STORM1234

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby STORM1234 » December 18th, 2014, 8:19 am

ismithx wrote:
HSA wrote:
lost to all wrote:looking for a used gaming system to buy, max budget is 2500. let me know what alyour have to offer.

gaming and 2500 doesnt go together........you would be luckier searching the forum for used parts and building it yourself..the key word is searching

2500 will not even get you close to a gaming system... even if you buying the tower alone.

maybe I could get a mid level gaming pc, found this one though, called him, he willing to take 2700 without steering wheels and pedals, not really into driving games. Maybe I can try and beat him down to 2500. Need alyour opinion on the system. see link below.

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=606138&hilit=GAMING

HCCA

Postby HCCA » December 18th, 2014, 11:29 am

lost to all wrote:
ismithx wrote:
HSA wrote:
lost to all wrote:looking for a used gaming system to buy, max budget is 2500. let me know what alyour have to offer.

gaming and 2500 doesnt go together........you would be luckier searching the forum for used parts and building it yourself..the key word is searching

2500 will not even get you close to a gaming system... even if you buying the tower alone.

maybe I could get a mid level gaming pc, found this one though, called him, he willing to take 2700 without steering wheels and pedals, not really into driving games. Maybe I can try and beat him down to 2500. Need alyour opinion on the system. see link below.

Was gonna recommend that for u, nice specs.

Find out model of board doh in case u u wanna upgrade d cpu.

Go see if i can come up with something better for u later.

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » December 18th, 2014, 11:40 am

HCCA wrote:
lost to all wrote:
ismithx wrote:
HSA wrote:

Was gonna recommend that for u, nice specs.

Find out model of board doh in case u u wanna upgrade d cpu.

Go see if i can come up with something better for u later.

found some other potentials

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=606926

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=604155

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=577398

Postby nervewrecker » December 18th, 2014, 1:31 pm

So to use these SSd as an external drive what do I need to do?

Just plugged in one with the usb data cables here at work and it automatically installs the driver but the disk does not show up in the my computer pane.

Postby ismithx » December 18th, 2014, 2:11 pm

check disk management, is it formatted?

Postby nervewrecker » December 18th, 2014, 5:39 pm

NTFS or something so.

Need it to show up as USB device.

Just want a backup for my stuff

Postby ismithx » December 18th, 2014, 5:49 pm

try right clicking on the partition in disk management and click on Change Drive Letter and Paths.that should allow you to actually make it usable with a drive letter. kinda strange that it doesn't automatically show up.

Postby nervewrecker » December 19th, 2014, 11:26 am

http://www.ntfs.com/quest22.htm

well I reach as far as the second window here and the disk didnt show up in the my computer pane.

Thinking about upgrading my pc btw. Whats the spaces on the average home pc as of late? I think mine has 1gb RAM, 2.33ghz processor, 120gb HD (I think).

Postby Spitfir3 » December 19th, 2014, 3:04 pm

nervewrecker wrote:http://www.ntfs.com/quest22.htm

well I reach as far as the second window here and the disk didnt show up in the my computer pane.

Thinking about upgrading my pc btw. Whats the spaces on the average home pc as of late? I think mine has 1gb RAM, 2.33ghz processor, 120gb HD (I think).

yea that's pretty outdated...im guessing you're using xp?

average home pc would have
320gb hdd for the least
3gb ram
2.9ghz dual core

the specs you need would be dependent on what you would be using the pc for

gaming
web browsing,light use
work
bit of everything

Postby nervewrecker » December 19th, 2014, 5:42 pm

Not sure what the work PC has. I think windows 7.

My home pc needs fixing, I considering upgrading and done.

Using it for light web browsing, occasional movie watching.

What's the cost of a motherboard with the above specs you mentioned + processor + ram like?

HCCA

Postby HCCA » December 19th, 2014, 6:22 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Not sure what the work PC has. I think windows 7.

What's the cost of a motherboard with the above specs you mentioned + processor + ram like?

If u find out ur motherboard model first then we can see if u can just upgrade the cpu alone or add some ram.

Postby Spitfir3 » December 19th, 2014, 6:49 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Not sure what the work PC has. I think windows 7.

AMD FM2 A6-6400K DUAL CORE@3.9 ghz-$600-this is one of the better dual cores on the market but you can always opt for a quad core instead with the FA8-560K QUAD CORE-$875 doh its not really necessary if you're mainly doing web browsing and watching movies

CRUCIAL 4GB 1600MHz DDR3-$415 -4gb is a good starter and you can always slap in another 4gb to make it 8gb later on if you feel you need an added boost

ASUS A88XM-PLUS FM2+ Motherboard-$855-decent little board with onboard hdmi so you can connect it to your tv and what not...also has usb 3.0 for faster file transfer

prices were taken from wizz if you buy online you would get it a lot cheaper

of course you can go cheaper than what ive listed but with this build you would be a little more future proof

Postby nervewrecker » December 19th, 2014, 6:58 pm

I think my board can handle 2gb comfortable. Has another slot.

