The | US Embassy | Thread

Re: The | US Embassy | Thread

Postby AllTrac » July 8th, 2013, 11:04 pm

you took too long, i believe there is a time limit to follow up after your payment, its probably void by now, uncle same gonna need that dollar

saxman642

Postby saxman642 » July 9th, 2013, 6:30 am

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/letters/ ... 99501.html

No refund on fees

Story Created: Jul 6, 2013 at 8:39 PM ECT

Story Updated: Jul 6, 2013 at 10:39 PM ECT

Question:

I’ve been refused a visa for the second time in one year. In all, I have wasted just over $2,000 in visa applications. I am very upset and disappoin­ted

and would like to get at least a portion of my money back.

Answer:

Thank you for your enqui­ry. We frequently receive this question and are happy to clarify the issue.

The US$160 (approximately $1016) fee paid by applicants is an application fee. This fee covers the costs of processing an application. There are many processes involved in a visa application, not just at the embassy in Port of Spain but also remotely. This is also why the visa application process cannot be completed in one day—there are many processes taking place before, during and after the actual interview. Therefore, the fee is paid whether a visa is issued or not, and no refunds are available.

The visa application fee is currently US$160. This fee is the same at all US embassies and consulates, whether it is London, Toronto, Cape Town or Port of Spain. The US Embassy is required by law to charge this fee to cover the cost of processing visas.

Earlier this year, the US Em­bassy implemented many new services, without raising our visa application fee. We now have a call centre open Monday to Friday, 7 a.m. to 7 p.m., available at (868) 224-3099. We have a new online appointment website at usvisa-info.com. If you are not yet 14 years old or are already 80 years old, you do not need to appear in person—if you qualify, you can send your passports and application materials to us free of charge. Visa holders, either B1/B2 (business/tourism) or C1/D (crew members), who have a valid visa or whose visa expired less than one year ago, are able to have their interviews waived and only have to provide their fingerprints. Qualified applicants now receive their passports and visas by free courier service—formerly a paid service.

Please see our website,

usvisa-info.com, for full information on these programmes and to determine if they apply to your case. And remember, all the information you need to apply for a visa is available free on our website, which is the only official source of information on

US visas in Trinidad and Tobago.

Postby Gem_in_i » July 9th, 2013, 2:55 pm

So many other places in the World to visit that don't need a visa.

Which country offers a refund of any sort? :-/

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » September 20th, 2013, 12:44 pm

Co worker went with his wife and 3 children,all got blanked
Wife pregnant ,he said the guy ask in a polite question ,"do you plan to have the baby abroad"
Me ain't know what he say but he get blank

Postby redmanjp » September 20th, 2013, 1:12 pm

ruffrider27 wrote:Co worker went with his wife and 3 children,all got blanked
Wife pregnant ,he said the guy ask in a polite question ,"do you plan to have the baby abroad"

US doh want ppl comin abroad to make baby who would get automatic citizenship

Postby hustla_ambition101 » September 20th, 2013, 1:31 pm

Expected, they had to be fools to expect to get visa while preggers, too many immigrants burden the US taxpayers when they go up to make child, worse yet they also believe they should also receive full benefits from T&T, GATE etc

Postby pioneer » September 20th, 2013, 1:33 pm

:pwned:

They are stupid

Postby pete » September 20th, 2013, 1:42 pm

Probably should've gone by himself. Once he gets through then try to get the wife a visa, once they both have then get for the kids. Might take longer but at least if he gets stopped alone they're only out $1000 instead of 5

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » September 20th, 2013, 1:42 pm

redmanjp wrote:

Haven't they changed that rule?

Postby pete » September 20th, 2013, 1:48 pm

No, once they're born on US soil they're citizens, the PARENTS however can't be sponsored for residency/citizenship until the child becomes 18 years of age.

*edit* what I think they really don't want is people who have no money coming into their country to make a child and leave behind huge medical bills the state has to pay for. If you can afford the hospital bills they don't really care.

Postby 88sins » September 20th, 2013, 1:52 pm

woman is visibly pregnant=automatic blank
us gov still fightin to deal with illegal immigrant problems & getting rid of troublemakers, they ain't gonna allow automatic citizenship for a baby born there to illegal parents by the time the parents visas expire

Postby teems1 » September 20th, 2013, 1:58 pm

Sumana.00 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

Haven't they changed that rule?

They'll have to change the iconic words on the Statue of Liberty before they do that.

Give me your tired, your poor,
your huddled masses yearning to breathe free.
The wretched refuse of you teaming shore.
Send these, the homeless, tempest-tossed to me,
I lift my lamp beside the golden door

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jus_soli

Postby zoom rader » September 20th, 2013, 1:58 pm

Well in trini, caricom nationals are welcome to have baby here

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » September 20th, 2013, 5:10 pm

lol @ asking for a refund :lol:

Postby pioneer » September 20th, 2013, 5:23 pm

Even if they got visas the airline could blank her from boarding

Even if she gets to board, US border control can deny her entry

She was screwed from the start, now they 5k poorer and their weekend has been spoilt.

