Best Private Hospital for Maternity Care

Re: Best Private Hospital for Maternity Care

Postby nemisis » March 21st, 2014, 3:45 pm

bluesteel29 wrote:
LovinDiva wrote:All in all you spent a good 20k, when you could have gone to POSGH & had that baby free of charge. Rich ppl & they money smh

if meh chile modda wah cole breeze n she own room to deliever meh yute so be it...ya chile fadda cheap sadis

you don't carry pot hound to the vet to make puppies nomsaying

Postby nemisis » March 21st, 2014, 3:50 pm

If you decide on SAPH the most of the doctors want the doctor fee paid directly to them in cash, so don't forget that

4X4 Trinidad

Postby 4X4 Trinidad » March 21st, 2014, 3:51 pm

bluesteel29 wrote:
LovinDiva wrote:All in all you spent a good 20k, when you could have gone to POSGH & had that baby free of charge. Rich ppl & they money smh

if meh chile modda wah cole breeze n she own room to deliever meh yute so be it...ya chile fadda cheap sadis

Its not much to ask for, after a whole human pass through eh?

Postby Ignorant Ignis » March 21st, 2014, 3:52 pm

never make baby ... lol

but ive been warded at both med assoc and saph ..... and i would say both are fantastic in terms of service

the new wing at med assoc is really nice... and get a nudge over saph

Postby noshownogo » March 21st, 2014, 3:53 pm

Regular birth at St Clair was totalling $22,000, C-section was over $40k (inclusive of anaesthesiologists, OBGYN, paediatrician and medical facilities) in 2012 using Dr. Kissoon and Vanessa Stuart.

Mamatoto was an option at around half that (11k) but if anything doesn't go according to plan, you're sent to POSGH unless you demand private care.

Postby crazybalhead » March 21st, 2014, 3:53 pm

^^^ They have a mental ward???

Chemical

Postby Chemical » March 21st, 2014, 4:05 pm

^^ My wife insisted that we have our son in Mississauga Hospital. Had to fly her ass 1st class to Lester Pearson only to find out when we checked her in her OHIP was expired & my own does not cover it !

Between hospital fees, rental of a car for 6 weeks, food etc and staying by her dog family i'm now considering having a vasectomy.

Anton

Postby Anton » March 21st, 2014, 4:18 pm

My wife had our child at SAPH five years ago, the service was good, facilities more than adequate. The team was very helpful (OB, Midwives and Pead). Cost was in the vicinity of 12k iirc. My dad was hospitalized there for 9 days two years ago. They took good care of him. Would recommend.

Postby Slartibartfast » March 21st, 2014, 5:00 pm

Some good info here

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 21st, 2014, 7:32 pm

We had our first child in November 2013 and I was taking no chances.

Registered thru St. Augustine Private Hospital and OB/GYN was Prakashbhan Persad.
Top notch service, excellent facilities, absolutely no complaints, by the grace of the boss upstairs and the guided hands of their medical team, my little one greeted planet earth with a smile.

give them a call for a cost breakdown.

Postby Dizzy28 » March 21st, 2014, 9:04 pm

When did public hospitals fall out of grace?? Seems once you have the means private institutions getting to eat a food.

Postby zoom rader » March 21st, 2014, 10:08 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:When did public hospitals fall out of grace?? Seems once you have the means private institutions getting to eat a food.

It's a waste of money for those that seek TT private maternity, if any thing goes wrong at the private hospitals you will still end up at the public hospital . These Private hospitals don't have the equipment needed when things go wrong.
Private maternity often seek to perform c-sec that is not needed. There was a report on this done some years ago where the number of c-sec was greater that the public hospital . It's a means to make a quick buck.

