The *Official* Old School Spotters Thread

Midnight_Demon

Re: The *Official* Old School Spotters Thread

Postby Midnight_Demon » April 29th, 2015, 11:05 pm

Black Scorpion wrote:That 280C looks like a foreign shell...still good condition

Thought so too but he said it was bought by his grandfather brand new local

Postby eliteauto » April 29th, 2015, 11:30 pm

Midnight_Demon wrote:
Black Scorpion wrote:That 280C looks like a foreign shell...still good condition

some 280Cs were "foreign assembled" our first one from Massy rusted in 2 years and was returned and we got a "foreign assembled" one, dunno what that meant but the car had golf clubs in the trunk when we got it and was wayyy nicer but was badged as 280C not Cedric as seen here. My friend's dad was a manager there and had 3 no posts 280c, and 2 280zx, they also had a Cedric like this that was also local so I dunno what Massy was doing back then

Postby Rory Phoulorie » April 30th, 2015, 12:50 am

eliteauto wrote:
Midnight_Demon wrote:

some 280Cs were "foreign assembled" our first one from Massy rusted in 2 years and was returned and we got a "foreign assembled" one, dunno what that meant but the car had golf clubs in the trunk when we got it and was wayyy nicer but was badged as 280C not Cedric as seen here. My friend's dad was a manager there and had 3 no posts 280c, and 2 280zx, they also had a Cedric like this that was also local so I dunno what Massy was doing back then. . .

The front and back on that 280C are not correct for a "PAE" series car. The 280Cs from that series had a separate reverse light from the main taillight assembly and the front grille had a waterfall type (vertical elements only) grille, not the eggcrate type grille. The front indicators in the bumper are missing the clear park light section.

It still looks good though.

Postby Monk BANzai » April 30th, 2015, 2:05 am

got this in my FB inbox just now ..guy didnt know what it was. Did some googling... a 1974 Lotus Elite. Looks like a boat yard down Chag though. I added the plate block after the screen shot

was a PAA plate... thats all i gonna say. Niccas posting their spots vicariously through me now....lol
Lotus Elite.jpg
oldschoolspotscreen.jpg

Postby MG Man » April 30th, 2015, 7:47 am

Frankie Boodram had one of these IIRC....same car perhaps?

Postby Monk BANzai » April 30th, 2015, 5:23 pm

cud be.... really cudnt say for sure.... Alot of exotics passed through Frankie's hands.....

Postby MG Man » May 1st, 2015, 7:17 am

ask him if it still has the original 2.2

Postby MG Man » May 1st, 2015, 8:17 am

yup blue / black....always wondered what became of it

Postby MG Man » May 1st, 2015, 12:33 pm

pm me some stalker coordinates nah....been trying to find out for years where it went

Postby MG Man » May 1st, 2015, 3:55 pm

cool
thanks man :)

Postby Monk BANzai » May 1st, 2015, 7:04 pm

take pics nick...and show him the other one i posted... maybe the owners know each other....

9YDMS

Postby 9YDMS » May 1st, 2015, 9:22 pm

spotted on tuner... :D

viewtopic.php?f=55&t=626066
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1430517018.819162.jpg
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1430517018.819162.jpg (36.26 KiB) Viewed 5531 times

9YDMS

Postby 9YDMS » May 3rd, 2015, 10:13 pm

lil sum from the show today...seen many old school datsun pickups but here is a first...zoom zoom
IMG_20150503_163826.jpg
IMG_20150503_163826.jpg (34.49 KiB) Viewed 5405 times

Postby Team Loco » May 4th, 2015, 3:53 pm

Calor wrote:lil sum from the show today...seen many old school datsun pickups but here is a first...zoom zoom

that is just lovely

9YDMS

Postby 9YDMS » May 4th, 2015, 5:40 pm

This car also caught my attention...was looking for the green one but i came kinda late :D
IMG_20150503_170652.jpg
IMG_20150503_170652.jpg (31.82 KiB) Viewed 5279 times

