Career Change Advice Needed (Srs)

Re: Career Change Advice Needed (Srs)

Postby Habit7 » July 22nd, 2015, 5:22 pm

I choose to stay in my ok career so that I can afford to buy a Ceesna 172 later on in life and fly for fun, not as anyone's slave.

10-01

Postby 10-01 » July 22nd, 2015, 5:26 pm

i was pricing them a glass cockpit cessna 172 is about $22k USD but i wonder if you can make a local runway to land in your back yard ... is that legal ?

Postby zoom rader » July 22nd, 2015, 5:33 pm

Project-JDM wrote:i was pricing them a glass cockpit cessna 172 is about $22k USD but i wonder if you can make a local runway to land in your back yard ... is that legal ?

Caroni did it, they had their own runway just off the old tasker road, now M2 ring rd.

Postby S_2NR » July 22nd, 2015, 5:51 pm

Project-JDM wrote:
S_2NR wrote:

Looking at ATP to do a worldwide commercial license @60k USD. Then acquire green card and get job on one of the many north American Airlines. Jobs with Cal scarce from what I hear.

I just want a sit down with someone who is in it so I get no surprises and I know what to expect.

its not as easy as u stated eh bro .... to get hired u need about 750 hrs + for a first officer job on a ATR etc not a JET

when u finish your CPL u would have about 250 hrs mayb wher u gettin the nex 500 hrs ? best you do your CFI one time and instruct and make up the HRS for free .... an d wel get a small salary ...
locally its a beyotch to get a Job with CAL , u have to know someone ....

as i said before call aerial speak to some of the instructors they wil guide you

S_2NR wrote:Briko doesn't impress me.

i could give you stories that will make u wonder if its even a flight school ....

this is part of my plan as i dont have my parents/family support on this. family consists of doctors, engineers, lawyers. they dont see being a pilot as 'prestigious'
will call aerial tomorrow.
never heard of them though.

thanks all

Advent

Postby Advent » July 22nd, 2015, 6:01 pm

Firestruck that prestigious thing boi and do what you love bro

Sent from my XT1058 using Tapatalk

10-01

Postby 10-01 » July 22nd, 2015, 6:15 pm

S_2NR wrote:
Project-JDM wrote:
S_2NR wrote:

Looking at ATP to do a worldwide commercial license @60k USD. Then acquire green card and get job on one of the many north American Airlines. Jobs with Cal scarce from what I hear.

I just want a sit down with someone who is in it so I get no surprises and I know what to expect.

its not as easy as u stated eh bro .... to get hired u need about 750 hrs + for a first officer job on a ATR etc not a JET

when u finish your CPL u would have about 250 hrs mayb wher u gettin the nex 500 hrs ? best you do your CFI one time and instruct and make up the HRS for free .... an d wel get a small salary ...
locally its a beyotch to get a Job with CAL , u have to know someone ....

as i said before call aerial speak to some of the instructors they wil guide you

S_2NR wrote:Briko doesn't impress me.

i could give you stories that will make u wonder if its even a flight school ....

this is part of my plan as i dont have my parents/family support on this.family consists of doctors, engineers, lawyers. they dont see being a pilot as 'prestigious'

thanks all

Twin Isle Cars n' Parts

Postby Twin Isle Cars n' Parts » July 22nd, 2015, 11:08 pm

Radix wrote:A pilot is nothing more than a taxi driver driving a b14 with wings. It is no longer a respected profession, poor salaries and no growth. At age 21 I was earning more than the average CAL pilot as an Extra Heavy-T trailer driver.

Somewhat true, but at the same time you could shut
yr rass!!!
All the earnings you seemingly earned, you're still a disgruntled, negative individual....
OP is trying to avoid becoming a "you"...
Last edited by Twin Isle Cars n' Parts on July 23rd, 2015, 8:34 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby A172 » July 22nd, 2015, 11:51 pm

Habit7 wrote:I choose to stay in my ok career so that I can afford to buy a Ceesna 172 later on in life and fly for fun, not as anyone's slave.

wrking for ppl = slave

Postby janfar » July 23rd, 2015, 12:16 am

Project-JDM wrote:i was pricing them a glass cockpit cessna 172 is about $22k USD but i wonder if you can make a local runway to land in your back yard ... is that legal ?

Caroni did it, they had their own runway just off the old tasker road, now M2 ring rd.

I think the issue is getting the aircraft registered in Trinidad and having it inspected because IIRC there was only one certified inspector in the country. They have somewhat of a monopoly on it.

Radix

Postby Radix » July 23rd, 2015, 12:16 am

stefan, quit trying to seem like something you're not. You're a broke kid with no job still struggling at UWI. You created this whole thread just to appear "prestigious"....

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » July 23rd, 2015, 6:55 am

12 apt @$2500 each a month rent and I leavin meh wuk...relaxin my tail and become a landlord...

Build a house in d country plant a garden live nice n simple...

Postby S_2NR » July 23rd, 2015, 7:46 am

Radix wrote:stefan, quit trying to seem like something you're not. You're a broke kid with no job still struggling at UWI. You created this whole thread just to appear "prestigious"....

Well you got my name right. Congrats.
Thanks for all the bumps bro. You have been a great help. Got a few contacts already.

Postby Ted_v2 » July 23rd, 2015, 7:55 am

Project-JDM wrote:

lemme hear you, i know a girl going there. She claims its the best thing in trinidad. :|

Postby RBphoto » July 23rd, 2015, 9:33 am

nos_specialist wrote:12 apt @$2500 each a month rent and I leavin meh wuk...relaxin my tail and become a landlord...