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 21st, 2014, 10:11 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:When did public hospitals fall out of grace?? Seems once you have the means private institutions getting to eat a food.

bossman, when your time reach, tell the missus to go mt hope nah.
I hope yuh could take the kick to crotch

de_dougla_smurf

Postby de_dougla_smurf » March 21st, 2014, 10:19 pm

So if you have the money go private, but keep in mind that with most providers, if there is any complication, you will be sent right back to public hospital with everyone else 12-18k poorer.

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » March 21st, 2014, 10:21 pm

ADONI wrote:Heard about this from a co-worker http://mamatoto.net/. 13K for water birth.

PapaC

Postby PapaC » March 21st, 2014, 10:21 pm

People always talking about the compilations. Ou have to go really bad to be sent to a public hospital. Never known anyone personally sent to general hospital doh went private.

Postby zoom rader » March 21st, 2014, 10:25 pm

1.3 million trinis and public hospitals is bad for you.

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 21st, 2014, 10:31 pm

real boldfaceness and hognorance ITT.
If people want to spend money for peace of mind, let them be.

Postby eliteauto » March 21st, 2014, 10:47 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:real boldfaceness and hognorance ITT.
If people want to spend money for peace of mind, let them be.

So giving a view different to yours is "boldfaceness and hognorance"? Doubt anyone can make you not spend your money how you wish stop being a hen about it and buy a crotch guard

4X4 Trinidad

Postby 4X4 Trinidad » March 21st, 2014, 11:02 pm

On the contrary, there are many who go through the hospitals without any problem....

good for them!

I prefer privacy, nurses who dont slap, a doc I can whatsapp anytime and a general comforting feeling from the environment.

Postby Ted_v2 » March 21st, 2014, 11:35 pm

You pay for the comfort and convenience.

~*Pãñdorą*~
Location: You're Either On My Side, By My Side Or In My Fcuking Way!!

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » March 21st, 2014, 11:56 pm

For me it was when, aside from learning about all the failed cases at these public hospitals and clinics..
It was also hearing first hand recounts from others who went through these same public hospitals.

-Rude nurses who insist on giving you bare minimum care and attention, esp if you make one iota more of fussing during contractions than you're supposed to.
-Your SO does not get to be with you in the labour room as there are 20 something other women in there all contracting and in pain. So you're supposed to sit by and watch THEM suffer along with you rather than have your SO there to soothe you.
-Your SO is only allowed to see you during visiting hours, and once you did lamas class together he can be in the delivery room.
-When you're all tired from pushing and being yelled at by nurses, you're left on a ward with your baby for you to fend for yourself, nurses check on you only intermittently and a shower is pretty hard to come by.

I paid for this 'free service' called the public health system, every month, deducted from my salary. And I've been working since the age of 17.. So its not exactly free! I should get better care.

Postby Dizzy28 » March 22nd, 2014, 12:54 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:

bossman, when your time reach, tell the missus to go mt hope nah.
I hope yuh could take the kick to crotch

But if i google the same Prak Persad, stories appearing of botched deliveries at private institutions. Mary Singh Bhola at SAPH is one of the two "missing" consultants whose name came up in the baby with the cut head. Is it when the doctors getting more money via private institutions they perform better?

Postby streetbeastINC. » March 22nd, 2014, 2:16 am

You are all aware that any complications to mom or child the only fully equipped hosptial to deal withit is mt hope maternity right? So if complications shoulld arise ita there you will end up from any private insituition.

Postby pete » March 22nd, 2014, 2:41 am

What complications do they normally get sent to mt hope for? The point of going private is for them to have a more relaxed birthing experience. If you break your leg are you going to sit for a few hours in pain waiting at mt hope or would you go private and get through faster?

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » March 22nd, 2014, 6:53 am

~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:
4X4 Trinidad wrote:
~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:Tuners,

Tried a search but didn't find any topics of this kind.

I know some of you have wives and kids, so I would like to know if you and your wife did go to a Private Hospital to deliver your baby, which did you go to and how was the Service, Attention to Detail and Cost?

Thanking you in advance.

