Maracas...is that you?

Re: Maracas...is that you?

Postby Monk BANzai » February 19th, 2018, 12:52 pm

Millions of dollars spent and this is what we end up with? A tent outside of a guard booth with someone running from cars to the booth to drop off the money and get a receipt. And I won’t even mention the price list written out with a red Sharpie.

One step forward and several steps backward.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » February 19th, 2018, 1:32 pm

Ting with the green tint braces has a sweet smile....

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » February 19th, 2018, 1:44 pm

How was the traffic Monday Tuesday and ash Wednesday

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » February 19th, 2018, 7:36 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:The car park only looks good when empty...believe me when guntas start to roll in there..it wouldnt look like how it looking now..

the car park is a decent place to vibes a good few fights. you can see about 3 on a good day.

last raster standing kinda ting

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » October 8th, 2021, 7:11 am

Postby MaxPower » October 8th, 2021, 7:32 am

shaneelal wrote:

Place looks clear and CLEAN.

That is exactly the definition of NO Trinis present.

Really happy the environment can get a little break from this littering population.

Keep the beaches closed and well we can try to work on the lil water issue there.

Postby Gladiator » October 10th, 2021, 8:43 pm

shaneelal wrote:

Really happy the environment can get a little break from this littering population.

Keep the beaches closed and well we can try to work on the lil water issue there.

MAX that is a total failure from the contractor that designed and built that car park. All that fan fare when it was opened and its substandard work. That may take hundreds of thousands to correct. Another PNM failure...

Postby MaxPower » October 10th, 2021, 9:22 pm

Gladiator wrote:
shaneelal wrote:

MAX that is a total failure from the contractor that designed and built that car park. All that fan fare when it was opened and its substandard work. That may take hundreds of thousands to correct. Another PNM failure...

Yeh Gladman,

I agree.

Woft contractor get his money already so to hell with everyone.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 11th, 2022, 2:49 pm

Flooding in Maracas bay car park on Sunday 10th July 2022
https://www.facebook.com/kassee.persad. ... 7252722359

Postby hover11 » July 11th, 2022, 3:35 pm

Always nice to see my tax dollars put to good use. Anybody remember the contractor in charge of these "renovations" ?

Postby bluefete » July 11th, 2022, 5:44 pm

THE DEFINITION OF A TRUE BANANA REPUBLIC.

hover11 wrote:Always nice to see my tax dollars put to good use. Anybody remember the contractor in charge of these "renovations" ?

Maracas beach project a stimulus for China
by

Thu Oct 15 2009
Kimberly Mackhan

Executive chairman of NH International (Caribbean) Emile Elias is opposing the award of a quarter-billion-dollar contract from the Government to the Beijing Liujian Construction Company Ltd for the upgrade of Maracas beach
https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/maracas ... 0e07c72c05

UDECOTT working on improvements to Maracas Beach
Alina DoodnathDecember 3, 2018 03:40 PM ET

The Urban Development Corporation of Trinidad and Tobago (UDECOTT) said it is in 'ardent negotiations' to take over management of Maracas Beach, after citizens and tour operators commented on the beach's shabby appearance.

The response comes after tour operator Stephen Broadbridge took photos showing debris, food huts with inadequate shelter for customers, and bits of construction items such as PVC pipes lying on the beach.

https://tt.loopnews.com/content/udecott ... acas-beach

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » July 11th, 2022, 5:46 pm

Maracas will soon be for the 1%.

Postby hover11 » July 11th, 2022, 5:48 pm

bluefete wrote:THE DEFINITION OF A TRUE BANANA REPUBLIC.

hover11 wrote:Always nice to see my tax dollars put to good use. Anybody remember the contractor in charge of these "renovations" ?

by

Thu Oct 15 2009
Kimberly Mackhan

Executive chairman of NH International (Caribbean) Emile Elias is opposing the award of a quarter-billion-dollar contract from the Government to the Beijing Liujian Construction Company Ltd for the upgrade of Maracas beach

The Urban Development Corporation of Trinidad and Tobago (UDECOTT) said it is in 'ardent negotiations' to take over management of Maracas Beach, after citizens and tour operators commented on the beach's shabby appearance.

The response comes after tour operator Stephen Broadbridge took photos showing debris, food huts with inadequate shelter for customers, and bits of construction items such as PVC pipes lying on the beach.

Quarter billion dollars and nothing to show but then again taxpayers normal . Who really holds the government accountable in this country bai?

