The charge for speeding has been increased to $6,000

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 18th, 2016, 11:54 am

C News Live - The charge for speeding has been increased to $6,000. This means that the speeding charge has moved from $4,000 to $6,000.
af4a9bd9-81da-47ae-939e-7d1d9e66ced0.jpg

Re: The charge for speeding has been increased to $6,000

Postby pete » May 18th, 2016, 11:58 am

Is that the charge for exceeding the speed limit? How for the last two weeks they've been charging people $1000? whatajoke

Kalisnakov

Postby Kalisnakov » May 18th, 2016, 11:59 am

Cuz they find it takin 2 long 2 make up ah $200 million

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 18th, 2016, 12:02 pm

Postby eliteauto » May 18th, 2016, 12:03 pm

pete wrote:Is that the charge for exceeding the speed limit? How for the last two weeks they've been charging people $1000? whatajoke

the fine for being charged with speeding is now $6000 up from $4000. The fixed penalty notice (aka ticket) remains $1000

shady23

Postby shady23 » May 18th, 2016, 12:04 pm

How many $4000 tickets were issued first to begin with?

SRASC

Postby SRASC » May 18th, 2016, 12:04 pm

They further edited it:

"The charge for speeding has been increased to $6,000. This means that the maximum fine for speeding has moved from $4,000 to $6,000. The TTPS says: "The fixed penalty fine for exceeding the speed limit remains $1,000."

Postby Dizzy28 » May 18th, 2016, 12:07 pm

eliteauto wrote:
pete wrote:Is that the charge for exceeding the speed limit? How for the last two weeks they've been charging people $1000? whatajoke

the fine for being charged with speeding is now $6000 up from $4000. The fixed penalty notice (aka ticket) remains $1000

Dumb question.......
Whats the difference between the fine and the fixed penalty notice??

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » May 18th, 2016, 12:13 pm

I want to know this

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » May 18th, 2016, 12:13 pm

get caught speeding pay $1000 ticket

want to fight in court and evidence is given and lost you pay $6000 for wasting court time .

Postby rollingstock » May 18th, 2016, 12:13 pm

eliteauto wrote:

Dumb question.......

A fine is at the determination of a magistrate.
This would be applicable if you contest the ticket and found guilty of the offence or if you are charged via summons to appear in court.

FYI this is now the maximum penalty and up to the discretion of the magistrate.

Popcaan

Postby Popcaan » May 18th, 2016, 12:15 pm

Layman terms a Fine is what you get in court, Fixed Penalty Notice is a 'Ticket' usually handed to you by the officer at the time the offence was committed. Seeing allyuh speeding what alot of people will get is a fine, preceded by a summons to appear in court.

Postby aaron17 » May 18th, 2016, 12:16 pm

so the video switching back and forth from the audi tt interior to the mistubishi?make up yuh mind nah..

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » May 18th, 2016, 12:18 pm

police having the speed gun statistics ,so guessing video and pictures can now be used in court as police evidence to charge the full amount.

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » May 18th, 2016, 12:18 pm

Read carefully

The charge for speeding has been increased to $6,000. This means that the maximum fine for speeding has moved from $4,000 to $6,000. The TTPS says: "The fixed penalty fine for exceeding the speed limit remains $1,000."

trump2016

Postby trump2016 » May 18th, 2016, 12:20 pm

Last edited by trump2016 on July 7th, 2016, 6:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby eliteauto » May 18th, 2016, 12:24 pm

eliteauto wrote:

Dumb question.......