Marry me [SMILING FACE WITH HEART-SHAPED EYES]

Postby zoom rader » July 23rd, 2015, 9:34 am

Ted_v2 wrote:
Project-JDM wrote:

lemme hear you, i know a girl going there. She claims its the best thing in trinidad. :|

Pics of girl

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » July 23rd, 2015, 9:36 am

RBphoto wrote:
nos_specialist wrote:12 apt @$2500 each a month rent and I leavin meh wuk...relaxin my tail and become a landlord...

..Send application with contact info pics...and $1.5 million cash

Postby RBphoto » July 23rd, 2015, 9:42 am

nos_specialist wrote:
RBphoto wrote:

..Send application with contact info pics...and $1.5 million cash

No money. No pics.. Trust me, nothing a paper bag can't fix. I will work the land for you tho. I fed up of live stock, so you will handle that scene ok?

Postby DVSTT » July 23rd, 2015, 12:32 pm

Project-JDM wrote:
DVSTT wrote:You'd spend close to a million ttd to get your license. Then you'd catch your tail to get a job.
Schools that I know of are in Daytona, Embry riddle, dean's and ATP.
You'd first get your private pilot license (ppl) then advance to commercial pilot license (cpl) and if hired you'd have to go get type rated for the plane with which you'll have to fly.
Local airlines don't pay that well so alot of the ex bwia pilots I know that are certified on the airbus a340 have gone to dubai and advanced to the a380 at Emirates,who pay very well.

its about $300k from PPL - CPL locally with ariel world

Never heard of them. I know of briko locally, but after having experience first hand with them, I'd not recommend them to anyone.

Radix

Postby Radix » July 23rd, 2015, 1:26 pm

S_2NR wrote:Hoping for a sit down and talk like a career breakdown so I can know what i am getting into. I can pay for your time if required.

Stefan, this is so corny. LMAO!!
Oh please, give us a break with the attention seeking!

Postby S_2NR » July 23rd, 2015, 2:18 pm

The only one attention seeking here is you my friend

Postby Ted_v2 » July 23rd, 2015, 2:54 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:
Project-JDM wrote:

Pics of girl

nah

10-01

Postby 10-01 » July 24th, 2015, 7:56 am

Ted_v2 wrote:
Project-JDM wrote:

Pics of girl

nah

these incidents happened in 2012 -12

during one of my flights a wing aileron cable burst over central had to do an emergency landing at Camden when they check d inspection of the plane it was expired

they have "instructors" who are not even Certified to instruct due to cutting cost

Ground school was set 5pm due to one of the "instructors " had car trouble they cancelled ground school , and the best part was the instructor live rite trincity , a class of 12 had to go home

they had no fixed plans for students and booking for flights if u come for a flight and a instructor decides well this student needs the flight more than you , u lose your bookings and well u have to go back home

its a family owned business so u cannot complain about service or condition of AC , the secretary is the owners Daughter , every morning she would come out in the lobby " who going to by doubles for me " and well some1 would have to go buy it ....

during flights instructors are allowed to bring people for " rides " one incident i saw , a instructor took 2 ATC officers for a ride over maracas using a student training session , maracas and the north coast are not training grounds

instructors stretch flight sessions / training so that they can get paid more , if a student takes 2 hrs to learn a flight lesson it will be stretched to 5 hrs , instructors get paid $250 an hr

some instructors are family also so wat they say goes :|

if u book flights and your "instructor " decides to change it due to his personal problems you cannot do anything about it .

Postby Ted_v2 » July 24th, 2015, 8:00 am

de phoq i hearing.
then again its Trinidad so i expected something like that.

10-01

Postby 10-01 » July 24th, 2015, 8:26 am

S_2NR wrote:
Radix wrote:stefan, quit trying to seem like something you're not. You're a broke kid with no job still struggling at UWI. You created this whole thread just to appear "prestigious"....

Well you got my name right. Congrats.
Thanks for all the bumps bro. You have been a great help. Got a few contacts already.

wait wait ..... he still struggling at uwi .... but uwi is a getto school and he moms and dads seeking prestige for ther son

S_2NR wrote:
this is part of my plan as i dont have my parents/family support on this. family consists of doctors, engineers, lawyers. they dont see being a pilot as 'prestigious'

thanks all

buuahhahahhahahhahahahahhahahahahahhaha mummy and daddy is lawers and docs

and wouldn't support you to do your pilot licence better you become a gynaecologist

u seek alot of attention bro to post that kinda personal info worst yet any info is jus a call away to any flight skoool and they have in house pilots .....

Postby S_2NR » July 24th, 2015, 8:41 am

Thread can be deleted. I got what I needed. Thanks

DurzoBlint1

Postby DurzoBlint1 » July 24th, 2015, 10:06 am

Do what you like man. But dont expect it to be a bed of roses.Criticism will come,expect it.And by d way plenty people who famous didn't like their original profession and switch and work wonders.Case in point valentino rossi qualified doctor but great motorcycle racer.

Postby Slartibartfast » July 24th, 2015, 11:52 am

That's kind of different. His father was a grand Prix racer and he started racing in the grand prix when he was just 17. It looks like becoming a doctor was his backup plan.

Anyway, OP, do what you hada do. I'm an engineer and looking to find a way to get out eventually or at least only have to do it full time. Don't beat up over your failures, they are only permanent if you quit.

Postby Chimera » July 24th, 2015, 12:04 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:
Project-JDM wrote:

Amy?

Postby Ted_v2 » July 24th, 2015, 2:11 pm

Star.