Re: 14 days sick leave in Trinidad Attention

Postby nervewrecker » January 30th, 2014, 5:20 pm

They does hadda ask me to take sick leave :oops:

still tippin'

Postby still tippin' » January 30th, 2014, 5:38 pm

I think some employers actually give too much bligh. By me the women always sick on a Monday or Friday, day right before or after a holiday, and the day(s) right when they are supposed to come out from vacation. Plus they go over the sick days every year. Only in recent time HR start warning them seriously. When negotiations for salary increase reach, the company using these abseentism records to tell the union why they can't give a high % increase. Yes people get sick but don't abuse it so recklessly. People who late everyday is a next story.

Ѵ∑ŤЄЃλЙ™

Postby Ѵ∑ŤЄЃλЙ™ » January 30th, 2014, 5:42 pm

MonsterPower wrote:no work no pay .. its how we do it .

Dyes SIS or wha?

Ѵ∑ŤЄЃλЙ™

Postby Ѵ∑ŤЄЃλЙ™ » January 30th, 2014, 5:47 pm

DFC wrote:i dont care what u sick with or if you faking.

come and do yuh wuk.

Just remember... no matter how high yuh feel yuh is in an organization... yuh still always hav a boss eh!

So wen your ass get sick... And your boss tell u dat sheit...
Yuh betta put ur tail between ur leg and get to work!

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 30th, 2014, 6:04 pm

Ѵ∑ŤЄЃλЙ[TRADE MARK SIGN] wrote:

Dyes SIS or wha?

He eh goh say the boss does drop a bottle of puncheon for them everyday after lunch.

Dem wuk nice.

boods1234

Postby boods1234 » January 30th, 2014, 6:49 pm

Veteran you related to kublalsingh or wah? You campaigning for the environment but how de frig that is employers fault people should be grateful that they get a job?

Standard practice after one year continuous service you are allowed 14 days sick leave and 2 weeks vacation leave.

Postby zoom rader » January 30th, 2014, 6:50 pm

^^^ not true

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 30th, 2014, 6:58 pm

"Standard practice"

Postby zoom rader » January 30th, 2014, 7:00 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:"Standard practice"

This does not exist in the private sector

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 30th, 2014, 7:00 pm

Hence my suspicion of ojt workers.

Postby nervewrecker » January 30th, 2014, 7:01 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:

Dyes SIS or wha?

He eh goh say the boss does drop a bottle of puncheon for them everyday after lunch.

Dem wuk nice.

dont forget the red pack with the black stripe.

Postby zoom rader » January 30th, 2014, 7:05 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:

Hence my suspicion of ojt workers.

dem ojt workers probably grow up in a pnm home where public servants are always home rather than in work, so dem culture is take all yuh days and run away from wuk. It's a culture thing.

Postby DFC » January 30th, 2014, 7:12 pm

come and do yuh wuk.

Just remember... no matter how high yuh feel yuh is in an organization... yuh still always hav a boss eh!

I'm the boss.

Postby ronsin1 » January 30th, 2014, 7:31 pm

for those who talking crap

taken from the link below

http://rgd.legalaffairs.gov.tt/laws2/al ... /88.04.pdf

Ѵ∑ŤЄЃλЙ™

Postby Ѵ∑ŤЄЃλЙ™ » January 30th, 2014, 7:34 pm

DFC wrote:

come and do yuh wuk.

I'm the boss.

Tell me what is the name of your Job Position - and I'll tell you who is really the boss!

INDAVID WORKSHOP

Postby INDAVID WORKSHOP » January 30th, 2014, 7:44 pm

All company has a "contract" which you sign as terms of employment, if you are unhappy with the terms of your "contract" you can always work with a company which fits your criteria.

Or you can open your own company and develop a "contract" you like, then employ people with that "contract" and let us know how it works out for you.

Postby zoom rader » January 30th, 2014, 7:47 pm

ronsin1 wrote:for those who talking crap

Some work places give you full company pay for your sick days which they don't have to. others don't have to and its up to you to claim NIS . With progressive companies they look at your leave records , behaviour and attitude when time is up for promotions and pay increases. So it's up to the individual in what he wants out of life or their career. Abuse your leave or move up the ladder

Ѵ∑ŤЄЃλЙ™

Postby Ѵ∑ŤЄЃλЙ™ » January 30th, 2014, 7:53 pm

Some work places give you full company pay for your sick days which they don't have to. others don't have to and its up to you to claim NIS . With progressive companies they look at your leave records , behaviour and attitude when time is up for promotions and pay increases. So it's up to the individual in what he wants out of life or their career. Abuse your leave or move up the ladder

Wat about dem odda tuners who boastin bout not takin any sick leave whatsoever,
but still wokin as a pleb 10-15 yrs now... and bumpin dey gum on tuner..
D ladder short fuh dem?

