Petrotrin refinery shut down

Re: Petrotrin refinery to shut down

Postby nervewrecker » September 3rd, 2018, 5:00 pm

matr1x wrote:All them petrotrin men that used to roll in club in coveralls, I wonder if they will go to employment office in them too
Thats loss wuck.
Men you seeing with coverall in club is men who borrow that. I know man borrowing coverall to go to school in UTT and rising star. Ask them, they working in de refinery.
So happens I met one and know exactly who the coverall belongs to. Seems its a popular thing.
Also, sometimes men give away coveralls to contractor employees cuz contractors dont provide ppe for them. Thats another way how coverall get out.

Postby nervewrecker » September 3rd, 2018, 5:05 pm

vaiostation wrote:
matr1x wrote:All them petrotrin men that used to roll in club in coveralls, I wonder if they will go to employment office in them too

No more flashing badges as well.
Men might have to sell their bmw or skyline.
Jus now men gotta go back to eating crix and sardines, cause we all know the vast majority will never get anything on par with petrotrin.
Who does be telling allyuh these kinda thing? Everyone drivibg bmw and skyline working dey?
I only know one person working there with a skyline and two with bmw. Thats between a workforce of how much?
I seen more bmw owned by business people and more skyline park up by average joe house with illegal plates.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 3rd, 2018, 5:26 pm

car wrote:
lalloboy101 wrote:Ah yes, the admin building. Last time I checked it crossed 1b. All that work put in for engineering and construction gone to waste. Funny how this would be scrap iron now. It's like every project in there was a buss or fail. From Ulsd, gtl to gop. Can't be coincidence. Either they need a good bush bath or a puja

It was built when the oil was over $100 and money was flowing like rain. Abandoned when oil price dropped.

Should have been loan financed.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » September 3rd, 2018, 5:56 pm

vaiostation wrote:

Jus now men gotta go back to eating crix and sardines, cause we all know the vast majority will never get anything on par with petrotrin.
Who does be telling allyuh these kinda thing? Everyone drivibg bmw and skyline working dey?
I only know one person working there with a skyline and two with bmw. Thats between a workforce of how much?
I seen more bmw owned by business people and more skyline park up by average joe house with illegal plates.

Nerve keeps hitting six after six yes..you have real patience buddy. These men can't be that ignorant all at once. Coveralls in bar, flashing badges..lols if these are the behaviours of the people you know, maybe you should reevaluate your circle of friends. If he's right, let's see how many BMWs and Skylines we see for sale on right here on 2NR in the weeks to come, as people start to head home. :roll:

Postby nervewrecker » September 3rd, 2018, 6:10 pm

I seen men in rising star with coverall wining low already. Nobody that dotish to leave the refinery night shift and be palancing in the open like that.

Most times they leaving they leaving with a company vehicle. Not a company vehicle in sight. Was actually there with a heap of petro men (some from r&m) and nobody ever saw them, ever!

I know real girl get brush over promise for a work in there or for a good time by a man in a coverall they borrow. So real woman sour.

Men who have fancy vehicle are men who diversify themselves. I can name at least 3 power sellers that work there amd have alternative source of incomes. I know one that the syrians brace already because they find his business getting big and its a great opportunity. He is actually a potential customer of mine, uses his personal suv to do company work in the field roads. I think the mofo turns 60 this week too. Frig, I have a party to hit yo!

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » September 3rd, 2018, 6:28 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Joint press conference of all trade unions in response to the PM address plus delivery of letter to the PM.
These trade union leaders are a bunch of idiots (especially Watson Duke). It is really time to get rid of them. On one hand they don't have the business savvy to run a refinery but when the best international consultants and local experts tell them it is no longer financially viable they know better and have a plan.

antlind

Postby antlind » September 3rd, 2018, 6:33 pm

The ironic thing is that Rowley is so anxious to deal with Petrotrin’s drain on the treasury. Why doesn’t he do the same with the public service sector. If ever there was a bunch of incompetent and overpaid individuals then the public sector would be the place to start.

Petrotrin refinery to shut down

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 3rd, 2018, 6:34 pm

neilsingh100 wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:Joint press conference of all trade unions in response to the PM address plus delivery of letter to the PM.
These trade union leaders are a bunch of idiots (especially Watson Duke). It is really time to get rid of them. On one hand they don't have the business savvy to run a refinery but when the best international consultants and local experts tell them it is no longer financially viable they know better and have a plan.

Not saying you don’t have a point but have you interacted with so called experts and the actual consultants who were in Petrotrin over the last few months? For example the actual McKinsey persons?

Postby hydroep » September 3rd, 2018, 6:43 pm

antlind wrote:The ironic thing is that Rowley is so anxious to deal with Petrotrin’s drain on the treasury. Why doesn’t he do the same with the public service sector. If ever there was a bunch of incompetent and overpaid individuals then the public sector would be the place to start.