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » May 4th, 2015, 11:16 pm

Midnight_Demon wrote:Friend of mine posted this today, was his grandfather's car before he passed away.. cant remember the last time I've seen one this clean

:fadein: :fadein:

Postby Monk BANzai » May 5th, 2015, 1:01 am

i am yet to see this car in a mis-treated state... every time ive seen it...its in tip top condition.... thinking its a single owner from "new"

Postby wagonrunner » May 5th, 2015, 6:08 pm

In st helena
1430863651222.jpg

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » May 6th, 2015, 8:01 am

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
eliteauto wrote:
Midnight_Demon wrote:

some 280Cs were "foreign assembled" our first one from Massy rusted in 2 years and was returned and we got a "foreign assembled" one, dunno what that meant but the car had golf clubs in the trunk when we got it and was wayyy nicer but was badged as 280C not Cedric as seen here. My friend's dad was a manager there and had 3 no posts 280c, and 2 280zx, they also had a Cedric like this that was also local so I dunno what Massy was doing back then. . .

The front and back on that 280C are not correct for a "PAE" series car. The 280Cs from that series had a separate reverse light from the main taillight assembly and the front grille had a waterfall type (vertical elements only) grille, not the eggcrate type grille. The front indicators in the bumper are missing the clear park light section.

It still looks good though.

Elite, the foreign assembled ones meant that you got a car that was built for other markets, main difference being that a thicker gauge metal was used for body fabrication.
Extremely accurate Rory.
Everything on that car is foreign parts that weren't even yet available at the 1983-4 period.
It looks good however.

Supposed to look like this:

As for the one by Seenaths, it is diesel iirc.
40k and they aint budging from that price

9YDMS

Postby 9YDMS » May 9th, 2015, 11:56 pm

6617.jpg

Postby MG Man » May 10th, 2015, 9:36 am

15k for that?
They hadda be onshit.....look at the lower body corrosion...not even a particularly collectible car.....

9YDMS

Postby 9YDMS » May 10th, 2015, 3:14 pm

^long gone are the days of buying a cheap antique!

Anyways here is an orignal Zx...If i can get one in this condition will buy :mrgreen:
IMG_20150503_174731.jpg
IMG_20150503_174731.jpg (26.23 KiB) Viewed 5162 times
IMG_20150503_174720.jpg
IMG_20150503_174720.jpg (29.75 KiB) Viewed 5162 times

zeeshan66

Postby zeeshan66 » May 10th, 2015, 6:23 pm

Postby Monk BANzai » May 10th, 2015, 6:26 pm

MG Man wrote:15k for that?
They hadda be onshit.....look at the lower body corrosion...not even a particularly collectible car.....

HAHAHAHA YOU TALKING BOUT PRICE? HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

LOOK lemme go back to med DIG Binge watching on USA eh......

*wipes eyes.... man say dem onshit yes.....aye!!!

Postby MG Man » May 10th, 2015, 11:54 pm

hos, you know how much I paid for that red MG and it waaaaay better than that Hillman

Postby Monk BANzai » May 11th, 2015, 3:25 am

MG Man wrote:hos, you know how much I paid for that red MG and it waaaaay better than that Hillman

SO? if a man thinks the car is worth $15k and someone else pays that price for it.... then fine... yuh sounding like dem nitwits in the "name a crazy price for a car" ched.... "value for money" or some crap so?....

:evilbat:

Postby MG Man » May 11th, 2015, 8:25 am

So you sayin jus because you like jiggly cellulite, then that makes it sexy?

Postby MG Man » May 11th, 2015, 11:23 am

air cooled goodness
IMG_4638a.jpg
IMG_4637sm.jpg

Postby Monk BANzai » May 11th, 2015, 11:26 am

ahh yuh back to doing what you do best... posting pics.. .cuz logic is not yuh strong suite....

loving that tho....

Postby MG Man » May 11th, 2015, 11:31 am

sir, you owe me an email, so stup fukingaround and get cracking