Postby zoom rader » January 30th, 2014, 8:00 pm

D ladder short fuh dem?

If after 5 yrs in a company and you don't see any progress, then you should take the hint and start looking elsewhere.

Ѵ∑ŤЄЃλЙ™

Postby Ѵ∑ŤЄЃλЙ™ » January 30th, 2014, 8:07 pm

D ladder short fuh dem?

If after 5 yrs in a company and you don't see any progress, then you should take the hint and start looking elsewhere.

With that kinda tinkin in this corrupt country... men resume will have:
5 yrs here, 5 yrs there, 5 yrs ova so...

Cause men doh move up no ladda by not takin sick leave, being qualified, being experienced.... and all that sheit!
95% of the promotions does be based on "lick ass", racial discrimination, politics, fornication, who know who...

Postby zoom rader » January 30th, 2014, 8:24 pm

D ladder short fuh dem?

With that kinda tinkin in this corrupt country... men resume will have:
5 yrs here, 5 yrs there, 5 yrs ova so...

Cause men doh move up no ladda by not takin sick leave, being qualified, being experienced.... and all that sheit!
95% of the promotions does be based on "lick ass", racial discrimination, politics, fornication, who know who...

There still are a few good companies left, but most are foreign owned that have high standards and attract the best talent.
Last edited by zoom rader on January 30th, 2014, 8:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby X_Factor » January 30th, 2014, 8:24 pm

just remember "wuk doh dead"
you will be forgotten soon and replaced sooner

take care of your health!

Postby Dizzy28 » January 30th, 2014, 8:43 pm

If I am not mistaken thats taken from the Minimum Wages Order. Thats covers certain employees not all and Afaik the provisions in there are not binding once you not falling within the salary range the order covers.

Ѵ∑ŤЄЃλЙ™

Postby Ѵ∑ŤЄЃλЙ™ » January 30th, 2014, 8:43 pm

X_Factor wrote:just remember "wuk doh dead"
you will be forgotten soon and replaced sooner

take care of your health!

One of my points...

Postby joker » January 30th, 2014, 8:54 pm

If I am not mistaken thats taken from the Minimum Wages Order. Thats covers certain employees not all and Afaik the provisions in there are not binding once you not falling within the salary range the order covers.

That is what an employee has in any job as a minimum once they are paying NIS
Other companies offer more SL due to environment and working conditions
Anything better than the minimum will supercede.

But in general sick leave MUST NOT be abused.

Postby X_Factor » January 30th, 2014, 10:21 pm

^agreed

and imo, it also depends on the relationship you have with the boss/supervisor etc
once they understand its a give and take and not the iron fist

phoenix31tt

Postby phoenix31tt » January 31st, 2014, 1:45 am

joker wrote:

Legal affairs advised me that this order only covers MINIMUM WAGE and under workers and other types of workers that are specified by the order and related orders. Other professionals are bound by whatever is in their contract or collective bargaining agreements (e.g. if they are in a union such as OWWTU, TTUTA etc)

Most professional organizations allow 14 days sick leave a year (doctors note after 2 days consecutive sick). Some organizations flag you if you take more than 4 sick leaves a quarter.

p.s. the beach is a cure for many illnesses... especially illnesses associated with stress and mental health :D

Postby Morpheus » January 31st, 2014, 2:28 am

RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:Anytimea sick leave is produced, yet the person in question is found to be at the beach or liming, this should be grounds for legal Dismissal.

I agree somewhat. But sick leave doesn't mean bedridden or confined to bed rest eh, unless doc specified that.

I agree you have to be a kant to be found partying or frolicking at the beach. But I hate when I on sick leave and coworkers be like "And you on the road?:shock:"

Sick leave = "unfit to work" imo

Sick leave does not mean "Don't set foot out your house in case a boss see you".

:-?

Postby joker » January 31st, 2014, 3:25 am

phoenix31tt wrote:
joker wrote:

Legal affairs advised me that this order only covers MINIMUM WAGE and under workers and other types of workers that are specified by the order and related orders. Other professionals are bound by whatever is in their contract or collective bargaining agreements (e.g. if they are in a union such as OWWTU, TTUTA etc)

Most professional organizations allow 14 days sick leave a year (doctors note after 2 days consecutive sick). Some organizations flag you if you take more than 4 sick leaves a quarter.

p.s. the beach is a cure for many illnesses... especially illnesses associated with stress and mental health :D

Where did I say anything different to what you said?
It is just u elaborated.

phoenix31tt

Postby phoenix31tt » January 31st, 2014, 6:27 am

joker wrote:
phoenix31tt wrote:
joker wrote:

Where did I say anything different to what you said?
It is just u elaborated.

No, you said this is the minimum given benefit in any job once they paying NIS... But it doesn't apply if you are working for over minimum wage (and not listed under specific jobs in the order)... Say for instance a doctor or IT professional or civil engineer etc.