3ne2nr fishermen

bumpie

Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby bumpie » February 22nd, 2015, 7:19 pm

proton17 wrote:Went manzan dis morning, had a lil seaweed on shore but was ok to deal with, caught a 3.5 lb pompano for dinner later. Lol
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1424630416.976449.jpg

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1424630443.623369.jpg

mrlantra

Postby mrlantra » February 22nd, 2015, 9:01 pm

Today's/nights recon to Hughes rock, 8 lb, 6 lb cat fish and a 4 lb croaker
image.jpg

JayB27

Postby JayB27 » February 22nd, 2015, 10:45 pm

mrlantra wrote:Today's/nights recon to Hughes rock, 8 lb, 6 lb cat fish and a 4 lb croaker

Nice fish man! Where is that rock though?

mrlantra

Postby mrlantra » February 22nd, 2015, 11:53 pm

2 miles off sando in de gulf

ryan99tt

3ne2nr fishermen

Postby ryan99tt » February 23rd, 2015, 5:21 am

Held these on thursday....

Postby *KRONIK* » February 23rd, 2015, 6:32 am

^^^^

so i could pass for 1??

ModMania

Postby ModMania » February 23rd, 2015, 7:31 am

Suhweeet tuna!

Postby dougla_boy » February 23rd, 2015, 7:39 am

nice! good catch!

makin a trip early march plz God

Postby meccalli » February 23rd, 2015, 7:48 am

I have a sudden and strong urge to fillet fish now lol.

ryan99tt

3ne2nr fishermen

Postby ryan99tt » February 23rd, 2015, 7:53 am

Dat tuna cook d same day...suppose to hav some carite in d fridge somewhere...get ah mutton from ah padna on d group here and bake dat last nite...

legend

Postby legend » February 23rd, 2015, 12:47 pm

Good day guys.

Recently started fishing. Friend got me hooked

I want to buy a rod for myself. I dont want to overspend because its only when i get time i can fish but i want a durable rod and reel combo for sea fishing that would last and stand up under pressure

http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/reviews/B003D5XMJU/ref=mw_dp_cr

Went to southern wholesale stores; they recommended this for my use and price range. I beleive the combo is 350.

Its a Shakespeare alpha bigwater 10 ft rod and reel. Any reviews on the rod or suggestions

Thanks guys

Postby dougla_boy » February 23rd, 2015, 12:59 pm

first you need to specify where u using it....then ur question cud be answered....

legend

Postby legend » February 23rd, 2015, 1:19 pm

Shoreline fishing and an occasional deep water expedition. South and in the west

proton17

Postby proton17 » February 23rd, 2015, 4:52 pm

Went manzan today hoping for d best, d first half of manzan hv real seaweed, a gd way after d mouth mostly hv some rotting seaweed dat jus rolling in d shallows.

Not even a gd bite today, never really caught any gd fish on dat side.

Looks like seaweed making an early entry dis year on d east coast.

JayB27

Postby JayB27 » February 23rd, 2015, 6:16 pm

That suck man.

smod

Postby smod » February 23rd, 2015, 6:29 pm

Went Mazan Sunday gone about a 2 miles before the river mouth, fished whole day and caught five catfish (golden colour). Never saw that kinda catfish before. Seaweed starting rolling with the tide and had to abandon fishing.

allrotor

Postby allrotor » February 24th, 2015, 12:27 pm

went off the gulf on saturday with some partners...fish from 8 till about 4 so.

water was not that rough, we had to use 12 - 16 oz sinker.

we hold about 25 cro cro, 15 red fish, 10 cat fish, 6 salmon, 1 pampano and 1 powa.

them men raft the fish lol, this is what they leave me with.
IMG-20150221-WA000.jpg

proton17

Postby proton17 » February 24th, 2015, 12:55 pm

Nice catch, which side in d gulf though.

mrlantra

Postby mrlantra » February 24th, 2015, 1:55 pm

Yup where in the gulf?

Postby SMc » February 24th, 2015, 2:53 pm

ryan99tt wrote:Held these on thursday....

I have never seen Carite in any other place than in the Southern Caribbean...and there are not many other fish that is more suited an early morning ceviche than a 3lb (or under) carite fresh out the sea and into the bowl....always served with crix.

