Speed guns in effect in Trinidad & Tobago

Driven

Re: Speed guns in effect from Monday

Postby Driven » May 6th, 2016, 11:02 am

BRZ wrote:If the Tru can spot and take pictures from such a far distance- CAN it be LEGALLY USED to also take pics and issue a ticket if caught on the SHOULDER????

this is brilliant! 0X

BRZ

Postby BRZ » May 6th, 2016, 11:17 am

j.o.e wrote:
BRZ wrote:If the Tru can spot and take pictures from such a far distance- CAN it be LEGALLY USED to also take pics and issue a ticket if caught on the SHOULDER????

I'd assume that someone driving on the shoulder is NOT doing the speed limit any way. Just use it for what's it's for and hit them for speeding. But I see your point that someone crawling along at 60km to beat traffic can be proved to be travelling at speed on the shoulder.

Nope - Just the mere fact that they are driving On the shoulder (regardless of speed) should be the charge, can the tru guns be utilitized for this dual purpose? if so then police should start issuing tickets for $ 3,000.00 for driving on the shoulder.

X-Axis

Postby X-Axis » May 6th, 2016, 12:10 pm

I strongly suspect that there may not be 6 speed guns in the country...and if there are, maybe only one or two are working. I suspect that the police would move that one around to give the semblance of having a lot of speed guns. They're using fear.

Re: RE: Re: Speed guns in effect from Monday

Postby Habit7 » May 6th, 2016, 12:13 pm

drchaos wrote:
Habit7 wrote:Actually, Broken Windows Theory practiced in New York in which the police pursued small infractions as aggressively as big ones, resulted in tremendous reduction in crime.

The fact that so many beating up about now having to obey the law, discussing how to use devices to avoid detection, frustrating the justice system and demanding leniency. Then conversely they can't tolerate murder, corruption, slow justice system and soft sentencing.

This is just emblematic of our bigger problem.

Heard about the broken window theory and I am all for that but this not what the police are doing.
They going after infraction on speed only. Nothing is being done for breaking any other law on the roadways. That's like going after rapists and saying we will give them murderers a bligh.
Make it fair across the board and the people will respond in kind.

I don't think it is fair or correct to say that they are going after speed infractions only. They have made an aggressive attempt at enforcing the breathalyzer and other things as well. I almost got ticketed for my OEM fog lights too.

You or I don't know all that the police has done. In fact if they didn't issue a press release of the 7 recent speeding charges we probably wouldn't have known as well.

Obey the law and have nothing to fear.

Doh Brakes

Postby Doh Brakes » May 6th, 2016, 12:45 pm

This speed gun discussion is a very interesting one. What makes it so contentious is in my opinion is the mentality of us as a people.

For example, statements like driving faster makes one stay up is completely irresponsible. I have not come across any evidence that backs up that way of thinking and I'm very curious to know where it started. A more plausible reason why speed limits are higher in places like the US are because of the longer distances. We as trinbagonians like to think we drive far but we don't. Imagine driving at 110km/h for 3hrs and still not arriving at your destination. This is the reality on these highways, the UBH is no comparison.

People try to compare speed limits in other countries without considering what those countries have in place to allow for such speed limits. In Germany, Denmark & Sweden completion of a first aid course is mandatory. Some countries have mandatory hours of day & night driving practice as part of getting licensed.

In Germany it is against the law to overtake on the right ( which decreases the weaving in and out of traffic), highways are not only patrolled manually but also by cameras. Roadways in Germany are rated to last for 40yrs which is the highest in the world. Police officers are trained in the proper way to execute their duty. In Canada if you are caught racing on the highway your car is impounded and you are charged with a criminal offence.

So many things should have been addressed before introducing speed guns. However the good thing about this is discussion is healthy for us to move forward as a people and we have to start somewhere.

I am part of a new podcast in T&T that in our next episode titled "Yuh Wa Speed" we discuss this issue. If anyone is interested you can like us on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/dohbrakes or sound Cloud http://www.soundcloud.com/dohbrakes where you can also listen to previous episodes.

