The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

Re: The | Apple Inc.  | Thread

Postby nervewrecker » September 9th, 2014, 4:37 pm

pete wrote:Allows you to accept "MG Man is a Kant" facebook requests right there on your wrist.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 9th, 2014, 6:46 pm

really wish they would bring back the black colour option instead of that space grey :cry:

Postby Les Bain » September 9th, 2014, 6:59 pm

They mention anything on the watch battery life?

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 9th, 2014, 7:06 pm

well he did say it would be easy to charge every night with the magical magnetic charger :lol:

BRZ

Postby BRZ » September 9th, 2014, 7:45 pm

Samsung note 3 is still a bigger screen ! Hard luck apple

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » September 9th, 2014, 8:01 pm

BRZ wrote:Samsung note 3 is still a bigger screen ! Hard luck apple

I don't think Apple was really competing for the biggest screen though. But expect that sort of thinking from an Android user.

Postby Les Bain » September 9th, 2014, 8:06 pm

What is the average life span of an iPhone? I'm 1 year into this iPhone 5 and I go save up for a 6 when this conk out.

subie_2NR

Postby subie_2NR » September 9th, 2014, 8:08 pm

My iPhone 5 going on 2yrs and I'm having battery problems. I'll buy the 6 in November when I visit Ft Lauderdale

subie_2NR

Postby subie_2NR » September 9th, 2014, 8:08 pm

My iPhone 5 going on 2yrs and I'm having battery problems. I'll buy the 6 in November when I visit Ft Lauderdale

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 9th, 2014, 9:29 pm

for those who can't wait till next week, upgrade to the final version of iOS 8 right now:

http://lifehacker.com/how-to-upgrade-to ... 1632595909

Postby tr1ad » September 9th, 2014, 9:49 pm

yuh touch that button?

Postby M_2NR » September 9th, 2014, 9:57 pm

I actually wanna see how Android L will be after seeing what to expect of iOS 8. I must say though, Apple really knows how to put software and hardware together. The way the Watch is being implemented is superb! I can't wait to see it in action with the crown and touch sensitivity and it's battery life. From the demos the screen is rendered in really high in resolution, much higher than that of the current watches. Android has a good way to go to match the software. Far, Far, more in the hardware aspect also.

However, coupling a 799+350(assuming one takes the 64GB iPhone 6 and most basic watch) price tag is not something the average consumer who is concern of his/her spending will likely dive for (note i said average, /not/ spendthrift). I'm fine with spending sub-$400 for a phone until battery life is addressed in modern day phones.

Plus, why no OIS on the basic i6? anyone can tell me? just to differentiate the plus from the basic?

/rant

Postby Trini Hookah » September 9th, 2014, 10:04 pm

Because plus.

PapaC

Postby PapaC » September 9th, 2014, 10:33 pm

Useful information for us

iPhone 6 (16GB): $649
iPhone 6 (64GB): $749
iPhone 6 (128GB): $849
iPhone 6 Plus (16GB): $749
iPhone 6 Plus (64GB): $849
iPhone 6 Plus (128GB): $949

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 9th, 2014, 10:47 pm

how long after do the unlocked versions go up for sale on the online Apple store again?

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » September 9th, 2014, 10:51 pm

I must admit, the watch is nice. Disappointed that they didn't do waterproofing on the phones tho.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 9th, 2014, 11:42 pm

The iPad and MacBook updates are announced at a separate event

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 10th, 2014, 12:57 am

Swisha wrote:how long after do the unlocked versions go up for sale on the online Apple store again?