Went to gulf view med, total cost was $12,500 for delivery (natural) + pediatrician charge + stay in a room with 2 beds, private bathroom and shower. The nurses kept a constant eye on me before and after labour. My husband stayed throughout the delivery and spent the night with me, EXCELLENT service from both the obgyn and the nurses. They were extremely helpful and also sent in a breast feeding specialist at the end of the day.

Also provided meals for both of us...lol

Wow sounds dreamy..
How about the baby? Were you pressured to keep him/her with you during your stay? Or were you able to get rest and the baby stay in the nursery?

Pressured?

PapaC

Postby PapaC » March 22nd, 2014, 6:58 am

Exactly my point. A high risk pregnancy, you would know from before. Older woman or having bad fibroid issues or something like that. If you are high risk them better you go straight to the Public institution. But for someone where everything is normal, and baby developing with no issues, no reason to worry that you will be sent unless something goes terribly wrong during delivery. And you would be refunded a good portion if they have to transfer you before the delivery.

Spoke to a midwife about this issue and she is saying if it come to that, they will transfer you, but doctor and midwife accompany you to the hospital to ensure that you get set in and the hospital staff have a clean handover where it relates to your condition.

Plus as a backup it is advised that even though you going private, you still attend the free clinic at the public institution, so they will have their own historical record of your progress. Because if you show up with no records at the hospital, they will have to check everything over, blood work et al.

Postby Ted_v2 » March 22nd, 2014, 7:31 am

still dont understand why they transfer you to public institutions if something goes wrong, its pretty much the same doctors working in both places.

its just the blame game

Skanky

Postby Skanky » March 22nd, 2014, 7:39 am

Had our baby naturally at Mt Hope last year.Cost $0.Service A++.

We had our checkups at Medical Associates and about 6 months into pregnancy we also joined the health centre in our area when we decided to go to Mt Hope for birth.

Labour 12 hours,birth 2 pushes or approximately 3 minutes.At least 1-4 nurses available always and 1-2 doctor(s)/intern(s) checking in every hour or so.
According to her, women are cats and she's has harder days at the gym lol.Of course she's really fit so that helped a lot.
As an aside, if you want to have the least complications try to be as healthy as you can be.I don't mean that cop out of running around the savannah 45 minutes and thinking you fit.Eat right especially when pregnant, get in the gym and lift as much as you can with your growing bellies,lots of abs while you can and lots of legwork IMHO.

The week baby was born we had a home visit from three nurses.They screened us both through a series of questions and gave us tips and advice how to care for baby.Demonstrated with baby how to bathe,breastfeed,soothe,hold baby etc.Looked at our surroundings for environmental factors such as mosquitoes,gave us all kinds of information.They stayed for maybe an hour.

The following week two were back again following up to see how we were doing.This time they stayed for maybe half hour and gave more advice and did some other demonstrations as well.

Do private institutions provide this kind of service?

Postby nemisis » March 22nd, 2014, 7:41 am

Halfbreed07 wrote:
~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:
4X4 Trinidad wrote:
~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:Tuners,

Tried a search but didn't find any topics of this kind.

I know some of you have wives and kids, so I would like to know if you and your wife did go to a Private Hospital to deliver your baby, which did you go to and how was the Service, Attention to Detail and Cost?

Thanking you in advance.

Went to gulf view med, total cost was $12,500 for delivery (natural) + pediatrician charge + stay in a room with 2 beds, private bathroom and shower. The nurses kept a constant eye on me before and after labour. My husband stayed throughout the delivery and spent the night with me, EXCELLENT service from both the obgyn and the nurses. They were extremely helpful and also sent in a breast feeding specialist at the end of the day.

Also provided meals for both of us...lol

Wow sounds dreamy..
How about the baby? Were you pressured to keep him/her with you during your stay? Or were you able to get rest and the baby stay in the nursery?

Pressured?
same thing I noticed, I happy I'm not a shrink. Pan you beast feeding or bottle feeding?