Why Toyota Trinidad selling new hilux with old model engines?

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
RocketmanTT01

Re: Why Toyota Trinidad selling new hilux with old model engines?

Postby RocketmanTT01 » August 7th, 2017, 7:21 pm

IDK123 wrote:Hi guys
Just a quick update while it's a bit embarrassing It happened.
I began to hear a snapping noise whenever I would accelerate while in low speed traffic and immediately release the pedal. Offcourse paranoia kicked in, so a called the firm to schedule a visit. They were very accommodating and got the Saturday bocked on short notice hats off to the M. Rampersad support staff.

Anyways after crying the sky was falling the senior mechanic took a test drive with me and in 10 minutes came back and told me the jack was lose and would rock back and forth. As he said that it made sense as I took out the jack to use the screw driver in the office and replaced it in a hurry as rain was falling.

Total worthless on my end. As that should have been the first thing to check from past experience, but assumed the worst.

Hey I'm considering this new 2.8L unit. How is yours performing thus far?

IDK123

Postby IDK123 » August 8th, 2017, 10:54 pm

RocketmanTT01 wrote:
I began to hear a snapping noise whenever I would accelerate while in low speed traffic and immediately release the pedal. Offcourse paranoia kicked in, so a called the firm to schedule a visit. They were very accommodating and got the Saturday bocked on short notice hats off to the M. Rampersad support staff.

Anyways after crying the sky was falling the senior mechanic took a test drive with me and in 10 minutes came back and told me the jack was lose and would rock back and forth. As he said that it made sense as I took out the jack to use the screw driver in the office and replaced it in a hurry as rain was falling.

Total worthless on my end. As that should have been the first thing to check from past experience, but assumed the worst.

So far I am enjoying it. First comment I get from anyone sitting in it for the first time is "I cud feel the power". Power mode really makes a difference.

Light off road driving nothing to really put it to the test just yet.

rharripersad

Postby rharripersad » October 2nd, 2017, 11:25 pm

IDK123 wrote:
RocketmanTT01 wrote:

So far I am enjoying it. First comment I get from anyone sitting in it for the first time is "I cud feel the power". Power mode really makes a difference.

Light off road driving nothing to really put it to the test just yet.

By end of the year or early next year for me!.... real people fighting me down to get it from toyota tho :/

brendon500

Postby brendon500 » November 21st, 2017, 12:01 pm

Totoya selling the GD now with projector lights

ADONI

Postby ADONI » November 21st, 2017, 2:58 pm

^^Oh gawd! The price must be gone up now by a 30K....

IDK123

Postby IDK123 » December 2nd, 2017, 10:51 am

brendon500 wrote:Totoya selling the GD now with projector lights

I wah see what it is loaded with. like if it has the hill assist and down hill assist. feel I going to maco.

IDK123

Postby IDK123 » December 10th, 2017, 8:04 am

Guys I checked it out they had one of the basic one in trincity mall a red with black decals painted on nice design.
The price remains the same as before with the fully loaded being 345k and I was told they have all the features traction control, hill assist and down hill assist alone with the 2.8 GD

supernedd

Postby supernedd » April 29th, 2018, 11:06 am

all that talk bout the diesel.. true . but watch d big price increase with d new body n old engine.. trinidad business too stink yes.. southern sales did the same thing with old mazda bt50 ..the first batch had the wl engine from the mazda b2500 model

baby hulk

Postby baby hulk » July 8th, 2018, 6:45 am

All off a sudden the 2.8 can handle the sheit diesel lmao

baby hulk

Postby baby hulk » July 8th, 2018, 6:58 am

Doing a 80000km on my 2.8 revo no problems

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 8th, 2018, 7:25 am

Not surprised I know it was just talk to sell their old model engines

supernedd

Postby supernedd » September 26th, 2018, 4:04 pm

hmm robbery without a gun

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » September 26th, 2018, 5:25 pm

It would appear so

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 22nd, 2018, 10:23 am

If you think about it, Toyota has a reputation for making durable vehicles that stand up to 3rd world conditions better than other brands, so basically one should have assumed from day one that it was a lie to sell their old engines.

My brother uses 50/50 diesel and pitch oil in his 2007 Hilux and he has never had to fix anything even after 11 years just oil and tires. Toyotas are very durable

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » October 22nd, 2018, 10:27 am

The plus side of foreign diesel is low sulphur diesel

I wonder if the oil will turn black as quickly?

baby hulk

Postby baby hulk » October 25th, 2018, 10:29 am

PariaMan wrote:The plus side of foreign diesel is low sulphur diesel

Should

baby hulk

Postby baby hulk » October 25th, 2018, 10:30 am

baby hulk wrote:

Should
Should not, but by when we should get the ULSD at the pumps?

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » October 25th, 2018, 10:47 am

baby hulk wrote:

Should
Should not, but by when we should get the ULSD at the pumps?
You said both should and should not lol

baby hulk

Postby baby hulk » October 25th, 2018, 11:29 am

Corrected should not turn black as quickly

baby hulk

Postby baby hulk » October 25th, 2018, 11:29 am

But my revo doing over a 100000km and no issues with the 2.8 thus far

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » October 25th, 2018, 1:03 pm

baby hulk wrote:But my revo doing over a 100000km and no issues with the 2.8 thus far
I doing 300000 and no issues Lol.

Was thinking in terms of extended oil change intervals with cleaner diesel

baby hulk

Postby baby hulk » October 25th, 2018, 1:12 pm

Well i think you should be safer with extended oil change using ULSD, i does change oil at 10000km and even with this diesel it works good

baby hulk

Postby baby hulk » October 25th, 2018, 1:13 pm

Sulphur wash does fowl engine oil

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » October 25th, 2018, 1:40 pm

baby hulk wrote:Sulphur wash does fowl engine oil
Which from Team Loco was fouling the turbo in the 3.0

supernedd

Postby supernedd » November 13th, 2018, 11:07 pm

I seeing plenty new hilux for sale .. low mileage.. i wonder why

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » November 14th, 2018, 12:14 am

Please remember ulsd normally has lower lubrication

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » November 14th, 2018, 8:06 am

kamakazi wrote:Please remember ulsd normally has lower lubrication
Red line go cure that

IDK123

Postby IDK123 » November 15th, 2018, 11:15 am

supernedd wrote:I seeing plenty new hilux for sale .. low mileage.. i wonder why

I could speak for myself. My family recently expanded and needed to get a house.

Either I continue paying a loan that kept me from getting mortgage or sell the van at my displeasure and get my ducks in a row.

Revo will always be the most reliable and fun go anywhere i want vehicle I have ever owned. Hope I can get another sometime in the future

supernedd

Postby supernedd » November 16th, 2018, 6:13 pm

IDK123 wrote:
supernedd wrote:I seeing plenty new hilux for sale .. low mileage.. i wonder why

I could speak for myself. My family recently expanded and needed to get a house.

Either I continue paying a loan that kept me from getting mortgage or sell the van at my displeasure and get my ducks in a row.

Revo will always be the most reliable and fun go anywhere i want vehicle I have ever owned. Hope I can get another sometime in the future
Well i could understand that . But boi . I prefer used n i heard hilux the best .. but i does be worried..when u seeing some ridiculously low mileage on sale .. well glad to know nothing wrong .. hopefully will get something next year

supernedd

Postby supernedd » November 24th, 2018, 4:14 pm

PariaMan wrote:Does it make sense to buy a new model with old engine?

What about the improvements such as economy , noise level and improved technology?
Bet the price is more . Smh

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”