That's enough talk from me, if you want to hear more check out the podcast. I leave you with some interesting links on speed.

http://www.iihs.org/iihs/news/desktopne ... n-20-years

http://www.roadandtrack.com/car-culture ... rivers-do/

https://jeevith20.wordpress.com/2015/02 ... in-norway/

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » May 6th, 2016, 1:56 pm

Most useful information posted so far in this thread

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » May 6th, 2016, 2:08 pm

RY& wrote:naive tuners dat can't blatantly see that this has nothing to do with enforcing laws but rather make money. Watching these men talk sheit about oh this will help with murders n other crime. Steups. Govt only concern is revenue. Murders etc have no revenue so u do d math! Before they tax big businesses n industries u wanna tax d food on a man table. Anti robin hood behavior! Steal from d poor to give d rich smh. It's hilarious how men saying 100-120 will encourage reckless driving when d reality is it will curb it because now men don't have to cut in n out! Raising d speed limit doesn't mean dat d fearful 80kmh drivers have to drive 120. Drive 80 drive 40 heck let d car roll in neutral 4 all I care but do it in d left lane! N if u still not happy get off d ppl dem road n go on d main rd! There are main roads parallel to almost all highways so use it! Wen u see on news about all these accidents from men speeding u really think is 100-120 men doing. Clocking 160 n up! but d most we can do is beyotch about sheit on tuner n continue to let d dictatorship reign! Back to d plantation i go...

K.

daas

Postby daas » May 6th, 2016, 2:52 pm

So i could do 80 on the fast lane and nobody could tell me anything? Nice 0X

But on a real tho....80 is too darn slow, if I cross 90 I feel like I gonna DIE but this 80 is ridiculous.

dandadda007

Postby dandadda007 » May 6th, 2016, 3:10 pm

Speed Limits.JPG

Postby DVSTT » May 6th, 2016, 4:49 pm

Why we let tractors on the highway? Might as well let uncle and his bison cart come through too. Steups.

Advent

Postby Advent » May 6th, 2016, 5:24 pm

please update waze when allyuh see a police and/or with the speed gun. thnks

Postby tr1ad » May 6th, 2016, 6:07 pm

It's a shame they only just introduced this law of 80km on the highway, right guys?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 6th, 2016, 6:18 pm

tr1ad wrote:It's a shame they only just introduced this law of 80km on the highway, right guys?

Yup its new ... If there is zero enforcement of a law then it does not exist.

"You think that's air your breathing?"

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » May 6th, 2016, 6:31 pm

Santa Cruz to Freeport night run before at 140 on highway 31 min after at 80kmph 44 min no sweat I could live with that

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 6th, 2016, 6:54 pm

PariaMan wrote:Santa Cruz to Freeport night run before at 140 on highway 31 min after at 80kmph 44 min no sweat I could live with that

If daz your hilux on your pic ent you supposed to be driving at 65KPH on the highway not 80KPH?

ingalook

Postby ingalook » May 6th, 2016, 8:02 pm

So the government very effectively reduced the average speed motorist drive on the highway from 110km to 80km overnight - good job there...

They also reduced the carrying capacity of the highway by over 27% overnight as well...

Why don't they barricade the 3rd Lane while they at it - since it seems like they are intent on moving backward

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » May 6th, 2016, 8:22 pm

ingalook wrote:So the government very effectively reduced the average speed motorist drive on the highway from 110km to 80km overnight - good job there...

They also reduced the carrying capacity of the highway by over 27% overnight as well...

Why don't they barricade the 3rd Lane while they at it - since it seems like they are intent on moving backward

You cant actually say that. Traffic moves like a wave not a fluid. I recall reading studies showing that slower speeds actually increase capacity since most traffic jams are caused by fast cars having to drastically change speeds when another car moves from lane to lane.

If you moving into a lane, a car in that lane has to decrease his speed to give you a chance. leading to the car behind him having to slow down slightly more and on and on until somebody about 15 cars behind has to actually stop. And of course everybody behind him has to stop too even if only for a few seconds. But that stopping continues to ripple backwards as a wave.