Basically what was said above. If you're caught speeding you can be issued a fixed penalty notice the fine of which is $1000. That's the ticket the officer gives you on the road
MVRTA (enforcement) Chap 48:52 First Schedule item 68

Conversely:

MVRTA Chap48:50 section 62 (5) wrote:
(5) Any person who drives a motor vehicle on any road in contravention of the provisions of subsection (1) is liable to a fine of four thousand dollars and to be disqualified from holding or obtaining a driving permit for such period as the Court shall think fit.
that is what has been amended to $6000

Bezman

Postby Bezman » May 18th, 2016, 12:25 pm

just to clarify for those who don't understand..
Ticket for Speeding = $1,000 TTD (speed trap, speed gun)
Charge for Speeding = $6,000 TTD (Traffic offences, accidents, injury, damage)
you are not going to be fined $6,000 if you are stopped for speeding.. unless you fight it in court and lose, then you may be charged both

Postby rollingstock » May 18th, 2016, 12:32 pm

Bezman wrote:just to clarify for those who don't understand..
you are not going to be fined $6,000 if you are stopped for speeding.. unless you fight it in court and lose, then you may be charged both

You can't be charged both sir.
You can only be penalised once for committing an offence, and the MAXIMUM penalty is now $6,000.00

However the maximum penalty would not be utilized in all instances.

Postby rspann » May 18th, 2016, 12:33 pm

I going to tell the magistrate that they said," fine for speeding" so I went right ahead.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » May 18th, 2016, 12:34 pm

Bezman wrote:just to clarify for those who don't understand..

You can't be charged both sir.
You can only be penalised once for committing an offence, and the MAXIMUM penalty is now $6,000.00

However the maximum penalty would not be utilized in all instances.

thanks for the clarification officer

Postby Rory Phoulorie » May 18th, 2016, 12:36 pm

trump2016 wrote:They're trying to intimidate people against fighting the tickets in court, because now you have more to potentially lose.

Very concerning, it's an incremental step in coercing the population to accept whatever the cops do.

:| How? If you are so sure that you did not break the law and you are so sure that you have sound evidence to support your claim, then go to court and contest the ticket. No one is stopping you from doing that. The government is not coercing the population to accept whatever the TTPS does, they are just explicitly telling you to not waste the court's time as the TTPS believe that they had sound evidence upon which to give you a ticket.

I really don't understand what all the beat up is over this speed limit and associated fixed penalty and fine.

Who wants to exceed the speed limit, go right ahead and do that. Just be prepared for the consequences and don't come on this website, or any other form of social media, to cry down the place about you breaking the law and how the government trying to make you poorer.

abbow

Postby abbow » May 18th, 2016, 12:39 pm

rspann wrote:I going to tell the magistrate that they said," fine for speeding" so I went right ahead.

lol good one

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » May 18th, 2016, 12:40 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
trump2016 wrote:They're trying to intimidate people against fighting the tickets in court, because now you have more to potentially lose.

Very concerning, it's an incremental step in coercing the population to accept whatever the cops do.

:| How? If you are so sure that you did not break the law and you are so sure that you have sound evidence to support your claim, then go to court and contest the ticket. No one is stopping you from doing that. The government is not coercing the population to accept whatever the TTPS does, they are just explicitly telling you to not waste the court's time as the TTPS believe that they had sound evidence upon which to give you a ticket.

I really don't understand what all the beat up is over this speed limit and associated fixed penalty and fine.

Who wants to exceed the speed limit, go right ahead and do that. Just be prepared for the consequences and don't come on this website, or any other form of social media, to cry down the place about you breaking the law and how the government trying to make you poorer.

Exactly, trini's can't follow simple laws yet wondering why the country is in this state.

Postby Strugglerzinc » May 18th, 2016, 12:44 pm

Nice, the 1k i put aside for ticket still valid then.

Postby Gladiator » May 18th, 2016, 12:52 pm

All this policing the public.... now they need to spend some time policing the criminals!!!

daas

Postby daas » May 18th, 2016, 12:56 pm

Is now self I keeping meh 75, and in the right lane too...firetruck y'all

memphis78644

Postby memphis78644 » May 18th, 2016, 12:57 pm

so they could change the fine overnight but cant find time to change speed limit

Postby sMASH » May 18th, 2016, 12:58 pm

How much has the fine been increased for robbery, rape, and murder?

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » May 18th, 2016, 1:00 pm

rspann wrote:I going to tell the magistrate that they said," fine for speeding" so I went right ahead.