mark2.0 wrote:Question, should I keep meh two gul or leggo one?
zoom rader wrote:Recessions dont affect trinis cause we carnival and dat doh stop for nutting. Loans have to take out for costumes and Army fete around de corner
BRZ wrote:Well all businesses that were connected to the previous administration should have enough " extra money" to ride out a recession, so they don't care, the poor people will still get handouts and of course the middle class will suffer, Now is a great time to hit with a high tax for owning more than 2 pieces of real estate, it will either drive the price down finally or make the rich bastards give up more in taxes.
pugboy wrote:the last time there was a real recession was in mid eighties
few here will know or have experienced that, maybe their parents
pugboy wrote:the last time there was a real recession was in mid eighties
few here will know or have experienced that, maybe their parents
eurotuner wrote:shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Redman wrote:DVSTT wrote:Will house prices reach attainable levels?
Not until the demand dries up.
And the grey economy slows.
Land is washing machine fadda
building materials would be way cheaper when the recession really kick een
best time to build yuh house
This is the logic....but this also is Trinidad.
DVSTT wrote:eurotuner wrote:shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Redman wrote:DVSTT wrote:Will house prices reach attainable levels?
Not until the demand dries up.
And the grey economy slows.
Land is washing machine fadda
building materials would be way cheaper when the recession really kick een
best time to build yuh house
This is the logic....but this also is Trinidad.
How is money laundered through real estate? Won't there be a paper trail if you buy all the material to build a house (say $2 million worth) cash and then sell it? Won't someone in authority see that and connect the dots or am I missing something with respect to the procedure?
desifemlove wrote:i await zr and co. and uml and rfari to say dis rowley fault...like in three months he should stop all crime, cure disease, and bring heaven on earth...
Been there , done dat and lived through it. I don't think this current population can live through another like that as they have it easy. There was less money and less crime, now it will more crime to come.
between 2001-2010 there was record growth. and manage an economy in three months? which econ textbook did you read?bluesclues wrote:desifemlove wrote:i await zr and co. and uml and rfari to say dis rowley fault...like in three months he should stop all crime, cure disease, and bring heaven on earth...
i can state simply, that our finance minister with all his experience should be better at reading the economy than he appears. and not have made any grandiose budgetary allocations.
im sorry but from the track record. it really looks like pnm problem is that they dont know how to manage the economy. they use a bunch of textbook solutions, bourne in a world so old its outdated. proven by the fact that all the authors they use as mentors are dead.
doubles to $15, usd exchange rate... 10:1
and there goes pnm, setting up themselves to be discarded from the polls. this time everyone seeing it in plain view. pnm enter... economy screwed. happens every time.
BRZ wrote:Banks soon to start giving car loans for up to 10 years![]()
DVSTT wrote: How is money laundered through real estate? Won't there be a paper trail if you buy all the material to build a house (say $2 million worth) cash and then sell it? Won't someone in authority see that and connect the dots or am I missing something with respect to the procedure?
desifemlove wrote:between 2001-2010 there was record growth. and manage an economy in three months? which econ textbook did you read?bluesclues wrote:desifemlove wrote:i await zr and co. and uml and rfari to say dis rowley fault...like in three months he should stop all crime, cure disease, and bring heaven on earth...
i can state simply, that our finance minister with all his experience should be better at reading the economy than he appears. and not have made any grandiose budgetary allocations.
im sorry but from the track record. it really looks like pnm problem is that they dont know how to manage the economy. they use a bunch of textbook solutions, bourne in a world so old its outdated. proven by the fact that all the authors they use as mentors are dead.
doubles to $15, usd exchange rate... 10:1
and there goes pnm, setting up themselves to be discarded from the polls. this time everyone seeing it in plain view. pnm enter... economy screwed. happens every time.
X2 wrote:There needs to be a big push to agriculture and manufacturing if we are to ride out any type of storm. Unfortunately both governments have tirelessly pushed against this. Maybe we can make solar panels or microchips right ?
Ansa mcal buys USD also... they are also earners of foreign exchange so their consumption according to CB must be lower than normal.
We have no significant manufacturing or agriculture base short of corn curls, sweets, sugar water and fire water. We are a failed economy thanks to the easy money of energy products... as a country, we abandoned productivity and ingenuity to milk the teat of the energy sector. The government promised diversification in the 70s and has ridden that pretense ever since... 'the energy sector will fund our diversification'. The greatest lie ever sold to TnT.
Some may think that we are not close to what happened in the 80's, but given the exchange rate and volatility of the current economic wave in the Caribbean, we might as well say we are there. The real quality of life in Trinidad has not gotten much better than it was in the 70's either. A shiny new iphone and nike knockoffs shouldn't discount the fact that a lot of people still go home to thieves liming on the corner and a bucket and bottle shower.
Given the insane government expenditure over the last 20 years... and seeing that this spend was likely 20 times what it was in the decade prior... we should be living in an abu dhabi - esque paradise... proper housing for all, running water, electricity, safe streets.... business opportunity and growth opportunity to spare... yet, there are just small sprouts of businesses with huge portions of the wealth and the 'people' have to deal with violent crime, mysterious dead babies, people shot for a blue note... it's the wild west out there... If the economy is in a recession, the population is headed for a depression.
The_Honourable wrote:DVSTT wrote: How is money laundered through real estate? Won't there be a paper trail if you buy all the material to build a house (say $2 million worth) cash and then sell it? Won't someone in authority see that and connect the dots or am I missing something with respect to the procedure?
You can have all the paper trail you want, but if you can't prosecute because of loopholes in the legal system and/or not enough trained staff to deal with crimes like these, money laundering would keep going unchecked.
Read this: http://www.trinidadexpress.com/business ... 51311.html
But to answer your question on laundering through Real Estate:
Third Party - Suspect money is funneled through your padna or family accounts to purchase the property. Most times, the deed would be under their name. Many "persons in public life" do this so they would not have to report their assets to the Integrity Commission and to get away from public scrutiny.
Mortgages - are used to buy the property where illicit funds are used to pay them off. They may over-value their properties to get a bigger loan. They would under-value to pay lower stamp-duty.
Sell - Buy property today with illicit funds, sell that property next year or two at a profit (flipping). Do this multiple times to "clean" your funds. Also, buy "lower grade" properties, use the illegal funds to pay off construction loans or to renovate the property, then sell it at a profit.
Companies - Move the funds or property through different companies where the companies themselves are owned by you, your family or a padna. Jack Warner did this a lot with FIFA funds.
Structured/Limited Deposit - You deposit money below the "reporting threshold" so you don't have to declare where the funds are coming from. You have accounts in different banks so you can spread the funds and still no need to report once you are below the threshold.
Rent - "Lease" properties (owned by your padna or family member) and pay "rent" using illicit funds.
Invest Overseas - Do any of what I stated above in another country where the laundering laws are not strong. A lot of the times, one of the carribbean islands.