3ne2nr fishermen

Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby meccalli » November 19th, 2013, 7:52 pm

xfactor wrote:
meccalli wrote:Wow we getting those hybrids here too, that isn't a mangrove(griseus) its a cross with a mangrove and dog snapper(jocu). Look at the electric blue line under the eye and whitish triangle extending from the jaw and peaking under the eye. Nice find and good catch!

We actually caught 2 of these. On the topic of hybrids, i have really been noticing some different looking snappers in the past couple of years. Like u put walliack and mutton in a test tube and shake it up. Some different looking darker snappers too, we just lump all of them in the pag category, but on closer inspection there are some subtle differences.

Yep but juvenile muttons when they color' up look like lane snappers though. But have been noticing em too, always a cool catch. And yeah, one hook is good, some guys like to trailer the second hook like a stinger instead of through body but its not necessary. Wahoo don't slash up like kings, they tend to engulf the whole bait alot of the time from what i've seen and learnt.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » November 19th, 2013, 7:53 pm

They destroy lures...will get some pics of some lures dey destroyed...

Postby meccalli » November 19th, 2013, 8:08 pm

Yeah, i know marlin guys hate them for that reason, but you don't need a stingers to get a hook set cuz they'll take the entire bait and chomp on it rather than cut bits and pieces.

reelman

Postby reelman » November 19th, 2013, 10:21 pm

ryan99tt wrote:Went by mankee an got all my stuff so i didnt check dem other stores...gettin new stocks soon so u hav to check in to see wen he gets...

nice

reeLpACE

Postby reeLpACE » November 20th, 2013, 2:09 pm

All this wahoo talk gettin me excited ill probably try to head out this weekend too but unless I find the time to gears up for wahoo I'll probably be pulling spoons and deep divers for whatever is around, aka the usual hungover Saturday morning trolling session

Point to note tho full moon was last Sunday and guys down at power boats came in with some really good catches on Saturday... Hoping the bite is as good this comin weekend but in any case it seems the offshore season is off to a good start

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » November 20th, 2013, 11:34 pm

reeLpACE wrote:All this wahoo talk gettin me excited ill probably try to head out this weekend too but unless I find the time to gears up for wahoo I'll probably be pulling spoons and deep divers for whatever is around, aka the usual hungover Saturday morning trolling session

Point to note tho full moon was last Sunday and guys down at power boats came in with some really good catches on Saturday... Hoping the bite is as good this comin weekend but in any case it seems the offshore season is off to a good start

Wat fellaz come back in wit?

reeLpACE

Postby reeLpACE » November 21st, 2013, 11:25 am

Dolphin mostly but with wahoo and some big kings mixed in... In retrospect I shudda taken some pics....next time

reeLpACE

Postby reeLpACE » November 21st, 2013, 11:26 am

Dolphin mostly but with wahoo and some big kings mixed in... In retrospect I shudda taken some pics....next time

Postby joker » November 24th, 2013, 9:20 pm

Lost a monster today.
Last edited by joker on November 24th, 2013, 9:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby joker » November 24th, 2013, 9:21 pm

Lost a monster today....could have been a very huge shark...., bait.. mullet head...rigged tru eyes wen I. Was drinking my seconds while sitting ....and saw rod touch ground on.a makshift rod.stand .....ah vex....or ....happened mon diablo....in.same.spot I always talk about.... ....lost bout 8 lead and rigs ......

Postby joker » November 24th, 2013, 9:21 pm

Lost a monster today....could have been a very huge shark...., bait.. mullet head...rigged tru eyes wen I. Was drinking my seconds while sitting ....and saw rod touch ground on.a makshift rod.stand .....ah vex....or ....happened mon diablo....in.same.spot I always talk about.... ....lost bout 8 lead and rigs ......

Postby Ted_v2 » November 24th, 2013, 10:27 pm

I could get directions to that spot? I looking for a quiet spot down south for the longest while

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » November 25th, 2013, 8:29 am

Caught some small cat fish and had one hell of a fight that lasted 10 - 15 mins. what ever it was broke the reel on my 10ft rod and bust the 30 lb line + went with my wire guided hooks and 8oz weight. Could have been a big sting ray or shark as every time he started to swim i would have to run with the rod into the water trying to give him space, then walk him back in towards shore.

proton17

Postby proton17 » November 25th, 2013, 8:51 am

In spite of all d rain yesterday went and bank in d gulf in about 70 foot of water, fish only bite on the last end of the falling right before dead low tide. But salmon start to bite like crazy, salmon to almost 3 pounds.

Caught a good few ones and plenty in between and smaller, lost plenty too, u know how dem salmon mouth does bust away halfway up.