Looks like he was trying to break the back of one major Union at a time. It would have been political suicide to go after the PSA first. But like he underestimate them fellas...they finally ready to riot. Whether or not they can get workers to support them is another question...:|

Postby Gladiator » September 3rd, 2018, 6:46 pm

vaiostation wrote:

It's amazing how the pnm politicians making their followers hate the victims rather than their corrupt colleagues.... Social media ftw

Postby nervewrecker » September 3rd, 2018, 6:58 pm

Ok, I saw an altezza with a front mount intercooler at point a Pierre once.

Men feel petrotrin employees salary nice cuz a select few does make it seem so. Take a look at the car park and tell me what you think.

Does see some local used lancer, subaru, corolla, tiida, used pickup trucks like frontier and hilux. Saw a few roro tiida, corolla, fielder, almera etc.
As of late seen a few aqua before the budget went up.

If men was blinging the way people claim everything would up up to mark, everyone driving bess ride. Penal debe stretch does have better stuff.

Fact:

First time petrotrin santa flora car park saw a new vehicle from the firm was when it had profit sharing.

Postby hydroep » September 3rd, 2018, 7:12 pm

Annisette say some 'bagonians does call a certain fella "Roast Breadfruit" yes. Ah leaving dat right there...:shock:

Postby nervewrecker » September 3rd, 2018, 7:23 pm

Black outside and white inside.

He just black to fool the black people and get their support. He with massa to bring us back to the days if slavery. Giving the white man eveeything.

Postby sMASH » September 3rd, 2018, 7:44 pm

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » September 3rd, 2018, 7:44 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
neilsingh100 wrote:These trade union leaders are a bunch of idiots (especially Watson Duke). It is really time to get rid of them. On one hand they don't have the business savvy to run a refinery but when the best international consultants and local experts tell them it is no longer financially viable they know better and have a plan.

No I haven't but the union is free to propose a better plan. Why haven't they done this as yet? They should have had a plan by now outlining what needs to be done to make the refinery profitable. One of the main reason the refinery is unprofitable is due to employee costs. Why don't they propose a plan to restructure it and get private capital to complete the upgrades? The only answer that comes to mind is they are professional beggars and that is the only thing they can do.

Postby nervewrecker » September 3rd, 2018, 7:45 pm

neilsingh100 wrote:
neilsingh100 wrote:These trade union leaders are a bunch of idiots (especially Watson Duke). It is really time to get rid of them. On one hand they don't have the business savvy to run a refinery but when the best international consultants and local experts tell them it is no longer financially viable they know better and have a plan.

No I haven't but the union is free to propose a better plan. Why haven't they done this as yet? They should have had a plan by now outlining what needs to be done to make the refinery profitable. One of the main reason the refinery is unprofitable is due to employee costs. Why don't they propose a plan to restructure it and get private capital to complete the upgrades? The only answer that comes to mind is they are professional beggars and that is the only thing they can do.
They spun a profit last quarter with employee costs (which is about 10% btw)..

So, your point?

Years now they calling for maintenance work and upgrades in the refinery.
Instead what they do? Take loan and build plants that never work a day. Meanwhile loan paying on it..
Watch how suddenly they will see it fit to open the refinery and service these plants they built. Billions to be made on taxpayers head. Meanwhile all we beating up over is the salary.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 3rd, 2018, 7:51 pm

neilsingh100 wrote:

Not sure but I’ve repeatedly heard the union state they have been providing proposals to the company long before things reached to this point. I have repeatedly heard roget say restructuring is needed and that they are unopposed to it. This is readily available through the press in multiple articles.

Also, if you haven’t met or interacted with said consultants how do you know of their competency for sure vs those who have actually interacted with them and found very basic gaps in their knowledge? Just curious.

The union doesn’t run the company though. I see people asking why the union didn’t get financing or why they didn’t get private capital to complete upgrades and I have to wonder if this is a real question. Unions don’t and have never done this in any organization.

Postby The_Honourable » September 3rd, 2018, 7:56 pm

Now if Growley did just say clearly months ago that he want to privatize the refinery 100% or a possible public-private partnership, using economics and numbers as his basis, i would have understood his decision. Instead he carried the public, especially petrotrin workers for a ride all these months, contradicted the chairman and make him look like an ass who stated that the refinery not for sale, and now made the OWTU look good because it seems they will be proven right about an outlandish and elaborate scheme to privatize.

With rumors of alternative options stated in other consultant reports and so far, no debate in Parliament on this issue, he putting himself in big trouble and hoping some pnm plebs will blame everything on the unions and kamla.

Gladiator wrote:It's amazing how the pnm politicians making their followers hate the victims rather than their corrupt colleagues.... Social media ftw

THIS!

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » September 3rd, 2018, 7:59 pm

neilsingh100 wrote:

So, your point?
One quarter of profit is immaterial. It could be an accounting profit. What is the projected profit for this financial year and next 5 years? You can't measure employee cost as a percentage of revenue when you importing TT$25 billion of oil annually.

Postby nervewrecker » September 3rd, 2018, 8:07 pm

neilsingh100 wrote:

So, your point?
One quarter of profit is immaterial. It could be an accounting profit. What is the projected profit for this financial year and next 5 years? You can't measure employee cost as a percentage of revenue when you importing TT$25 billion of oil annually.
An accounting profit? Like really?