When I bought the board I buy 1gb and call it a day, just needed it to complete a paper for school.
Never got around to adding the next stick. Never missed it.

Will get the board model just now.

Hcca, you know I never got around to networking the PC and the receiver. :lol:

Was gunna pm you and let you have some lolz but work work work! Even bought home work to do.

Gracias btw spitfir3, men rocking some neat machines this rounds.

I can recycle my PS, DVD drive (never used I think), box with FireWire etc (never even used those ports) and probably hard drive.

Bought the Kingston ssd as a backup for the routine backup. Don't want to loose my music, pics and movies.

I does prefer spend upfront and get a good 5 years out of each build.

Postby nervewrecker » December 20th, 2014, 12:17 am

MSI ms 7957 board I has

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » December 20th, 2014, 5:00 pm

Anyone knw where I can get a server case?

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » December 20th, 2014, 6:01 pm

When you say server. . Do you mean rack Mount...Also what kind of server

HCCA

Postby HCCA » December 20th, 2014, 7:36 pm

nervewrecker wrote:MSI ms 7957 board I has

Well unfortunately u cyar use anything higer than a 95w tdp cpu so is best u really up grade.

Woulda suggest an intel solution doh, lemme comfirm the parts and i go post up the configuration.

Postby nervewrecker » December 21st, 2014, 10:37 pm

See when ollor start with ollor Greek :lol:

Well I tried booting into safe mode today and back up my info unto my ssd but seems the sata cables effed.

Might swap processor, add ram and a video card for a bigger screen. Board can handle 8gb ram.
Might not use a DVD drive, boot from USB if I have to.

Any suggestions for processor?

Postby S_2NR » December 22nd, 2014, 7:37 am

casper wrote:
iM@st@1 wrote:Thanks bro, yea the z623,they bess, JSL rob meh MC to bring it een tho :x

jus outta curiousity how much was it to clear cuz i was thinking bout bringin in mine but i just bought it loclly instead for $1100 brand new...

and yea i dont care who say logitech is $hit i fine dem speakers realllllllllllll bess!!!...if they ever get damaged i will buy them again in d blink of an eye :D

where u bought your z623?

Postby Spitfir3 » December 22nd, 2014, 9:29 am

people who say logitech is sheit are the ones who buy their dog cheap lower end stuff and expect to get roof shaking lolwut ears numbing mids and highs

Postby Ronaldo95163 » December 22nd, 2014, 10:29 am

Logitech speakers does sound really good to me.
Meem no hard pong specialist so they good enough.

Postby nervewrecker » December 22nd, 2014, 11:46 am

Well as I doing a complete overhaul and looking to upgrade from my AOC 17" monitor, what are decent enough monitors I should be looking at?

I seeing some nice LG screens for like under US$200.00 so they should be pretty cheap here. What else should I be looking at or where sells the LG? what features should I look for as well?

Not not gaming, just random movie at most.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » December 22nd, 2014, 11:50 am

Media PC not so?

1080p
24" widescreen would be ideal imo
DVI and HDMI connectivity

Postby Trini Hookah » December 22nd, 2014, 11:51 am

Spitfir3 wrote:people who say logitech is sheit are the ones who buy their dog cheap lower end stuff and expect to get roof shaking lolwut ears numbing mids and highs

How u go make out dem Klip men so dan ogoar

Postby nervewrecker » December 22nd, 2014, 11:58 am

Ronaldo95163 wrote:Media PC not so?

1080p
24" widescreen would be ideal imo
DVI and HDMI connectivity

meem know what you talking bout (media pc).

But yes, about 24" good enough for me.

I like this one:

http://www.amazon.com/LG-Electronics-24 ... 22+monitor

Not keen on samsung screens.

Where can i pick up a good screen last minute around here?

Postby Trini Hookah » December 22nd, 2014, 12:17 pm

Super tech

Postby nervewrecker » December 22nd, 2014, 12:21 pm

I only seeing AOC screens on their list. Was the first place I checked.

Postby Trini Hookah » December 22nd, 2014, 12:29 pm

U went in the store or watched online?

Postby nervewrecker » December 22nd, 2014, 12:34 pm

watched the price list.

In store does have more?

Will visit just now.