BTW as you can tell I craving some carite right now :(

mrlantra

Postby mrlantra » February 24th, 2015, 3:23 pm

SMc wrote:
ryan99tt wrote:Held these on thursday....

I have never seen Carite in any other place than in the Southern Caribbean...and there are not many other fish that is more suited an early morning ceviche than a 3lb (or under) carite fresh out the sea and into the bowl....always served with crix.

BTW as you can tell I craving some carite right now :(

Spanish mackerel aka carite are found from the Carolina's, gulf of Mexico Florida to Southern Caribbean and northern Brazil. and in many fish markets if you know to ask for Spanish Mackerel

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » February 24th, 2015, 9:31 pm

went salt factory ....caught not one thing except bait (sabiki working great)

however ; while pulling up bait a fricking 3-4 feet grouper was trailing the line came right up to the dock like 2 feet away from me. I get so dotish i start to bawl down the place :/ hahahha

attempts to catch that mofo failed :(

JayB27

Postby JayB27 » February 24th, 2015, 9:52 pm

BlueIce wrote:went salt factory ....caught not one thing except bait (sabiki working great)

however ; while pulling up bait a fricking 3-4 feet grouper was trailing the line came right up to the dock like 2 feet away from me. I get so dotish i start to bawl down the place :/ hahahha

attempts to catch that mofo failed :(

Wow! That would of been awesome to see man! Probably would of done the same thing! :D

Postby meccalli » February 24th, 2015, 10:32 pm

There's a decent number of goliaths that hang out below the pier by the floating docks next to the salt factory where they sank a good bit of scrap iron and the pilings. That's where the diver died the other day hunting em and getting his belt stuck in the iron. It's practically useless to line fish there for the big tarpon and grouper, fish get in the iron, will either bust you off or get wrapped and die. The cavalli are dumb though, they head for open water lol.

legend

Postby legend » February 24th, 2015, 10:42 pm

legend wrote:Good day guys.

Recently started fishing. Friend got me hooked

I want to buy a rod for myself. I dont want to overspend because its only when i get time i can fish but i want a durable rod and reel combo for sea fishing that would last and stand up under pressure

http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/reviews/B003D5XMJU/ref=mw_dp_cr

Went to southern wholesale stores; they recommended this for my use and price range. I beleive the combo is 350.

Its a Shakespeare alpha bigwater 10 ft rod and reel. Any reviews on the rod or suggestions

Thanks guys

No suggestions?

kevin5211

Postby kevin5211 » February 24th, 2015, 11:21 pm

The 10 ft is good to start off surf fishing, but it might be too bulky on a boat. The shakesphere alpha is a pretty cheap but effective combo, i say go for it.

mrlantra

Postby mrlantra » February 24th, 2015, 11:23 pm

Legend, honestly you will need a few rods and reels, if your surf fishing then the 12 rod will work, just always wash it in fresh water and that 20 lb line change it after a few months. If your near shore then you want a shorter rod to feel the bites, 7 to 8 ft medium or medium heavy rods. I like to use braid a lot, 30 lb braid for my lightest rods and 50 on my mid stuff, 120 lb braid on the heavy stuff. Those Long rods suddenly become a dis advantage when your humping through trails. Also where the hell is the salt factory?

legend

Postby legend » February 25th, 2015, 12:21 am

Thanks alot guys

JayB27

Postby JayB27 » February 25th, 2015, 5:15 am

mrlantra wrote:Legend, honestly you will need a few rods and reels, if your surf fishing then the 12 rod will work, just always wash it in fresh water and that 20 lb line change it after a few months. If your near shore then you want a shorter rod to feel the bites, 7 to 8 ft medium or medium heavy rods. I like to use braid a lot, 30 lb braid for my lightest rods and 50 on my mid stuff, 120 lb braid on the heavy stuff. Those Long rods suddenly become a dis advantage when your humping through trails. Also where the hell is the salt factory?

At the end of the road where BHP's shore base is.

krazed

Postby krazed » February 25th, 2015, 9:24 am

blue ice.. what kinda bait you catchin at the salt factory.. Thanks