I bought my unlocked 5s the same day it launched in the US last year via the online apple store. Any iPhone purchased at full price is unlocked.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 10th, 2014, 12:59 am

Cool. Only seeing the contract free T-Mobile version available for preorder

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 10th, 2014, 1:03 am

They only use the terms "contract free" but hardly use terms like "unlocked". That caused a lot of confusion last year as well. Contract free is what I bought. Worked without a hitch.

subie_2NR

Postby subie_2NR » September 10th, 2014, 5:44 am

PapaC wrote:Useful information for us

iPhone 6 (16GB): $649
iPhone 6 (64GB): $749
iPhone 6 (128GB): $849
iPhone 6 Plus (16GB): $749
iPhone 6 Plus (64GB): $849
iPhone 6 Plus (128GB): $949

Nice prices... Putting up my iPhone 5 for sale in October... lol

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 10th, 2014, 7:45 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:They only use the terms "contract free" but hardly use terms like "unlocked". That caused a lot of confusion last year as well. Contract free is what I bought. Worked without a hitch.

u bought the contract free T-Mobile version and didn't have any problems activating it and using it with a local sim?

air wick

Postby air wick » September 10th, 2014, 7:56 am

Swisha wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:They only use the terms "contract free" but hardly use terms like "unlocked". That caused a lot of confusion last year as well. Contract free is what I bought. Worked without a hitch.

u bought the contract free T-Mobile version and didn't have any problems activating it and using it with a local sim?

the t-mobile is GSM with these frequencies:

Model A1549 (GSM)*
Model A1522 (GSM)*

UMTS/HSPA+/DC-HSDPA (850, 900, 1700/2100, 1900, 2100 MHz)
GSM/EDGE (850, 900, 1800, 1900 MHz)
LTE (Bands 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 13, 17, 18, 19, 20, 25, 26, 28, 29)

so it will work here

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 10th, 2014, 8:00 am

yeah but i read that some ppl were saying even though it's "contract free" it's still locked to T-Mobile and would require activation through T-Mobile since it comes with a T-Mobile sim :-?

from Apple's site:

Learn more about the unlocked iPhone >

If you buy iPhone for T-Mobile, it will arrive with a nano-SIM card already installed that you can activate by visiting an Apple Retail Store or a T-Mobile store or by calling T-Mobile. If you buy a SIM-free iPhone, you will need to purchase a GSM-compatible nano-SIM card separately.

BRZ

Postby BRZ » September 10th, 2014, 8:14 am

scotty_buttons wrote:
BRZ wrote:Samsung note 3 is still a bigger screen ! Hard luck apple

I don't think Apple was really competing for the biggest screen though. But expect that sort of thinking from an Android user.

FYI- I have an iPhone 5S and have had the iPhone 5, 4s and 4 and 3 , have also had Samsung phones, the screen and clarity on the Samsung note is really hard to beat. Plus being able to draw on your screen has its advantages.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 10th, 2014, 8:36 am

Swisha wrote:yeah but i read that some ppl were saying even though it's "contract free" it's still locked to T-Mobile and would require activation through T-Mobile since it comes with a T-Mobile sim :-?

from Apple's site:

Learn more about the unlocked iPhone >

If you buy iPhone for T-Mobile, it will arrive with a nano-SIM card already installed that you can activate by visiting an Apple Retail Store or a T-Mobile store or by calling T-Mobile. If you buy a SIM-free iPhone, you will need to purchase a GSM-compatible nano-SIM card separately.

Don't listen to the naysayers. Too many people have purchased and successfully used the contract free tmobile 5s. Mine came with a sim as well.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 10th, 2014, 8:37 am

ok cool, good to know

src1983

Postby src1983 » September 10th, 2014, 8:53 am

I know this has been discussed before, but can I preorder an iPhone 6 using my Scotia CC any skybox address??

Postby nemisis » September 10th, 2014, 8:55 am

src1983 wrote:I know this has been discussed before, but can I preorder an iPhone 6 using my Scotia CC any skybox address??

How much you planning on paying to clear it if it goes through???

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 10th, 2014, 8:57 am

src1983 wrote:I know this has been discussed before, but can I preorder an iPhone 6 using my Scotia CC any skybox address??

Not the safest bet. Apple has been known to cancel orders to some skybox addresses. They cancelled an order to my Transexpress address for some piece of hardware I ordered. I think others have sucessfully had items shipped to their skyboxes so it seems to depend on which company you with.