Postby redmanjp » September 20th, 2013, 5:36 pm

pioneer wrote:Even if they got visas the airline could blank her from boarding

She was screwed from the start, now they 5k poorer and their weekend has been spoilt.

well it was 2k she said but still hard luck fuh she- shoulda do some research b4 :|

Postby pioneer » September 20th, 2013, 6:59 pm

redmanjp wrote:
pioneer wrote:Even if they got visas the airline could blank her from boarding

well it was 2k she said but still hard luck fuh she- shoulda do some research b4 :|

Was referring to this

Postby pete » September 20th, 2013, 7:16 pm

A visa doesn't guarantee anyone entry to the US btw.

Postby pioneer » September 20th, 2013, 7:24 pm

I believe most pregnant women need a letter from their doctor allowing them to fly on a plane, and they sign a disclaimer form (IF they are even allowed to board).

Postby pete » September 20th, 2013, 10:23 pm

Depends on the airline. 6 or 7 months might be okay.

Postby Aaron 2NR » September 21st, 2013, 12:52 am

Heard the new policy for non citizens is 6mths

Postby pioneer » October 9th, 2013, 11:34 am

Some advice - Make sure and dress as casual as possible, be yourself, this interview is nothing big or serious. Feel free to put on your boatride kit - skinny jeans with boxers exposed, fakeollister tshirt and your converse. Crong it off with some fake gold ear rings and your darkers.

Success is guaranteed. One foot in de door business.

Preludeman1

Postby Preludeman1 » October 9th, 2013, 11:46 am

pioneer wrote:Some advice - Make sure and dress as casual as possible, be yourself, this interview is nothing big or serious. Feel free to put on your boatride kit - skinny jeans with boxers exposed, fakeollister tshirt and your converse. Crong it off with some fake gold ear rings and your darkers.

Are u trying to be funny pal?

Xplode

Postby Xplode » October 9th, 2013, 11:51 am

Preludeman1 wrote:
pioneer wrote:Some advice - Make sure and dress as casual as possible, be yourself, this interview is nothing big or serious. Feel free to put on your boatride kit - skinny jeans with boxers exposed, fakeollister tshirt and your converse. Crong it off with some fake gold ear rings and your darkers.

somebody get blank :lol:
pios being he self ,always look professional in these interviews.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 9th, 2013, 12:01 pm

Xplode wrote:
Preludeman1 wrote:

Went twice in 2009.....1st time was in May of that year - had on L/S shirt, tie, soft pants got blanked
2nd time was October - Had on t shirt and a jeans and got through.

Postby Gem_in_i » October 9th, 2013, 12:09 pm

Why I must dress up to go? Every time I went with jeans and tshirt. Nothing fancy. Just normal, well fitting clothes. And I didn't go to them scared or nervous or overly friendly.
As pioneer said, be yourself, be comfortable.

Postby pioneer » October 9th, 2013, 12:19 pm

Xplode wrote:
Preludeman1 wrote:

Somebody?...I see every single talknah gunta geh brace this morning, even de gaza diva an dem...disgustin weave bigger than dey arse, geh blank too

Dem keep my passport...so I waiting...dunno wha da means...man mumble sumn bout DHL :|

Sidepart, glasses, tie and a fresh kit with tie is always killer. Americans appreciate people who can dress professionally, especially if it reflects your career and purpose in life.

And yes, they do judge you by your appearance. They do not want more talknah guntas entering their country.

Xplode

Postby Xplode » October 9th, 2013, 12:41 pm

Xplode wrote:
Preludeman1 wrote:

Somebody?...I see every single talknah gunta geh brace this morning, even de gaza diva an dem...disgustin weave bigger than dey arse, geh blank too

Dem keep my passport...so I waiting...dunno wha da means...man mumble sumn bout DHL :|

Sidepart, glasses, tie and a fresh kit with tie is always killer. Americans appreciate people who can dress professionally, especially if it reflects your career and purpose in life.

And yes, they do judge you by your appearance. They do not want more talknah guntas entering their country.

Yes it's true ,appearance matters the most ,pios you went alone ?
a part of my batch went alone without his family ,he got true ,guy asked him in case you are in the states and you require to help serve america will you do it ,he said" yes just to get rid of the bad guys " he doing 12 years in the TTPS . he went in uniform and was told to bring his family for visas for vacation.

Postby pete » October 9th, 2013, 12:43 pm

Wore a polo and a jeans.. I'm applying for the chance to go spend my money in their country, not a job.

Postby pioneer » October 9th, 2013, 12:51 pm

Yeah but pete you not ah gunta