Postby timelapse » July 11th, 2022, 6:06 pm

Allyuh thought I was talking out of my arse when I said PNM destroying the economy to sell off property?
Pitch lake ,Port, now beaches.What will they start selling next? Citizens' property,wait there's a pesky clause in that property tax bill that enables them to do so.
Hell in a handbasket 2025, here we come.
UNC people take notes...Allyuh does find the most dotish points to argue.

Postby MG Man » July 11th, 2022, 6:10 pm

timelapse wrote:Allyuh thought I was talking out of my arse when I said PNM destroying the economy to sell off property?
Pitch lake ,Port, now beaches.What will they start selling next? Citizens' property,wait there's a pesky clause in that property tax bill that enables them to do so.
Hell in a handbasket 2025, here we come.
UNC people take notes...Allyuh does find the most dotish points to argue.

and that's why Keith n'the gang gonna be in place past 2035

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » July 11th, 2022, 6:14 pm

^ 2055

Postby adnj » July 11th, 2022, 6:23 pm

bluefete wrote:THE DEFINITION OF A TRUE BANANA REPUBLIC.

by

Thu Oct 15 2009
Kimberly Mackhan

You missed a step.

$79 million to upgrade Maracas Beach

Sun Nov 30 2014
Charles Kong Soo

Two mobile service stations will be provided for north coast fishermen and $79 million will be pumped into upgrading the facilities at Maracas Beach.Tourism Minister Gerald Hadeed made the announcement at the Ministry of Planning and Sustainable Development's national consultation on the development of the North Coast Growth Pole at the Maracas Bay Community Centre, Savannah Road, Grande Fond, Maracas Bay, yesterday.

Hadeed said, "Most importantly, what the people of the north coast need the most for sustainable living and the fishermen in particular is to have easier access to petroleum products for their boats."In conjunction with the Ministry of Energy and National Petroleum they are going to put into La Fillette and Matelot two mobile service stations so the fishermen can have access at the waterfront for their boats.

"It will also assist them with fuel for their cars close to their homes so they won't have to travel too far."NP will have the mobile stations within six to seven months. I can't give a cost, but it's not very expensive."He said the Maracas Beach upgrade will start in January 2015, everything was almost in place, and the contract was being tendered at present.

Hadeed said all aspects of Maracas Bay will improve tremendously at a cost of $79 million compared to the former PNM administration's $237 million for the same project. He said a new road will be designed to go around the car park and come out further down by the gas station to reduce the traffic jams on a weekend. Hadeed said a total upgrade of the car park, sewer system, amenities, and planting sea grape trees and coconut palms to make it a green area were in the pipeline.

He added that security will also be beefed up with the implementation of beach patrols at most of the beaches in T&T beginning with Tobago.Also at the table were Planning Minister Dr Bhoendradatt Tewarie, Chairman of the Economic Development Board (EDB) Richard Young and EDB Executive Director Dr Rikhi Permanand.

https://www.guardian.co.tt/article-6.2. ... b861d2a218

Postby Les Bain » July 11th, 2022, 8:42 pm

Was it the same contractor that royally fk up Macqueripe as well?

Postby bluefete » July 11th, 2022, 11:54 pm

Thanks adnj!

Les Bain wrote:Was it the same contractor that royally fk up Macqueripe as well?

Macqueripe mess
bySat Dec 27 2008
Leah Sorias

Reynald said he met with Chairman of Chaguaramas Development Authority (CDA), Noel Garcia, before the construction work began and he was assured that contractors were given a CEC and that no harm was supposed to be done to the bay.

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/macquer ... b4353046a4

Postby nervewrecker » July 12th, 2022, 12:39 am

Last I went maracas it had spent water from food places draining directly into the sea.

I also observed the septic system from the washrooms just running off into the nearby river. That was many years ago.

Green water is a sign of eutrophication and high nutrient loading, in other words that whole beach full of sh......

Postby bluefete » July 12th, 2022, 1:06 am

nervewrecker wrote:Last I went maracas it had spent water from food places draining directly into the sea.

I also observed the septic system from the washrooms just running off into the nearby river. That was many years ago.

Green water is a sign of eutrophication and high nutrient loading, in other words that whole beach full of sh......

Yup. Fully agree. Nothing has changed in the ensuing years.

Postby Rovin » July 12th, 2022, 12:00 pm

when they doing these contracts ent it supposed to have clauses in it in case any sh1t happens due to bad work d contractor who did that responsible to fix it back at his own expense or at least his labor ?

but in this banana republic of political frens\family getting contracts once $$$ pass d govt pays d same original contractor more $$$ to fix his sh1t or hires another contractor to fix d 1st one shoddy work

$$$ hadda pass a few times 2-5 times original est cost for others to eat ah food when it supposed to be done right d 1st time .... :roll: :roll: :roll: