darwinism.

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » August 17th, 2020, 11:10 am

We safe
IMG-20200817-WA0031.jpeg

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 17th, 2020, 11:13 am

wing wrote:
maj. tom wrote:Soon the authorities will have to start blaming someone else for this to save face.
Can someone contract covid if they have on a mask, exercise social distancing, limit interaction at work or in public, sanitise rigorously etc?

Yes but the risk is lower.

According to the latest studies just being in the same room with a Covid+ person for a day, even if you both wear masks and stay 10ft apart, you still have a relatively high chance of contracting it. Especially if the room is poorly ventilated.

But like many have said, practicing social distancing and mask wearing will reduce your risk significantly, but it's definitely not foolproof

Postby redmanjp » August 17th, 2020, 11:14 am

ST Auto wrote:We safeIMG-20200817-WA0031.jpeg

that was 11 days ago- the 2nd one was worse

Postby The_Honourable » August 17th, 2020, 11:15 am

worse by the day... POS is a no go zone for sure.

Last edited by The_Honourable on August 17th, 2020, 11:16 am, edited 1 time in total.