Six long weekends; two potential mega weekends in 2016

IdleMind2504

Six long weekends; two potential mega weekends in 2016

Postby IdleMind2504 » December 2nd, 2015, 10:26 am

http://www.cnc3.co.tt/press-release/six-long-weekends-two-potential-mega-weekends-2016

If productivity in Trinidad was not already low...going to be worse in 2016 :shock:

14 T&T HOLIDAYS 2016

New Years Day - Friday 1st January

Easter Friday - Friday 25th March

Easter Sunday - holiday given Monday 28th March

Shouter Baptist Day - Wednesday 30th March

Corpus Christi - Thursday 26th May

Indian Arrival Day - Monday 30th May

Labour Day - Sunday 19th June

Eid - TO BE DECLARED - July

Emancipation Day - Monday 1st August

Independence Day - Wednesday 31st August

Republic Day - Saturday 24th September

Divali - Sunday 30th October (TO BE CONFIRMED)

Christmas Day - Sunday 25th December

Boxing Day Monday 26th December

10-01

Re: Six long weekends; two potential mega weekends in 2016

Postby 10-01 » December 2nd, 2015, 10:46 am

lovely ..... more days to relax and fish ....

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 2nd, 2015, 11:32 am

the list missed out Carnival on February 8th and 9th

though officially Carnival Monday and Tuesday are not public holidays

Postby MG Man » December 2nd, 2015, 11:39 am

my normal thing is to spread out my vacation days to mondays and fridays and make a whole bunch of long weekends....and I would slot in a monday or friday vacation day if a holiday falls on a tuesday or thursday

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » December 2nd, 2015, 12:24 pm

Divali in Trinidad and Tobago will be on Saturday 29th October. According to the calculations, the day will run from 11:10AM on 29/10/16 to 1:37PM on 30/10/16. This means that Divali will be celebrated on the 29th in T&T.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » December 2nd, 2015, 1:53 pm

All holidays on Random days (Eg Shouter Baptist and Indian Arrival) should be scheduled to always fall on a Monday or Friday. I wonder which government will have the courage to do this?

This seems to be a win win win situation for Employers, employees and the local tourism industry.

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » December 2nd, 2015, 2:22 pm

PariaMan wrote:All holidays on Random days (Eg Shouter Baptist and Indian Arrival) should be scheduled to always fall on a Monday or Friday. I wonder which government will have the courage to do this?

This seems to be a win win win situation for Employers, employees and the local tourism industry.

So by this logic, the only days that will not shift are Good Friday and Easter Monday.
Everything else will be subject to change.

Postby RASC » December 3rd, 2015, 6:37 am

Can't wait to become PM
Cutting holidays in HALF!

Postby MG Man » December 3rd, 2015, 7:54 am

RASC wrote:Can't wait to become PM

I would vote for you
The only meaningful celebrations are Independence and Emancipation...I would give a bligh for new years because everybody hungover anyway

BoostJunkieXL

Postby BoostJunkieXL » December 3rd, 2015, 1:07 pm

I would vote for you
The only meaningful celebrations are Independence and Emancipation...I would give a bligh for new years because everybody hungover anyway

really ?? o_O smh....

Postby Slartibartfast » December 3rd, 2015, 1:18 pm

That and increase the work day to ten hours (not including lunch of course). Most people don't need to spend time with family anyway. Ent they say family will always be there?

Postby MG Man » December 3rd, 2015, 1:26 pm

BoostJunkieXL wrote:

I would vote for you

really ?? o_O smh....

oh, you have a problem with this?
Please elaborate

Postby Slartibartfast » December 3rd, 2015, 1:28 pm

MG man I with you on this one. Except I'm not a fan of irony so I'll cut the emancipation day celebrations as well.

Postby RASC » December 4th, 2015, 9:13 am

BoostJunkieXL wrote:

I would vote for you

really ?? o_O smh....

oh, you have a problem with this?
Please elaborate

Would love to hear his explanation also ...

Postby pete » December 4th, 2015, 10:03 am

As Republic Day gonna be a Saturday might as well cut it out completely one time.

moti

Postby moti » December 4th, 2015, 10:14 am

Holidays that fall on a Saturday are a total waste to me as I'm not in the public sector....

Postby MG Man » December 4th, 2015, 10:38 am

moti wrote:Holidays that fall on a Saturday are a total waste to me as I'm not in the public sector....

you are a total waste of time

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » December 7th, 2015, 11:39 pm

If you're unemployed everyday is a holiday and every weekend a long one.

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » December 8th, 2015, 3:09 am

Op you have the boat ride schedule?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 8th, 2015, 7:26 am

TriniAutoMart wrote:

Divali in Trinidad and Tobago will be on Saturday 29th October. According to the calculations, the day will run from 11:10AM on 29/10/16 to 1:37PM on 30/10/16. This means that Divali will be celebrated on the 29th in T&T.

with men like Sat Maraj in existence............ Diwali is yet to be confirmed...