Its a refinery, it refines. It take raw materials and turns it into finished products that it sells for a profit.
Like how kiss buys flour, salt, water and yeast. They sell bread as a finished product. If we cant supply all the flour won't they import? Wasnt tcl importing cement at one time?

Because of lack of maintenance it get run down.

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » September 3rd, 2018, 8:17 pm

BTW, there is a sell off on the international markets of Petrotrin 2019 bonds (https://www.boerse-berlin.com/index.php ... P78954AC19) so there is a good chance the company will not be able to refinance the bond. If this plays out, the government will have no choice but to let the company go bankrupt and bond holders will decide the future of the company. If this scenario plays out it will not end well for employees.

Postby sMASH » September 3rd, 2018, 8:24 pm

eat grass under PNM

Postby sMASH » September 3rd, 2018, 8:29 pm

neilsingh100 wrote:BTW, there is a sell off on the international markets of Petrotrin 2019 bonds (https://www.boerse-berlin.com/index.php ... P78954AC19) so there is a good chance the company will not be able to refinance the bond. If this plays out, the government will have no choice but to let the company go bankrupt and bond holders will decide the future of the company. If this scenario plays out it will not end well for employees.

it not going well now.... shitkicker IS privatizing it. not mothballing it because it is ineffective.

Postby The_Honourable » September 3rd, 2018, 8:53 pm

Study that graph, yuh swear is crypto petrotrin trading on.

Postby matr1x » September 3rd, 2018, 9:12 pm

I am not crapping on the victims. But this is a time for them to unite and fight

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » September 3rd, 2018, 9:16 pm

antlind wrote:The ironic thing is that Rowley is so anxious to deal with Petrotrin’s drain on the treasury. Why doesn’t he do the same with the public service sector. If ever there was a bunch of incompetent and overpaid individuals then the public sector would be the place to start.

Nah. Start with Parliament. If incompetence, underperformance and being overpaid are the GoRTT criteria , then apply it across the board. It should only be fair if you clean up your house first, right? Hospitals are suffering because of Petrotrin, yet still they had money to pay for Maxie Cuffie and Franklin Khan's treatment, ent? National Security suffering because of Petrotrin, yet still, another fleet of vehicles were added just the other day while hundreds, if not thousands, sit rotting behind various Police Stations and VMCOTT branches..I guess taxpayers didn't pay for that and the list can go on and on.

Postby nervewrecker » September 3rd, 2018, 9:16 pm

Nah bai, dem men salary too high.
Lewe let pnm do what they want to they will be on our level. We go point finger and laugh

Postby nervewrecker » September 3rd, 2018, 9:18 pm

Joshie23 wrote:

Nah. Start with Parliament. If incompetence, underperformance and being overpaid are the GoRTT criteria , then apply it across the board. It should only be fair if you clean up your house first, right? Hospitals are suffering because of Petrotrin, yet still they had money to pay for Maxie Cuffie and Franklin Khan's treatment, ent? National Security suffering because of Petrotrin, yet still, another fleet of vehicles were added just the other day while hundreds, if not thousands, sit rotting behind various Police Stations and VMCOTT branches..I guess taxpayers didn't pay for that and the list can go on and on.
Blimp, stadium, I see new baliser house to begin too. Renovations of the last one cost $40m. To renovate eh, not build.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » September 3rd, 2018, 9:22 pm

sMASH wrote:
neilsingh100 wrote:BTW, there is a sell off on the international markets of Petrotrin 2019 bonds (https://www.boerse-berlin.com/index.php ... P78954AC19) so there is a good chance the company will not be able to refinance the bond. If this plays out, the government will have no choice but to let the company go bankrupt and bond holders will decide the future of the company. If this scenario plays out it will not end well for employees.

it not going well now.... shitkicker IS privatizing it. not mothballing it because it is ineffective.

Screenshot_20180903-084619_Adobe Acrobat.jpg

'The refining assets of Petrotrin can now be put into a separate company for opportunity attention.' He said it. It's up for grabs. Give it 6 months and two scandals aimed at the Opposition and you'll see. Either a buyer 'makes an offer' and an 'invitation to bid' is put out.

sinister_14

Postby sinister_14 » September 3rd, 2018, 9:29 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Ok, I saw an altezza with a front mount intercooler at point a Pierre once.

Men feel petrotrin employees salary nice cuz a select few does make it seem so. Take a look at the car park and tell me what you think.

Does see some local used lancer, subaru, corolla, tiida, used pickup trucks like frontier and hilux. Saw a few roro tiida, corolla, fielder, almera etc.
As of late seen a few aqua before the budget went up.

If men was blinging the way people claim everything would up up to mark, everyone driving bess ride. Penal debe stretch does have better stuff.

Fact:

First time petrotrin santa flora car park saw a new vehicle from the firm was when it had profit sharing.
For real i always wonder that same thing inno when i pass by d round about...they have normal cars......but u mite not believe this ipsl and methanex car park is for the big league mostly them operations guys only buying bmw and benz.....and i know two guys who left ipsl recently to go cgcl both of them have bmw....so just imagine what salary dey get to go....so not only petro does pay....