Now if the right lane isnt moving fast to begin with , that allows a smoother transition with less need for braking. hence fewer traffic jams.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 6th, 2016, 9:00 pm

to remind yourself
Unknown-1.jpeg

Postby K74T » May 6th, 2016, 9:21 pm

Lol was now gonna post that

demogorgon15

Postby demogorgon15 » May 6th, 2016, 9:32 pm

Question: how many of us have upgraded from stock wheels to larger wheels? If you have, have you also used a speedo calculator to figure out by how much your speedo is off by? You may unknowingly be one of those people at risk for getting a ticket for being 5km over the limit thinking your speedo is correct...

http://www.tyresizecalculator.com/tyre- ... calculator

ingalook

Postby ingalook » May 6th, 2016, 9:43 pm

EmilioA wrote:
ingalook wrote:So the government very effectively reduced the average speed motorist drive on the highway from 110km to 80km overnight - good job there...

You cant actually say that. Traffic moves like a wave not a fluid. I recall reading studies showing that slower speeds actually increase capacity since most traffic jams are caused by fast cars having to drastically change speeds when another car moves from lane to lane.

If you moving into a lane, a car in that lane has to decrease his speed to give you a chance. leading to the car behind him having to slow down slightly more and on and on until somebody about 15 cars behind has to actually stop. And of course everybody behind him has to stop too even if only for a few seconds. But that stopping continues to ripple backwards as a wave.

Now if the right lane isnt moving fast to begin with , that allows a smoother transition with less need for braking. hence fewer traffic jams.

Traffic moves like a wave when people are not terrified of being charged for being 5km over the speed limit - if they are, then it moves like a fluid.

Expect the average speed to fall to 70-75 after people stop trusting their speedos

Postby rspann » May 6th, 2016, 10:46 pm

They now take real men by Seereeram bros on the southbound lane. The tripod set up by a vitara in total darkness. Lower down by the exit,men line up waiting for tickets.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 6th, 2016, 10:56 pm

EmilioA wrote:

I have noticed this! but only on two lane highways from central to south.
The three lane highways in the rest of the country have a totally different dynamic.

kamakazi

Re: RE: Re: Speed guns in effect from Monday

Postby kamakazi » May 6th, 2016, 11:07 pm

demogorgon15 wrote:Question: how many of us have upgraded from stock wheels to larger wheels? If you have, have you also used a speedo calculator to figure out by how much your speedo is off by? You may unknowingly be one of those people at risk for getting a ticket for being 5km over the limit thinking your speedo is correct...

http://www.tyresizecalculator.com/tyre- ... calculator

I was wondering why I was passing people at 80kph if everyone is more or less doing 80kph... Overall increase in tyre circumference...

Have to remember that

Wasn't there an accident by the Edinburgh 500 turn off South bound Lane earlier

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 6th, 2016, 11:17 pm

Almost everyone has slowed down drastically and yet the road carnage continues ....

Postby DVSTT » May 6th, 2016, 11:36 pm

drchaos wrote:Almost everyone has slowed down drastically and yet the road carnage continues ....

You studying road carnage, how much people got murdered/robbed today?

Postby aaron17 » May 7th, 2016, 12:52 am

Seeing that this enforcement pretty much is working so far so good for now. I would like to know if bringing back the hanging law would have the same effect on murder rates etc. We should all come together and make this talk much bigger than the speed limit. Is there an online petition on this? I would definitely sign this.Everyone must come together. This should be the number 1 issue right now to enforce.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 7th, 2016, 1:21 am

aaron17 wrote:Seeing that this enforcement pretty much is working so far so good for now. I would like to know if bringing back the hanging law would have the same effect on murder rates etc. We should all come together and make this talk much bigger than the speed limit. Is there an online petition on this? I would definitely sign this.Everyone must come together. This should be the number 1 issue right now to enforce.

Yeah they could use the speed guns to actually find the murderers first before convicting and hanging.

Kalisnakov

Postby Kalisnakov » May 7th, 2016, 3:26 am

[FLUSHED FACE][GRINNING FACE WITH SMILING EYES]attachment=0]ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1462605960.421492.jpg[/attachment
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1462605960.421492.jpg

Postby maj. tom » May 7th, 2016, 5:53 am

Yes, Governments usually buy equipment from ebay. Ebay also calibrates and services these machines, with a certificate, and give warranty and free shipping. Then the Ebay seller comes down using his own money on plane tickets and educates the police on how to use and maintain the equipment properly.