How far or close dem trawler supposed to be from shore, we was bout 10 km out from chag, dem passing kinda close to we.

Postby meccalli » November 25th, 2013, 7:53 pm

DrunkenMaster16 wrote:Caught some small cat fish and had one hell of a fight that lasted 10 - 15 mins. what ever it was broke the reel on my 10ft rod and bust the 30 lb line + went with my wire guided hooks and 8oz weight. Could have been a big sting ray or shark as every time he started to swim i would have to run with the rod into the water trying to give him space, then walk him back in towards shore.

Sounds like big husky brute of a cavalli :mrgreen:

proton17

Postby proton17 » November 25th, 2013, 9:48 pm

Ent cavalli like to run side to side, like go left for a while then uturn and go right

Postby meccalli » November 25th, 2013, 10:20 pm

Yeah, they fight to their strengths, give you their broad sides and use that to add more resistance in the water. If you pressure them good, they have no choice but to go side to side like if you fishing them vertically, its like a merry go round lol. But them big fellas, can't stop those just so nah, pound for pound, jacks are the hardest fighting fishes there are imo- sharks have real power too but they tend to head shake alot and be more violent and unpredictable.

Sabot

Postby Sabot » November 26th, 2013, 10:12 pm

I stop them with this combo, sometimes they smoke the reel though
1385518364804.jpg

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » November 26th, 2013, 10:13 pm

How the stradic runs? I use this combo...

Sabot

Postby Sabot » November 26th, 2013, 10:54 pm

Stradic is a beast of a reel and so is the gosa you got there.

Postby meccalli » November 27th, 2013, 5:51 am

Saragosa is supposed to be beast for jigging.

krazed

Postby krazed » November 27th, 2013, 8:39 am

Need some advice on getting a new spinning real. Wanna upgrade to something kinda strong an durable.
Lost a good Tarpon this weekend cause last reel drag lock up putting heavy tension on entire rig. Straighten out hook an buss out hook clip etc...

So can you guys recommend anything. Location, Price, brand Etc..

Thanks

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » November 27th, 2013, 9:52 am

krazed wrote:Need some advice on getting a new spinning real. Wanna upgrade to something kinda strong an durable.
Lost a good Tarpon this weekend cause last reel drag lock up putting heavy tension on entire rig. Straighten out hook an buss out hook clip etc...

Thanks

What's your budget?

krazed

Postby krazed » November 27th, 2013, 10:25 am

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH wrote:
krazed wrote:Need some advice on getting a new spinning real. Wanna upgrade to something kinda strong an durable.

Thanks

What's your budget?

Was looking at about 400.. Depending on Brand and Durability I guess

30hz

Postby 30hz » November 27th, 2013, 11:45 am

krazed wrote:
HaRdCoRe_YoUtH wrote:

Thanks

What's your budget?

Was looking at about 400.. Depending on Brand and Durability I guess

DAIWA df100a Giant Spinning Reel
http://www.amazon.com/Daiwa-Giant-Spinning-Saltwater-Fishing/dp/B000ALJHTO/ref=sr_1_1?s=sporting-goods&ie=UTF8&qid=1385566949&sr=1-1&keywords=daiwa+giant+reel

goes for under $400tt, its the cheapest heavy rated reel that i know.

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » November 27th, 2013, 12:32 pm

Thanks

Save your money and put it towards a better reel, shimano/penn/daiwa. It will last much longer than them cheap reels. Look for something with a smooth drag and plenty ball bearings, sealed if possible. For about $800 you could get a Penn Battle, Shimano cost more but worth it.

Plenty options from all the recognized brands.

Postby X_Factor » November 27th, 2013, 12:36 pm

the daiwa giant is a left hand reel, so be aware of that

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » November 27th, 2013, 12:39 pm

And especially if you doing shore fishing those cheaper reels will get corroded...best reel for your money is the battle hands down, mine doin about 3yrs now with real torture and goin strong...u can check mankee in POS he has the best peices on them...he also hav other reels but my advice as well is put out d extra cash an buy d better reel...

Postby meccalli » November 27th, 2013, 4:36 pm

You can probably look at the penn spinfishers as well, the ssm versions, those are cheaper and pretty much unbreakable reels. Its a lifetime investment lol.(basic maintenance) mankees carries those as well.

Sabot

Postby Sabot » November 27th, 2013, 6:21 pm

With that budget the best buy may be a Daiwa BG60. Its a solid reel made for saltwater with a good drag. The Penns are a little pricier in the same class for not much more features since they use the same material for gears etc. Edit...just double checked..its actually more than your budget which puts it in the same range as the Penn Battle etc. Its a good reel though but if you gonna use braid go with the Battle.